Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simon W 2 reviews from this member

 This is one of those sites that's so good you just don't want to tell anyone (as it seems to get ever more popular)
You just feel amazingly at home here - have been 4 /5 times at different times of the year, just turned up and pitched up - with the exceptiion of once (when we virtually had to beg to be let in they did in the end)
Its been a lovely laid-back mix of campers and the odd tourer ( caravans are not allowed)

The facilities are basic but clean, but the setting, the ambience, the kiddies play area and pond. The nearby little steam railway, the use of fires (they keep dried wood on site at about four quid for a big bag and firelighters) is just so so nice, this is real camping in a idillic family friendly situation.

The keen-eyed tennents are always there keeping a watchful look over everything as well as a resident site ranger! You are literally locked in after about 10pm (no car movements) which is great. There are no single sex groups allowed.

The setting is fab, the top feild having lots of nooks and cranies amongst the rocks where you can get privacy, and a big main field where bigger tents seem to get the lions share. The mountain views are awsome, and the walks down to Boot village (if you can call it a village) are lovely along the river to Eskdale

The two pubs in Boot are fab - the Boot Inn having the most wonderful beer garden I'v ever found! Sadly the King William Pub near to the site was in our opinion an expensive dissapointment.

Any down-sides - well go fully equipped as no camp shop (there is a village store locally but it closes early) and there is no provision to book in advance - its a case of 1st come!

They don't charge for the size of your tent so if you have the canvas equivalent of the Taj Mahal then it will still cost you the same as your Halfords one-man nylon rabit hutch LOL !

A fantastic site ! 


Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dogwithnobrain 1 review from this member

 As a family we are desperate to return here. July 2007, was our 4th visit to Fisherground, and it still holds it's charm.

Minimal facilities - toilet block with showers, washing up sink, washing machine/ tumble drier and freezer. Sufficient for the type of holiday you are there for. Plenty of space for camping if you go pre-school holiday time. Try going for a week - Wednesday to Wednesday with a weekend in the middle and be astounded at how many tents can appear over the weekend, and then relax and enjoy the stillness once everyone has left.

There are fire holes on camp, which is a great attraction. Nothing quite says a camping holiday than a bag full of smoke smelling clothes. Late afternoon you can watch all the youngsters, and young males head off into the woods to recover fallen branches - you know who the newbies are, they bring back leave strewn branches and oh the stingy smoke they create!

You are in the Lake District, so of course there is beautiful scenery all around you. Walking the rolling hills to the rear of the Camp site opens up the whole valley for you to admire. Wastwater is across in the next valley and a brilliant day out. Walk the banks, and refresh yourself with a dip in the icy water. Very close by are streams and rivers which are equally enticing for a long dip after a warm day's walk.

There are a couple of hotels within walking distance of the camp - maybe 1/2 away to either direction, but if you have your supplies right, you don't need to move, and there is a little stream to one side of the camp - the perfect outdoor fridge for beer and wine.

There is nothing more perfect that sitting round the embers of your camp fire on a late warm summer's evening, watching the smoke from all the camp fires, sitting low above the camp, with the twinkle of the stars coming through, the low murmur of other (v. Considerate) campers and the odd screetch of an owl or other bird of prey out on night hunt.

There is no better place on earth, and thanks to the National parks, it won't change. Switch down a gear. Have a holiday with no electric, no noise, conversation, games and cooking in the open. Nothing to beat it. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ems303 1 review from this member

 An excellent campsite in a part of the lake district that is unspoilt by tourism. The views from the site are beautiful. The site itself is pretty much flat. The site are quite strict that fires must remain within the wheel rims provided. But there are plenty, and they are dotted all round the site. You can buy fire wood from the site, 3.50 per bag of logs, 50p for kindling. There are no marked pitches, so its pitch where you like policy but most are level and well drained! There is an area marked out for EHU, there is probably 8 or so EHU points, which are located near the wash block. To be able to pitch with EHU you must pre-book, and deposit of 10 per night is required. The wash block was excellent, 4 showers, 5 toilets in the womens, the same in the gents. Free hairdryer in both. Showers, washing machine and tumble dryer takes 50ps. HINT for using the shower - put one 50p in and then when it has run out put in the 2nd. Dont put two in at once, you wont get double the time!

There is a rafting pond, and a very excieting looking adventure playground. However, being in our 20s we weren't allowed on it. But the kids seemed to be having a great time! But they got very wet and muddy! There is a nice walk from the site to the Stanley Ghyll Waterfall, but you probably need an OS map.

We decieded that with our fully loaded car we wouldn't go over Hardknott pass to get to and from the campsite. So we followed the directions on the campsites website. However, we did drive Hardknott pass several times whilst we were there and it was well worth the 1:3 and hairpin bends for the excellent views!

Some useful information:

- Nearest shop is in Eskdale, they are well stocked. Fresh bread daily! And camping supplies upstairs.

-There is a farm shop in the next village along from Eskdale - Santon Bridge, that sells proper cumberland sausage and other local produce.

- Petrol Station is on the located on the A595 at holmrook. Its got a well stocked shop that is open till 11pm. They also sell campfire wood.

- Wastwater lake near the lake is worth a trip, as it has beautiful views and is non-commercial unlike Windermere and Coniston lake.

- PUBS: We didn't try the King George (the pub nearest the site) as the owners didn't recommend it. The Boot Inn in Boot was excellent, proper home cooking, real ales, log fires on cold days, real ice-cream on hot days. They allow dogs in the pub, and have a lovely beer garden.

- Take lots of 50ps! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ninaclark 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site!

I was very wary at first due to the number of children running around.

Normally kids on campsites are really annoying but with the rafting pond and zip wires etc the kids where just so happy that I found my grumpy old self smiling at them. I would have loved to have come here as a child.

The staff on site where helpful and really working hard keeping the facilities clean & tidy considering it kept raining and it was muddy. I did think that the wasn't enough showers for the number of people on the site but I never had to wait.

The open fires where great. Lovely to sit round with a glass of wine.

Going back next weekend to try out our new tent! Can't wait.

Lots of great walks and a really nice pub (King George) Doggy's welcome at both the pub and on the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J@sm!n 1 review from this member

 Very scenic with some lovely walks from the site. The owners worked very hard to keep it clean all day. The playground and rafting ponds were fun, more for our 7 and 10 yr old than our 14 yr old. Luckily we'd read all the reviews and had taken lots of spare clothes as they came back wet, muddy and freezing,changed into dry clothes then went straight back to it. Our children took surf shoes and other quick drying play shoes to go in the water as parts of it are rocky.

Unfortunately while we were there it rained almost constantly, which meant no matter how hard the owners tried to keep the washrooms clean, they were fighting a losing battle from muddy boots. Take flip flops to shower in, and if you want to shampoo and condition expect to need 2x 50p for your shower. We didn't have a warm shower the whole time we were there, so paying for cold showers went against the grain a bit. We tried different times of the day but as soon as another person got in another shower the water went cold.I wouldn't have wanted to take much younger children in to cold showers.

Best bits of holiday: camp fires and toasted marshmallows (the ones sold by the ice cream van which comes round in the evenings def toast the best), lovely walks,lovely scenery and the train stopping at the site, great for coming back from walks and a great carrot to keep the kids going!

Worst bits of holiday: The rain, the midges and the cold showers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joeyemma 1 review from this member

 We stayed for one rainy night in August. Lovely campsite, most beautiful location. Loved the fact that you could have a campfire. Staff friendly and the shower and toilet block was quite clean, especially when you consider that it was a mud bath outside! Didn't have a shower onsite, so can't comment on the actual showers.

It was quite reasonable, 12.50 for the two of us in a tent and our car. When we stayed in Pooley Bridge a couple of months ago it was nearly 20!

Unfortunately I am over 16 and wasn't allowed to play on the kids stuff, but the kids playing seemed to be having fun on the zip wire. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hmjdesigns05 6 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic site. The staff were brilliant very helpful and facilities were spot on everything we could possibly need. Kids loved the little lake and play area and exploring the grounds. All very safe and friendly. Cant wait to go back again this year have pre booked elec hookup so I don't miss out. Also remember to take your marshmallows as you all get a wheel drum to build a fire in very cosy. Firewood available on site. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flower51 1 review from this member

 What a fab site. Arrived Sunday had plenty of spaces to set up tent. It is very clean, toilets are spotless, showers are warm. Took 2 kids with us the eldest 8 and was straight in the pond ( warning-take plenty of old clothes and shoes). The only problem was you are miles from anything to do.
Little shop that is walking distance that sells everything and a cash point, but beware one day when we went to use it it didn't work and the nearest one was miles away. What a very good campsite, highly recommended 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beezers 13 reviews from this member

 This is a local site to us so we know it well. We spent a lovely weekend here when we were blessed with good weather.

We were on an EHU pitch and it cost us 20.50pn for four of us with a large tent. Not bad a price, but if you add on 1 each for a decent shower, 1.50 if you want to wash your hair properly, then it can work out expensive. The showers seem to vary as well, both in warmth of water and timimgs from what we can work out. OH had a hot shower one day, that seemed to last a lot longer than the cold one he had the previous day and he put the same amount in both times! Daughter took 1 as she wanted to wash her hair and came back saying she barely had enough time to shower once she washed her hair and next time would take 1.50, I found the same when I washed mine and neither of us have long hair. Overall we enjoyed the site though.

The local shop in Eskdale isn`t cheap, but if you are staying for a week or so, it would be worth visiting Whitehaven for a day out and stocking up on supplies there. Tesco, Aldi, Lidl, Netto, Morrisons, Iceland etc are all to be found there.

If the weather is nice make for Drigg beach, a lovely beach with miles of sand and sand dunes and it never gets crowded.

Plenty of sinks to wash pots in, though at busy times a queue can form, but never to long a queue.

As for ice blocks! Be warned, while we were there we had ours pinched from the freezer and we weren`t the only ones, it seemed to be rife. It does not matter if you put your names on or if you put them in bags, they will be taken! Each and every time we went to the freezer, there was always someone there complaining theirs were missing.

As long as you keep the above in mind, you will enjoy this site. We will go again, but will take more 50p`s next time! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SK1971 2 reviews from this member

 Quite simply the best site I have visited. We went with a group of 4 adults & 5 children & they did not want to leave after 4 nights. Loads for kids to do with the adventure play area , camp fires allowed, miniature railway next door & a short walk to a lovely pub. Toilet blocks clean & tidy.

Would definitely visit again 


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4554 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement