Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
    Visit their website    

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rustyfrog 9 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a long Bank Hol weekend.

Just how steep is that hill out of the site?

The site as reviewed by previous visitors is in a super location. Great scenery, with great views over Morecambe Bay. Plenty of space for kids to play, climb trees etc.

It is the sort of site where parents can (and do) send their kids of all ages out to run riot from dawn to well after midnight.

The site have a few rules like no open fires, no football or ball games near caravans, no noise after 11pm, but no one takes any notice of them. It is not the place to expect peace and quiet or to relax.

This could be a super site if they built an additional toilet/shower block to supplement the single shower and 3 toilets per sex at present. The existing facilities are inadequate for the 3 fields of tents and caravans. They are also far away from the furthest point of the site

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Strong Arms 2 reviews from this member

Back again - what a fabulous 4 days. Only wish we lived nearer to visit more often. It is the most uncommercialised campsite we have been to - but it is great. Nice friendly owners and site wardens, clean facilities and everything is well controlled. The kids love it - freedom to them. Great walks and fresh air! Early morning wake up (not really about 8am) with the cows coming back through the camp fields after being milked, and then their daily walk back through at tea time back up to the milking station. Great to see, even at my age!

And the Home Made Ice Cream is absolutely delicious. Which we had had more time to try every flavour.

Even in bad weather, the campsite is great.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jazzy62 1 review from this member

We stayed for a fortnight on this site. Our 3 children (12, 10 and 8) loved it, especially the rope swing and ice cream and made friends quickly. We tended to have showers in the late afternoon/evening and never had to queue. The steward was really nice and helpful and he organised a water slide and disco for the children when we were there. The site was busier at weekends, but even though the toilet block was busy and the amount of rain we had, the toilets and showers were kept really clean. We didn't spend much time on the site, as we toured Lancashire, Cumbria and Yorkshire - it's a good central base. We did walk to Silverdale village (nice Italian restaurant) and Arnside, although we shopped mainly in Carnforth which has a Tesco. Really good value for money, as I stayed on a site recently with only 1 toilet and a sink with cold water at three pounds per person per night. This works out at the same price for all of us on this site which has better facilities and we had an electric hook-up.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Woofs 6 reviews from this member

This is the kind of place you wished you could have spent your childhood at. There's a wood for exploring, a secret cave to find and a little sea-side cove for skimming stones. As this is a working farm there are the occasional run throughs from a burly bunch of cows or sheep on their way up to the farm but they know not to make themselves at home in your awning. All very exciting for the kids.
The owners are incredibly friendly and although there are only fairly limited facilities they are lovely and clean. The hook up pitches are all good. There are no playground facilities but you really don't need it with what's naturally on the site. I honestly couldn't fault this place. I wouldn't hesitate in booking again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stiveslady 1 review from this member

Just returned from a wonderful long weekend - even the weather (storm!) on Saturday night didn't spoil it.

The site is lovely and as per previous reviews basic, small but adequate toilet block and washing up area. I had no problems but the boys had to queue for the one male shower. Clean and tidy site. Steward on hand and very friendly. Reasonable rates. We loved the dairy herd being brought through the site to go for milking but be prepared for the early morning mooing! You are on a working farm after all.

Uninterrupted views of the bay, plenty of woods for the kids to explore and play. The weather was wonderful up to Saturday - and no-one can control that but it did get a bit hairy in the middle of the night, although the birthday boy who was in his motor home wondered what all the fuss was about! We will definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julieannjip 1 review from this member

Me and my husband and our jip dog have just returned from a lovely week away. This is our first time at silverdale, the farm was great the staff are very nice the only thing I would say is they need to update the toilets ,but everything else was A1.
We had a lovely view from our caravan towards the sea,and people having campfires and singing playing guitars and mouth organs at night fall it was a really relaxed atmosphere. I would really recommend Gibraltar Farm to you, we will be going back very soon.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ML1998 1 review from this member

Just had our very first camping trip ever and we had a fantastic time. The site is quite basic but we thought the facilities were very clean and tidy most of the time. We did not have to queue for a shower as we went in the evening rather than the morning and this worked well for us.
There could have been a little more washing up facilities though for campers and more hot water but other than this we had a fab time. There is a little homemade ice cream cabin on site which was very popular and the local vilage is is just 10 minutes walk.
This is a working farm though, and the cows hurtling towards us was a little scary for the children but made it quite entertaining for the rest of us. The views are fantastic over Morecombe bay and our pitch was at the back of the field next to the wall, so we were not disturbed by anyone else throughout our stay, all in all it was great.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathymac 18 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a visit to this site Thursday and Friday night. Thursday was fantastic but come Friday the place was jam packed. The site facilities were insufficient to cope with this amount of people at least a 25 min queue for shower and to use the toilet. The cleaners tried their best but they were fighting a losing battle. Thank god we were in a caravan.
The site was very noisy. Kids running around well after 11PM and then we were wakened at 5.30 AM by kids running round the toilet block. Many other site users had no regard for fellow visitors, They seemed to think it was OK to stop at the toilet block. Leave their big noisy car engines running while the whole family used the facilities. One family was there for 20mins I eventually had to ask them to turn off their engine we couldn't hear ourselves think. None of the staff did anything to keep the noise down

Shame really because with a bit of investment in extra facilities the site could be fantastic, lovely location the sunsets were spectacular. The surrounding area enjoys exceptional natural beauty with the views over Morecambe Bay not to be missed. Only a 5 min walk to the village with great hotels that sell wonderful food at a reasonable prices and shops where you will get all your necessities. Please note : there is no ATM in the village

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: James butterworth 1 review from this member

Just arrived back from our first camping holiday and we could not have picked a better place. The kids (5 & 10 yrs old) had a fantastic time playing games on the fields and exploring the woods and the rocky beach. Not a place for sunbathing or swimming but gorgeous views. The toilet and shower block, washing up area etc are cleaned every day and are basic but very well equipped. You have to drive to the nearest shop if you need any essentials. We had to go for some ice. They sell ice lollies and drinks on site. Staff are friendly, as are the other campers, the kids made friends very quickly and we found people very helpful.

We are planning to return very soon.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elorac1 1 review from this member

The site is well maintained and friendly, with open spaces for children to ride and play. Really good atmosphere on the whole visit. The toilets were clean but a little under stress with only 4 or 5 for the whole site. Shower cubicles were clean and free, as were the sockets in the toilets for hairdryers and the all important mobile recharge, you just have to pick the right time to go up there!

In the evening there were guitars and mouth organs being played round friendly BBQs and a really good atmosphere. So if you play take something with you to join the scene, no one will mind!

On the whole a really nice place to go. Will definitley be back SOON !

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3025 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0938