Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Numenius 4 reviews from this member

 As lovely as last year. Excellent site. Spotless loos & showers. Ideal for decent families as there are no boozy noisy types there - peace reigns from 10.30pm. Without fail in our experience. This is a huge plus compared to some sites we've been on. Loads for the kids to do running around the adventure playground - I have to prise my daughter away from the rafting pond!
Take everything you need with you as there is no shop on site and it's a long haul to shops otherwise. But then, thats the whole pint of being there. The Ravenglass & Eskdale railway runs along behind the site & even has a little halt there where you can get on and off - I mean, how perfect is that?
If your looking for a truly scenic site and like peace & quiet amongst like minded people, this is the site for you. If your after boozy camping, you'll not like it here - in fact, from what I'm told, if you make a racket your put off the site! Excellent!  :)  We'll be back agian.  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonnyclaret1973 31 reviews from this member

 Just spent the weekend at Fisherground Campsite. We went here on recommendation from a friend. We were slightly disappointed. You cannot book a pitch and when we arrived at around 7pm on Friday evening we found it difficult to find room for our tent the place was rammed full and the weather was awful so goodness knows what it will be like when the weather is better!
The kids loved the adventure play area and the rafts on the pond.
The toilet / shower block was cleaned regularly. But 50p for a shower that last around 2minutes was a little excessive.
There are some fantastic walks around the camp site for all ages. The nearest shop was around 1mile away(its really expensive though) there is a pub 300yds away which serves food.
The fires pitts on the campsite were a real novelty and the kids loved roasting the marshmallows.
The staff on the site are very helpful and very hardworking and the noise curfew is strictly adhered to.
I would go to Fisherground again but only if the weather is good.  


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Driach 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a very enjoyable weekend at this site. It was raining and muddy the first night - but we woke up the next morning to spectacular views. Our eldest children age 10 and 8 loved the play area and rafting pond (bring lots of clothes as they will get wet/muddy). However the area is not suitable for toddlers - we had to watch our 3 year old like a hawk as she kept wandering close to the pond and there were no play things for her age group.
I recommend the walk from the site - over the road and down the path to the river Esk. A pretty 1.5 walk by the side of the river, then another half mile up to waterfalls, then back for half mile to Dalegarth station - get the steam train back to the site. - our 3 year old managed all this fine.
A word of warning - if you suffer from asthma take your inhalors as the fumes from the fires on saturday night really got to my chest and I have no chest problems! (although husband and kids loved making the fire)
Had a nice meal in King George pub down road
A real campsite in beautiful surroundings. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Outwell52 4 reviews from this member

 I have just been to Fisherground campsite for three nights and have had a really peaceful time again. This being my third trip here this year.I was a bit concerned that the site might be full as we arrived on Saturday afternoon. My normal camping trips start on a week day and end before the weekend starts. We were pleased that the large field was open and that there was plenty of space to pitch. We were Warmly welcomed again by Mick and Alison who do their utmost to ensure that all campers are settled.

The 10.30pm no noise rule is still enforced which is great for a quiet and peaceful evening around the campfire. The beauty of this place is second to none and the Walks and wildlife around the camp site never cease to enrich the stay on this site. I have pitched on many campsites in the Lake District and find that this friendly site and its owners have a unique attraction that keeps me coming back time and time again.

Its beneficial to have a day or two on a Miss-managed site to really appreciate what Fisher ground offers.
Lets face it camping is camping and not 5 star b and b or en suite toilets and showers.
As for midges bugs and slugs and anything creepy or crawlie,this is the price we pay for being in the country and sleeping in a field.
Had I not known better I would have been convinced that the chafinch and pied wagtails were trained,they are so friendly that I have in the past had one go in my tent.
I wondered around the site again and chatted with other campers and all were having a great time and enjoying the Fisher ground campsite experience.
No doubt I will travel up for an end of season trip this year.Its wonderful to see the changes to the area at different times of the year and to know that this campsite will not dissapoint my expectations. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rikwill 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Fisherground this weekend with 3 friends. I have been many times before. It is a superb setting. This weekend was fairly quiet because of the bad weather forecast, but it still got quite packed in the lower field, as they did not open the big field. This is a shame, because people then have to camp right on top of you, which spoils the experience. We arrived on Friday morning and set the tent up with a great site. By the time we got back on Friday evening, a family were almost parked on our tent!

The campsite owner turned away a few yobs on Friday who arrived in their Max-Power cars with big bore exhausts and blacked out windows. This was great to see although they did create a bit of a fuss.

The campsite now has a barrier which closes at 9.00pm at weekends. After this time, you can park up and pitch a tent, but you won't be able to get your car until the morning. Other than that the washblocks have been improved (slightly) - they still aren't great. Somebody has oiled the noisy aerial runway, so that doesn't wake you up at 6.00am anymore. Prices are quite reasonable.

Decent food/beer in the George pub nearby. We went for a meal at the Pennington in Ravenglass. Nice place, pricey food, a bit amateurish!

Rain spoiled putting the tent away on Sunday but other than that it was fine. We even swam in a tarn up the hill from the site on Friday. 11.00am enforced checkout is a real pain! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JOHANNE01 1 review from this member

 Well what can I say we were driving up to fisher-ground from Manchester not knowing what to expect. The roads just kept going and going and going and going. Arrived at 1.30pm to a beautiful campsite full of superb views, well worth the drive!

