Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Towzer 9 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic spot. Great location, amazing scenery, fabulous site and lovely owners. This is a fantastic family site. There is the stream to play in which our boys loved and also the playground. The little train which runs and stops at the campsite which is great for young (and old) boys and also for the adults the fact that you can have a fire of an evening. The facilities were kept very clean, though your 50p for the shower or hair dryer don't go very far (the only minor, minor point). All in all superb, lots of things to do in the locality if you love the outdoors and loads of lovely pubs nearby. We will absolutely definitely be going back and would recommend to all but the rowdy as they do have a quiet after 11pm policy. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wenpip 12 reviews from this member

 We visited on first may bank holiday and we can all say we had a great time as it was a really well thought out and managed campsite without spoiling the beauty or the 'back to nature' feel of it. The owners are really helpful and lovely peope and went out of their way for us. The come round by about 10.30 checking everyone ok and asking to keep the noise down if too noisy which is great.

A really wonderful campsite for families as they have an adventure playground in a wooded area next to the sheep and a small pond/ lake that the kids can play in - it has x 2 tractor tyres that float that the kids can have a good old mess around on.

Plenty of places to pitch tents and most are next to 'metal tyre frames' /firebuckets that you can build a fire in - you can buy the wood from the camp for a few quid.

The facilities are good - 3 ladies toilets and I think 2 showers , a hairdryer, about 6 wash sinks and about 6 washing up sinks just outside the washblock. They also have 1 washing machine and it cost me £1.50 for a assive load (3 x 50p) and about 4 dryers, again they work on 50p's. They also have an overnight boot cupboard /dryer that you can put your shoes /boots in to dry overnight. We also used he freezer for our freezr box.

Plenty of bins for your rubbish and I thought all in all, it was kept really clean with plenty of loo roll etc.

Take plenty of changes of clothes as the kids get soaking wet if they go in the pond area! and check were you pitch as some pitches held water when it rained and may flood .

We would definitely go back there again no question. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jojo74 3 reviews from this member

 Well just returned from Fisher ground, was a lovely weekend. The site was great, kids able to roam freely, nice playground with zip wire and floating rafts to play on and little formations of rocks to climb.
Very busy bank holiday weekend so have to arrive very early if you want a decent pitch, we arrived Friday morning 8.30am and had no problem. You can have an open fire and they sell wood daily around 4pm.
The showers and toilets were spotless and the site owners worked constantly to keep it this way. 10.30pm quiet is respected everywhere never a problem we sat out after that and chatted and there wasn't a problem everyone else did pretty much the same.
Would definitely recommend this site and will visit again. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cluckyhen 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely campsite with excellant facilities. The adventure playground was perfect for the kids, and although the weather let us down we had a brilliant time. The pub and village are within walking distance, the site is animal friendly and you can have a campfire close to your site.

The scenery is spectacular, although Tom Tom took us on the scariest scenic route we have ever been.

A word of warning for those with children- take plenty of clothes for the kids, mine seemed to spend more time in the pond than on dry land. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rob F 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for eight nights in August (20th – 28th). We arrived on the Monday; apparently the weather had been really bad just before we arrived. People had been abandoning there tents and seeking refuge in the big onsite storage building. The owner wouldn’t let us drive onto the site to find a pitch because he didn’t want cars tearing the grass up. We had to park up and walk round to choose where we wanted to pitch. The grass was really soggy in places. We eventually found somewhere reasonably dry and got the tent pitched. The sun came out whilst we were pitching the tent and pretty much stayed with us the whole time we were there, absolutely glorious weather and the site soon dried out. Our pitch was next to a stream, which was handy for keeping food, milk, etc cool.

Our kids are nine and five and really loved the site; from the moment we arrived they were off playing. The site has a big play area with a small pond with rafts on and a zip wire amongst other things. You need to take plenty of spare clothes because the kids get filthy and wet all the time!

The facilities are reasonable, a decent number of toilets, showers and sinks for washing up in. The shower/toilet block can get quite dirty at times. The owners do there best to keep it clean, it’s just a matter of picking the right time to use the facilities. They generally have a big clean in the early afternoon with smaller cleans in the morning and evening. You will need plenty of fifty pence pieces for the showers, you don’t get much time for your money and there is no temperature regulation, though the showers are generally hot. They have a chemical disposal point around the back of the shower/toilet block.

The site has washing machines and dryers that the owners charge to use. They also have a boot drying area and a freezer where you can put your freezer packs. The freezer was really small and always full, our freezer packs never really got re-frozen in there. We also had freezer packs stolen from the freezer despite the fact that we’d written our names on them. We gave up on the freezer in the end and just used the stream to keep things cool.

There’s no shop on site, the nearest one is a short drive away or a twenty minute walk. It’s in Eskdale Green and is quite pricey but they do have a good selection in there.

I wouldn’t recommend the nearest pub. It’s called the King George IV Inn. The service was poor and the food wasn’t much to write home about. We spent a couple of evenings at the Boot Inn in the village of Boot, which is further down the valley. They serve proper homemade food and have excellent service. There is also a good play area for the kids. I would highly recommend having a meal there.

