Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 213 Reviews
                8/10 from 213 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beezers 13 reviews from this member

 This is a local site to us so we know it well. We spent a lovely weekend here when we were blessed with good weather.

We were on an EHU pitch and it cost us 20.50pn for four of us with a large tent. Not bad a price, but if you add on 1 each for a decent shower, 1.50 if you want to wash your hair properly, then it can work out expensive. The showers seem to vary as well, both in warmth of water and timimgs from what we can work out. OH had a hot shower one day, that seemed to last a lot longer than the cold one he had the previous day and he put the same amount in both times! Daughter took 1 as she wanted to wash her hair and came back saying she barely had enough time to shower once she washed her hair and next time would take 1.50, I found the same when I washed mine and neither of us have long hair. Overall we enjoyed the site though.

The local shop in Eskdale isn`t cheap, but if you are staying for a week or so, it would be worth visiting Whitehaven for a day out and stocking up on supplies there. Tesco, Aldi, Lidl, Netto, Morrisons, Iceland etc are all to be found there.

If the weather is nice make for Drigg beach, a lovely beach with miles of sand and sand dunes and it never gets crowded.

Plenty of sinks to wash pots in, though at busy times a queue can form, but never to long a queue.

As for ice blocks! Be warned, while we were there we had ours pinched from the freezer and we weren`t the only ones, it seemed to be rife. It does not matter if you put your names on or if you put them in bags, they will be taken! Each and every time we went to the freezer, there was always someone there complaining theirs were missing.

As long as you keep the above in mind, you will enjoy this site. We will go again, but will take more 50p`s next time! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SK1971 2 reviews from this member

 Quite simply the best site I have visited. We went with a group of 4 adults & 5 children & they did not want to leave after 4 nights. Loads for kids to do with the adventure play area , camp fires allowed, miniature railway next door & a short walk to a lovely pub. Toilet blocks clean & tidy.

Would definitely visit again 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spigm 1 review from this member

 We arrived at the Fisherground campsite on Friday afternoon and stayed until Sunday. The first contact we had was with the wardens who were really nice. It was nice and quiet with loads of spaces and we were told we could pitch where we wanted.
The toilet / shower blocks and washing up areas were lovely and clean at all times. A tip if you are thinking about visiting this site, take loads of food with you, there's only one shop at Eskdale Green and it certainly knows how to charge (1.60 for half a dozen eggs).
We had a meal at The Boot Inn as it was recommended but we found it very expensive for what you got. The little railway running past the campsite was great and worth every penny as you could go backwards and forwards as many times as you want for the day, we have 2 little girls and they loved it!
We had a campfire which we lit about 6pm after the logman came round the site selling a bag of logs for 3.50. After the kids went to bed we just sat around the fire with a few glasses of wine, which everyone else did as well. Everything went quiet around 10pm and the only noises we heard after that were a few snores from neighbouring tents (one being from my dad's) and then the birds started at 4am the next morning!
We are new to camping and we have been spoilt by this site, just hope that the next one we visit is as good. We will definitely be back here without a doubt. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Duracell 2 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a quiet mid week stay on this fantastic site. Had a good choice of locations to set up camp and the warden was full of advie when asked his opinion. Being able to set a fire in the evening was a real bonus to us as my partner refuses to camp anywhere that bans fire (he is a mountain born American and so his idea of camping is a little different from mine!)

Toilet blocks were clean and well presented although I feel that 1 for a quick shower is a cheeky way of charging more per pitch. The cost for us (2 adults, 2 kids and one tent, one car) was 17.50 per night.

There are very limited local services and most of these are more than a mile away, however the little train stops at the top of the camp site and takes you all over. The walks are stunning and if your boots get wet they can be dried in the boot box.

All in all a good trip and we will probably go back next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slinger 3 reviews from this member

 We were recommended this site by friends who have stayed previously, well we weren't let down!

What a beautiful place to wake up in a morning, the views are amazing. The owners very friendly, the facilities although minimal are very clean, 50p for a 2 minute shower is a bit much though!

Recommend visiting Boot where there are a couple of good pubs, the Boot Inn being the best where the beer is great and the food very nice.

Allowing camp fires is also a nice touch. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Erica4 2 reviews from this member

 Nice site, lots of sheltered sites for your tent, toilets clean and water hot. Campfires are nice and add to the experience. The adventure park is very good but a bit too much for our 4 year old, he did enjoy the pool and messing about on the rafts.
We went for a very nice walk over the hill to Boot, where we had a picnic and a drink, then we caught the train back. The site does not have a shop not even for milk and bread, which would have been nice.
We will be going back as it is beautifull but will wait a couple of years until our son is older. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Windbreakers 10 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, owners very helpful, booked two elec hook up pitches, put on wrong ones when we arrived after misunderstanding between owners, they later offered to move our tents or make us Bacon butties in the morning, took the butty offer. But they never came around with them !

Enjoyed having a camp fire, every site should have them, clean toilets and showers including a hair-drier (wife happy). Pub in walking distance (everyone very happy), what more could you ask for? 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Shorties 2 reviews from this member

 Returned home on 13 June after a 4 day stay,what a great site! The owners are very helpful and friendly. They come round in the evening selling logs for the campfires which we had every night, a real novelty for the kids (and grown-ups!). The adventure playground and rafting pond kept my kids(8+11) entertained as did the miniature steam train which runs along the bottom of the site.

The toilets and showers were clean and there are washers and dryers for a small fee.

We found the 4 miles of narrow, windy roads a little scary in our motorhome but worth it for 4 days of peace and tranquility.

Would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pancho 1 review from this member

 We stayed here last weekend and had a brilliant time , there was 4 dads and 4 kids . We arrived on friday, and straight away the kids were wet through after discovering the rafting pond and adventure playground.A fantastic site and location, we had a great pitch , although the large field was,nt open until later that day .The campfires were a real bonus and added to the experience .Cannot praise it enough.We went for adventure walks , were the kids discovered the spirit of 'Swallow and Amazons' and not an Xbox for miles .

The pubs in Boot were very good with the Dads enjoying the hearty food and plethora of real ales.And very kid friendly.

The owners were very friendly and helpful .We will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Darbyshire 1 review from this member

 Just returned from the Fisherground on Thursday 12 June 08 after a short stay.

The site as ever was quiet and clean and the amenities block kept clean at all times. It is a great escape away from the TV, also great to have the opportunity to have a romantic camp fire going and peace quiet after 22:30hrs but beware the birds wake you at 04:00 hrs.

We were a little disappointed as the large field was shut as the site was so quiet but never mind.

There are three pubs within walking distance if you want to eat out. We would recommend the Boot Inn. This is about a 2 mile walk. 


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3260 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement