Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimmaclean 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site during the Easter break in 2011. The kids absolutely loved it. Between the excellent outdoor play park, the pond with rafts, and sensible wheel hub fireplaces this site is great for kids.

The pitches are sensibly laid out and the landscape of the site means privacy, and scenery are both available.

We didn't use the miniature railway, but it definitely adds to the character of the site.

We definitely plan to revisit some day. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SJP0907 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic place, definitely going back again.

Went for the long Easter weekend and site was busy, wardens keep the site really clean. Bins emptied every hour, showers/toilets cleaned regularly.

Plenty of places to walk from the site, the local pub about 10 minute walk, shop is about half an hour walk, up a couple of hills.

Plenty for our 10 year old to do, we hardly saw him all weekend, he did get very wet though!

Only complaint - the freezer for ice packs could be bigger, finding your blocks when everyone had rummaged through for theirs was not much fun. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martin + Louise 4 reviews from this member

 What a campsite, we went here last year with another family and had the best time we have had camping.

Miniature railway that stops at the campsite was fantastic, kids loved it when they got the chance to blow the whistle for the inspector.

We arrived and the kids couldn't wait to get on the adventure playground, and in the pond, we had the tents pitched and everything set up next to the wheel rims for campfires, which is a great touch and really makes the difference to a good camping experience.

Cant wait to go back this year, definitely a site you want to return to once you have been. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The red one 7 reviews from this member

 Visited with 4 adults and 4 kids between 6 and 11.Do not follow sat nav use a map.We were greeted on approach and told to go and pitch wherever we like and sort out payment later,which I thought was nice.

Each pitch has a wheel hub for fires and you can buy logs off some local bloke who arrives at about 5 each night. Lots for the kids to do including zip wire and a little knee high pond with big tyres on to push around with poles(take swimming costumes and plenty clothes for kids).

Toilets cleaned regularly and well maintained.4 wash basins for cutlery are under an outside canopy.Little train stops at bottom of site that you can get around on.Good base for some walks. No shop on site,about a 5 min drive to shop.

Train or 20 min walk to nearest pub.Locals put a stall on site and do bacon butties an little cakes on a saturday morning for charity.When 10.30 arrives the wardens come around and tell you to turn off music each night, but we sat around the fire talking and having a glass of wine till midnight with no bother. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulrach 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed for two weeks in August 2010 and overall enjoyed the site.

There are many good points to the site. The facilities are first rate and clean; the open fires are an excellent novelty; the play area is excellent and of course the location, is well, breath taking. This is also one of the only sites that I found in the Lakes that allowed advanced booking.

Prices are reasonable. There is a surcharge for large tents. I think, it was for tents with 6 berths or more.

However, recently added car parking is tight, especially if your fellow campers are inconsiderate parkers. The closing of the barrier at 9:00pm does restrict your activities somewhat. However, I can understand why. The curfew wasn't rigidly applied.And some nights I wished it was!

Like many visitors, I found the stressing of rules, overpowering at first. Especially, as they weren't evenly applied. However, an additional rule of 'no ball games' near tents would have been useful, as my tent was hit many times by inconsiderate neighbours.

Although this seems negative it isn't.

This is an excellent camp site and one I would visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Halls31 1 review from this member

 The sign into Fisherground was not clear. Wasn't sure if to turn left or go straight on.

No one was in the reception.

The site was well set out and facilities were clean.

We were unable to take our car onto the grass and it took me twice as long to set up.

Most of the staff were friendly.

I don't agree that we had to pay for a shower this ended up costing me an extra £2.50 a day.

The 10.30pm quiet time was a bit strict.

Could do with asking the village shop to open a site shop.

Train trip was nice and walk to to top of the hill is recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Derycksimpson 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site for kids. The playground was great for our 10 & 12 year olds, we hardly saw them all week. Open fires every night in the firepits was great. The toilet and shower block were clean although a bit dated. There is free freezer for ice packs which is a nice touch. Nice pub within walking distance that does great meals.Stunning surroundings and a great site with friendly helpful owners. The only downside is the extra charge of £5 a night for tents over 6 man this is a charge they should do away with as some 5 man tents are just as big. That said we will be returning next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dpk70ken 1 review from this member

 Excellent site in a beautiful location. Very friendly and helpful staff, water points located conveniently throughout the site, toilet & shower blocks clean and kept clean at least 2-3 times a day. It is a large site and so when it was busy at the weekend it did feel like it was heaving at full capacity. There are old tractor rims spread across the campsite where you can make your campfires and logs are available for sale every evening from a vehicle going round the campsite. They also let an ice cream van come round most evenings that did a roaring trade. We used the site as a base to climb Scafell Pike and waling in the Eskdale area.Lastly the children's playground was a great attraction for our kids. The kids will get wet and muddy there, so be prepared. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LouiLoui 1 review from this member

 We and our friends have just stayed at FG campsite. The site is situated in a beautiful valley with wonderful views of mountains and ridges near and far. There is a small ridge on the site which takes about 30 mins and is a steep but short climb, the view from the top is great. The site is quite remote so take your walking boots. The site was very busy when we visited, and very noisy from sun rise! There is a rule about no noise after 10.30pm (not too strictly enforced), a rule about no noise before 7am would have been welcomed.

The site facilities were clean and fine to use, however we had to queue for toilets / sinks / showers and it felt like there too few loos for the number of people they had let on the site. £1 for six mins in a hot clean shower, it was worth the wait. The site is costly and there are a lot of rules. The owners will charge you for everything, cars, dogs, 6 man tents and visitors all demand that you open your pocket and part with more of your hard earned cash, on top of your site fee.

The children’s play area was wonderful for older children, not a great deal for my 3 year old to do, but older kids will have a ball. The pool is a wonderful rustic play area which really brought the older children together who probably wouldn't have spoken to each other otherwise. My 3 year old enjoyed playing in the stream instead. The small train was cute and efficient and the local pubs were great. Despite my moans I would go back, because it is a beautiful and well situated site, but maybe not in this time of austerity!  


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KGW4 2 reviews from this member

 This camp site was everything you could hope for. As my 9 year old put it 'breath taking scenery!' fantastic adventure playground for the kids complete with rafting pond. The boys even used this area in the rain as it is amongst trees and quite protected. The showers are 50p and it was only for about 3 mins - I needed 2 x 50p for a reasonable shower where I could shampoo, condition and defuzz.

King Gerorge IV is about a 5 min walk away - we had a meal there and was pleasantly surprised - not a large choice but what was there was served quickly in quantity and tasted good. I ate too much!

Shop is a 25 min walk over the fell - ask Mick for directions. It sells most things but is a bit expensive.

Railway is worth a trip, although there is not much to do at either end.

I would definitely go back and will tell others about it. 


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5598 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement