Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Gibraltar Farm Camp Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 231 Reviews
                9/10 from 231 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  231 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobsbabes 15 reviews from this member

 Gibraltar Farm has fantastic views and a lovely clean toilet block. The beach is stony with no sand but the children enjoyed it lots of rock climbing for the adventurous

Grey waste can be emptied against the wall not sure whether it was just in the one spot or all along the wall !

The route in and out is awful full of pot holes a 180 degree turn followed by a 90 degree turn on a steep incline (even our 2. 3 ton rear wheel drive car wheel spun on the way up) which with a 42ft unit was a tad dicey !

Its a working farm and smells like a working farm !

Would we go here again No soley due to the entrance 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bwfcdave1 7 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a one night stay at Gibraltar Farm. Chose it as a good first try with our new (well it is to me even if it was built in 1990!) van.

Been here before camping and in terms of location and management it's always been first class. The one thing it did fall down on previously was facilities and these have now been massively improved with a big new toilet and shower block (being completed the day we arrived)which is great.

Lots of work still being done on a couple of the adjacent fields so looks like it may get bigger as well.

And still only 12 a unit a night - but will this last with the new facilities?, if it does then this has got to be the best value in the North West!

Excellent 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: InghamIF 19 reviews from this member

 Site with excellent views to the west over Morecambe Bay.

The entrance through a car park of a kiosk selling home made ice cream can be congested and care needs to be taken with a caravan on the final steep winding downhill approach.

The approach would benefit from having the potholes filled in.

1) The site has a large open area for tents etc. Without the requirements of electricity. The tent campsite, at weekends/school holidays, is full of families with excitable children who play ballgames anywhere and tend to scream and shout a good deal.

2) About 25 seasonal caravan pitches which after the school holidays seemed mostly empty.

3) About 10 touring pitches with electric hookup and good see view, beware good view also means awnings will be vulnerable to high winds

The 2&3 above are generally in a separate field to the tents.

The toilet block is old but kept very clean. The owners said that the toilet block was to be rebuilt this winter so as to have twice the facilities.

We suffered several days of gale force winds and watched a number of awnings/tents flattened. After two nights we took our all year awning down as it was becoming difficult to keep the pegs secure in what's is essentially a very sandy soil covered by a layer of crushed stone.

Our storm pegs 30cm * 1cm diameter were only just holding on the storm straps and on the windward side. During this period all but one tent camper packed up and left.

With improvements in the toilet block the site in reasonable weather is an excellent site for all families. I would imagine that during strong winds tent camping may be less desirable. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DanniMolly 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a lovely weekend away at Gibraltar farm and can easily say that we could of stayed another week!

Lovely walks across the beach when the tide goes out - very fun but be careful of the quicksand!

The local town is not too far away, about a 10 minute walk with a coop which is open 7 days a week till 10 at night. This is handy as there is not site shop but a little stand for ice creams at weekends and also free range eggs on site -

The site is very clean and tidy and even the two chickens are friendly.

Only two showers each for male and female and you can find yourself waiting a while but not complaining as the views, people and the pricing is outstanding and makes up for it.

Cant wait to go back! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smile2day 2 reviews from this member

 This omce Beautiful site that was full of magic has disappeared.

We have visited this site for 25 years.

What has happened - now all you view are commercial pegs, gone are the true camping days of the past. There was a time when vans were not allowed on the hill to the right of the descending road, and the view was free and breath-taking, but now there are vans with hard standing all over the site - up the hills - in the woods,

There seem to be more permanent sited vans than ever, think they originally had permission for about ten, but there's way more than that now.

I'm sorry Gibraltar farm has had its heart ripped out of it, trees have been felled, grass has been replaced by hard standing 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deers 4 reviews from this member

 Just unpacked from a brilliant weekend at Gibraltar farm, this is only our second time camping and with 3 small young children we were a bit apprehensive but went on personal recommendation.

The campsite was off the beaten track and when we did find it we were not disappointed. The site itself is a perfect adventure playground an our girls loved playing on the rocks in the centre of the field and being free to explore.

The site was full but the noise level was not high and everyone seemed to respect the other campers in keeping it down later on at night. We found queues quite a few times for the facilities but it was a busy park and later on in the day the showers became free, the toilet block was very clean and the showers nice and warm.

We took a short walk(15-20 minutes) into the nearby village of Silverdale for some supplies not much there but a few shops and pubs but a lovely walk and stopped off at the shore on the way back.

A very relaxing time was had by all and we will be going back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scrabblelovers 1 review from this member

 Really happy with the campsite, toilet and shower block basic but very clean (and I'm very fussy!) Mr said gents were the same. But could do with a couple more showers.

Wasn't busy when we were there but could see it getting croweded when busy.

Will definitely be going again but this time without a gazebo, note of warning it can get very windy on the camping field so make sure everything is battened down, we came away minus the gazebo.

Owners easily contactable if the steward is not around. A site that we would recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: FranG72 1 review from this member

 Just had our first visit to Gibraltar Farm, and can offer nothing but praise for such a fantastic site, location could not be better, situated 5 minutes walk from the beach/rocks (accessed via the field next to the site), the rocks made a great location for a fire to watch the sun go down, 15 minutes leisurely walk into the village, where you can find a very reasonably priced CO-OP (12 bottles of Budweiser 7. 50. bargain!), newsagents, pub etc.

The site itself does not have an actual play area for children, BUT the centre of the site plays host to a rather fetching large mound with rocks (we named this, 'Monkey Island') which kids of all ages congregate to, also a popular spot for the kids are the woods (next door), so fear not, there is plenty to keep the 'monkeys' happy. And make sure you have some change spare, there is a nice little Ice Cream shop at the top of the site. ;)

Facilities, are basic, but well maintained and always clean, time your visit right and you will have no problem getting a shower etc.

I can confidently predict, it will not be long before we return. Just hope the sun joins us like it did for our last visit, that was the icing on the cake. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nickoteen 1 review from this member

 Great site for camping, never saw the kids they were off playing in the woods. Staff on site very helpful and always happy to help with any problems.

The camping field can get very wet and is also exposed to the elements, but it never stopped our enjoyment of site.

Toilets very clean and tidy and I understand there is a new shower/toilet block being built for 2012, so here's hoping they are up to standard as I'm sure they will be.

Lots to do in the Silverdale area, We found the stock car racing at Warton a great day out, and there are plenty of walks from the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Babyjones 1 review from this member

 Just had a great fun weekend at this campsite. No play area for kids but they didn't need one as they all played on the rocks in centre of site (ages11-4yrs).

Shower/loo block clean and tidy.1 shower gents and ladies.But hey, your camping.

Flat ground for tents and help and info from steward if needed.

We stayed up till 1.30 other campers stayed up till 3.30 but didn't make too much noise. Lots of dogs on site but all were under control at all times. No dog mess seen on site at all.

Will definitely be going back. 


Previous     231 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibraltar Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3306 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement