Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 213 Reviews
                8/10 from 213 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahdavies45 2 reviews from this member

 Amazing campsite- absolutely perfect for the kids. There was just so much to do! Zip wires, the lake, the list goes on. Definitely a family campsite and will be visiting again as soon as we have the chance- do not have a bad word to say about it! Thank you for a great stay and we will see you again soon! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Juicer 13 reviews from this member

 A welcome return to our favourite campsite in the whole wide world.

I'm writing this review of the late May Bank Holiday - the site's busiest weekend of the year. There were certainly hundreds of tents on site but you still felt like you had your own space and fire-pit in which to test your scouting skills.

The facilities have been upgraded recently with a nicely spruced set of loos and four showers (in the men's). Showers were a little pricey at 50p for what felt like less than 3 minutes but they were good and clean and I've so little hair left that it didn't matter. Outside the loo/shower block there are sinks for washing up for six people at once. This got a little crowded at the height of the Bank Holiday but you didn't have to wait long for a sink to become available.

But here is the thing about Fisherground that makes it so special. It is a very tolerant site and people and children are free to make some noise and enjoy themselves 24x7. The only caveat to that is that at 10:30pm, you have to be quiet. No radios and no loud talking.

This is BRILLIANT!

There is normally still a low hum of quiet whisperings but nothing you can't sleep through and the wardens on site will not tolerate rule breakers beyond the curfew. Make too much noise and you can expect a visit!

Some see this as overbearing. I see it as a guarantee that you will have a stress free stay, knowing that the site's rules will be adhered to and those that want to break them will be welcome to leave.

To have a stress free bank holiday weekend on a site like this is fantastic. I will be going back again and again and again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stutters 1 review from this member

 The rain poured all weekend, but we still thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

The facilities were clean, and there were plenty of showers, toilets and washing up sinks. That said, the site was only 2/3s full, so it'll probably get busy at peak time. The tent pitches were flat and well-tended, and keeping the cars off was a great idea. You park in little car parks around the site - our car was 5 metres from our tent, so this wasn't a problem.

The free, well-distributed wheel firepits were a godsend when it got a little cold and wet in the evenings. The adventure playground was a little tired, and was best suited for older children (8+). The paddling pond with island was very popular, with fearless children ferrying themselves on the provided rafts whatever the weather was doing.

There were a number of large groups (including ourselves) but all were relatively well behaved. The warden made a number of rounds after 10:30, very politely making sure it stayed that way.

The location is good, though we didn't really make the most of it so can't comment. The campsite has it's own stop on the local narrow-gauge railway, and this opens up some of the local area to families with small children.

The nearest pub is 5 minutes walk down the road, and the food, drink and atmosphere was excellent. You'll need to book tables in advance during busy times though! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rogerthorley 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Great staff. I would Thoroughly recommend it. The kids loved the play area and the pond. Make sure you take plenty of spare old clothes as they are bound to fall in in the (shallow) water at least once.

Love the fact it has its own station on the narrow gauge railway. Short walk to nice pub. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whitewater72 1 review from this member

 We placed a booking for three tents. On arrival a warden showed us where to pitch and was very friendly and helpful. The site was clean even though it was very busy. The toilet blocks where good and hygienic. It was great to have a fire for the grandson to toast marsh mallows. The site has a large amount of rules to be followed, though most of them don't affect the enjoyment of the camp. The pub that was about a mile down the road would pick people up from the site and bring drop them off at the site. The two things that was a bit of a niggle, was on the day we were packing up and had our gear spread in a pile to load up, the site decided to cut the grass and I ended up with wet grass all over our gear. The other was the driers, after a very wet Saturday we used the driers at fifty pence a time and after six pound the items were still wet. But all in all a great time was had by all our party. We will certainly visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katetitch 2 reviews from this member

 Nice site, well run, but rather expensive for what it is.

The playground and rafting pond are great, but more for older children than little ones. There are some good days out in the surrounding area, including Muncaster Castle, the Ravenglass Railway and St Bees beach.

The toilet block was small for the number of people camping, and facilities were basic. The fire pits were good though.

The site staff were helpful when we arrived, and also when we had to pack up (especially as the torrential rain flooded our part of the site, they made sure our friends' camper van didn't get stuck on the grass).

The King Edward pub, a short walk away, was very nice, and child friendly. We might come back, but not till the children are a bit older (6+). 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jim2b 2 reviews from this member

 Last time at this site was 6years ago and was as good as ever. great that you can have a fire and the toilets are nice and clean the wardens are friendly enough. but and its a big but , I do understand that rules are required to keep order in our not so perfect world, but pasting them up all over the place is to much, personally I am camping for a holiday to relax and get away from it. If a campsite needs to reinforce rules to such an extent. It makes me wonder why and what has happened there before. And will it happen again?? I found the signage quite funny in the end. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CrochetDiva 8 reviews from this member

 We recently spent 4 days at fisherground - as a stop-off point when travelling from scotland to south wales, and although it is a lovely site, it does seem to be falling into the trap of believing all of the hype around it (it has been named as an excellent site in several national newspapers recently). We tend to look for a site that allows campfires, has access to water (stream / river), and is within walking distance to a pub. This has all of these.

We liked:

* the way the pitches are set out. Each pitch is arranged around a wheel rim set into the ground so that all pitches can have a campfire if they wish. It's also really sensible that cars aren't allowed to park by tents - it meant that the children were safe from moving cars when walking on the grass.