The two boys Evan and Travis headed off to the playground while we set up tent on a very level pitch near the pond area. Watch out for the midges at dusk the near the pond the worse you are! be warned.

We struggled to get the boys in for tea as the adventure area and pond rafts were just too much fun.

The weather here is very mild with no wind as it is sheltered from the beautiful hill side. We baked in the sunshine.

The mini steam train was a good trip out bit pricey but you can see for yourself where the money gets spent.

You can easy stay, weather permitting for one week as there was so much we didn't get to do on our weekend stay.(07:06:07)

We had a walk up the big hill my two sons called the big mountain on the last day this was very pleasant and manageable for them also (ages 4 and 6)

We will be returning to this camp site again next week end we loved it that much and we'll be taking friends this time.

The showers were very clean being monitored every once in a while by the owners Alison and mick. They cost 50p for a quick shower some said this was pricey but I felt it was worth it as I got me and my older son done in one go.but be quick no time for luxury.

The log fires are beautiful at night, sets off a brill atmosphere, take some marsh-mellows . You can buy wood on site for £3 a bag which will give you from bout 8pm till 11pm of camp fire time.

Alison and mick were keen on the 10.30 quiet rule and all respected it. They were about on camp a lot chatting to campers and checking to see if all were OK.

You can clearly see why this camp site gets full. Well worth the visit money and trek over the mountains. We will be back often as the kids have voted it there top in ranks out of ten.

Added bonus freezed for packs tumble dryer and washer oh and boot dryer. Dogs can go too for £1. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Schorah5 1 review from this member

 Our first proper family camping trip, was going to stay for a weekend but due to excellent facilities stay for a week over the school bank holiday. What can we say great for families wanting a different type of holiday especially with older children, the adventure playground was great for our older child (aged 10) but we have two smaller children (aged 2 & 3) this campsite was not for them, could do with a play area for them. Pitch size is good, no set area just find a camp-fire and pitch near to it!
The toilet facilities & shower block were good, always clean (if you saw the amount of tents on the bank holiday weekend) you would certainly agree that Alison. Mike & team kept them very clean and shipshape. 
The washing-up facility was good, driers & boot drier good, only problem we found was that one family seem to think that the driers were their personal driers and left the kids watching over them when they went for a shower so no-one else could use them - but that it the only gripe.
The camp fires are a good idea but watch smaller children, we were ok but towards the end of the week we did get bit a little by midgies in the air, take repellent
Area was good, King George pub ok for both drinking and eating, bear garden ok but is on a busy road so watch the kids! Other pub in the area is through Eskdale Green, better beer garden with a play area but beware of the food especially at night, looked alright at dinner-time. Muncaster Castle is worth a visit and the train from Boot near to the campsite is also worth a journey. Scenery is spectacular, campsite was always clean - do not know how Mike, Alison & team do it !  well done! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bluejeans 1 review from this member

 First time at Fisherground arrived at 9.45pm on Friday of Bank Holiday weekend to find gate closed!  Got the tents out of the cars and walked into site to pitch - not a problem!  Alison returned at about 11.00ish to open up the gate and let us in.  The noise curfew is adhered to quite rigidly so try and put up two tents, one that has never been out of the bag, in the dark - quietly some mean feat, but accomplished.
 
Alison returned day after to ensure everything okay and what a nice surprise to wake up to.  Views are breathtaking, adventure playground superb for kids - washing machines available if needed.  Train station just outside campsite to travel further afield.
 
Toilets and showers very busy at peak times although cleaned at least three times a day can get dirty.  Also when cleaning them they close all the toilets except one for the whole site, what a surprise to see a man come out of a ladies loo!
 
When you travel with a pyromaniac fires are the best thing since sliced bread!
 
Would definitely return but avoiding the steep and scary pass. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pinkjanesam 5 reviews from this member

 Spent the bank holiday weekend here and as you can't book I was concerned about whether we would get on. We arrived Friday morning and there was plenty of room but the site had filled up by the evening.

Toilets were cleaned regulary and only had to queue twice to use the loo which was amazing considering the number of people on the site. There never seemed to be a queue for the showers either.

Lovely to be able to have an open fire and its even better when you can buy your wood from the trailer that goes round.

Childrens play area was very good and there is a nice big field for them to play in too.

The noise restriction after 10.30 worked very well ( if only someone had told the nearby peacock!)

If you're looking for somewhere to go that has easy accessto the rest of the lakes and lots to amuse nearby then I wouldn't recommend this site but if you want to go to an unspoilt valley then this site is a must.

Will definitely go again 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nezzie 1 review from this member

 Eskdale is absolutely fabulous - you won't get better pubs, walks, scenery anywhere in Britain.  We've read reviews by people who visit the Ravenglass campsite who say there is little to do.  Just walk.and drink.and eat.
 
We stayed at Fisherground because of the campfires.  Still the only site in the Lakes we believe with a carte blanche to burn.  My father refuses to consider anywhere else because of this.  However we have two small children and hot running water is a must so we moved to Boot for the Bank Holiday weekend.  Fisherground has a problem with this at peak times.  Kids loved the climbing both in the play area and rocks around the pitches.  If you stay on the attractive main site beware small children plummetting from the rocks into your fire.  As usual worst curfew offenders were the families - yes that was us.
 
People keep mentioning the electric but I should stress this is only available if you pitch in the toilets or have a long connector.
 
Fabulous site for REAL campers. For the nesh among you try the facilities up the road in Boot. 


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


930 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement