Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dollys 1 review from this member

 As this was our first family camping trip, I wanted to stay somewhere that the kids would enjoy too, our two girls are 8 and 7 years and they loved it! The weather was absolutely gorgeous everyday so we considered ourselves lucky, so we took advantage of the sunny weather and our two night stay turned into four!

We arrived around 2pm and parked up near the reception and set off to find a warden, in no time we had a generous pitch looking out to the playground and tyre rafts, it was quiet so the girls had one each ~ there are two in total. A four man tent with dog and car cost 24 per night.

The site is surrounded by beautiful scenery and so tranquil ~ perfect!

There are a number of wardens on site who are always around to make sure campers are ok, (and behaving. ) very friendly and helpful, especially Jude and Ken. Warden John gave us some very good tips for touring abroad too.

The toilets and showers were kept very clean, were nice and hot, 50p got you about 3 mins so take a couple! The fire pits were great for when the evenings got cooler a bag of wood lasted us two nights, the wood man comes round about 5pm, its 4. 00 a bag, 50p for lighter and kindling, smoke kept the midges at bay but weren't too bad.

All in all a lovely site, do try the steam train journey to Ravensglass, it stops at the camp, cost us 31 return for two adults and two kids but well worth it, stunning scenery, took about forty mins one way, would def be back. When we get our next batch of sunshine :O) My only gripe is the local shop two mins drive away is nick named 'Harrods' need I say more??! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Boevets 2 reviews from this member

 Just had a lovely weekend at this great site!

The drive there was a bit hairy as fully laden car sometimes struggled to get up the hills even in 1st, won't be going through Ulpha again! Long way round via coast road for us next time!

The wardens/staff couldn't have been more helpful showing you to your pitch and making sure you were happy (we had EHU with our tent).

Shortly after we arrived the logman appeared to sell us logs for the firepit which was a nice touch.

Toilets were clean and shower was fine and the 50p was just enough time to get yourself sorted but don't hang around.

We were blessed with glorious weather and the kids (2 of 'em) had a great time on the playground and in the little stream and there was also plenty of room by the pitch for them to play frisbee/football etc etc.

Only criticism (not the sites fault) was the price of the mini railway at the top of the site - for 3 adults and 2 kids to travel to Ravenglass from the campsite would have cost us 46 for about a 5 mile journey! The kids had been looking forward to it so we went the other way to Dalegarth only 2 stops away but enough for them to experience the train ride there and back (about 10 mins each way) and only 10. 80 and there was also a nice playpark in Dalegarth right at the back of the station to keep the kids amused for an hour until the train ride back!

All in all a great site, with stunning views, well maintained and not noisy at all especially after 10. 30, great if you have kids!

We have booked again for July so it must be good!

Can't wait! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ImnotCAMP 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite. 2 adults and 3 children. The kids just went off and played all day long. Lovely and peaceful area. The site was amazing. Lovely owners and the wardens were very helpful. Play area and river for the kids to play. Lots of rockeries and hills for them to climb. Very well planned out for children.

The pitch was perfect and campfires was very well designed. Lovely train that takes you to and from different destinations. Very friendly campsite. Toilet block and showers were very clean. Will be going again. Would highly recommend this site for anyone.

The wardens are always around if there's anything you need. There's even an ice cream can that comes round. Can't fault anything about this place.

Directions was a bit blur. But I am a woman driver. But the scenery was beautiful. So if you do get lost you will love the scenery. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dawnsteveh 1 review from this member

 Visited the Week before Bank Holiday weekend, the site only had about 6 other tents on it. We were shown to our pitch which was quite spacious as we had pre-booked an electric hook up.

The views from the site are stunning mountains, and the surrounding area has lovely walks all straight from the site. The minature railway even stops at the sites own stop.

The toilet block was really clean all week up until the influx of people for the bank holiday, and unfortunately the facilities couldn't cope with the amount of people - there was even a queue for the ladies at 2am! The showers were 50p for a couple of minutes.