* the way that the site staff rotate pitches (but see below as this was also a don't like). When we were taken to our pitch, we were told exactly how they wanted us to pitch our tent so as to save the grass.

* the fact that this site has so few hook-ups and encourages tent campers. It made a really nice change for tents to be in the majority, and for the non hook-up pitches to be in the best locations.

* the facilities (but again, see below as this was also a don't like). They were clean and the water was hot - we also appreciated there being plenty of soap in the dispensers and also there were 3 hooks on the back of the door of the shower - plenty of room to hang everything, and much more useful than a bench.

* the free, open-access freezer pack freezer. A great idea.

* boot-drying cupboard. Free to use, and really useful.

* the insistence on this being a family-friendly site. Quiet time was expected and enforced after 10. 30pm, which was fantastic.

* the playground and pond. Simply superb - the best thing about the site.

We didn't like:

* the endless petty extra rules. When we first arrived, the first question was: 'have you stayed at fisherground before?' as it's a 5 hour drive away from where we're from, our answer was no - the response was then a rattling off of a spiel about adhering to rules and this being a family-oriented site. We were instructed to read the rules carefully (which were also on a ticket that we had to attach to our tent and make sure that it remained there or face ejection from the site). These rules were in fact eminently sensible - and strictly enforced, which was fine - it was the additional, petty things which irritated. Things like we were told by the warden that we could only use firewood in the wheel rims that we bought from the man in the van; in the toilets everything had its own bold caps notice: 'push taps only' (above the taps)', 'for hand drying only' (on the hand dryer), 'for hair drying only'(on the hairdryer), 'shower mop only' (in the space where the shower mop was kept) - and the one which bought out the rebel in me and my husband (who is the least rebellious person i know): 'anybody caught taking toilet paper from the toilets to use as kindling for fires will be asked to leave the site and will not be allowed to return'. It felt like being back at school!

* the facilities. There is one toilet block for the whole site - we were 5 minutes walk away from it - at the far end of the site, down by the railway line. The ladies has 6 toilet cubicles, 3 or 4 showers, and 6-ish basins (none in cubicles). For a site as big as this, particularly when the vast majority of campsite users are in tents, this was simply not enough. Queuing was commonplace - and we were there during the week when the site wasn't full! Added to this, 50p for 3. 5 minutes of hot water in a shower is simply extortionate. On top of this, although the facilities are clean, they are very basic, with concrete floored showers with sharp metal drain covers - i cut my foot on the one in the middle shower - which has a junction of 3 different drains in it - it's difficult to avoid stepping on them.

* poor practice in siting of tents. As i said before, we were told exactly how to pitch our tent - where to face it, and how to set it out. This was fine. However, on our 3rd day, a massive tent was squeezed in between the 2 tents in front of us, leaving us with no direct route through to the toilet block without stepping over the guys of the other tents whose guy ropes were almost (within 6') overlapping. I don't care how many plaudits the site has received for being a good campsite, putting tents so close together that their guys are overlapping is dangerous - from a fire perspective, and from a safety perspective. There's no lighting on the site, so it's impossible to see guys at night. We had to resort to using the bucket loo once it had got dark as we couldn't guarantee not tripping over the guys on our way to the loo.

Off site, the local pub was good - with a great selection of beer - and free wifi - and their meals were ok too.

We loved the railway, and bought a day-long explorer ticket at the station (in peak season, there's a guard on duty to sell you a ticket at the halt - if there's nobody there, get on anyway and they'll sort you out). That cost us 34 - we went down to ravenglass, had a mooch, then came back up to dalegarth, where we went for a walk up to the waterfalls and through to st. Catherine's church (you can buy a walks leaflet at dalegarth station if you don't have your own map). We then came down and got off in eskdale green to go to the shop. A fantastic day out.

The shop in eskdale green is a bit of a trek on foot, and the road is busy, but it's well stocked, caters well for people camping, and has a smallish selection of camping stuff on sale upstairs. It's also open until 7pm!

In conclusion, yes, this is a lovely site, in a fantastic location, but is it one of the best in britain? I don't think so. The petty extra, silly rules, the extortionate cost of showers, the poor practice in siting of tents so close together, and the sheer size of the site were really off-putting. For us, it was far too commercial in its feel, and we wouldn't choose to stay there again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stazi 1 review from this member

 Hi, we stayed in Fisherground and it was fabulous, the site is clean and the wardens or assistants are just wonderful, always ready to help. We forgot our cards (and cash) to bring, but one of the assistants offered us a BBQ to use for the evening and we were so grateful to her. She and the other owner were just brilliant. Also all the other assistants (whose names I can't remember, sorry!) were always available and helpful. Nothing was too much bother for them. Thank you for having people like them. We are already planning our next summer camp there, kids (and us) can't wait.

Again many many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cockney14 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a weekend at the fisherground and we loved it. We were greeted by the wardens who showed us to our pitch and gave us some site info and local info, even down to where the sun comes up and sets to get the best view. The site was clean and tidy even after a very busy Saturday night the wardens were always around and very visible no sign of being too strict or 'killjoys'. The toilet block was constantly being cleaned and tidied. The only downside was they could do with another toilet block as they did get busy but didn't cause us any real problems. The children loved the play area and pond etc kept them occupied all weekend. A lovely site in a beautiful setting. 


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2964 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement