Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
    Visit their website    

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The red one 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from Gibralter Farm and it was a great little break. Went with 4 kids and 4 adults for 3 nights.

11 a night for each tent is superb value.Only 1 shower(free) and 2 dishwash sinks is the only problem so we washed ours in our own bowl and showered at tea time. Awesome ice creams on site,

only a 10 minute walk to silverdale for a co-op and pub (3.10 a pint) but a cracking pint.

Only saw our kids at tea time as they went playing on the rocks and woods(safe). Our kids are 6 and 8 and was gutted to have to leave.

Can get very windy, but you're on the coast with terrific views. No music allowed but we had ours on but at a reasonable level and not too late.

No hassle off wardens but were helpful when we needed a gas replacement and directed us to where we could get one at 5.30 on a bank hol.

Cracking site and belting price and we will be returning.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Richbrowning63 9 reviews from this member

A great campsite in a stunning location. A warm welcome from the warden and provided lots of tips all weekend on where to eat and walk. Some great walks along the coast to secluded bays right from the site. We eat at The Silverdale Hotel, just minutes from the site and had a nice meal using local produce. The village is 10 minutes and there is another pub and usual choice of village shops- don't rely on the coop for all your food and booze- it is expensive.

Not many downsides, it is a working farm (but this adds to the magic). Only 1 shower for men, works fine, hot and free but the site is big so could be a pain when busy.

Overall great site, great location and village. My tip- abandon a hook-up and hard standing and park freely in the camping field closer to the coast.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crabfat 1 review from this member

If you want a quiet, peaceful break, think twice about this site! We have just had two sleepless nights at this site due to two separate groups of adults drinking into the early hours and being very loud. It was only the intervention of the warden that eventually made the groups quieten down.

There are no play facilities for children on the site, but all the children (and there were many) seemed to congregate on a rocky outcrop in the centre of the tent fields until late into the evening. If you have a caravan or motorhome, the situation is different. These fields appeared to be quieter.

Apart from the noise problem, we found that the fees charged represented good value. There was always hot water available, however there is only one shower in the Gents and two in the Ladies although this did not cause us any problems even though the site was full to capacity. There is also two electric sockets adjacent to mirrors in the ladies which was ideal for the use of hairdriers. Do not expect anything too special in the ablutions. They are functional not fancy.

The fields for tents are predominantly level. However the fields used for caravans are tiered with hardstandings and electric hook-ups.

There are no facilities on site, however there are several public houses serving food in nearby Silverdale which is only a 15 minute stroll away. However, take a torch as there are very few street lights.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julie528 5 reviews from this member

This is a very nice site, spacious,clean and tidy. I saw the toilet and shower block being cleaned thoroughly 3 times in one day. You find your own pitch then if during the week somebody will call on you later to pay. At weekends their is a steward to do this.

Even though there was quite a lot of children on site there wasn't a lot of undue noise and it was completely quiet before 10pm. It is only 5 mins walk into silverdale where there is a pub restaurant and a co-op,nearest cash machine and lottery is another 5mins drive in arnside.

Co-op does cashback though. Very close to the beach which pleased hubby as he could do some fishing.

I would only criticise one thing and that is for the amount of people there they should have more than 2 showers in the womens and 1 in the mens, mind you they are free. Am going back again tomorrow for a few days as weather is going to be nice and will definitely return next year

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suentimb 4 reviews from this member

Just got home from a Monday to Friday stay at Gibralter Farm.

Our first impressions were not too clever, we have always camped on grass but here if you want a EHU you are on hard standing. I wasn't too keen at this as I didn't have many pegs for this. However. The very friendly and helpful warden lent us some thereby saving the day and cheering up a very grumpy old bloke.

We were pitched close to the old, slightly inadequate but spotlessly clean ( the owner gets her hands dirty and cleans them herself twice a day, and I'm sure won't disagree they need bigger facilities) this meant we had a bit of a procession of kid's hanging round later on in the week which set our grumpy dog off!

Now the really good bits. What a view, what a site and what a lovely place to visit. The best showers we have ever come across on a camp site and lots of HOT water all day. Extremely good value for money and we will be going back sometime soon.But not in the school hols.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bwfcdave1 7 reviews from this member

Excellent site - superb for kids with lots of exploring to be done in a very safe environment. There was party going on in the woods which was quite loud but bang on 5 to 11 all went quiet.

Despite continual rain on Sat and being woken at 5.30am on Sunday by high winds which played havoc with some of the tents, we all had a great time and will definitely come back.

May well camp on the more sheltered field next time though!

Excellently run site with Warden around but if you need him.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ragamuffin 9 reviews from this member

Spent one night here for a private party, fantastic place to have a little party. Our group booked the woods for exclusivity, we had a fire, got the generator going and played some music, it did not at any time disturb other campers, it was nice to go back to the canvas, but I am looking forward to getting back to the caravan.

We will be going back to gibraltar farm with our kids as its only a 20 min drive recommended

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharples 2 reviews from this member

Just got home from a 3 night stay here and we had a wonderful time we were a party of 8, 4 adults and 4 children 5, 3, 2 and 1

We arrived on saturday evening the steward was very welcoming and provided us with a pack of local information which was very helpful. The site was busy on the saturday night with lots of family's and groups so lots of family fun going on everywhere.

The steward has a policy that music has to be at a decent level so as not to offend any other campers and also that all music to be off by 11, which I think is very reasonable request. We did have a issue with a camper playing music very loudly so mentioned to the steward and he dealt with the issue immediately so not a issue again.

A lot of the familys left on sunday so monday and tuesday the site was a lot quieter which was a nice contrast to the family fun from the weekend.

The facilities I think were perfectly fine 2 ladies showers 1 male even on the busy sunday morning I was not waiting for long to have a shower.

Cant grumble at all this is a wonderful site and my 5 year old son is already asking to go back and we have only been home a day. The village is a very short distance away with lovely pubs and friendly shops as mentioned before no cash machine so cash back is available at the coop. It is only a short drive into carnforth.

Only negative issue I can drag up is the fact that it is difficult to get to the beach with children as young as it is a rocky area so I would suggest possibly going elsewhere older children would be fine as our eldest had no problem.

If you fancy a drive out from the site I would recommend a drive to morecambe to the Happy mount park which has children's play areas a small train ride 1 per person and also the water park which has jets of water for the children to play and is free of charge our children had great fun here.

We will definitely be going back to this site again soon

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zakky1234 9 reviews from this member

Just returned from 3 night on site. One of the best site I've visited, very friendly, the steward and his wife could not be more helpful.

There were a lot of children on site but all were well behaved. The toilet block was cleaned twice a day and plenty of hot water. It is a busy camp site but plenty of woodland around for long walks and good place if you have a dog.

There isn't a children play area but it was nice to see them use their imagination whilst playing. I will be returning as soon as I can

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Milo2008 4 reviews from this member

Just returned home from a lovely week at gibraltar farm, this is the most beautiful and friendly campsite I have been too. The steward is very helpful and will do anything to help you out. This is a working farm and to watch the cows being brought back for milking by the farmer and his dogs is a sight to see. The views are just amazing. I will be going back very soon.

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2980 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0938