Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
    Visit their website    

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2005 Rating:
Reviewer: Tomandchris 32 reviews from this member

Quite hard to find not very well signposted but once you find it what a gem! Nothing on the site except toilets and showers which were kept clean all the time. There are electric hook-ups but not many, best to book in advance if you want this facility. Large site if you don't need electric though.

The surrounding area though is lovely. We spent the August Bank Holiday there, about 12 of us. You can walk through the field to the beach, a rocky beach. We took some tinnies and a bottle of wine and lit a fire on the beach, it was lovely.

The warden sells cans of pop and ice cream from his awning but there is a shop and pub in the village about a ten minute walk.

The warden tries to keep everybody happy during their stay. An "olympics" was organised along with a children's disco and a table top sale the weekend we were there. All were very well attended.

In other reviews on this site it was noted they had problems with noise late at night, we didn't experience anything like this, by midnight all was quiet.

As it's only about an hour away from home we will be returning again. Keep up the good work.

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Jules32 5 reviews from this member

Great site, fantastic views, electric hook-ups available, nice clean toilets,helpful friendly wardens. I loved the woodland setting which led to the sea, We were caravanning but I would have loved to be in a tent for the weekend We will definitely be going back and back and back....

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Bainesy 1 review from this member

Me and my husband have been coming to Gibraltar Farm for around the last ten years and him since he was knee high to a grasshopper!!! AND WE LOVE IT! Over the last few years the Steward and his wife have made it fab. They have improved the toilet block and are always happy to help. They arrange theme weekends on various weekends through the season and are always well attended.

Recently there was a fancy dress compitition and what a laugh we had, dressing up!!! and then sitting around the campfire. The camp site's rules are the standard you find on any site and they ask for no music after 11 o'clock which is a reasonable time to quieten down by.
We have been loads of times this year and shall continuing to do so for as long as we can.

The views are spectacular and breath taking from the site and there is shops near by with everything you need.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Deanarcher 1 review from this member

Location was perfect, the steward was friendly and very helpful, the facilities were clean and tidy, although one shower is probably not enough. My only gripe was the noise, or lack of quiet. Most camp sites have a certain level of noise, which is to be expected, but I have never experienced such noise (from adults not kids) before. Despite this I am giving it another go at the bank holiday and I am hoping it was a 'one-off'.

Reviewer: Phil6969 1 review from this member

July 2005
A very friendly and pleasant campsite with excellent views over morecombe bay.
Basic facilities and limited diabled showers i.e. one shower in the ladies side of the utility block.
The kids loved exploring the area.
A themed night on the Saturday lacked attendance by adults ( a hoe down ).
Plenty of local places of interest such as Lancaster and a local beauty spot with tremendous views over the bay is known locally as " the pepper pot " should not be missed when visiting this site , we will return again shortly.

Reviewer: In-a-field 4 reviews from this member

July 2005
Visited this site for the weekend. The steward was friendly, facilities are basic but clean. I think that the site would benefit from a few extra washing-up sinks.
The surroundings of this site are excellent, lovely area and nice walks. Our kids enjoyed the site, there is no play area just a rope swing but they loved it.
However I don't think that we will be visiting this site again due to the noise level and inconsiderate campers.
Unfortunately some campers had loud music on and let their children kick balls onto tents!

Reviewer: I LOVE GIBS! 1 review from this member

July 2005
I have been to Gibraltar Farm twice before and I am going again in July with my fellow jasons. Two years ago, my friends and I were looking for a place to relax and relieve ourselves of the pressures of exams and revision. Many campsites we found on the internet were either too expensive or too preoccupied with fancy facilities or a safe environment. We wanted something simple and as natural as possible. It was sheer luck that we found Gibraltar Farm, as it fulfilled all our expectations of visiting a worry-free zone with the joy of having nothing to do. (And only 7 a tent)Top.

The site is a 1/2 mile away from the local village. This is a great distance, not too close, perfect for soaking in the country atmosphere. The local shops have everything a camper needs, bread, meat, barbecues (Moc's an' that)yet still keeps it simple.

The surrounding beach (Morecambe Bay) is admittedly not to some people's tastes, this is probably because of the quicksand and bad press involving Chinese cockle pickers. But the natural landscape is literally breathtaking, the sunset complements the "big" sky. Also, I found it quite exciting to toy with death by risking the tide and purposefully but playfully sinking in the quicksand.

However, this danger is not something you should naturally attach to the site, it was my personal stupidity and idiocy which led me to the quicksand. The beach is actually detached from the quicksand and you have to travel a long way out before you are in any form of danger. The initial beach is in the form of pebbles and dry sand, there are rocks along the coastline and it is the perfect setting for a contemplation of life or something of that ilk. (NO NEED TO WORRY ABOUT DANGER)You must remember I was looking for danger in this trip as it played a big part in my initiation into manhood. It is actually easily avoidable.

Overall, I suggest a visit to Gibraltar Farm for persons of any age. Whatever your outlook on life, Gibraltar Farm will cater for it.
Top.

Reviewer: GavinBeevers 1 review from this member

June 2005
Years ago I have camped in the Silverdale area but never before at Gibraltar farm. In terms of location it surpassed my expectations, the views over Morecambe Bay from anywhere on the site are excellent and within minutes you can be taking a stroll through woodland, be sitting in a pub beer garden, or be scrambling on the beach. The site itself is also in the main a relaxing experience, staff are friendly and laid back and everyone just gets on with having a good time. U

nfortuntely this parucular weekend there was no warden on duty and there was some noise into the early morning (3am). Dispite the 'No Fires' signs there were quite a few groups enjoying a night round a fire so I guess the BBQ / Fire distinction is quite wooly, which I quite liked.

As has been said before there is just the one toilet block, but judging by the standard of the Male toilets I would say that they have been recently refurbished and are of a good standard.

There is definatley a feel about this site which makes it different from others, its sort of a cross between a standard family site and a Scout/Cub camp. I would glady stay here again.

Reviewer: Norah 2 reviews from this member

June 2005
Lovely campsite, peaceful setting, great walks, fantasic scenery.
Camped here with family for 3 nights trailer tent and caravan.
The children loved it, exploring woods and coastline, playing on rope swings.
Very good and friendly steward. Recommended for a relaxing campsite.

Reviewer: SIMONENEIL 1 review from this member

April 2005
Came here for the May Day Bank holiday, lovely site with amazing views over Morecambe Bay. Its a pretty basic site, just toilets and a couple of showers. The kids really enjoyed it but a play area for them would have been useful. Shame about the weather, RAIN AGAIN. We are coming here for the meet in September so lets hope we have kinder weather.

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2925 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0938