Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map
Tel: 01524 701736
    Visit their website    

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 210 Reviews
                8/10 from 210 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Seaside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport 

Reviews:  210 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jasmino09 1 review from this member

We have recently returned from Gib Farm. Having read other reviews, we expected a windy site. We were not disappointed. O my it was windy.

The weather seems to change very quickly from wind and rain to blazing hot sun. This all added to the fun.

The toilets and showers were perfectly adequate and were cleaned regularly. Although baby wipes sufficed for a day or so for us. The water was piping hot at the dish washing sink.

The view on entering the campsite is absolutely breathtaking and I was annoyed with myself for not taking a photo of this view as I left to come home. We were a family with 4 tents and there was ample space between us and our fellow campers, although we did go mid week. I would not hesitate to go back to Gib Farm and hope that the wind can just hold off until the tents are up. But hey it all adds to the fun (and arguments). I defy anyone to put a tent up in the wind and not get just a little bit mad.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Isobella 2 reviews from this member

This is a working farm and fantastic for the kids as they can watch the cows being milked, our kids loved it here as they were free and safe to explore the environment they also made lots of new friends. The toilet/show block was always being cleaned or in the process of being clean. Steward was helpful. Not far from the village which is lovely and only a short walk away, it has a park and shops. This campsite was perfect for us as it was our first time as campers it exposed us to the elements as it is literally at the bay, the views are breathtaking. We will return.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Martin holden 1 review from this member

Just got back today from visiting this site with my wife and daughter with 2 other couples both having kids under 10 years old. The prices are not too bad the area is stunning, great walks ( never walked so much in my life ! ) and views.However the facilities on site are not the best with only one shower and 3 toilets in the gents and 2 showers and 4 toilets in the ladies but this should not put you off just be prepared to wait.On site sign says no ball games near caravans but the camping fields are ok great to see so many kids running wild. Due to this they are often early to bed. The local village has 2 pubs 15 minutes walk away. The prices between the pubs vary vastly. Both are really nice. One is the silverdale hotel bit pricey but the staff are really friendly.The second is the royal hotel again the staff are very friendly and the food is not too expensive but is really good, this pub has a playground outside for the kids.The local co op shop is small but the prices are good, there is also a corner shop and a butchers that only sells raw meat also a newsagents and post office. Would visit this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Milo2008 4 reviews from this member

We found our visit to silverdale really relaxing the staff were friendly, lovely views and walks threw the forests.

Great taking the kids down to the beach caving and rock climbing and crabbing.The rocks in the centre off the field the kids all play on there which seem to cause no problem at all.

The home made ice cream is fab banana and caramel is the way forward but he cornettos of mike and lyn are way far the best for the kids cheap and cheerful

The wardens come round for a friendly chat everyday and night overall ouur stay at silverdale was brill and looking forward to going again next weekend

Watch out silverdale:}

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 1982 2 reviews from this member

After years away from camping, we had a nice weekend at Gibraltar Farm.

The site is located in a quiet spot, with great views over Morecambe bay.

We arrived at 7pm Friday and the site was very busy. Steward friendly and we picked our own spot. All other campers friendly enough. Only problem was on Friday night, I was woken at 3am by other campers talking. The site advertises not taking large groups of youths, however, this group of 6-8 20 yrs old or so girls slipped the net. Still - these things happen and we were all young once!

Toilet block clean enough, 3 cubicles in the gents, a floating trough type urinal (sorry - I work for an interiors company and to go 'none techie' on stuff like this wouldn't be right!) and a single shower. With having young kids, we were up early so no queues for the showers, however they're busy at 9am! The toilet block is in a different spot to where it was when I last went (probably 1998) so it's quite new.

Quite a few dogs on site - most well-behaved.

A decent site, very friendly, good spot and highly recommended!

Cheap too - 10 per night.

(Beware of Sat nav directions - avoid a local village called Wharton - the sat nav will try to take you through it but the gas board have the road dug up! Instead, leave the M6 at J35, and head for Carnforth. Then put in the postcode from there - far quicker!)

(Also - recommend Happy Mount Park in Morecambe - approx 20 mins from the site and a great half-day/day out for the family, particularly with kids under the age of 10 yrs!)

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MR24 2 reviews from this member

This site has improved so much over the last few years which has to be down to the resident wardens who control the site so well. They are friendly and cant do enough for you. We went for a full week and site full at weekends but amazingly no noise at night - however, wardens went off site and didn't we know it! Gangs of teenagers patrolling the site, hanging round toilets, shouting and swearing.

Two showers for women and only one for men so large queues at weekend mornings. Lovely atmosphere on caravan field where you can have fire to sit round. All in all a really lovely site to visit but make sure you pick days when the warden is on duty.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 167 reviews from this member

Stayed only one night, as we couldn't be bothered driving far that day in the heatwave. Cracking views out to the bay, pretty scenery. Grass kept neat but dingy toilet block struggled to cope. Very good off-lead dog walks in the extensive woods by the site; the sand on the beach is like thick mud.
The Steward was friendly - surprisingly it was he and his friends who were too loud too late. We got a very good deal mid-week for about half price as we're over 55. The farm makes ice cream although it wasn't available when we were there.
I'd come again but I'd make sure the water tank was full - it was hard to get close enough to the standpipe to fill the motorhome water tank due to a fence with no purpose around the toilet block, and it was the worst tasting water we've ever had.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kazzy25 3 reviews from this member

Having been to this site last August in the most horrendous winds, we really wanted to go again on a nice peaceful day! We are only 45min away and it`s ideal for us for weekends. We have children and this site is geared for families, so be prepared for lots of children running round which is great if you have them and if you don`t you may need to be a little tolerant, though saying that all the children seemed to be enjoying themselves and tend to congregate around a rocky hill in the middle of one of the fields. There are also woods to explore which are lovely.

We got a great pitch with some trees between us and the sea,the site is very exposed to the elements and the weather can change quite quickly, but the views over the bay are absolutely stunning and even though there were a lot of children it is very relaxing. The facilities are clean and adequate, the village is only a short walk if you want to top up on the basics and there are lots of walks to follow.

At the top of the hill there is a little hut that sells icecream and it is gorgeous, I`d highly recommend the Irish cream flavour. All in all I think this is a great site and will be going again as soon as!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: J baker 2 reviews from this member

Definitely the best views on any site we have stayed. Casic site but the views and the location are superb. A real working farm, very easy going. The weekends surprised us as the number of tenters went from a handful to what appeared hundreds, all the children got on very well together with no problems it was a joy to watch them playing all sorts of games, with the older kiddies looking after the younger ones. No tvs no computers just being lovely happy children.

We will definitely be going back

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Canim 5 reviews from this member

Just arrived back from gib farm, first time caravanners, had an excellent weekend. The site is easy to get to, the steward is as helpful as can be. The area and views are unbeatable, loads of space.
Good clean amenities. Plenty to do and see within walking distance, we definitely will be going back again in the near future.

Drawbacks - The English Weather, -otherwise none !

Previous     210 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth 239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8403 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1406