The La’al Ratty has a stop at the Fisherground campsite so you don’t have to walk to the station in Dalegarth. You catch the train right outside the campsite. The La’al Ratty runs from Ravenglass to Dalegarth and is well worth going on.

There are plenty of nice walks to go on locally. The Lake District is a wonderful place and you’ll never get bored.

On the site, most of the pitches have fire pits. There’s a man that comes round each day selling wood and kindling. It really adds to the camping experience when you can sit round your fire in the evening. The downside is that the site gets quite smoky.

There is also an ice cream van that comes around the site in the evenings.

We found the site to be nice and relaxed generally, it was reasonably busy through the week; we were unfortunate that our time there clashed with a bank holiday weekend. As soon as the bank holiday weekend came, the site filled up to extreme levels. Tents were crammed into every available space, the shower/toilet block got really messy. There were big queues for the toilets, the showers and the washing up sinks. The general feel of the place became poor. If you decide to stay at the Fisherground campsite avoid the bank holiday weekends.

Overall there are more plus points than minus points. It’s a good site; the owners are really nice and helpful. We’ll definitely go again but we’ll avoid the bank holiday weekends.

A campsite well worth staying at. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cbreddie 7 reviews from this member

 We set of to fisherground campsites with two sets of directions, the set that the site provides, and a set from the internet. Please use the set that the campsite provides and do not take the shorter route over the hard Knot pass and rhinos pass. Although its a shorter route my clutch was burning all the way to the top and my brakes were burning all the way to the bottom. Stunning views though.

The site is very well laid out and the staff are very welcoming, there are very limited electric hook ups, so book early. The toilet block is basic but well cleaned.

There is a zero tolerance on noise after about 10:30 which will only upset people who make a noise. The owners live on site, and walk round at night asking noisy people to please keep it down. I can see that some people may be upset by this, but to be honest we were approached about noise, so we just quietened down and were left alone.

We were encouraged to have a campfire and logs are sold on site. This made for very relaxing evenings and my tent smelt great for a long time afterwards.

The kids are very well catered for and to be honest ran wild in the adventure playground and rafting lake. The lake is only about12' deep so is as safe as it can be. I don't wrap my kids in cotton wool so it made a refreshing change to let them play on a PROPER adventure playground. Made of wood and ropes, my kids keep asking to go back for another weekend.

When we visited there was a camper who pitched up across our firecircle leaving us nowhere to park, he played loud music (the sound of music album!) on his car stereo ALL day, we and others complained to the site owners, but nothing happened, this was a little disappointing but someone pinched his sleeping bags, so Karma is restored. I have never experienced theft on a campsite, so I can only assume that he had upset someone else so they sought revenge.

The local area is beautiful, and the local pub does nice food at a good price.

My only concern is that some of the locals don't like tourists, we were directed to Wasdale to get fuel. This was disgraceful as we ran out of fuel 20 miles in the wrong direction. Fortunately the landlord of a pub came to the rescue with a gallon of fuel.

Prices on site are a little high for what you get, after all its a very basic site. But the lake district has always been a little pricey.

I will go back again, probably just for a weekend though.

People have said about the roads around eskdale being narrow, I think this adds to the character of the area, lets face it who wants to look at big roads when they can soak up the countryside instead.

Overall its a good site with a fantastic family atmosphere, in some of the most beautiful countryside in Britain. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Royaloakoldboys 1 review from this member

 Stayed several nights at this camp.
Our party consisted of five males and ten Children, we'd decided to give the women folk a break and take the kids away over the Bank Holiday. Friendly host Alison appeared a touch wary of five guys staying over, perhaps concerned we'd be noisy, she soon realised she'd nothing to worry about and was very impressed by our resourcefulness for mere males!
Anyway we were located in the far left hand corner of the site by the adjacent stream that feeds the children's pond.
Only a two minute stroll across the stream to a pick up point for the steam Train. We used this service for trips into both Ravensglass and Boote.
A drive over Hard Knot pass is highly recommended for the fantastic views of this district.
Scafell pike was also scaled, a bit challenging, however the kids all managed it.
Old wheel rims are used to contain the camp fires, when the kids are asleep and dusk sets in, there's little more relaxing than sitting around the crackling log fire, whilst swilling your favourite tipple and telling tall tales of yore.
10:30 is the noise curfew and this seemed to be respected throughout the camp, we just hushed our voices somewhat.
 
A pub 10minutes walk away.
 
Campsite facilities clean and adequate, though I had to rush shaving in the shower as you only get two minutes for 50p.
 
The Children revelled in the play area and pond, several of them trudging back drenched, therefore only dress your kids in old gear.
 
We'll probably revisit next year, excellent location. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lakecoca 1 review from this member

 We spent the last August bank holiday weekend here.  We arrived on Friday (2pmish) and were told to park up, find a pitch then go back to pay.  No problem.  We found a pitch with our friends (aka festival camping).  Loved the fact that a bloke comes around selling wood and kindling and an Ice-Cream van comes on around 6pm-ish (selling delicious marshmallows).  We wanted some friends to come and join us on the Saturday and were told this wouldn't be a problem on the Friday, but when we went to pay the day after, it was.  No hard feelings though, as this is obviously a very busy campsite at this time and the owners have rules, regulations and other campers to appease.
The steam train stop is on the campsite - v. Kitsch but quite expensive.  The walks are amazing - there's the Esk trail; up the hill off the campsite; and long the road either way to Eskdale Green or Boot.  The food at the Boot Inn is to die for, as are the ice-creams at the village shop in Boot (Raspberry Pavlova and the mint choc chip got our votes.)The nearest shop by foot (about 20 mins, or by car, about 3 mins) is v. Expensive (and not all the things are priced up before you get to the till -which may be an added surprise to your trip!)  The garage - by car (about 20 mins away, turn right before Ravenglass, - is cheaper.)  

The fire pits are ideally located, the curfew is "enthusiastically" adhered to - but with good humour.  Facilities on site are OK - but showers are quite cold and don't last long for 50p. The owners are very positively assertive, approachable and fair.  The "Adventure playground" and "Adventure Mountains" are perfect for pre-teen children, the campsite occupants that we were with had a general "joie de vivre." - which was nice.  Don't put your cooler packs in the freezer as they will be borrowed without asking or returning! Despite anything that I've said to the negative: this is a fantastic campsite!  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Charlies Mummy 1 review from this member

 We decided not to brave the Hardknott route but the one suggested by the campsite (via Ulpha) can hardly be less impressive, a great way to arrive at the site and still has a short but twisty 1-in-4 ascent section.
There are a few more reserveable EHU pitches now, so we were in the big field, not on the road, which I was happier about.
We did 10 nights and experienced a LOT of weather! For the first few nights it was a bit grim, solid rain and ankle deep mud for much of the time, neighbours either side flooded out but our SIG saved us. It did feel as though we were pitched on a giant waterbed though. Mick and Alison tried to guide everyone away from the worst bits and roped some areas off. An unprecedented decision was to ban all vehicles from inside the site – we had to move cars into the play area field near the entrance to try to save the camping area during the worst rain. It worked and a few days later we all moved back on. A bit tough on new arrivals and leavers though who had to carry everything to/from the site on a barrow loaned from the owners.
Our last few days were sunny and dry which set the site up for a good bank holiday weekend, it was getting very busy as we left. It was windy though and a mini-tornado took 2 large tents in the middle of the big field straight up into the air within about 20 seconds. Amazingly, both missed all the campfires, people, tents and cars and came straight down with just a bit of pole damage.
The pond is fab, but our 5 year old was a bit too small for that and the adventure playground, both would be ideal for 8 and up. Lots of children around, all ages, within a few days of arriving they were practically feral and all thoughts of gameboys disappeared for old fashioned adventurous, messy play and running in a pack til dark.
Showers at off-peak times were wonderfully hot for me, but too hot for kids, so ours went to bed muddy more often than not.
Lots of day-trip potential - some expensive (Ratty railway, we thought it was worth it though), some cheap - picnics by the hillside streams. The area is good for both energetic or softy walking, straight from the site. Muncaster Castle is worth a visit, but the outside is much better than the house, unless you are particularly into that sort of thing. Charlie loved the Meadow Vole Maze.
Shopping needs to bo planned, a good farm shop about 2 miles away has gorgeous meat, fish, game and local produce. Egremont has a Co-op, big supermarkets are at Whitehaven. If you go to Whitehaven, or to St Bees beach, you pass Sellafield. Weird being up close and personal to such a notorious place.
On arriving home, even our clean clothes need washing as they all smell of campfire smoke.

On our last day Charlie cried his little heart out as he didn’t want to come home. We will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cumbria campers 1 review from this member

 Our previous camping experiences had been with my son's scout group, on family camps. We decided to go it alone, and had heard many good reports about Fisherground from friends and colleagues. As we only live eighteen miles from the site, it was an obvious choice. We arrived on a Monday and found a good pitch. Our intention was to stay for four nights, but as we were enjoying it so much we actually stayed for six. The children's playground and rafting pond is brilliant (take plenty of old clothes for the kids, as they will get wet and dirty very quickly.)
The site is in a great setting, there are many good walks in the area including a nice riverside/woodland path to Dalegarth, this is suitable for children (ours are aged six and seven.) The Ratty steam train is a great day out, the site has it's own station for the Ratty. It costs £24.90 for a family day return, which means you can travel up and down the 7.5 mile line all day, getting on and off as you wish. Nearby Muncaster Castle is also a good family day out. The Boot Inn at nearby Boot is good for food, has a varied children's menu, and it's own playground. The only shop in the area is Eskdale Stores which was quite pricey. But there are shops in nearby Gosforth and a supermarket in Egremont. The site has a great atmosphere in the evening, as everyone has campfires. You can buy sacks of wood on site for £3.50 and a bag of kindling/firelighter for 50p.
The only minus point was that there wasn't always hot water for showering and washing dishes. However, this didn't detract from the Fisherground experience what so ever. We'll definitely be going back. 


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5777 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement