Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
    Visit their website    

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roliash 1 review from this member

Fantastic site, great for everyone, we stayed for the weekend and the weather was lovely. Kids (age 6&8) had a fantastic time, plenty of fun on the rocks and even though it was very busy, there was still plenty of room for them to play football and cricket. Beautiful views over morecambe bay. You can walk into Silverdale in approx 10-15mins. There is an little ice cream shed at the top of the farm which I believe is only open at weekends but was delicious. Site is very clean, fabulous toilet shower block, warm showers all though you may have to queue, so time it right. The stewards are very friendly and helpful, They are strict on no music and no fires too, they walk around and make sure everyone is behaving. They allow you to freeze ice blocks too which is a bonus in warm weather. Little shop set up in their awning selling crisps, snacks, sweets, tins etc. Will definitely be returning soon.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lee67 3 reviews from this member

Great family site. Level pitches, amazing views over Morecambe bay. Good toilet facilities, small shop in wardens tent. Friendly, but strict on site warden means no late night noise. Woods for children to play in, access to shore line, but be aware it is Morecambe bay and a lot of people get stuck in sinking sand every year.

Area is stunning, peaceful and unspoilt.

Great value at only £12 for a family tent

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cmaj7th 3 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Gibraltar Farm and again, we were not disappointed. The weather was incredibly hot, this past few weeks have been a touch on the warm side everywhere but we were given a nice shaded pitch that just caught the evening sun.

The new site wardens were very welcoming and even took the trouble to explain where the best places to go for an internet signal, find a cash point and a decent supermarket.

The toilet and shower block was immaculate, as it was last year. Itís so good to find a site that not only gives the showers for no charge but also makes sure that they are warm. The washing up facilities are excellent, again with plenty of hot water. We didnít use the laundry room but from what I saw, it was as spotless as the rest.

Good pitches (although ours did have a bit of a slope) and certainly nothing that couldnít be dealt with by the use of a couple of blocks under the legs if necessary. Our vans legs were long enough. The views from the site across Morecambe Bay are breathtaking and if you can manage the walk across the sheep field to the shore, it is well worth it, that sea air is gorgeous!

The water points were easy to get to and even gated off so that the sheep couldnít access them if they accidentally got out of their field. It was nice to see the hens wandering around the site, we have a few chickens at home and appreciated that!

All in all, Gibraltar Farm is an excellent site, with superb facilities and very, very welcoming. I would recommend this site to anybody who wants to get away for a weekend, a few days or even a week or two, just a pity that our review might make it harder for us to find a pitch!

The low rating for children is simply because other than a bit of clambering over rocks, climbing trees or visiting the shoreline, there's not much on site for them.

Just be aware that the lanes to the site are very narrow and can be a bit hairy if you meet another caravan or truck. The site does ask that you do NOT arrive before 2PM; that way, those who are leaving (By 12PM) don't meet each other in the narrow lanes - we came across a couple though which could have made for some tricky manoeuvres! Please, do as they ask, it make things easier for all of us. Well worth the effort though. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happy camper 01 11 reviews from this member

Just come back from a weekend away. This is our second time we have stayed here and we cannot fault it at all, like someone else has put it just seems to get better. It is situated with breathtaking views and lovely walks on site that take you to a sandy cove and if timed right if tide is in a lovely swim in the sea. Plenty to keep the kids busy with their exploring and fishing nets. We are hoping to go back in a few weeks time hopefully for a week. The new stewards are brilliant so helpful and their shop inside the awning is fantastic has everything you need. And exactly what the site needed. Kids still enjoyed their homemade icecream from the farm at the top pf the site. Can't wait to go back

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrbaggio 13 reviews from this member

Location = Lovely location situated near the beach and beside some fields with cows and sheep. Away from noisy roads. Nice walks in the countryside and near some Bird Nature Parks or walks onto the beach.

Facilities = Very good. Cleans showers and good washing facilities. Good recycling facilities for glass and general waste.

Overall = Great campsite with flat fields for tents with very helpful stewards always at hand for advice. Campsite was very busy so lots of children around. Even though their were signs stating no music after 10pm we could still here music and kids shouting past 11pm.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pollyscoffy 5 reviews from this member

Visited Gibraltar farm over a perfect weekend. The first time for over five years.

The new toilet block is a huge improvement as are the new wardens!

Our previous visits were slightly spoiled by radios blaring, dogs roaming free, loud parties til the early hours.

What a difference a few well enforced rules make. This time the 'firm but fair' wardens. Really did make sure the rules were enforced. And I REALLY loved it!

It was a shame not to be able to have a fire but I fully understand why not. We took advantage of the great weather and took the fire stuff onto the beach where we played guitar, toasted marshmallows etc. Brilliant and no danger of setting the whole campsite alight!

All in all, great improvements all round in a beautiful place. Well done!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crozier1975 1 review from this member

This is the first time we have visited Gibraltar Farm for 2 nights. It is a beautiful place. The Toilet/shower blocks were really nice and clean all the time. The stewards were excellent. I visited with my 2 boys and we went down to the beach lots of time which my boys loved. We will hopefully going again soon. Would benefit possibly from a childs play area, but that is the only criticism I have about it.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fullpassports 4 reviews from this member

We have visited this site several times over the years and it just gets better. The price is great value and the shower block is spotless with loads of hot showers and all free. This year they have new stewards and they are such lovely helpful people with a little shop that stocks things you may have forgotten. The weather was a bit wild when we visited but we still had a good time. Superb walking and very near Leighton Moss for birdwatching. We went mid week but it gets busy at weekends and school hols

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dwsok 4 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Gibraltar Farm Campsite. The stewards were very helpful and friendly even though it was a busy weekend. The weather was warm and sunny but the wind was a little cold.

The entrance to the campsite is down a steep hill but gave us no problems. The toilet block was very clean with plenty of room in the showers. We had a hard standing pitch with hook up and great views overlooking the sea. The locally made ice cream was great. I would go to Gibraltar farm again.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hookers 6 reviews from this member

Don't get me wrong this site has spectacular views and much improved facilities as compared with a couple of years ago. It really is ideal. However, having just returned from a two night stay I am sorry to say that a few people have been allowed to camp there that really shouldn't. A group of lads and a group of girls (separate to each other) made a point of swearing loudly and using abusive language till about 12. 10am. When you've got kids with you (we haven't) it really would be a shame to hear this. The management of the site seems to have slipped somewhat compared to a couple of years ago. I spoke to the manager at 12am and he said he'd go and walk around. Surely it would have been better to do this at 11pm when everyone should have toned down.

Please don't be put off by this review. This is a great site with a great location but if the management slips things could change.

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth £560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2847 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.1016