Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucylou1515 2 reviews from this member

 Myself, my partner and two sons visited Fisherground Camp site at the beginning of August for 6 nights. We arrived on a Monday afternoon and was greeted by Alison, whom explained that we could pitch anywhere other than in areas where the grass was still yellow. We found a nice pitch and set up our tent etc up. The Warden came around later to see if everything was ok and then Alison came along later to collect monies from us, which was £118 for 6 night for 4 people. Alison explained that fires where only allowed in the fire pits provided, but there where plenty of these around the site, so it was not difficult to pitch near to one.

The shower/toilets and washing area was kept clean and tidy by the wardens which was extremely difficult due to the amount of rain we had each night.

My sons loved the camp site, the pond, adventure playground and playing field being excellent for them to play in and make friends. There was never a day when they did not have some friends to play with.

The campsite is noisy on a evening with all the children playing and enjoying themselves but at 10:30, everyone kept to the rules and it went quiet.

The local shop is well stocked and the owner is very friendly.

Will be visiting again next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jlp76 5 reviews from this member

 Just back from 4 nights at Fisherground. I was very worried after reading some very negative reviews saying how strict the site was but it was absolutely fine.

Set in a beautiful valley with a pond and adventure play area for the children - as well as that there is a stream and lots of climbing fun for them.

We loved having a camp fire and the logs were either sold by a man driving round the site or at the entrance. £3.50 for a bag of wood and 50p for kindling.

This site had more a higher presence of wardens than other sites we've been to before but they were friendly and approachable. We were shown to our pitch and given an extension lead for the hook up. The rules are clear - such as no driving on the grass, quieting down at 10.30pm and worked fine for us. We sat till 11.30ish each night chatting round the campfire and admiring the stars and there were no problems at all.

Toilets were frequently cleaned, showers were hot and cost 50p. Ladies had 5 or 6 toilets and 3 or 4 showers and a free hair dryer. There were sometimes queues for toilets or showers but this was a busy August school holiday time and wasn't actually as bad as expected. There were sinks for washing uo (sometimes queues), a boot dryer, a freezer (our iceblocks were pinched / took in error and not returned), washer and 3 tumble dryers.

We drove to Keswick through the Hardknott Pass but decided to take the longer route back to camp which took about the same time. We also visited the South Lakes Animal Park and had a good day there and had a day on the train although were a bit underwhelmed at Ravenglass (lovely place but not much to do for 4 children).

The location is a bit isolated but the site is perfect. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ferguson 1 review from this member

 Just arrived back after staying 4 days at Fisherground and got to say the place was brilliant.My kids absolutely loved the play area especially the pond!(take plenty changes of clothes with you). The toilet/shower block was excellent and clean and very rarely had to queue. The showers are 50p for approx 5mins but were hot and good. The wardens on the campsite were very friendly and helpful also. Having a campfire was also a bonus and logs/kindling could be bought for £3.50. The surrounding area is great for walks etc. The steam railway also has a stop at the campsite and is worth a go. The pub nearby has recently opened and the food was excellent. Couldn't really find a negative thing to say about the campsite but to be picky I would really like it if they had a small shop on site, even selling just the basics. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Israr.Shah 1 review from this member

 We (me my wife and 3 children) decided to try camping for the first time after our eldest returned waxing lyrical from a school camping trip. After trawling the internet looking for campsites in the Lake District (we wanted great scenery). Came across Fisherground Farm campsite and the photos swung me as did the fact that you could have real campfires.

Arrived late Friday to be met by very polite and cheery Alison Parkin (who owns the campsite with her husband Mick – who we never met). She welcomed us and asked to settle up. In the back of my mind I had some reviews that stated that Alison was friendly till you paid up. I promptly paid £58 for a two night stay for the 5 of us with electric hook up and car parking. Alison then in the same polite and friendly manner asked me to follow one of the wardens to the area where we could pitch.

Arrived at the pitch and Martin (one of the wardens) told us to pitch anywhere but avoid a small area that had been pitched on before and the grass was yellow. I stated that we were first time campers and could he help us with choosing the pitch. This he did and even got us an extension lead for the power. We were then left alone (I was waiting to be told the long list of rules some reviewers have mentioned). Once we got the tent up Martin came round to see if we were ok and needed any help. He just mentioned in an offhand way that the campsite has the rule of minimum noise after 10:30pm. That was the long list of rules! I asked for some wood for the fire and Martin got me a bag of wood (£3.50) and kindling with firelighter (50p).

Martin then stated that he occupied a large motor home with his wife and if we need anything anytime just come and knock. That was it. We certainly did not get bothered again. It was an excellent introduction to our first night of camping sitting around our campfire. The site has wheel rims on each pitch in which one can light a camp fire.

At 10:30pm we were expecting to be told to go to bed (as some reviewers have written) but no one bothered us because we were quiet – talking in normal voices. The next morning we opened the tent to see beautiful views and could hear the whistle of the steam train passing the outskirts of the campsite. We made breakfast of fried eggs and toast. It was the most delicious we have ever had due to the scenery. We then found our vehicle had a flat battery. Being an automatic cannot be “jump started” and being a Range Rover Sport needs a large vehicle to start with jump leads. Quick as a shot Alison was off and requested a camper with a BMW X5 to help us. Soon we were started. Spent the day boating in Windermere. We returned late afternoon and the kids started to play cricket, another couple of kids joined in and before long the adults joined in too with the resultant shouting / goading of the opposition. Naz (another warden and Martin’s wife) was walking past and joined in with friendly jokes etc.

We were sad to pack up the next day and head home. I feel we have been spoilt by our stay at FGFCS. The staff are ALL wonderful. The toilets etc are extremely clean (some hotels could learn about cleanliness here). Showers are a plenty and warm. 50p is more than enough for a good long shower. There are washing machines, driers, boot driers, freezer, iron and hair driers. If you are a party animal don’t go to this campsite. If you want peaceful tranquil surroundings with great staff and facilities, then you too will fall in love with this place. We only spent 2 nights but felt more relaxed than we do after 2 weeks abroad. Being a very busy senior executive who works long hours it was a pleasure to rediscover my family by sitting talking around the campfire.

Anyone reading this review thinks I only look on the bright side – pls read my scathing review of Grand Midwest Hotel App in Dubai. I have travelled to many countries and know good service from bad.  


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Berengaria 2 reviews from this member

 Well organised site, wardens helpful & friendly.

Water play area for children is unsupervised.

Facilities to make open fires & logs / kindling sold at a reasonable price on site.

Quiet family site. A little isolated but old pub nearby soon to reopen.

Toilets and washing up areas very clean and presentable, no charge for showers.

Strict quiet rule from 10.30pm which is enforced.

Beautiful area to stay in. Ravenglass / Eskdale Steam railway has a stop at the site itself. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rach71 1 review from this member

 We recently visited this site with two other families. The kids loved this site, the stream / pond with rafts and large field for ball games plus the adventure playground, which is more substantial than most campsite playgrounds, all meant they were happy just to spend the day playing on the campsite.

There are plenty of campsite wardens around and they do make sure it is quiet after 10.30pm. Being able to have a campfire is also a plus. We just went for the weekend and never left the site, it cost £13 a night for one adult and two children with one tent and a car.

The facilities are clean, only downside is you have to pay extra for the showers. We would definitely return to this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: U me and H makes 3 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived safely Friday night after negotiating the Hardknot Pass (not for the faint-hearted or underpowered cars).

Friendly staff, told to pitch anywhere. Plenty of space for tent and parking. Regular patrols by wardens and site relatively quiet after 10.30pm (but quite noisy prior to that).

Clean facilities - didn't have to queue anytime for toilet or shower - only for the washing up facility on morning we left.

Adventure play area and muddy pond fed by a stream full of minnows kept youngster amused.

Probably a site for families with children over 7 years as trying to get a youngster (under 5) to sleep while football matches are being played until 10.30pm was rather hard.

Stunning location, £32 for 4 berth tent and car for 2 nights.

All in all a good site for our first venture as a family into the brilliant world of camping! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Laws69 2 reviews from this member

 We have been visiting Fisherground for the last 4 years with our two children aged 3 and 6 years. We love this site, but must agree with the comments made in other reviews both positive and negative.

On the positive,the site is set in a stunning location,with some fantastic views. The kids love the playground,pond and playing on the rocks,they can get on and be kids without everything been spoonfed. They have never come home without making friends. The train running past the site adds interest too. You do need plenty of clothes for the kids.

It is nice to have a fire but be careful where you pitch your site in relation to the wheel rim used for the fire pit,too close and I tend to worry about the sparks damaging the tent,if you have a larger tent be careful you don't back on to someone elses pit.

I enjoy the ambience of the site,which I understand is a personal thing, also although the site was very busy as it was half term the site went very quiet at 10 30,there was no issues with normal conservation levels and we stayed up until midnight on most nights and the wardens went about their duties without been intrusive.

