Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Gibraltar Farm Camp Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 217 Reviews
                9/10 from 217 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  217 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cheryl44 5 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a bank hol weekend at Gibraltar farm. Was very busy, facilities not bad for the price you pay, showers and toilets cleaned numerous times during the day and needed to be for the amount of people on the site. Only two showers but I timed it right for both days and never had to wait. Definitely a place for families with children, my 7 year old was on his own and made lots of friends but not sure if it would suit people who want a bit of peace and quiet. Would go again if only for the views as it was fabulous. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lhrabbits 1 review from this member

 We headed for Silverdale last weekend and decided to stay at the first campsite we came to - and Gibraltar Farm was it! The scenery was superb and it was a clean and well equipped site. We only experienced one problem, and that was with a large family who were camping quite close to our tent. Unfortunately, during the course of the night, they must have felt the cold (don't we all!). This culminated in a mass family exodus into their 4 wheel drive - where they kept the engine running/revving all night so they could keep warm! This was noisy and we had little sleep. However, we won't let it put us off and intend to go back to Gibraltar Farm this weekend!  


Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pg111 4 reviews from this member

 Following a fabulous Halloween and Bonfire party we are now getting ready for the forthcoming season and I just had to look up reviews for Gib Farm. Cannot believe that people can gripe because this site is now popular. It is NOT a noisy site (certainly not whilst I have been there and that has been numerous weekends)although extremely busy at bank holidays etc. The stewards bend over backwards to help. Obviously some people expect the impossible. All I can say is go with the majority of reviews and you will not be disappointed. A very friendly and well run camp site. Basic facilities ie no club house but infectious hospitality from the management.
 


Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Groovy chick 1 review from this member

 Having been a visitor to this site for the past 30 years I have seen quite a few changes. The site is excellent for first time users and those more seasoned. The one downfall is that as with anything else good things come to an end and with the introduction of a site steward and the use of computers more people have found this site and so noise and partys are part of this site now. I have never had a bad visit with the exception of our last as the steward was rather surley. But for those who have never been with tne exception of this man you wont find better. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Exdreddedcath 2 reviews from this member

 The site has the most beautiful setting of any campsite I have ever stayed at (once we managed to find it!!!). The views of Morecambe Bay at sunset are not to be missed, and the access to the coastal footpath is superb.

The site owner was really helpful and had a great range of interesting things for sale from the 'site office' (caravan). Facilities were good too and rates were very reasonable.

The only problem we had on both nights of our stay was the noise!! Despite the website stating on the front page that 11pm was the cutoff point there was no-one out stopping the parties which went on till about 3am each night. I would recommend taking some earplugs with you!

Away from the site the village had everything we needed. As we were catering for vegetarians we were disappointed with the pub/hotel nearest the site, but the menu of the next pub along (near the shop) was brilliant. 


Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Fullerfamily 10 reviews from this member

 Great site lots of open space for kids to play. Nice walks with an abundance of wildlife to see. Kids loved the rope swings, warden was very hospitable every site should have him. Toilet block very clean showers have to be the best we have come across on our camping trips. A1 site highly recomended. Only downside was the early morning wake up by the cows mooing. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Rating:
Reviewer: Tomandchris 32 reviews from this member

 Quite hard to find not very well signposted but once you find it what a gem! Nothing on the site except toilets and showers which were kept clean all the time. There are electric hook-ups but not many, best to book in advance if you want this facility. Large site if you don't need electric though.

The surrounding area though is lovely. We spent the August Bank Holiday there, about 12 of us. You can walk through the field to the beach, a rocky beach. We took some tinnies and a bottle of wine and lit a fire on the beach, it was lovely.

The warden sells cans of pop and ice cream from his awning but there is a shop and pub in the village about a ten minute walk.

The warden tries to keep everybody happy during their stay. An "olympics" was organised along with a children's disco and a table top sale the weekend we were there. All were very well attended.

In other reviews on this site it was noted they had problems with noise late at night, we didn't experience anything like this, by midnight all was quiet.

As it's only about an hour away from home we will be returning again. Keep up the good work. 


Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Jules32 5 reviews from this member

 Great site, fantastic views, electric hook-ups available, nice clean toilets,helpful friendly wardens. I loved the woodland setting which led to the sea, We were caravanning but I would have loved to be in a tent for the weekend We will definitely be going back and back and back.... 


Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Bainesy 1 review from this member

 Me and my husband have been coming to Gibraltar Farm for around the last ten years and him since he was knee high to a grasshopper!!! AND WE LOVE IT! Over the last few years the Steward and his wife have made it fab. They have improved the toilet block and are always happy to help. They arrange theme weekends on various weekends through the season and are always well attended.

Recently there was a fancy dress compitition and what a laugh we had, dressing up!!! and then sitting around the campfire. The camp site's rules are the standard you find on any site and they ask for no music after 11 o'clock which is a reasonable time to quieten down by.
We have been loads of times this year and shall continuing to do so for as long as we can.

The views are spectacular and breath taking from the site and there is shops near by with everything you need. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Deanarcher 1 review from this member

 Location was perfect, the steward was friendly and very helpful, the facilities were clean and tidy, although one shower is probably not enough. My only gripe was the noise, or lack of quiet. Most camp sites have a certain level of noise, which is to be expected, but I have never experienced such noise (from adults not kids) before. Despite this I am giving it another go at the bank holiday and I am hoping it was a 'one-off'.  


Previous     217 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibraltar Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1624 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020