The wardens were all really nice and helpful, two of who (who are new there this season) went out of their way to give advice and help. On our second day there the electric coolbox broke, one of these wardens changed the connectors on it and all was fine again. Similarly on the Friday we had a gale and he came and checked on the tents pegging and guy ropes every half hour or so on all the tents. You couldn't ask for more from a warden! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jac1102 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights

When you first arrive you get shown where to pitch your tent and offered fire wood

You are only allowed to make a fire in the wheel rims provided so no extra bbqs are allowed

The toilet blocks were clean with hot showers costing 50p for about 5 mins but it was long enough to get hair shampooed and conditioned plus get washed, bit of a long trek from where our tent was pitched and very dark at night but as long as you have a torch its fine

There are dryers and I think a washing machine provided which you do have to pay for but come in very handy when the children have been in the pond

The children's play area was great but as it had been raining when we got there the adventure playground was very slippery and muddy

It was very quiet and peaceful after about 10. 30 which was great as we had children with us so they weren't kept up by noisy neighbours

It was the first time we had taken our daughter camping and she loved it plenty of space for them to play even if they weren't on the playground

Would definitely go back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hitesh 1 review from this member

 Just got back from BH Camp. Had a great time despite the poor weather conditions!

The Staff were very friendly and helpful. Fantastic Camp site for Kids and Adults. The Pond and Playground is amazing and child friendly.

We had a good spot to pitch our tent and were able to park our car close by. The Service Block was Clean and well equipped, with everything you would need for hygiene purposes.

Would definitely go there again. Thanks to all the Staff for a great weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anne Graham 1 review from this member

 This site was recommended to us, and I'd been dying to try it. It was lovely, great to be able to have a fire, and brilliant having the train run through. I'd love to have brought my children when they were young as the lake and play area looked fantastic and was clearly well used by the kids on site. The staff were brilliant, and were constantly cleaning and tidying up. The toilets and showers were adequate and clean, but I'd have liked a bit longer in the shower for my 50p! My only gripe was the extra cost of 2. 50 for a gazebo or awning, I thought this unnecessary and put us off having ours up, when it wouldn't have taken any more room than we had. But this is a small point, and we had a lovely time. It was really well placed for visiting the area, and I loved how quiet it was. Not once did I hear a radio blaring out - bliss! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cooky73 2 reviews from this member

 Positives- great location. It's very picturesque and the owners try to keep the field lush. The introduction of no cars on the grass has been a positive.

The playground and rafting pond are great for adventurous kids and it's back to nature all the way.

Negatives: as the site has grown, the facilities need to also 'move with the times'. The toilet blocks need to be refurbed as there just aren't enough for the sheer volumes of people that are now using this once, quite idyllic site.

The pricing is also extortionate! On top of per person. Per awning, per car, there was the additional 5 fee-just because it was summer hols. More money for less facilities and queues. Also the charge of 50p for a quick, and I mean, quick shower is audacious.

We have found many other sites that allow a campfire with less 'prison wardenish' management in equally stunning locations and are less costly.

We won't be visiting Fisherground again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fay Fife 14 reviews from this member

 I had had my eye on Fisherground as a camping destination for a couple of years or so. I liked the idea that it is located in the less tourist saturated side of the Lakes, and having three children, I thought the rafting pond and little adventure playground looked fantastic.

Fisherground's location is absolutely wonderful. The scenery is beautiful, and the drive down to the site through the little windy roads was most enjoyable, with dinky little villages and hamlets dotting the landscape here and there, and really making you feel as though you are on your holidays.

We finally arrived on the Friday at about 2. 30 in the afternoon on what must have been the hottest day so far, during this miserable rainfest of a summer. The ladies at reception were smiley and helpful, but that did not take away the sting of our pitch costing us 28. 50 per night! This was for one tent, two adults, three kids, and a 5 per night school holiday surcharge that had no explanation other than 'just because'. It is worth noting that we have never paid so much for a pitch anywhere!

We were directed to our pitch which to be honest, we weren't all that delighted with, as it was right next to the entrance to main camping field and enjoyed the ambience of all the cars rumbling in and out all day long, and the pedestrian thoroughfare too, with every other person tripping over our guy ropes. It seemed to us that the camping field was very overcrowded already, and we bid a silent farewell to our hopes of relaxation and privacy as we pitched our tent. The last time we camped amongst a crowd this big was at a music festival!

