Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Gibraltar Farm Camp Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 217 Reviews
                9/10 from 217 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  217 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stiveslady 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a wonderful long weekend - even the weather (storm!) on Saturday night didn't spoil it.

The site is lovely and as per previous reviews basic, small but adequate toilet block and washing up area. I had no problems but the boys had to queue for the one male shower. Clean and tidy site. Steward on hand and very friendly. Reasonable rates. We loved the dairy herd being brought through the site to go for milking but be prepared for the early morning mooing! You are on a working farm after all.

Uninterrupted views of the bay, plenty of woods for the kids to explore and play. The weather was wonderful up to Saturday - and no-one can control that but it did get a bit hairy in the middle of the night, although the birthday boy who was in his motor home wondered what all the fuss was about! We will definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julieannjip 1 review from this member

 Me and my husband and our jip dog have just returned from a lovely week away. This is our first time at silverdale, the farm was great the staff are very nice the only thing I would say is they need to update the toilets ,but everything else was A1.
We had a lovely view from our caravan towards the sea,and people having campfires and singing playing guitars and mouth organs at night fall it was a really relaxed atmosphere. I would really recommend Gibraltar Farm to you, we will be going back very soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ML1998 1 review from this member

 Just had our very first camping trip ever and we had a fantastic time. The site is quite basic but we thought the facilities were very clean and tidy most of the time. We did not have to queue for a shower as we went in the evening rather than the morning and this worked well for us.
There could have been a little more washing up facilities though for campers and more hot water but other than this we had a fab time. There is a little homemade ice cream cabin on site which was very popular and the local vilage is is just 10 minutes walk.
This is a working farm though, and the cows hurtling towards us was a little scary for the children but made it quite entertaining for the rest of us. The views are fantastic over Morecombe bay and our pitch was at the back of the field next to the wall, so we were not disturbed by anyone else throughout our stay, all in all it was great. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathymac 18 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a visit to this site Thursday and Friday night. Thursday was fantastic but come Friday the place was jam packed. The site facilities were insufficient to cope with this amount of people at least a 25 min queue for shower and to use the toilet. The cleaners tried their best but they were fighting a losing battle. Thank god we were in a caravan.
The site was very noisy. Kids running around well after 11PM and then we were wakened at 5.30 AM by kids running round the toilet block. Many other site users had no regard for fellow visitors, They seemed to think it was OK to stop at the toilet block. Leave their big noisy car engines running while the whole family used the facilities. One family was there for 20mins I eventually had to ask them to turn off their engine we couldn't hear ourselves think. None of the staff did anything to keep the noise down

Shame really because with a bit of investment in extra facilities the site could be fantastic, lovely location the sunsets were spectacular. The surrounding area enjoys exceptional natural beauty with the views over Morecambe Bay not to be missed. Only a 5 min walk to the village with great hotels that sell wonderful food at a reasonable prices and shops where you will get all your necessities. Please note : there is no ATM in the village 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: James butterworth 1 review from this member

 Just arrived back from our first camping holiday and we could not have picked a better place. The kids (5 & 10 yrs old) had a fantastic time playing games on the fields and exploring the woods and the rocky beach. Not a place for sunbathing or swimming but gorgeous views. The toilet and shower block, washing up area etc are cleaned every day and are basic but very well equipped. You have to drive to the nearest shop if you need any essentials. We had to go for some ice. They sell ice lollies and drinks on site. Staff are friendly, as are the other campers, the kids made friends very quickly and we found people very helpful.

We are planning to return very soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elorac1 1 review from this member

 The site is well maintained and friendly, with open spaces for children to ride and play. Really good atmosphere on the whole visit. The toilets were clean but a little under stress with only 4 or 5 for the whole site. Shower cubicles were clean and free, as were the sockets in the toilets for hairdryers and the all important mobile recharge, you just have to pick the right time to go up there!

In the evening there were guitars and mouth organs being played round friendly BBQs and a really good atmosphere. So if you play take something with you to join the scene, no one will mind!

On the whole a really nice place to go. Will definitley be back SOON ! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jarrcad 2 reviews from this member

 This is my first visit to this site, I found the scenery and walks fantastic. Its a site I would sugest best used as an overnighter as the facilities are poor, the toilet block has only one shower in the mens and again in the womens to cater for all on the site (the owners could make two showers out of one in each of the toilets as there is plenty of room.)
With a little investment from the owners this could be a site that will do well. The gentle walk to silverdale across the fields following the shore is rewarded by the fantastic views across the bay. The silverdale hotel is a must to rehydrate, with great food to match.
The children loved the site, it was good to see no playstaion or gameboy in site, just kids playing on the rocks and as evening drew in they were using torches making it more exciting.
So owners, invest in the showers. 5/10 before I submit, you have to try the farms icecream. Make that 6/10 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happy chappy 44 1 review from this member

 We have just had a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend at this beautiful campsite which is run by a very friendly and helpful steward and his wife. Nothing is too much trouble and they are always on hand to help.

Although the toilet facilities are limited they are regularly cleaned and we never had any problem waiting for showers.

This campsite is perfect for families as you do not have to worry about children letting off steam, it may be noisier than other sites but this is usually down to people having a great time and relaxing which for us is the object of getting away from it all with our family. It makes a change from other sites we have visited were the children have been too worried about being told to be quiet to have a good time!

We would highly recommend a visit were you will find a very warm welcome, beautiful scenery and countryside and a place to relax and get away from it all with a wonderful woodland area which the children enjoyed many hours exploring. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Te Camper100 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from Gibralter Farm.As has been mentioned the facilities (toilets )are inadequate for the number of people that go on a Bank Holl or weekends as there were only 4 toilets & 1 shower,they even started queing to wash the pots. There must have been over 100 tents,caravans etc,& the facilities are at one end near to the regulars caravans there is nothing on site you cant even watch t.V. Unless you can get hold of a grade A ariel you can get no reception at all,the steward on site did have a couple spare which you can rent for your stay,there are shops in Silverdale village 15 mins walk away. The site is no good if you want peace & quiet although it is a pretty site,it cost 14 a night for two with electric & we had to put the awning up on the hardstanding which was stones,no good for a bedroom in the awning. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Makie 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a visit to this site over a bank holiday weekend. The site facilities left a lot to be desired. The shower/toilet block was insufficient for the number of people on the site (20 minute queue for shower and to use the loo) and because of over use were dirty. The site was very noisy with large groups of kids/youths roaming completely unchecked by parents or staff. Many other site users had no regard for fellow visitors, on the last night of our stay a party took place in a caravan behind us that went on until 4am. None of the staff did anything to keep the noise down could it be because the site wardens family were attending the party.

In its favour the site is set in a lovely location the sunsets were spectacular, the pitch I had was good and level. The surrounding area enjoys exceptional natural beauty with the views over Morecambe Bay not to be missed.

All spoilt by an ignorant few and the owners cramming too many people onto the site for the facilities they have. 


Previous     217 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibraltar Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1264 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020