Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Gibraltar Farm Camp Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 217 Reviews
                9/10 from 217 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  217 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skjm 1 review from this member

 This campsite is lovely, me and my family always come here. We've been coming to this campsite for around 6/7 years now and we loved it before the toilets had been renovated. Although they were quite dirty and uncomfortable to use the people who worked here made it worth while coming back they are all lovely! Now with the toilets all done up its a bonus. We stayed in November and were the only tents there and the man who owns the campsite offered us to come up to his tent/caravan and get some warm food as it was freezing, can't wait to go back in may! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dizzycamper 3 reviews from this member

 Visited site for last 7 years and at last a new toilet block, lovely and big but nowhere to hang towels/shampoos in showers. Site is kept clean and it has the most helpful warden in situ.

We were shocked at how many static pitches have been installed, not really a touring site anymore!

We always enjoyed sitting out round our chimenea at night but these have now been stopped and you get the feeling you need to be in your caravan for 11pm.

I believe it is under new management, bringing new rates - 20 per night for caravan plus now pay for dog.

Used to be great atmosphere but last weekend site in darkness at 11 pm, We always looked forward to visiting but last weekend we were glad to be home 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campmc 1 review from this member

 First visit to Gibraltar Farm and we absolutely loved it. The entrance is, as someone else has commented, a bit unsightly but once past this the site is very nicely laid out and the facilities are brilliant. The one and only gripe I have is the hand dryers in the shower/toilet facilities are very weak and two dryers are not enough.

The woods are a brilliant play area for older children and the tree mound in the middle of the tent field is a lovely playing/meeting area for younger ones (6+). We never saw our children as they made so many friends they never once uttered those dreaded words 'I'm bored'.

We would say to avoid the bottom end of the field towards the woods for pitching as, if it does rain, it all puddles there (as we found out) and it does seem to stay in the shade for most of the day.

We've all agreed it's been the best camp site we've been to yet! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jipph1 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at gibraltar farm many times one of the best sites in the area very reasonably priced always kept clean and well looked after

There has been a new toilet block built this year absolutely immaculate must have cost a bomb pity they didn't spend a couple of quid designing it.

In the showers no were to hang your clothes or your shower gel. When you have used the loo you need to walk round about 30 feet to the nearest sink to wash your hands.

To get to the washing up area you need to walk right next to the chemical waste disposal, not pleasant.

Just teething probs, otherwise a fantastic site 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lesleygsl 1 review from this member

 Niggles- No sign to secluded beach (found by walking passed toilet block & through pretty wood)

No local information leaflets available.

Warden seldom on site - visible contact number required.

Large waste bins full to the brim.

Laundry room permanently locked

Credit/Debit card not taken

Soap dispensers in Toilet block not refilled or waste emptied.

POSITIVES

Lovely well maintained site (apart from niggles) overlooking Morecambe Bay.

Friendly staff, when around.

Good sized modern toilet block, hot free showers. Family cubicles available.

Choice of open field or under trees pitches, many with electric hook up.

Don't worry about the state of the drive down into the site, just take it easy!

OFF SITE

Wolf House Gallery & Tea House opposite entrance, Lovely cakes!

RSPB Leighton Moss 5/10 mins drive from site well worth a visit. Serving delicious food.

Plenty of wooded and beach walks in glorious countryside.

Definitely recommend this site. It was lovely & quite whilst we were there, but then the schools were open! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan nan 1 review from this member

 Gibraltar farm is a lovely caravan site, it now has a new shower/toilet block got plenty of showers, sinks and toilets. The views over the bay are amazing, also the walks through the woods, it is a working farm and its really nice to see the animals, there are even chickens wondering around the camp site. The owners and stewards are so friendly and helpful. However I was surprised that the price had gone up to 17 a night, plus you now have to pay for an awning at 3 a night, then 1 a night per dog, thought this was a bit steep. They do an over 55's rate Sunday to Thursday excluding school holidays at 11 per night. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bobsbabes 15 reviews from this member

 Gibraltar Farm has fantastic views and a lovely clean toilet block. The beach is stony with no sand but the children enjoyed it lots of rock climbing for the adventurous

Grey waste can be emptied against the wall not sure whether it was just in the one spot or all along the wall !

The route in and out is awful full of pot holes a 180 degree turn followed by a 90 degree turn on a steep incline (even our 2. 3 ton rear wheel drive car wheel spun on the way up) which with a 42ft unit was a tad dicey !

Its a working farm and smells like a working farm !

Would we go here again No soley due to the entrance 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bwfcdave1 7 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a one night stay at Gibraltar Farm. Chose it as a good first try with our new (well it is to me even if it was built in 1990!) van.

Been here before camping and in terms of location and management it's always been first class. The one thing it did fall down on previously was facilities and these have now been massively improved with a big new toilet and shower block (being completed the day we arrived)which is great.

Lots of work still being done on a couple of the adjacent fields so looks like it may get bigger as well.

And still only 12 a unit a night - but will this last with the new facilities?, if it does then this has got to be the best value in the North West!

Excellent 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: InghamIF 19 reviews from this member

 Site with excellent views to the west over Morecambe Bay.

The entrance through a car park of a kiosk selling home made ice cream can be congested and care needs to be taken with a caravan on the final steep winding downhill approach.

The approach would benefit from having the potholes filled in.

1) The site has a large open area for tents etc. Without the requirements of electricity. The tent campsite, at weekends/school holidays, is full of families with excitable children who play ballgames anywhere and tend to scream and shout a good deal.

2) About 25 seasonal caravan pitches which after the school holidays seemed mostly empty.

3) About 10 touring pitches with electric hookup and good see view, beware good view also means awnings will be vulnerable to high winds

The 2&3 above are generally in a separate field to the tents.

The toilet block is old but kept very clean. The owners said that the toilet block was to be rebuilt this winter so as to have twice the facilities.

We suffered several days of gale force winds and watched a number of awnings/tents flattened. After two nights we took our all year awning down as it was becoming difficult to keep the pegs secure in what's is essentially a very sandy soil covered by a layer of crushed stone.

Our storm pegs 30cm * 1cm diameter were only just holding on the storm straps and on the windward side. During this period all but one tent camper packed up and left.

With improvements in the toilet block the site in reasonable weather is an excellent site for all families. I would imagine that during strong winds tent camping may be less desirable. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DanniMolly 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a lovely weekend away at Gibraltar farm and can easily say that we could of stayed another week!

Lovely walks across the beach when the tide goes out - very fun but be careful of the quicksand!

The local town is not too far away, about a 10 minute walk with a coop which is open 7 days a week till 10 at night. This is handy as there is not site shop but a little stand for ice creams at weekends and also free range eggs on site -

The site is very clean and tidy and even the two chickens are friendly.

Only two showers each for male and female and you can find yourself waiting a while but not complaining as the views, people and the pricing is outstanding and makes up for it.

Cant wait to go back! 


Previous     217 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibraltar Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1608 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020