Anyway, we watched amazed as more and more people poured into the site and were admitted entrance. Even though the place was jam packed already. I suppose with the terrible summer we have had, they had to try and recoup some money somehow, but really. There were far too many people pitching up, and the noise was incredible. Had it not been for the fact that we had arranged to meet friends there later in the day and had reserved a pitch for them, I think we would have asked for our money back and gone elsewhere.

So. Tent up, and time to explore. The kids raced off to the rafting pond and playground and instantly made friends. Which was great. We hardly saw them all weekend as they were well catered for.

I took a walk up to the one toilet, shower and dishwashing block and saw queues. Queues for the toilets, queues for the dishwashing sinks. People were queuing to join the queue! The facilities were woefully inadequate for the sheer volume of campers there, and as a result they were filthy and swarming with people.

We spent three nights at Fisherground and every time I went up to grab a quick shower, there was a long queue. Morning, noon and night. I gave up in the end and went home smelly and dirty. I really had to wonder what we were paying 28. 50 a night for. At least I saved 50p by not being able to have a shower while I was there. I can't believe the audacity of charging extra for a shower, given the high pitch price and the dreadful overcrowding.

As an asides, I must mention the push button taps that are throughout the service block, including the dishwashing sinks. They are absolutely useless. The water goes off as soon as you let go, so you can't even wash your hands. Remember folks, 28. 50 per night for this.

Now we can talk about the strict staff, as have been mentioned by other reviewers. Pretty much all the staff were pleasant and helpful in their manner it must be said. But yes, while the site is great for your kids, you may feel as if you have been sent back to school yourself.

Hard as it is to believe, yet more people were granted entry on the Saturday, and come the evening, the noise round about us was deafening. I disappeared into our tent at about 7. 30 for a half hour lie down to escape the cocophony, and made the mistake of turning on some music. Of course I kept it to a respectful level so as not to annoy anyone else, but within 5 minutes a member of staff walking past told me to turn it off. Later that night we got another telling off for letting our little fire get too high.

Anyone would think we were all there to enjoy ourselves the way some folks were carrying on. The staff were kept rather busy going round everyone and telling them to stop whatever fun it was that they were attempting to have. It was all a bit restrictive and heavy handed if you ask me.

We saw no misadventure the entire time we were there. The problems created by the patrons of Fisherground were only through the sheer number of them, as they kept letting people in, even though there was patently no room left and the site was really starting to struggle to accommodate them.

We christened our (very nice) neighbour Sir Snortsalot, as we listened to him snoring his head off throughout the night from less than three metres away.

During our time there my husband, his friend, and our eldest son scaled Sca Fell on the Saturday in glorious sunshine, while the rest of us stayed on site and watched the younger kids have a wonderful time. I cannot fault the suitability of Fisherground for children. On a sunny weekend the place is kiddy paradise. They loved the pond and the stream and the zip wire, so all was definitely not lost. It kept them all occupied during the entire visit. Fabulous!

Shopping can be done in Gosforth Village Store which is well stocked, although a little on the pricey side. We didn't eat out while we were there, so I can't comment on any of the pubs in the vicinity.

We didn't visit Boot either, but according to other reviews it's worth a look.

We did take the little train from the campsite along to Ravenglass on the Sunday, which was very enjoyable and made our four year old son's entire weekend. Recommended.

On the Sunday the campsite cleared out a bit, and we had a much less frenetic and noisy time of it after that, even if we were afraid to chat and laugh round the campfire that night for fear of being told off again.

All in all Fisherground is a mixed bag. There's no denying that your kids will love it there, the location is superb, and the site is very attractive. On the other hand, it's overpriced with no justification for the extra costs, the staff are militant, and on two of the three nights we spent there, it was way way too crowded, rendering the facilities a big unappealing, inadequate mess.

Don't think we'll go back. It's a shame as we were all really excited about going in the first place. But we ended up feeling like cattle being prodded into a pen. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jayned 4 reviews from this member

 Just got home from yet another great time at fisherground. Nothing I can add to last years review apart from we have never been bothered by midgies, going to book EHU for next year.

We ate at King George and had a lovely Latte at WoolPack after a walk up Hardknott ( much better than driving )

The showers do cost 50p but are hot and last long enough. The facilities are always clean and we never had to wait.

Kids didn't want to come home ! 


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5676 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement