Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Gibraltar Farm Camp Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Smartecosse 14 reviews from this member

 We stopped for 7 nights at the end of July on our way back up from camping down south. At the kids request! Its one of their favourite campsites now as well as ours. They love the rocks which become a central point for all the kids to meet and play together and they always seem to make new friends whenever we are there.

Plenty to see and do in the surrounding area as well as lovely walks direct from the campsite.

They also now have a raw milk machine - delicious doesn't begin to describe it. Just how milk used to taste!

The toilet blocks were immaculate as usual even though we were there over a very busy weekend.

Great to see the stewards asking noisy inconsiderate campers to be quiet - too many sites let a small number of people spoil it for the others.

Excellent value for money as well. Which is great as many sites now are very over priced for what they offer. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Amber86 12 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet little site with views over the bay. Had a friendly warm welcome even though we arrived unannounced at 7pm on a Sunday. Warden made sure we had a nice pitch with a view tucked away in a quiet corner.

Lovely short walk to the waters edge, via a small stone circle in a clearing in the woods. Lots of other good walks to do, including to Woodwell holy well nearby.

Also gallery at the farm entrance, farm sells basic supplies uncluding raw milk & Silverdale village with 2 pubs (didn't have chance to try them) approx 1 mile away. Ideal stopover on way north, good for excursions to lake district etc.

Facilities excellent, toilet block looks brand new, free showers, also hook ups plenty of dog poo bins etc. Oh yes, our pooch gave it the thumbs up too! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mickcoleman427 20 reviews from this member

 Positives first - good ground, excellent facilities block, lovely and helpful stewards.

Negatives - most of the pitches with views for motorhomes/vans are taken by seasonal bookings - kids climbing over drystone walls and running through pitches.

I really am not anti-kid but wish people would understand and respect camping etiquette and be aware of their kids whereabouts and behaviour - they weren't awful just irritating. Not Gib Farms fault though - stewards were very aware and attentive.

Its a lovely site - I was sold by the views on the website however and disappointed not to get one 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Scullyb 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our fourth weekend at Gibraltar Farm - we love this site because of the views and its proximity to Silverdale etc.

I was however concerned on this occasion by the fact that the toilets/ shower block were particularly gruby and could certainly do with a really good scrub rather than a cursory wipe/ mop over !

The ladies toilets in particular didn't look like they had had their seats lifted and wiped under for some time. I know some would say that I'm being picky and it must be difficult to keep on top of the cleaning with so many people coming and going all the time

And to be honest it won't stop us going back but just a little more attention to detail would make all the difference. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LGriffiths 3 reviews from this member

 One of the best campsites I've stayed on in a long time, it was a bank holiday weekend and very busy, but the wardens were very helpful, there was plenty of room for everyone, loads of kids but very well behaved and just a great site for kids, with a stand of trees among some rocks that all of the kids aimed for, some of them called it 'monkey island' we hardly saw our grandson.

There were plenty of toilets, ample wash hand basins and showers, kept very clean. There's a well stocked camp shop. To say there were so many campers it was very quiet at night, I got the impression that the wardens wouldn't stand any nonsense, but were not bossy or tyrannical.

All in all I would highly recommend this site especially if you have kids, the prices are reasonable too. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dazman9 3 reviews from this member

 Simply Perfect. Wonderful views, friendly staff (who were on the ball when a group of caravaners got a bit too noisy late evening), top notch toilet and (free) shower facilities and a really clean site. They have two on site shops and sell everything from basic camping spares to lovely home made ice cream.

My 3 kids loved playing in the fields and making new friends. My other half is disabled, and has difficulty walking, but she was very impressed when the site staff very courteously asked if there was anything else they could do to make the site more disabled friendly.

But for me, the best thing about this site is their prices. Not only are they very reasonable (under 70 for a family of 5 and a dog for a 3 day bank holiday weekend with EHU) but they have the same prices all year round. Non of this Doubling the prices just because the kids are off school.

WE'LL DEFINITELY BE BACK. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulinekezza 5 reviews from this member

 Had another lovely weekend at Gib (as we call it). Wardens both welcoming and cheerful as usual. Was very foggy when we arrived so our usual enjoyment of the magnificent views across the Bay had to wait until Saturday. Site was clean and tidy with lots of hot water available for washes, showers and pot washing. Daughter decided to ramble over the fields down to the beach and came back with both wellies full of water! Good job it isn't far. She also played with her new found friend on the rocks and also went exploring round and about the site. Came back with various wildlife siting reports. Went for tea to the Silverdale Hotel. Food was lovely and served quickly despite being fairly busy. We usually make the journey on foot as it is not far but drove this time (dodgey ankle at moment) and parked on their car park. Was less than a couple of minutes by car. Lovely, relaxing weekend enjoyed and got the chance to plug ukcs to a first time (for a long time) caravanning lady. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cabravieja 16 reviews from this member

 Great location in easy reach of Manchester without the traffic of the Lakes. There's a sea view over the walls but sheltered from the worst of the westerlies at the mouth of the estuary. A safe family site and good walks along the cliff or to a little cove.

If you want a sandy beach go to Morecambe, just a short drive. The village has a Co Op, butchers, Indian and bike hire. Only 12 a night, so a bit different to the Lakes, hence it does get busy.

I could never understand why sites won't even allow a fire log on the BBQ but now I do. The owner explained that the policy deters big groups of drunken idiotic people from nearby towns (and Manchester) who think they can re enact Glastonbury. Strict quiet after a certain time and the wardens live on site. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Landmarker 1 review from this member

 Not the welcome we expected as the receptionist told us we were two hours early (we weren't), that she was very busy (August) and hadn't had 'a day off in ages'.

That's the negative bit out of the way.

A fine site with lovely views of Morecambe Bay. Toilet and wash-up facilities are newly built and are superb. This was our first time camping in many a long year.

The village of Silverdale is a 15 minute walk. An food/pub Post Office and Co-op ample for most needs.

Flat camping by a dry stone wall. There is a wooded glade which is quite magical - faux standing stones and a path to the beach. In the centre of the camping field there is a rather magical rocky outcrop, wooded with trees that the camp-site kids seemed to gravitate to. Reasonable fees and a fairly relaxed atmosphere made our two night stay pleasurable.

Lovely sunsets and an expansive view of Morecambe Bay elevate this site to something special in my humble opinion. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Atkis 1 review from this member

 Excellent site. Location IS nothing short of stunning. The rocky area in the in the main camping field more than made up for the lack of child play facilities, in fact was enjoyed far more than any man made facilities by 2 young children.

The only negative I can say is the laundry unit within the facilities block, lacked drying facilities.

The cost was very reasonable. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibraltar Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2124 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December