The toilet block is kept very clean,on this visit the weather was fantastic on other visits when the field has been flooded every effort was made to keep them clean. As been mentioned the showers are 50p, don't be tempted to put two coins in thinking you will get twice as long, you don't. The freezer for the icepacks is too small when busy and we have had blocks stolen in the past.

Since our last visit parking has been added around the field perimeter, this should help when it gets wet, you also can't drive onto the field even when setting up and departing and did see people challenged on this.

There is a shop in Eskdale Green which has most things including gas,it is expensive. The nearest big supermarkets are in Whitehaven where there is a Morrisons and a Tesco. We tend to take as much as possible with us.

The area is a paradise for walkers not just in the mountains but there are some nice low level walks.There are a number of bridleways nearby if you want to take your mountain bike or some of the most challenging roads in England for road cyclists.

The Boot Inn is very child friendly but we did not have a meal there the menu looked good.The King George close to the site is currently closed but is due to re open soon.I always make sure we visit the bakery at Gosforth,the pies are the best I have ever had.

My only negative is the price,out of the school holidays it costs us £18.50 per night, which is quite expensive for a farm site,if you have over a four berth tent it rises to £23.50 per night during school holidays(two adults two children and a car) this puts it into some of the big commercial sites category. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimp 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from Fisherground, and had a lovely few days, despite everyone being extremely disturbed by the local events of Wednesday - our arrival day.

*Getting there is exciting - over hard knott or over a steep fell road. As our car is large and couldn't pull the skin off a custard, we went round the coast after our first leary ride over the fell. It's a bit further but doesn't take much longer. Going round to the Western lakes does take longer than our usual trips to Windermere and Ambleside, but the site is great so it's worth it, I think.

*Noticed some grumbles on this site about the wardens, but we found all the staff to be helpful and pleasant. They did tell us the rules, but very quickly, when they first came round and there was an unobtrusive presence of staff for our whole stay.

*You can find your own pitch if it's not too busy, or the warden will help you. Tents were pretty tightly packed as it was school holidays but we managed to find space for the boys to play games and there is a games field but that was at the opposite end of the site.

* Facilities were good but they struggled to cope with the weight of traffic generated at this half term week. I expect next week they will have no problem but there were often queues for the (women's)showers and (women's)toilets when we camped here. Having said that, they were always clean and always had loo roll. Showers were hot and 50p enough to get a decent shower - were are camping after all, it's not a fashion show. Also - a bit of a hoof from where we were pitched - as far from the shower block as it was possible to be.

*Glad there were drinking water stand pipes all around the sight as this meant a very short walk for water.

*Kids loved the brook, the pond (very safe - only knee high) and the adventure play area.

*Fantastic to have a campfire and a convenient ice-cream van selling marshmallows. Kids aver excited but happy! Fairly ferrel by the end of our few days.

*The 10.30 quiet rule was generally observed and some campers did get a gentle reminder the next day. The noisy items in the playground are locked at night, but we were in bed earlier than that and the site was really quite noisy up until half ten.

*Whitehaven is a lovely place to visit and everyone there was getting on with things as normal - it seems like a very welcoming town, worth a visit - we would recommend 'the Beacon' -£10 for a family and well worth it. We went to Grizedale too, but that was a long drive for us - if you have a car that's up to it, it might be quicker to go over hardknott - but we will never know!

*We thought the site was quite pricey but not much more than other similar sites. We were charged the large tent extra but there were many larger tents than ours, so we might add on an extention next time we go! I think the supplement is only for school holiday times. I don't know if they take any other form of payment but we took cash which turned out to be a wise move.

*Overall we had a great time but we didn't do much in the way of cleanliness, and got good and dirty in the stream, pond and play area. I would give it a 10/10 if there had been more loos and showers and/or if our pitch had been closer to the loo block - which it will be next time as we scouted out plenty of good pitches for our next visit, which will be fairly soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cyee 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Fisherground In May 2010, at the same time as the terrible shootings, so will always remember it!

It's a great campsite, and seems to be well run. Staff were helpful when we had a few issues filling the campervan water tank. The children's play area is fantastic. The zip wire was a big hit with my adventurous nearly 3 year old. The weather was fantastic so we also appreciated the ice cream van.

My only negative comment is that the pitches were very close together. It was extremely busy and while the buzz is nice it's good to have more space.

Fire pits were a big hit and we also took advantage of good walks right from the camp site.

I'd definitely go back. 


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5863 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement