Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Gibraltar Farm Camp Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pnefan 9 reviews from this member

 Spent two days on this site during the spell of beautiful weather we had over the July Period. The views were exceptional over Morecambe bay and visiting the site just for the sunsets is to be recommended as the site is on the sea shore. However the site itself is of a high standard. The camping fields are accessed down a short winding road that whilst a little bumpy due to an uneven road surface is accessible to most vehicles. (we saw a 1300cc Clio pull a small 2 berth caravan back up it) There is a field at the far end of the site for tents and small camper vans (which didn't appear to have individual EHU or electric hook up), a large grass field laid out with individual water and electric hook up for Caravans Motorhomes and Folding Campers/trailer tents and a section on hard standing. All surrounded by dry stone walls and wooded areas. There is also a small woodland camping area. It is a fairly flat site. Something for all camping preferences.

The facilities are of a high standard and to us appeared to have been recently built. There are the usual separate individual showers with timed push showers together with family and disabled shower rooms. At busy times there can be queues. Sinks have large spaces in between so there is plenty of space for towels wash bags etc. Of course there are also toilets! The only useful facility which I personally didn't see in the Ladies section was a Hairdryer or an electric socket to use your own with. Not a problem if you are on EHU but could be a nuisance if not. It may be possible to use a socket in the Laundry room but I didn't check. All the facilities in the shower block were kept in a clean condition and the toilets kept supplied with toilet roll. The soap dispensers near the sinks were kept topped up negating the need to take soap for washing hands after using the toilet.

There are facilities for pot washing, laundry and also a portable toilet disposal point within the block.

Please be aware that the Wardens are keen to do there job and children are NOT allowed to climb on the dry stones walls. There is however plenty of rocky wooded areas visible from the camping areas accessible for children to climb and have fun on whilst under the supervision of parents. We did see one party warned twice about the children climbing on the walls and they were told in no uncertain terms that next time they would be made to leave. Dogs must be on leads at all times and music is not allowed at anytime. Barbeques have to be at least 10 inches off the grass and must be extinguished by 10pm. Fire pits are also not allowed. If you like this type of activity whilst camping be warned don't go to this site.

The wardens are in the middle of the site in a caravan and have a small shop area in the awning that supplies basic food items and treats and ice pops for the children.

It takes about 11 minutes at a normal walking space to get to Silverdale itself and there are a few shops and Pubs providing the usual services. Across the road from the site entrance there is a craft center which I understand has a small cafe but I cannot comment on it as we didn't use it.

Overall its a well run peaceful site in a beautiful setting which is convenient for visiting the Lakes and also the Lancaster area. Whilst we were there children also loved playing in the woods and climbing on the rocks, giving them the chance to enjoy the outdoor adventures. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Walkers41 10 reviews from this member

 Called at this site for one night on our way to the Lakes but stayed for two as we loved it so much. The site has beautiful views and a wonderful sunset.

The toilet block is modern and clean with excellent facilities. There is plenty of room around each pitch and some have electric and water at the pitch.

It is a short walk into Silverdale and there are some lovely walks along the coast path. The dog loved walking in the woods.

The wardens are friendly and helpful. We will certainly be returning in September. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K17Shaw 4 reviews from this member

 I was here for 1 night with a trip for DofE.

The campsite was a friendly place and there is a wood near by so you can walk your dogs there. The toilet facilities were clean and modern.

I saw a shop but I wasn't allowed in as we couldn't shop on DofE. Looked like a basic shop and there are many water taps around the site.

A very nice destination next to a beach. Now I hate views but it was the nicest thing I have seen in my life with a beautiful sunset.

I would recommend for a few nights 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: JaxG 11 reviews from this member

 Arrived over the Bank Holiday weekend and was offered a choice of pitches for our Trailer Tent, we settled for a fabulous pitch in the overflow area that gave us a massive amount of room with EHU overlooking the Bay.

The campsite has a few facilities, a brand new heated shower block that also had Elsan and pot washing facilities, always lots of hot water and always spotlessly clean.

100 yards passed the toilet block and you go through the gate into the woods which is great for letting the dogs off the lead.

The stewards were extremely friendly and their unit also doubled up as a small shop selling some fresh meat produce and chocolate/drinks.

Had a fabulous walk from the site to Arnside via Arnside Knott that was absolutely superb.

Very well recommended and would stay again. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Judergn 3 reviews from this member

 Just spent 2 nights here - fantastic site - we will definitely return! Scenery spectacular - clean, well maintained facilities - ideal if you want a quiet break away with beautiful countryside and sea views.

Within easy walking distance of Silverdale with a lovely hotel serving food and good beer. Only 10 mins drive from M6 - handy for the Lakes - would highly recommend! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizbeths 1 review from this member

 Visited last minute for one night which was well worth it not only for the spectacular views over The Bay, the immaculate shower and toilet block, the friendly staff, the delicious ice cream.

Lovely walks in the surrounding areas especially over the cliffs by the beach where we lit a camp fire and toasted marshmallows!

We walked to Silverdale Hotel for a quick drink which was about 15 mins away.

I felt confident to let the children roam around the camp-site and woods. I will definitely be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elgin1 5 reviews from this member

 It is a little bit perturbing when you first drive into the farm passing old equipment, an algae covered caravan etc but you go around the corner and are met with a feast for the eyes: The view over Morecambe bay is spectacular as is this site. The sunsets were brilliant. You must remember this is a working farm.

The wardens are very friendly and helpful pitches are good sized. The shower block is spotless and warm. There are some lovely walks around the site to various bays. Great for dog walking or for children to explore.

There is a bus stop a few minutes walk from the camp entrance and you can get into Silverdale or Arnside Silverdale Station is also on this route giving access to the lake district via Grange, Ulverston, Barrow and beyond.

I will certainly return it is a lovely location and extremely good value for money. 


Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mandm1 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a great weekend at Gibralter Farm.

The owner was very friendly and helpful.

The site is beautifully positioned overlooking the sea, and the facilities were excellent.

The shower block was the cleanest that we have seen over the last few years, and there were ample showers/toilets and wash basins.

There was also a large clean dish washing area.

Whilst staying at the site we walked to the only pub in the area which is at The Silverdale Hotel. The pub is open until 12midnight on Friday and Saturday nights, and is about 15minutes walk from Gibralter Farm. Ensure you take a torch with you though as the street lights are limited.

We also walked to the train station and caught the train to Carnforth. The walk was about 30 minutes, and the return train fare was only 1. 90pp

All in all a beautiful site, and we will definitely return in the Summer months. 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rexxie 30 reviews from this member

 Fantastic views overlooking Morecambe Bay - the pitches are terraced so guess most units have a great view.

Great location for visiting the RSPB Leighton Moss reserve-just a few minutes drive away.

Silverdale village an easy walk away - appeared to have a popular hotel/bar. Tearoom and art studio/shop just opposite the farm entrance. Also able to walk to the beach at Silverdale across the fields from the site. Wonderful views from the beach and lots of birds - saw a heron, a little egret, lots of oystercatchers and lots more.

Quite a few hardstandings - reached by driving over some grass so a little skiddy if wet.

TV reception erratic - moved just a few yards from 1 pitch with no signal to another with a good signal.

Very nice toilet/showerblock - looks to be fairly new. Felt like it had underfloor heating so the tiled floor easy on the feet!

Nice shower cubicle with a wet room like feel. Water took a while to run warm - not steaming hot but adequate.

Laundry room looks to be a work in progress - sinks but no washing machine or iron as indicated on the sign on the door.

Some leaflets of attractions provided in the dishwashing area - it would have been nice to have a little more local info available eg local walks, nearest shop etc.

Good value rate for off season stay and discount for over 55's.

Would love to return again perhaps nearer summer. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maria Clifton 3 reviews from this member

 A great weekend at Gibraltar Farm with glorious late September weather. Our first visit here, very impressed with the campsite. The views are exceptional, the facilities block was spotless and of very high quality. Lots of walks through woodland and to the private beach cove. Picked lots of blackberries along the way. The tent field is not level all over, but there was enough space for us this weekend to find a level spot. There were very few tents, but lots of caravans and mobiles. If you are after a local pub, there is quite a walk which we didn't try in the dark. The surrounding area is quite beautiful and feels off the beaten track although there are dozens of walks signposted in the area. Our only issue was the noise this weekend. There was some sort of a rally of the vans and motorhomes and the noise made from their marquis tent was intrusive and spoilt the peaceful nature of the environment. I felt that the rally people did not consider others who were not involved - their marquis was in the tent field and we heard very loud voices into the night. I would come back again because the site is beautiful, but I will check if there are any rallies first. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibraltar Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1961 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December