Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Gibraltar Farm Camp Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MR24 2 reviews from this member

 This site has improved so much over the last few years which has to be down to the resident wardens who control the site so well. They are friendly and cant do enough for you. We went for a full week and site full at weekends but amazingly no noise at night - however, wardens went off site and didn't we know it! Gangs of teenagers patrolling the site, hanging round toilets, shouting and swearing.

Two showers for women and only one for men so large queues at weekend mornings. Lovely atmosphere on caravan field where you can have fire to sit round. All in all a really lovely site to visit but make sure you pick days when the warden is on duty. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 186 reviews from this member

 Stayed only one night, as we couldn't be bothered driving far that day in the heatwave. Cracking views out to the bay, pretty scenery. Grass kept neat but dingy toilet block struggled to cope. Very good off-lead dog walks in the extensive woods by the site; the sand on the beach is like thick mud.
The Steward was friendly - surprisingly it was he and his friends who were too loud too late. We got a very good deal mid-week for about half price as we're over 55. The farm makes ice cream although it wasn't available when we were there.
I'd come again but I'd make sure the water tank was full - it was hard to get close enough to the standpipe to fill the motorhome water tank due to a fence with no purpose around the toilet block, and it was the worst tasting water we've ever had. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kazzy25 3 reviews from this member

 Having been to this site last August in the most horrendous winds, we really wanted to go again on a nice peaceful day! We are only 45min away and it`s ideal for us for weekends. We have children and this site is geared for families, so be prepared for lots of children running round which is great if you have them and if you don`t you may need to be a little tolerant, though saying that all the children seemed to be enjoying themselves and tend to congregate around a rocky hill in the middle of one of the fields. There are also woods to explore which are lovely.

We got a great pitch with some trees between us and the sea,the site is very exposed to the elements and the weather can change quite quickly, but the views over the bay are absolutely stunning and even though there were a lot of children it is very relaxing. The facilities are clean and adequate, the village is only a short walk if you want to top up on the basics and there are lots of walks to follow.

At the top of the hill there is a little hut that sells icecream and it is gorgeous, I`d highly recommend the Irish cream flavour. All in all I think this is a great site and will be going again as soon as! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: J baker 2 reviews from this member

 Definitely the best views on any site we have stayed. Casic site but the views and the location are superb. A real working farm, very easy going. The weekends surprised us as the number of tenters went from a handful to what appeared hundreds, all the children got on very well together with no problems it was a joy to watch them playing all sorts of games, with the older kiddies looking after the younger ones. No tvs no computers just being lovely happy children.

We will definitely be going back 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Canim 5 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from gib farm, first time caravanners, had an excellent weekend. The site is easy to get to, the steward is as helpful as can be. The area and views are unbeatable, loads of space.
Good clean amenities. Plenty to do and see within walking distance, we definitely will be going back again in the near future.

Drawbacks - The English Weather, -otherwise none ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JAMMI 8 reviews from this member

 Just had a fantastic weekend at this site.

The campsite is part of a working farm that overlooks Morecambe bay. The views are pretty good and if you like a spectacular sunset, then this is the place. It was great to look out over the bay.

The campsite is part of a working farm, which is great as far as I am concerned. Sheep in the fields surrounding the camping field and cattle up in the farm buildings. Was great fun for the kids. However, the cattle were very vocal at night, not just a little mooing either! Was more like roaring! I enjoyed it though and this added to the whole experience.

There was plenty of space for the kids to run around and play football, without causing too much disruption to the other campers I hope! There was also an area in the centre of the tent field that had trees and rocks for the kids to explore.

There are also woods onsite to explore. There is a cave in the woods(but I wouldn't let the kids go in!). The 'beach' can be reached via the woods. Although it doesn't look the most enticing beach in the world we thought we would tackle the rocks to reach it. That was a mistake; the sand was like quicksand and we very quickly ended up with 2 kids flat on their faces covered in the muddy sand! I would only venture on if it looked dry. There is a coastal path to the village but this is really not suitable for young children.

The facilities were perfectly adequate and on the whole very clean. They did tend to get a bit untidy and short of paper late in the evening and early morning but were soon put right again. There are 4 toilets and 2 showers in the ladies, one of each of those being the disabled facilities. The disabled shower was a much better oprion to use as there was loads more room and there was hooks to hang your stuff up. I do think a chair or a stool would be a great benefit. My son told me that there was a chair in the gents shower, plus a mirror for shaving.
There was 2 wash hand basins plus a stainless steel sink in the ladies. Not sure what the stainless steel sink is for! There were 2 sinks for washing up in an area to the outside of the toilet block, I found these to be clean and have plentiful hot water. There was also an area for me to empty and wash my Kamping Khazi!

The weather here seems quickly changeable. I would make sure you guy out fully regardless of the weather conditions on your arrival. The tent field is mainly quite exposed, though there are a few sheltered spots but these were quickly taken (and not by me I might add!) Our tents did take a bit of a battering from the wind but no damage was incurred.

It is a pleasant walk down a country road (no footpath) to the village. There are 2 pubs/hotels that serve food (didn't use them), an Italian restaurant (didn't use) and a convenience store. The shop was very basic and limited and worthwhile noting that it closed at 5.30pm Was good for bread, milk etc. I wouldn't rely on it for anything more than the basics.

All in all we loved this site and will definitely be visiting again 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rolo1 3 reviews from this member

 This is a gem of a campsite - very much back to basics but in a lovely setting. It's just a short walk to the local village, the Silverdale Hotel is a great place to eat.

You can also book the woods on the edge of this site for a large group, where you can have open fires.

Despite the blustery weather, the tent field felt quite sheltered and the ground has excellent drainage. Will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 607 reviews from this member

 We turned up without a booking - to find the site not open for another 2 weeks!

Owner working on the site - offered to let us stay if we were self sufficient as working on electrics and water not on yet.

The site is undergoing some refurbishment work - all the pitches being reset in gravel with new electrics.

Having stayed before in summer we know this is a fabulous site and the work appears to be improving it further.

The village is lovely, great pub and lovely walks.

Recommend a visit - and in summer try the farm made ice-cream available on site. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrneillees 7 reviews from this member

 I would echo many of the other reviews. This site is visually stunning with views across the entire Morecambe Bay area, from sunrise to sunset, in good weather and bad, you won't fail to be impressed by the vistas.

The toilet and shower block is basic, but always clean or being cleaned (but they can be overwhelmed on busy weekends, we solved this by foregoing the odd shower and using babywipes!). The adjacent village is great with 3 pubs, a pizzeria, small supermarket and butcher's, chemist's etc

Mike and Lynne the onsite wardens are friendly and helpful (even more so once you've been a couple of times)and do keep an eye on things most of the time.

The only downside is that it is a very family orientated site which has meant on more than one occasion (we've been 8 times this year) groups of loud, unsupervised and hyperactive kids running wild from dusk til dawn (and later). But, when asked to move away from our tent or pipe down a bit etc, they have always politely done so and we have stayed up late with a few beers on occasions, so it works for us too as we hate those 'lights out at 8.30pm because we're all up at 5.30am to do a 30-mile hike' type sites.

Put it this way, we will be back as many times as possible in 2009.

Could I just add that campers should really check the wind speed forecasts before using this site.

If it is predicted to be windy (20pmh+), pitching down by 'the woods' is a good idea as once past the wooded area winds whip in from offshore and only frame or mountain tents are advisable!

We still had a great five days and will be back for all this year's Bank Holidays and more. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suicideblonde 18 reviews from this member

 If youíre looking for peace and quiet then this is not the site for you! We went for a long weekend expecting it to be quiet because the kids are back at school. But itís very popular with families arriving after work on a Friday and turning up for the night on a Saturday. However, if youíre a couple or a single person donít let this put you off as itís worth it for the location and views.

Itís a very laid back site. Just turn up, park and pitch where you like and then pay the stewards when they appear mid morning. The stewards, Linda and Mike are extremely friendly and helpful and wonít take any messing! Unfortunately when we were there a group of campers turned up late on the Friday night, pitched their tent in the car headlights and stayed up drinking, talking loudly and swearing until gone 3.00 am. Although there is a noise curfew of 11.00 pm, this is very relaxed and unless you report the incident to the stewards nothing will be done about it. Sadly on the Saturday night, kids were allowed to run amok past our tent, shaking it as they went in some sort of game. The parents clearly werenít interested and nothing was done about it until it was reported to the steward who then patrolled the site for a couple of hours.

The facilities are quite basic but cleaned on a regular basis throughout the day. They were overstretched a little as people had to queue to use them and we would imagine itís even worse during the summer holidays. As previous reviews have mentioned, it would benefit from a couple more showers in both the ladies and the gents due to the popularity of the site. But the showers are free and you can have them as hot and for as long as you like!

There is a lovely wood leading to the beach and then a coastal path adjacent to the camping field. However, the path is very narrow and treacherous in places and we wouldn't recommended it for kids or the elderly. We walked along it when the tide was in as we didnít fancy walking along the beach and the sinking sand. But the views are stunning both during the day and the night from the sunsets to the stars Ė weíve never seen so many!

We look forward to returning again, although as a couple looking for peace and quiet weíll make sure itís a break midweek when the kids are at school. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibraltar Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1818 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December