Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Gibraltar Farm Camp Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ragamuffin 9 reviews from this member

 Spent one night here for a private party, fantastic place to have a little party. Our group booked the woods for exclusivity, we had a fire, got the generator going and played some music, it did not at any time disturb other campers, it was nice to go back to the canvas, but I am looking forward to getting back to the caravan.

We will be going back to gibraltar farm with our kids as its only a 20 min drive recommended 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharples 2 reviews from this member

 Just got home from a 3 night stay here and we had a wonderful time we were a party of 8, 4 adults and 4 children 5, 3, 2 and 1

We arrived on saturday evening the steward was very welcoming and provided us with a pack of local information which was very helpful. The site was busy on the saturday night with lots of family's and groups so lots of family fun going on everywhere.

The steward has a policy that music has to be at a decent level so as not to offend any other campers and also that all music to be off by 11, which I think is very reasonable request. We did have a issue with a camper playing music very loudly so mentioned to the steward and he dealt with the issue immediately so not a issue again.

A lot of the familys left on sunday so monday and tuesday the site was a lot quieter which was a nice contrast to the family fun from the weekend.

The facilities I think were perfectly fine 2 ladies showers 1 male even on the busy sunday morning I was not waiting for long to have a shower.

Cant grumble at all this is a wonderful site and my 5 year old son is already asking to go back and we have only been home a day. The village is a very short distance away with lovely pubs and friendly shops as mentioned before no cash machine so cash back is available at the coop. It is only a short drive into carnforth.

Only negative issue I can drag up is the fact that it is difficult to get to the beach with children as young as it is a rocky area so I would suggest possibly going elsewhere older children would be fine as our eldest had no problem.

If you fancy a drive out from the site I would recommend a drive to morecambe to the Happy mount park which has children's play areas a small train ride 1 per person and also the water park which has jets of water for the children to play and is free of charge our children had great fun here.

We will definitely be going back to this site again soon 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Zakky1234 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 3 night on site. One of the best site I've visited, very friendly, the steward and his wife could not be more helpful.

There were a lot of children on site but all were well behaved. The toilet block was cleaned twice a day and plenty of hot water. It is a busy camp site but plenty of woodland around for long walks and good place if you have a dog.

There isn't a children play area but it was nice to see them use their imagination whilst playing. I will be returning as soon as I can 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Milo2008 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned home from a lovely week at gibraltar farm, this is the most beautiful and friendly campsite I have been too. The steward is very helpful and will do anything to help you out. This is a working farm and to watch the cows being brought back for milking by the farmer and his dogs is a sight to see. The views are just amazing. I will be going back very soon.  


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PEGWIL 2 reviews from this member

 As per a lot of the previous reviews the camp site is in exceptional location overlooking Morecombe bay. The village of Silverdale is only a 15 minute walk away (2 x pubs, chemist, post office, newsagents and co-op, no cashpoint, however cash back is available at the co-op) with lots of well marked public footpaths The subtle smell of wild garlic accompanies you everywhere.

There is a large limestone outcrop in the camping field and some woods that keep the children occupied most of the day and night. The site was very full and I would say that there were approx 100 tents and a couple of private parties on rally fields, add to this the seasonal caravans and camper vans, I would estimate over 150-175 units in total on the site, that said it never felt over crowded or uncomfortable.

However as a previous review states the showering and toilet facilities are woefully inadequate which really lets down a potentially superb site.

Sadly some campers decided to light fires which kept the warden on his toes, hard standing caravans and campervans can have fires but no tent users can, this is for safety reasons according to the warden and owners.

To summarise this could be one of the great sites if only it offered an even service to all users and further washing facilities 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Erika82 2 reviews from this member

 We've stayed at this campsite over the bank holiday weekend. We have really enjoyed it! We've enjoyed that much that we have booked for a week in August!

We've phoned on the day and still had a space for us! We arrived late in the evening and this was not a problem at all. The tent field was very spacious and are allowed to pitch your tent anywhere you liked on the field.

The shower and toilet block where only a small walk away and where always clean. Basic but all what you need!

We walked over to the see. You had to climb some rocks to get to the path. The path at some stages was very narrow and near cliffs so not recommended for young children.

The where a few small shops and pubs nearby and some supermarket only a short drive away.

The site is clean and the view amazing. Very nice and friendly place to be!

There is no play area for children but there is enough around to play with. It depends on the child if this side suits them.

We are taking a 7 and 4 year old in August and are very confident they will enjoy themselves. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Preston99 1 review from this member

 Toilet block is clean and functional. There appears to be only 3 showers (1 mens, 2 ladies) to service the entire site which meant there was always a queue unless you went at midnight.

View is outstanding and the tent fields face the sea. You can pitch 'anywhere' and the ground is level-ish. The beach isn't great. More mud than sand but good for walking into town if you don't mind scrambling over rocks.

Pub (Silverdale Hotel) served decent food at about 8 for fish and chips. Other cheaper and more expensive options available.

It did get noisy due to the number of campers but the kids slept though it so no real bother. 10 a night (six man family tent) is great value although I'd happily pay a bit more for more facilities and stricter (noise) wardens.

Would definitely go back though. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Magdolin 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely midweek break at Gibratar farm. The views are lovely. We have been there a few times now and much prefer it midweek when there is loads of space and it is lovely and peaceful.

Both pubs in the village are nice the food at the silverdale hotel is fantastic huge portiens and lovely fresh ingredients cooked to perfection. Spent most of my break relaxing reading and looking out across the bay which is one of the nicest views I have seen from any campsite. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: JaxG 11 reviews from this member

 This campsite is in a tremendous location, we picked it due to being just over 1 hours drive from home and for the walks in the area.

We had an electric pitch very close to the woods and the walks which was ideal with our two Labradors.

Site wardens very pleasant and helpful.

The shower/loo facilities whilst being nothing special but clean, with two showers in the ladies (one did had a dodgy shower hose, but it didn't bother me too much) and about 5 loos. I didn't have to queue at the times I went.

The walk down to the village takes about 20 mins, and the village has a co-op that is open till 10pm every night. There are also a couple of pubs that allow dogs in the beer garden.

We walked back along the coast, and its spectacular.

There was loads of kids running around having fun, didn't notice late night noise, but did have ear plugs in ;-)

Would I go back, yes, would I recommend it, yes :-) 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rubyroo75 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 3 nights at Gibraltar Farm with toddler and 6 year old, and would recommend it.

The country lanes to the site can be a bit hair-raising for novice towers and beware of trusting sat navs. Our's tried to take us up an impossible lane (Crag Lane). When leaving M6 at Junction 35 go through Carnforth town. You have to pass through a farm to enter the site. NB the stewards only accept cash, which was quite embarrassing as I didn't know that.

The site itself is basic no kids play areas and dated toilet blocks. Only 1 shower for men, but water was hot and free, and blocks were cleaned daily.

Our caravan pitch was a very good size with plenty of room for awning on hardstanding area. EHU pitches were well laid out. The non-EHU were more random, but even on bank holiday weekend, they didn't seem to be crammed in.

There are lots of places for kids to climb and explore on the site.

We were given an info sheet on site on arrival, which advised the route to take to the beach. Was a quiet pretty walk but led to a stone wall which had to be climbed (not easy with a young toddler) and we were then faced with a rocky cove. No way our kids could've navigated the rocks to the sand, not without broken ankles anyway. Best to head on into Morecambe for a 'proper' beach.

The sheet also advised of a natural waterfall.This area was very pretty with some good walks but the idea of a 'waterfall' was rather embellished.

It was a short walk into Silverdale village with 2 pubs and convenience store.

The weekend was slightly marred by the noise levels after 10pm, from groups of kids and adults alike. Even though the site stewards were opposite us, there was no attempt to quieten anybody down. Fortunately it didn't go on too late, but still very frustrating.

All in all though a lovely interesting site. Not bog standard field, a great location for walking, great views / surroundings and very reasonably priced at 15 per night for caravan, EHU, awning, 2 adults and 2 kids.

Will be returning. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibraltar Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2049 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December