Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park
Banbury Hill Farm, Enstone Road
Charlbury
Chipping Norton
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX7 3JH
Tel: 01608810314
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: 28/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 231 Reviews
                9/10 from 231 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  231 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thegibbs 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from the site.5 adults and 11 children in 2 large tents.The place is excellent!

Unfortunatly we had to pitch up in the rain,making it a mud bath around our pitch,We asked if we could move the next day-no problem,they sorted us out quickly.

Next day we had lovely weather.

Great site for kids,we never saw them! they had a football pitch, trails, animals, tennis, games room. I have never been to campsite and stayed on it the entire time. Apart from a stroll down the hill (children enjoyed that too!) to Charlbury we never left the site for the two days, didn't need to.
Showers and toilets fine, (some taps and showers could stay on longer without the need to repress them) water warm, washing up facilities good. Big on recycling.

You must order the crossiants for breaky,they are fab!

Recommended site for families. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dasamdra 5 reviews from this member

 Visited as part of a group taking up 11 pitches-tents / tourers / motorhomes. Site worked hard to fit us all together in advance. Prices average. Age ranges from 68 to 2 years. Booking in, slow process but friendly! £5 cash deposit needed for barrier card. Some in the group had no power with EHUs, but staff were very attentive and quick to rectify.

Toilet block - loos and showers clean. Could add a few more hooks to the shower cubicles (a moan for most sites i,m sure!) Access to drinking/waste water was good.

Animals were a good distraction for the kids, play areas and playing field excellent. Shop good with variety of products and not over inflated prices. You can order fresh bread, newspapers and even book in for a farmhouse breakfast!

Walk to Charlbury via dog walk and nature reserve good, not 'wheel friendly'. Small Co-op supermarket.

Lunched at the Bell Inn, Charlbury. Nice food, especially chunky chips! Great beer garden with lots of grass and picnic benches and shallow stream running through - Drinks and food expensive, but hey-you are on holiday and can treat yourself!

Good site and even though was nearly full , they have been creative with pitches, it did not seem cramped. We would visit again 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alhusson 1 review from this member

 As we used this site as the basis for our decision to visit I only thought it right to leave a review of my own.

Every thing that the last few reviewers wrote is correct.

On arrival we were given the option to change our pitch, we had a small child with us and we were given a more appropriate pitch which meant we could keep close eye on him. All the pitches looked good and appeared to be of a good size.

We camped in the far left hand corner of the site, which unfortunately is the lowest part of the site, which wouldn't have been a problem if we hadn't had a night of rain before we packed up to go. The ground was very soggy, however we felt was the sunniest parts of the site and reasonably private.

The facilities were great, the showers etc the best we have had at a campsite. The shop was good, well stocked and the croissants were lovely! We did pre-order them with our newspaper.

If I could improve things, as it was our first visit I would have liked a bit more info on the site when arriving. Ie Where the toilet blocks were, the different play areas and the walks, where the animals were, only for a little more direction. I know that half the fun of a new campsite is the exploring! I also felt that provision for the under 5's was very basic - a swing would have been nice.

We felt that as we did not use or need electric hook up that the site was slightly over priced. However this would not stop us going back. Over all a great stay and would highly recommend it.

We did walk to the local village. We were directed via the road, however we did find an alternative route across the site using the farm trail to the road, cross over the road and pick up the foot path which skirts the road. At the end of this footpath we were directed to join the road again, however if you go out of the gate, go right and down through another gate you can join another path which takes you behind the houses and up the field (not suitable for push chairs!) This then takes you up behind the church or if you go to the left onto the road by the scout hut!

We lunched at the Bull which has just recently been taken over. Although it welcomed out business we did feel it reluctant. Not very child friendly (no kids menu) dogs not welcome (poor poppy had to stay out in the rain!) the menu was expensive and we felt a little underdressed in our smart camping clothes. The food however was good. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PP-G+T 6 reviews from this member

 Well we went to Cotswold View on 23rd March, we left Staffordshire in a snowstorm. Having advised at the time of booking an approximate time of arrival we rang the site whilst en route and there was someone manning Reception waiting for us with a smile.

It was a cold weekend and the shower blocks were clean and heated. Shower space is a little cramped but the water was warm and plentiful.

There were also ample sinks for dishwashing, again with loads of hot water and a small roof over.

The site itself is split into numerous sections so although it is a larger site than we would normally visit, you do not feel that you are on a big site.

The shop on site is well stocked and is reasonably priced (£3.75 for a bottle of Red Wine)

Walks around the site are nice as are the play areas.

Staff are friendly and helpful and were there to ensure you enjoyed your stay as well as to make a living.

We will return 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 3boys+whippet 3 reviews from this member

 Caravan trip number 3 for us, and this was our most luxurious site yet. We paid £21 per night for the 5 of us, plus £5 refundable cash deposit for the road barrier card.

