Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 217 Reviews
                8/10 from 217 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  217 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: KELLIE WRIGHT 1 review from this member

 We've been to this campsite a few times now and loved it every time.

We always come as 4 families of 2 x adults & 2 x kids ( range from 0 - 10) and stay in tents.

The location of the site is brilliant. Beautiful scenery, excellent facilities and close to some really good attractions.

This is by far our most favourite site and will definitely be coming again.

My only complaint would be that this site allows dogs, and while that in itself isn't a problem, some people aren't considerate enough to make sure that they're kept quiet.

Barking dogs are regularly a problem and it would be better if they weren't allowed on site at all. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Nikki C 1 review from this member

 Top tip: For ease of use don't book via mobile/ipad etc, make sure to use a desktop. The booking site isn't compatable with devices and leaves out essential info, meaning I had a back and forth with the owners adding extra bits/cost on which made it a bit of a faff for both parties.

Got there in the end and on arrival, although it's clear they like everything in order and done a certain way, it was a very pleasant trip from start to finish and you can tell everyones safety is a prime concern.

Despite appearing busy, they placed us in a quiet area taking into account our youngsters and dog which was very thoughtful.

Amenities are great. Plenty of fire pits and wood for sale. Loos/showers/washing up area were always clean, well stocked and tidy. The little pond was very popular with all ages 😂

If I had any gripes it was the little trek to get water from the bottom field BUT maybe we've just been spoilt with closer taps on other sites. And totally worth it for a peaceful pitch. Not the end of the world if you timed it right with a return from the loos as they were on the way back.

We did a little local walk to the waterfall which was fab. It took us a few hours to get there and back with a little break there to soak up the beautiful scenery. The wibbly Bridge near the campsite was a highlight.

Overall, a great site for kiddywinks and us adults enjoyed it just as much. We only stayed for 2 nights and would happily come back for a few more to check out other local sights. Will return but will be sure to book on a pc 😉 Thank you for having us! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: SKMo 1 review from this member

 This campsite was brilliant. The kids had a great time using the rafting pond and play area. There was lots to do a short drive away, and we enjoyed walking from the site.

The kids loved seeing the steam train run all along the back of the site! Facilities were always very clean, and even with the tag system for entry we didn't have a problem getting in to use the toilets and showers.

We loved having a pit ready to use for a fire in the evening! Great place for a visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: TRT1968 10 reviews from this member

 The facilities here are second to none! Wash-up, showers, toilets, bins, logs for sale, washing machines, dryers, drying room, boot cupboard, charging station, mobile shop, nearby shop in Eskdale Green with food and gas etc. Play area for the kids, a train station (when it's working).

However this range of facilities is reflected in the price, and the site is BIG. Many hundreds of units can be accommodated here, even during lockdown. Their COVID regulations were bordering on paranoid but this did give one a sense of good biosecurity. The staff patrol the campsite regularly, fixing problems, clearing litter, enforcing the rules on music and lights.

Unfortunately I had a very large group pitch up next to me on the last night and they were noisy, rude, homophobic, their children were running rogue, regularly passing between my tent and fire pit (about four feet away!) kicking footballs about in the dark wearing head torches.

Important to note that THIS IS NOT THE OWNERS FAULT. They just got a bad group in - unfortunately some people, especially large groups, just don't have any consideration. If YOU are reading this review and are like that, DON'T COME HERE. You will get told off and kicked off the site (another group got booted out the day before for similar over the other side). 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Juicer 13 reviews from this member

 Probably the best campsite in the country!

But with that, comes a price-tag. At £33/night (inc EHU) for a couple in a campervan, it is at the top end of the price range but Eskdale is a special valley and the price reflects that.

You couldn't have more friendly and helpful staff than the team that look after this site. There's always a warden available and they love a chat and a laugh as well.

Site facilities have been updated recently and are a great improvement on the old toilet block. There's ample showers and hot water and the washing up facilities are excellent, with deep stainless steel sinks available under shelter.

If I had one gripe it would be that a shower costs £1, which is a lot on top of the £33 pitch fee. (That's why facilities only get a 7/10) I understand the need to charge something, to ensure the showers remain available for all to use but maybe the price-tag could include a token for every two nights or similar, with further tokens purchased as required?

Fisherground has something for every age group. There's a shallow pond with floating tyres and an adventure playground for the kids. Lal Rattie (steam train) stops at the end of the campsite, to take you to ice cream in Boot or bring you home from a long trek.

There's 3 pubs in reasonable walking distance; 2 in Boot (about 2 miles) and one at the end of the road (about 1/2 mile) and then there's the delight of camp fires. You can bring your own wood or buy some on site. If you bring your own, it needs to be under about 15 inches (42cm) to fit in the fire pit.

After 10:30 pm the site operates a low noise policy, so those who love taking their radios camping might find it not the best place to go but that's fine with me. ;)

We'll be back, again and again and again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Steveh2010 4 reviews from this member

 Quiet, well managed and spacious site in the heart of the western Lakes. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Good modern and clean facilities with only a few minute walk to the local pub and a two mile walk along a riverside path to two more.

Whilst we didnít use them there are lots of fire pits spread around the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Richard fleetham 1 review from this member

 Excellent site to stay at. The site and facilities were very clean.

We used it as a base for climbing scaffell pike and it is well situated.

The staff on site could not do anymore for you and all very welcoming and friendly.

Will definitely be back in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Octopusann 3 reviews from this member

 I have stayed here many times before but this was the first time under the new management and with my new tiny camper, Dobby.

The site staff couldn't have bee more friendly or helpful especially when I got in a mess putting up my new awning. I will be going back.

The site is now fully bookable which is a godsend when coming from any distance.

A big thank you to the team for your welcome and assistance. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Epotter88 1 review from this member

 A fantastic campsite in one of the most beautiful parts of the country.

Me and my family stayed 3 nights at Fisherground campsite in The Lake District in mid-summer 2018. Our group consisted of 3 adults, a teenager and a 3 year old.

Some of the things that really impressed us while camping at Fisherground were the immaculate toilet facilities, the beautiful surroundings and the ability to have a safe fire each evening we stayed there (there are many fire pits located on site).

As well as enjoying our stay here, one other standout memory from our camping holiday was catching the train from the campsite to Eskdale. The train runs right by the campsite and was a huge hit with our 3 year old boy. Brilliant! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grahamjp 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a nine night stay at Fisherground and would heartily recommend it. It's great to go to a site that allows campfires and our children loved the playground and rafting lake. It's a great base to explore the western Lakes.

The staff took great care about finding pitches that spared the grass, wouldn't get too wet, were near a campfire position and faced a good view - they clearly care a lot about campers enjoying their experience on the site!

And the enforcement of the 10. 30pm noise curfew was a winner for me! 


Previous     217 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3351 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement