Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Gibraltar Farm Camp Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julesjones 3 reviews from this member

 The location of this site is just beautiful and the village has a coop, Indian takeaway, a pub, chemist etc. The camping fields are very exposed to the winds and a seasonal caravan pitcher told us that many tents are lost and damaged due to the severe winds and he had in fact lost his own awning to the winds.

The new facilities are lovely but after using the toilet you have to walk to another room to wash your hands! ON the last day of our stay the farm tractor came down and we had to endure the machine emptying the sewage from the toilets. The stench was terrible and I'm sure a health hazard. Sadly this site isnt for us 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happy families 1 review from this member

 We've been going to this lovely, friendly site for over ten years both in caravans and tents. It shows we like it so much as we keep coming back numerous times a year and will continue doing so, even though are kids are now older and don't always want to come with us. Ideal for kids as they have plenty of freedom are able to play in woods and on the beach, not in concrete parks (Just remember to tell them how dangerous the sands can be).

The new toilet/shower blocks are great, plenty of hot water in the showers, the only drawbacks are not enough hooks in the cubicles and next to the plug sockets and sinks they could do with some hooks and a shelf for campers drying their hair, doing makeup etc. So your stuff doesn't have to be on the floor just in case it is dirty (mind you we've always found the floors clean - so no criticism about cleanliness!)

Our only other criticism is that fires are no longer allowed. Fires have always been part of camping, again it's a change for kids to make melted marshmallow sandwiches, at night round a campfire (rich tea biscuits and marshmallows to those who didn't learn this in the Brownies) and it does take some of the atmosphere away, especially on a cold night in the camping field, when everyone goes inside early to keep warm rather than staying outside and having fun. Maybe the rules could be relaxed a bit that you could have a fire in an off the ground bbq or fire pit.

Finally, well done to the stewards who keep such long hours. We were there when they've put on quizzes to get everyone together. It's a great atmosphere and gets people talking and laughing together.

Again, it is just a great site, fantastic views nice area, handy Co-Op but I don't want to recommend it to any more people in case there isn't space for us when we try to book in! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Musiclynn1980 3 reviews from this member

 One of my favourite sites, and gets better each time we go. Can be very windy at times but the views and grounds more than make up for that. Kids love it - and not a tv in sight. Plenty of beach/woodland to explore. Can get noisy around the 'monkey island' when there's a large cluster of rocks in the centre of the tent field that all the kids like to play on. Toilet/shower facilities nice spacious and well maintained. Lovely little ice cream hut upon the entrance too :) great site for exploring local area or just staying on the site! would recommend 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Milo2008 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our camping trip to gibraltar farm and must say there new toilet block is a hit with me. There are plenty of showers, sinks and toilets, plug sockets to charge your phone or hairdryer. The only downside to this usually great site is they have stopped the fires at the caravans, we have friends who have a caravan on this site and use to look forward to having a glass of wine while sat out with a fire, that's all about camping, and feel its lost it's charm by doing this! Please reconsider the fire issue! Other than this it was a good but very wet weekend :) 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shaznric 2 reviews from this member

 Had a fantastic 3 days/nights at this lovely site after a great time here last year too.

Paid the warden upon arrival then told we could pitch anywhere on the field. Had a great view of Morecambe bay. There were 4 adults and 4 children (ages 8-11) in our party and had walks along the coast and through the woods. A nice walk into Silverdale where there are a few shops and a pub. Also there's a park just a bit further than the co-op which entertained the kids (when they weren't playing in the woods and on 'Monkey Island'.

The new shower/toilet block(with underfloor heating) were fantastic and always clean and stocked with loo roll, soap etc. There are plenty of toilets and free showers and hand dryers. Plug sockets were there to use your own hairdryer. The new washing up facilities are now indoors with 4 sinks and drainers.

There is a home made ice cream shop on the site which is only open at weekends, but the owner went out of her way to open it for us on the Tuesday when we told her we were disappointed that we had missed it.

A fantastic site to visit and an absolute bargain at only 12 a night for our 4 berth tent. Will definitely be visiting again and would highly recommend going. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simon1964 1 review from this member

 Visited in August for the first time this year with my wife and 2 young children(3 & 4). The campsite is in a stunning location over looking the bay which produces some beautiful sunsets. Just a short walk through a lovely wooded area and your on the sands of the bay.

The facilities are the best I have come across on a campsite, the showers are roomy and hot. They are very clean and well maintained.

The children had lots to do, playing with other children, playing on the campsite and regular walks to the beach rock pooling and building sand castles etc.

The home made ice cream was delicious and is sold on the campsite.

The local area is very nice too, we ventured out for a drive one evening and fell upon The New Inn in Yealand. Really nice food and friendly staff, kids menu very good too.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Billy42 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights (fri-sat). On arrival we paid the warden who has a caravan on site. We were told to pitch anywhere.

There were 3 kids (4, 7 and 9) and 4 adults. Kids were soon buzzing around playing. Lots of kids on site which is good.

No fires even in fire pits but no problem and it didn't spoil it.

Lovely site with lovely views over the bay.

Shower block was close to all pitches and they were always spotless and plenty of cubicles.

Ice cream shop on site. Couple of pubs in silver dale.

Lovely walk down to the beach (not golden sands but kids loved it). All in all we will be going back because whilst I've been to better sites the kids really loved it and keep asking to go back. Judging from the trees leaning toward the site I assume it is pretty windy here generally but it wasn't bad when we were there.

Excellent site. Would recommend 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pammosley 5 reviews from this member

 We had a very enjoyable couple of nights at Gibraltar Farm. We arrived & found ourselves a pitch as instructed by the owner as she would not be around.

We set camp in what looks like a tent only field. Plenty of space to pitch Facilities are excellent. Local shop up the road in case you`ve forgotten anything. Lots of families there & kids enjoyed running around playing in the woods. The site settled down as night came.

12 for a 5 berth tent per night, good value.

The area is fantastic for walkers & wildlife. I can recommend the coast path up to Arnside & the walk back over Arnside Knott & the woods back to Silverdale, Great walks the other direction to Leighton Moss salt marsh hides.

We look forward to returning one day. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skjm 1 review from this member

 This campsite is lovely, me and my family always come here. We've been coming to this campsite for around 6/7 years now and we loved it before the toilets had been renovated. Although they were quite dirty and uncomfortable to use the people who worked here made it worth while coming back they are all lovely! Now with the toilets all done up its a bonus. We stayed in November and were the only tents there and the man who owns the campsite offered us to come up to his tent/caravan and get some warm food as it was freezing, can't wait to go back in may! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dizzycamper 3 reviews from this member

 Visited site for last 7 years and at last a new toilet block, lovely and big but nowhere to hang towels/shampoos in showers. Site is kept clean and it has the most helpful warden in situ.

We were shocked at how many static pitches have been installed, not really a touring site anymore!

We always enjoyed sitting out round our chimenea at night but these have now been stopped and you get the feeling you need to be in your caravan for 11pm.

I believe it is under new management, bringing new rates - 20 per night for caravan plus now pay for dog.

Used to be great atmosphere but last weekend site in darkness at 11 pm, We always looked forward to visiting but last weekend we were glad to be home 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibraltar Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2025 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December