Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LBBK 43 reviews from this member

 This was not our typical camping trip as this time we were helping with a Duke of Edinburgh expedition weekend. Our students were across many of the Eskdale and Wasdale campsites but the staff based themselves at Fisherground for the weekend.

Overall our impression of the campsite was favourable. The welcome was friendly, the washrooms were as kept as clean as could be expected - though would struggle with numbers if the site was very full, the firepits were being used by many parties and the atmosphere was very child friendly.

Showers are 50p. The hairdrier in the ladies was broken. There were washing machines, tumble driers, a freezer for ice blocks and a boot drying cupboard. It was quiet from 10. 30pm to about 7 the next morning. The site was level with cut grass. I can't comment on the drainage as it didn't rain over our stay. We were able to park our cars very close to the tents but I can imagine that you will be need to be prepared for a longer walk if the site is full.

Please take note that there is no shop on site - there is a small village store selling all the basics about a mile away but it is a difficult walk on narrow roads without a pavement. There are plenty of pubs and cafes in the valley plus the wonderful little steam train to keep young and old amused.

There is walking straight from the site - riverside strolls to high mountains. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Burscobilly 7 reviews from this member

 The site is set in a beautiful part of the Lake District. Views from tent are spectacular. The site is a good 10 to 15 minutes from the main road.

Prior to arrival we paid a deposit of £10 per night over the phone and there was a £2 booking fee.

On arrival we were guided to our pitch. We had opted for no EHU and were shown to a pitch in the middle of the big field. We were encouraged to pitch closer to the camp fire than we would have preferred. Most of the EHU pitches we right next to the road and we were glad to be roughing it.

There are no pitch boundaries and we were glad of our wind breaks if only to give us some degree of privacy.

Other people arrived later and it did feel as if we were being jammed in like sardines. Having played car and trailer Tetris with all our kit, we were now one of the Tetris blocks ourselves. Tents were arranged in a back to back formation so we were not directly facing anybody, but it felt very cramped and even finding your way to the perimeter path meant walking uncomfortably close to other tents.

We were instructed not to drive on the grass which meant repeated winding walks around other pitches to get to and from the car carrying our kit. We were allowed to park our trailer next to our tent which was fortunate. We were asked to move our car to an overflow car park away from the tent. We could not see our car from the tent. Some campers were allowed to park their cars on the perimeter. By night 4 we rebelled and parked our car on the perimeter.

The pitches were flat throughout the site as far as I could tell.

Camp fires are allowed and this gave the site quite an atmosphere. There was a chap came round selling logs, kindling and marshmallows. A bag of logs was £5 and kindling £1

The facilities were woefully inadequate for the number of tents that had been crammed on site. During the bank holiday weekend we were told they had over 200 tents on site. The toilets were generally clean, but only 6 loos and 4 showers in the ladies. 1 hand dryer & 1 soap dispenser. The toilet block was cramped and very poorly laid our with the hair dryer and mirror directly outside a loo, so you were constantly moving to let folk in and out. There was a free hair dryer, but nowhere to plug in your hair straighteners. I had to queue to use the loo and queue to wash my hands and then queue to use the shower.

Only six washing up sinks and due to queues in the loos, people would clean their teeth in the washing up sinks. No laundry area, so hand washing also took place here too. Queues to wash up too.

The chemical disposal point was basic with a high up push button cold tap, which gave a jet of water at quite a force. Not practical and not terribly hygienic and then a queue to wash your hands afterwards.

There was one very small chest freezer with a broken lid. We use the bigger ice packs and we would find these and others were removed because of a lack of space. I would rather have paid to have guaranteed frozen blocks. The local shop sells ice at a price of £1 per kilo bag. We ended up relying on this.

There is no shop on site and in order to return to site with still frozen ice it meant driving and then parking up some 1000 yards away from the car. Whilst the shop might be described as a short walk away, in reality it is a mile from campsite to shop along a busy country lane with no footpath, so you need your wits about you if walking, especially with small children. The shop in the village was well stocked and we used it on a number of occasions. The site is quite a distance from any supermarkets.

The play area for children was exciting for our seven year old, with a pond and swings and ropes and things. The area was popular and noisy.

There was no room to play football or any other ball game without hitting tents. Most sites will leave some green space, but not here. Our tent was repeatedly bashed by footballs and apologetic children.

The site staff will ask people to be quiet after either 10 or 10:30, and people sit talking in hushed tones around the camp fire. We had no bother with rowdy groups because this is a family orientated site and generally once it went dark the little folks went to bed and the adults sat around the fire. We met other like minded campers!

The Ravenglass & Eskdale Steam Railway has a stop at the campsite and the trains run regularly. It cost us £11 return for 2 adults and a child on the train to travel down the line from Fisherground to Dalegarth. A lovely cafe at the station with reasonable prices and plenty of walks to enjoy. There is a lovely river and plenty of picnic opportunities. There was also a pub within a short walk, although we did not go there.

Mobile phone signal was limited to EE subscribers as mentioned on the sites website. There’s not a hope with O2.

Whilst we enjoyed the location, we (and all the other campers we spoke to) would not stay on this site again during such a busy time. The site was very definitely overcrowded and people were constantly having to walk between and around pitches to get back to their tents. The facilities were insufficient for the numbers of people on site and when given a central pitch, it was difficult to carry your gear to and from the car.

If this site was not in the heart of Eskdale and such stunning scenery, they would struggle to justify such high prices in return for such poor facilities. Whilst we enjoyed our time here, we would be reluctant to visit again, unless we could get a pitch of our choosing and the facilities were improved to meet the needs of the high numbers of campers using them.

I'm sure that if you could visit outside school holidays, this site would be truly amazing, but this review is based on visiting at peak time and being subjected to the misery of overcrowding. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ThisImp 1 review from this member

 We stayed here April 2016, at the time there were maybe 8 - 10 other tents on site so very quiet all round. You can see from the way the fire pits were laid out it could get very busy in summer.

The children loved it, the small one (5) especially loved clambering over the rocks and rafting on the pond, the big one (14) loved being able to make smores over the fire and both really enjoyed the location which is great for walking whichever direction out of the main gate you go.

The only downside is no shop, we only stayed 2 nights which gave us only 1 full day in the area (Friday night to sunday morning) which we spent a few hours in the morning playing around the campsite and 6 hours walking the big hill behind the site and down towards Boot, and didn't much feel like walking in the opposite direction or driving or otherwise taking time from the limited time we had to go find a shop. Given that we ran out of gas & milk a small shop on site would really have been helpful.

Wardens were friendly and helpful, the toilets were cleaned at least 2-3 time a day even with so few people on site, and the shower block was getting a new lick of paint as we were leaving even though it looked well kept to me already. They even walked around to see if anyone needed to use the facilities before they closed them for painting which was nice.

The King George IV pub is just a couple of minutes walk away and does huge portions of really good pub food which was very welcome after a long hike - the fish & chips were fantastic and just £35 for a family of four to eat.

We will likely use this site again in future as there's lots in this region to do & see which we couldn't do in the time we had, and its ideally placed with the halt stop for the train. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jools R 1 review from this member

 I can honestly say this is one of the best run campsites I have stayed on. The rules in place just make it a pleasant for everyone and the staff at Fisherground are dedicated to keeping this site immaculate.

Our children (8 and 6) had great fun in the pond on the tyres and in the playground area, loved that we could toast marshmallows over an open fire and we all enjoyed being able to hop on the steam train from the station at the back of the site.

It's a good place to base yourselves if you want to visit the Western Lakes and coast. Just be sure to avoid the Hardknott Pass and Wrynose Pass even if your satnav points you this way.

It's a white-knuckle ride that most locals avoid. We found out the hard way and got stranded, but a kind guy called Dave from the campsite came to rescue us till our campervan could be towed down the next day! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahcue 5 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a weekend spent here. The site was lovely and clean, good size pitches and the fire pit was a great bonus. Could imagine in summer it would get busy.

The wardens were very friendly and helpful. The shower cubicles were a little small when you have a child with you (a family sized one would have been perfect). But they were cleaned regularly and were very nice. Little one loved the pond and playground.

All round great site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Itsabruciebonus 1 review from this member

 Just got back from 'Lads and Dads' camping trip and felt the urge to write a review (not my thing normally). We were an all male group of 4 tents both things not normally allowed at Fisherground, but as we were Lads and Dads (8 lads aged 6-13 and 6 dads aged much older) we were welcomed after the rules had been explained.

Have no complaints whatsoever, the lads were on the play area within 5 minutes of arrival which kept them out of the way while we set up camp. We were given a corner of the field and pitched our 4 tents around our given 'fire pit'.

We had two great walks, a trip to the beach at Seascale, a ride on the narrow gauge railway, visits to the hostelries in Boot, barbecues, football, cricket and marshmallows roasted on the campfire (every night) all crammed into our long weekend stay.

The only reason I have scored the facilities a 9 is I think they might be overrun when the site is full, but while we were there we had no such problems, the showers/toilets were spotless and there were washing machines, dryers, a freezer for ice blocks and even a boot drying cupboard.

All in all if your looking for a proper camping experience I would recommend this to anyone and I can't wait to go back with the rest of the family. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LoopyEmmyLou 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a great stay at this site.

It's very clean, the wardens are great. For the kids it's heaven! A shallow pond with 2 rafts to play in next to the adventure playground. Plus there are also rocky areas for them to climb.

For those left to do the boring stuff - there are plenty of washing up sinks with constant hot water, 1 washing machine £4 plus powder (takes 35 mins) then 3 tumble driers at 50p for 30 mins. There is a freezer for ice blocks which was very full and our carrier bag ripped with every one pulling their blocks in and out so a strong bag, clearly marked will save you a hassle. There is a boot drying cupboard and after having soggy boots on a walk was looking forward to having them dried over night. Unfortunately parents putting children's aqua-shoes and wellies on top of our boots meant they didn't dry. Annoying as I know the aqua-shoes/wellies would be straight in the pond the next day.

Shower block was nice and clean - the shower cubicles are a bit of a squeeze if like me need to take a child in with you. 50p (fixed temperature but lovely) is a bit of a price to pay but we just managed to get us both done in that time. At least you know the queue will go quite quick at 3 minutes each! There is a squeegee for the floor but not many used it unfortunately.

We have a big tent and stayed for 10 days so their policy is that it has to be moved mid stay to save the grass. Once I had everything out the wardens did help move it round but a bit of a hassle and took a morning to get everything back to normal.

Each plot was allocated a fire pit and the 'log man' came around every evening selling kindling, logs and charcoal. Bit pricey at £5 for a bag of logs but lovely to sit around in the evening. Also an ice cream van came around every evening.

The best bit - no road noise at night all I heard was an owl, sheep and snoring!

Cars aren't allowed on the grass but plenty of parking around the gravel track. The gate closes at 9pm but again parking by that if you are late back.

Lots of walks close by, a very basic shop a short walk away and we found 3 decent pubs. For a decent BBQ/food shop the shop in Gosforth (15 mins away) is lovely.

We had the unfortunate luck of having someone close by with a diesel generator chugging away constantly. Quick check with the wardens and no generators are allowed and next thing they were told to turn it off thankfully.

Great site would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barrowcamper 8 reviews from this member

 
Would recommend this camp to anyone, the ground is good for tents. The shower and washing up facilities are clean with constant hot water, other facilities consisted of; ice/freezer service, washers and tumble dryers.

The playground facilities were good for children and were in in good view, yet allowing them freedom to enjoy playing in the pond.

The campsite allows fires which was a real plus as the its an added feature for the kids and an essential part of camping !.

There is also a good pub about 1/2 mile away which is welcoming and has good food and beer. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahdavies45 2 reviews from this member

 Amazing campsite- absolutely perfect for the kids. There was just so much to do! Zip wires, the lake, the list goes on. Definitely a family campsite and will be visiting again as soon as we have the chance- do not have a bad word to say about it! Thank you for a great stay and we will see you again soon! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Juicer 7 reviews from this member

 A welcome return to our favourite campsite in the whole wide world.

I'm writing this review of the late May Bank Holiday - the site's busiest weekend of the year. There were certainly hundreds of tents on site but you still felt like you had your own space and fire-pit in which to test your scouting skills.

The facilities have been upgraded recently with a nicely spruced set of loos and four showers (in the men's). Showers were a little pricey at 50p for what felt like less than 3 minutes but they were good and clean and I've so little hair left that it didn't matter. Outside the loo/shower block there are sinks for washing up for six people at once. This got a little crowded at the height of the Bank Holiday but you didn't have to wait long for a sink to become available.

But here is the thing about Fisherground that makes it so special. It is a very tolerant site and people and children are free to make some noise and enjoy themselves 24x7. The only caveat to that is that at 10:30pm, you have to be quiet. No radios and no loud talking.

This is BRILLIANT!

There is normally still a low hum of quiet whisperings but nothing you can't sleep through and the wardens on site will not tolerate rule breakers beyond the curfew. Make too much noise and you can expect a visit!

Some see this as overbearing. I see it as a guarantee that you will have a stress free stay, knowing that the site's rules will be adhered to and those that want to break them will be welcome to leave.

To have a stress free bank holiday weekend on a site like this is fantastic. I will be going back again and again and again. 


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


885 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement