Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Gibraltar Farm Camp Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Post4dawn 5 reviews from this member

 We visited this site because we wanted to explore Arnside and Silverdale, but we didn't get chance because we only stayed one night. When we arrived we were pointed in the direction of a field for motorhomes but the ground was quite soft and we ended up getting stuck so had to wait for the farmer to come with the tractor to pull us out, he was very pleasant & we were grateful. We then tried up on the hill but we got stuck yet again but luckily we managed to roll backwards down the hill. In the end we ended up right next to the campsite road. This site is really for families with children, there were lots of children running around till quite late at night and if you want peace & quiet this is not the site for you, we were kept awake till early hours of the morning by a group of campers drinking & shouting to each other across the field. The toilets were ok, full of cobwebs but the spiders help to keep the flies down, but could do with more showers in the ladies, there is only two, one is a disabled shower.I don't think we will return to this site, we like our peace & quiet. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Reemo 2 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 2 night stay at Gibratar Farm. The first thing that struck us were the amazing views across the bay. And the sunsets. Well they have to seen to be believed!

The staff were very helpful and welcoming and said we could pitch wherever we wanted.

The toilet/shower block was clean but quite old and small, the weekend we were there was quiet so don't know how these facilities stand up during a busy weekend in summer. Although on Saturday morning we walked to Holgates holiday park for breakfast and ended up using their facilities (all looked new, amazingly clean!)

Silverdale village is only 5 minutes walk away with a well stocked CO-OP, an italian restaurant (didn't use), a post office and a pub (can't remember the name). We ate at the Silverdale Hotel which had good pub grub.

Would we go back??? The site is very basic with very basic facilities but very cheap (you get what you pay for) 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cavemen 1 review from this member

 An almost perfect place for the kids - and adults for that matter.

The only drawback was the lack of shower facilities, although the kids didn't complain, but another shower or two would make it spot on. The shower block was, however, kept very clean.

The area is great for exploring or just chilling out and the home-made ice cream was super, I felt obliged to have at least two helpings per day just to make sure I wasn't dreaming.

We enjoyed a fantastic weekend and wished we could have stayed longer. The on-site Warden was very friendly and helpful and we would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisa Dickinson 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping experience and really have mixed views of Gibralter Farm!

We arrived at the site around 6.00pm and had a choice of pitches, its a beautiful site overlooking Morecambe Bay with a woodland to the left as you drive in! Wardens were friendly and helpful on arrival!

We found the toilet/shower facilities very clean with lovely warm showers and a disabled toilet! An added mega bonus for me was the plug socket in the bathroom so I could use my beloved hair dryer!

There were two sinks for washing up but never had to wait!

The Ice Cream hut was a nice touch to the place with different flavours to choose from everyday costing around 6.00 for 2 adultsand two kids.

We camped in the first tent field to the right it had a mini woodland of about 5 trees were the younger children played they thought it was great as they thought you couldn't see them! But we could! We noticed over the other field a lot of older children playing on the rocky woodland bit! This was to the left!

Now for the bad bit.

The first evening the tent next door spent the whole evening with around 4-6 adults talking at the top of there voices until around 1.30am the men had real toilet mouths! The tent on the other side was rattling with a guy snoring his head off, he sounded like he was choking some of the time it was awful! Through out the night there was a mixture of music, some from the next field which got turned down around 2am but the worst was some terrible ravy kind of music which seemed to be coming from the woods! The next day the wardens insisted it was from a house on the hill! This music went off at 5AM!

The second day a group of about 7 lads 6 girls arrived and pitched directly across from us! The thoughts of oh no was apparent on all the faces of the campers! They went on to fulfill our dreads, screaming shouting swearing talking absolute filth at about 1am my husband asked them to shut up as they had woken up my kids but they didn't! I went to the loo around 1.30 am as there was loud talking from somewhere else only to find that the warden was with a group sat round a fire talking very loudly swearing at the top of his voice!

All in all a great weekend but with very little sleep! Such a shame as this was great site but with rules on noise not adhered to I don't think we would return unless promised little or no noise after 11.30pm. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rustyfrog 9 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a long Bank Hol weekend.

Just how steep is that hill out of the site?

The site as reviewed by previous visitors is in a super location. Great scenery, with great views over Morecambe Bay. Plenty of space for kids to play, climb trees etc.

It is the sort of site where parents can (and do) send their kids of all ages out to run riot from dawn to well after midnight.

The site have a few rules like no open fires, no football or ball games near caravans, no noise after 11pm, but no one takes any notice of them. It is not the place to expect peace and quiet or to relax.

This could be a super site if they built an additional toilet/shower block to supplement the single shower and 3 toilets per sex at present. The existing facilities are inadequate for the 3 fields of tents and caravans. They are also far away from the furthest point of the site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Strong Arms 2 reviews from this member

 Back again - what a fabulous 4 days. Only wish we lived nearer to visit more often. It is the most uncommercialised campsite we have been to - but it is great. Nice friendly owners and site wardens, clean facilities and everything is well controlled. The kids love it - freedom to them. Great walks and fresh air! Early morning wake up (not really about 8am) with the cows coming back through the camp fields after being milked, and then their daily walk back through at tea time back up to the milking station. Great to see, even at my age!

And the Home Made Ice Cream is absolutely delicious. Which we had had more time to try every flavour.

Even in bad weather, the campsite is great. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jazzy62 1 review from this member

 We stayed for a fortnight on this site. Our 3 children (12, 10 and 8) loved it, especially the rope swing and ice cream and made friends quickly. We tended to have showers in the late afternoon/evening and never had to queue. The steward was really nice and helpful and he organised a water slide and disco for the children when we were there. The site was busier at weekends, but even though the toilet block was busy and the amount of rain we had, the toilets and showers were kept really clean. We didn't spend much time on the site, as we toured Lancashire, Cumbria and Yorkshire - it's a good central base. We did walk to Silverdale village (nice Italian restaurant) and Arnside, although we shopped mainly in Carnforth which has a Tesco. Really good value for money, as I stayed on a site recently with only 1 toilet and a sink with cold water at three pounds per person per night. This works out at the same price for all of us on this site which has better facilities and we had an electric hook-up. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Woofs 6 reviews from this member

 This is the kind of place you wished you could have spent your childhood at. There's a wood for exploring, a secret cave to find and a little sea-side cove for skimming stones. As this is a working farm there are the occasional run throughs from a burly bunch of cows or sheep on their way up to the farm but they know not to make themselves at home in your awning. All very exciting for the kids.
The owners are incredibly friendly and although there are only fairly limited facilities they are lovely and clean. The hook up pitches are all good. There are no playground facilities but you really don't need it with what's naturally on the site. I honestly couldn't fault this place. I wouldn't hesitate in booking again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stiveslady 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a wonderful long weekend - even the weather (storm!) on Saturday night didn't spoil it.

The site is lovely and as per previous reviews basic, small but adequate toilet block and washing up area. I had no problems but the boys had to queue for the one male shower. Clean and tidy site. Steward on hand and very friendly. Reasonable rates. We loved the dairy herd being brought through the site to go for milking but be prepared for the early morning mooing! You are on a working farm after all.

Uninterrupted views of the bay, plenty of woods for the kids to explore and play. The weather was wonderful up to Saturday - and no-one can control that but it did get a bit hairy in the middle of the night, although the birthday boy who was in his motor home wondered what all the fuss was about! We will definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julieannjip 1 review from this member

 Me and my husband and our jip dog have just returned from a lovely week away. This is our first time at silverdale, the farm was great the staff are very nice the only thing I would say is they need to update the toilets ,but everything else was A1.
We had a lovely view from our caravan towards the sea,and people having campfires and singing playing guitars and mouth organs at night fall it was a really relaxed atmosphere. I would really recommend Gibraltar Farm to you, we will be going back very soon. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibraltar Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1847 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December