We met up with friends who camped, so between us there were 4 adults and 6 children, although we did not see a lot of the children! Between us we made use of the dog walk area, the football field (doubled nicely as cricket field and rugby field), playgrounds, tennis court, shop (early morning bread, croissants and papers), outside chess and under 5s fenced wheely toys area. That leaves the table tennis, air hockey and skittles for another time!

It's a big site, well landscaped and the pitches are a good size, level and well cared for. It's up high, so there are magnificent views of the Cotswolds. Loos, showers and washing up facilities are all good. At the end of Sept. It was relatively quiet, so no need to book anything in advance.

We enjoyed the walk down to Charlbury (mostly off the road) and our pub lunch in the very child and dog friendly Ye Olde Three Horseshoes. Simple choice of menu, served by friendly staff and the children enjoyed chess and darts there too. There were plenty of other nice looking places to eat in Charlbury. No time to stop in Burford's pretty high street on the way home, perhaps another time!

In summary large, organised site with good facilities set in beautiful countryside. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blue-spud 2 reviews from this member

 From the moment I booked the 2 nights I could tell it was going to be good weekend. Booked a few weeks before, just a phone call with a return phone number but no deposit required!

Finding the site could be difficult if you follow a certain internet mapping sites directions from the A40, as it tells you to turn before getting to Charlbury not after it. If you follow the campsites own directions you will be fine.

Booking in was a breeze,and the fiver deposit for the barrier key was all done and dusted promptly.

The site is well laid out with hedges and trees segmenting the various areas nicely. Our2 pitches were in a section of three with a mirror image opposite the access road. Water and refuse points built into the hedgerows so you don’t have to stare at them all the time. All Pitches seemed to have power hook ups.

Plenty of areas for the kids to use, although the under 5’s area was very basic. I think we brought more outside play toys!

The site shop is small but seemed to sell everything needed. The croissants and pain au chocolat and fresh baked bread went down well and were fairly well priced. Order them the night before though or you may be disappointed.

The shower block and toilets were clean all the times I used them and if you need a bath it will only cost you 50 pence.

They have a “very” well stock tourist information “shed” with flyers and maps covering over a 50 mile radius of the campsite.

There are nice walks around the site and the animals are there but the Rabbits seem to live in nettles and could only find 2 of them.

The walk to Charlbury is, as others had mentioned, via a bit of road walking but mainly on sections mown into fields and only took about 10 mins. So fairly safe for small kids though if you have a pushchair watch the walk back as the one slope is a killer!

The Street fair was on during the weekend and made a nice afternoon stroll for us.

Overall a nice site which we will be coming back to 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: C-mac 13 reviews from this member

 We had had 3 nights here as 2 families of 5 - went midweek and were allowed to camp in the rally field which was great - we had it to ourselves until friday night!  Kids loved the playgrounds(2), the outdoor toys, the walks round the farm and  animals - very cute pigs and tame rabbits.  Plum trees were ripening all around us in the bushes so the kids ate and ate! If it had been a bad year for wasps could have made it tricky with all the soft fruit around.
Didn't do the tennis or skittles but sounded fun - need to book well in advance when you arrive at weekends.  Good site for kids to ride around on bikes which ours loved.
Very handy shop - well stocked with fresh bread (croissants and pain au chocolat.) papers (ordered) chilled drinks and alcohol and a selection of toys for the kids to pester you. Badminton sets etc
We were very lucky with the weather - first consistent sun in August - but there was still a lot to see in area. Being on a hill they hadn't been affected by floods except drop in visitors.
Very pleasant site - would return - good for families and groups with something for kids of different ages. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Susanevo 1 review from this member

 Just returned from five nights at this campsite.
 
The toilet facilities were spotless and the shop, although small is very well stocked.  There is a good sized playground and a really pleasant atmosphere on site (no chavs!).
 
Pitch sizes were very generous and we had plenty of space with our large tent.
 
You can walk into nearby Charlbury and the owners have numerous fields where they have created a walkway, so you can walk the whole way (apart from about 20ft) without having to walk on the road which was ideal for us as we have a three and four year old.
 
Will definitely return.  


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paff_pieboy 3 reviews from this member

 Great site with very good, clean toilet/shower/washing up facilities.
 
Play area for children, outdoor chess & draughts & games room.
 
Well stocked shop, with freshly baked bread.
 
We visited with three other families (8 adults & 9 children (2-7yrs) and will definitely visit again & again & again . 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sammy66j 6 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from this fab site on BH weekend. We liked this site so much have booked to return in two weeks.
 
The facilities are excellent, only gripe about showers is you have to continually push else water runs out immediately. Farm walks and trail on site.
 
Excellent small shop on site that stocks most essentials. Pitch was large plenty of room for caravan, awning, car and space left over.
 
Plenty of play areas for the children and we never saw our son when we were on site. Nearby the lovely picturesque town of Bourton on the water,one tip pay and display charges £5 for all day but just around the corner, £2 to park in a field all day. The river is shallow enough for the children to paddle in, so take nets etc if the weather nice.
 
Stow on the wold another pretty town to visit. Can't wait to return. 


Previous     231 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chipping Norton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


25351 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement