Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
    Visit their website    

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LGriffiths 3 reviews from this member

One of the best campsites I've stayed on in a long time, it was a bank holiday weekend and very busy, but the wardens were very helpful, there was plenty of room for everyone, loads of kids but very well behaved and just a great site for kids, with a stand of trees among some rocks that all of the kids aimed for, some of them called it 'monkey island' we hardly saw our grandson.

There were plenty of toilets, ample wash hand basins and showers, kept very clean. There's a well stocked camp shop. To say there were so many campers it was very quiet at night, I got the impression that the wardens wouldn't stand any nonsense, but were not bossy or tyrannical.

All in all I would highly recommend this site especially if you have kids, the prices are reasonable too.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dazman9 3 reviews from this member

Simply Perfect. Wonderful views, friendly staff (who were on the ball when a group of caravaners got a bit too noisy late evening), top notch toilet and (free) shower facilities and a really clean site. They have two on site shops and sell everything from basic camping spares to lovely home made ice cream.

My 3 kids loved playing in the fields and making new friends. My other half is disabled, and has difficulty walking, but she was very impressed when the site staff very courteously asked if there was anything else they could do to make the site more disabled friendly.

But for me, the best thing about this site is their prices. Not only are they very reasonable (under 70 for a family of 5 and a dog for a 3 day bank holiday weekend with EHU) but they have the same prices all year round. Non of this Doubling the prices just because the kids are off school.

WE'LL DEFINITELY BE BACK.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulinekezza 5 reviews from this member

Had another lovely weekend at Gib (as we call it). Wardens both welcoming and cheerful as usual. Was very foggy when we arrived so our usual enjoyment of the magnificent views across the Bay had to wait until Saturday. Site was clean and tidy with lots of hot water available for washes, showers and pot washing. Daughter decided to ramble over the fields down to the beach and came back with both wellies full of water! Good job it isn't far. She also played with her new found friend on the rocks and also went exploring round and about the site. Came back with various wildlife siting reports. Went for tea to the Silverdale Hotel. Food was lovely and served quickly despite being fairly busy. We usually make the journey on foot as it is not far but drove this time (dodgey ankle at moment) and parked on their car park. Was less than a couple of minutes by car. Lovely, relaxing weekend enjoyed and got the chance to plug ukcs to a first time (for a long time) caravanning lady.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cabravieja 16 reviews from this member

Great location in easy reach of Manchester without the traffic of the Lakes. There's a sea view over the walls but sheltered from the worst of the westerlies at the mouth of the estuary. A safe family site and good walks along the cliff or to a little cove. If you want a sandy beach go to Morecambe, just a short drive. The village has a Co Op, butchers, Indian and bike hire. Only 12 a night, so a bit different to the Lakes, hence it does get busy.

I could never understand why sites won't even allow a fire log on the BBQ but now I do. The owner explained that the policy deters big groups of drunken idiotic people from nearby towns (and Manchester) who think they can re enact Glastonbury. Strict quiet after a certain time and the wardens live on site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Landmarker 1 review from this member

Not the welcome we expected as the receptionist told us we were two hours early (we weren't), that she was very busy (August) and hadn't had 'a day off in ages'.

That's the negative bit out of the way.

A fine site with lovely views of Morecambe Bay. Toilet and wash-up facilities are newly built and are superb. This was our first time camping in many a long year.

The village of Silverdale is a 15 minute walk. An food/pub Post Office and Co-op ample for most needs.

Flat camping by a dry stone wall. There is a wooded glade which is quite magical - faux standing stones and a path to the beach. In the centre of the camping field there is a rather magical rocky outcrop, wooded with trees that the camp-site kids seemed to gravitate to. Reasonable fees and a fairly relaxed atmosphere made our two night stay pleasurable.

Lovely sunsets and an expansive view of Morecambe Bay elevate this site to something special in my humble opinion.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Atkis 1 review from this member

Excellent site. Location IS nothing short of stunning. The rocky area in the in the main camping field more than made up for the lack of child play facilities, in fact was enjoyed far more than any man made facilities by 2 young children.

The only negative I can say is the laundry unit within the facilities block, lacked drying facilities.

The cost was very reasonable.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louie Lungbubble 3 reviews from this member

Great site. This was out first time at Gibraltar Farm and we visited in a party of 6 tents with lots of kids in tow.

Other members of the group were initially a bit sceptical due to there not being any play facilities for the little ones but we needn't have worried. That rocky hill which sits in the main camping field provided all the entertainment our kids needed. I climbed up myself a few times. What a view!

The toilets, washing, laundry and chemical disposal facilities are all housed in one block and as others have said, is first class.

The main camping field itself is very large. We positioned ourselves against the back wall so were facing the sea and had that rocky hill just to the side of us. This also meant just a short walk up a path through trees to the toilet block.

This then is a great spot but just be aware, most of this back wall has very mature tree branches overhanging it so there's a slight chance that bits dropping off could hole a tent. Didn't put us off, and nothing happened but there's always that chance.

The little beach cove and the walk to it is stunning. Get to the toilet block and head off to the right through the small motorhome field and you're soon in some beautiful woods on a path which passes through a small circle of standing stones. Beyond this the path takes you over a style and onto the rocky cove. There's also a vast sandy expanse of beach in front of this.

If a camp fire is your thing (why wouldn't it be?) don't bother trying to sneak one in by keeping the barbie going after you've eaten the last burger. Take the 5 minute walk to the cove and have a proper one there.

The site has a strict no fires policy (for good reason) and it is enforced.

If you can't camp without a fire but can't be bothered with a short walk to a beautiful spot for one then it's probably wise to try a different site with different rules.

This place is now one of our favourites. We'll definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EricDenise 2 reviews from this member

First visit to Gibraltar Farm and very impressed all round. Efficient booking and arrivals service, as there were just the two of us we were put into the field with fewer kids so a bit quieter which was fine. Shower block is new and the best I've come across in the UK and no charge for showers. Fields flat and good depth of soil for pegs. Picturesque location, views over the bay, nice walk around the coast to Arnside and back across country. The Silverdale Hotel 15 mins walk away serves reasonable food and has a nice garden to sit out in. There is an Indian restaurant in Silverdale that was full at 6:30 on bank holiday Sunday so we didn't wait to try it but it looks promising. They are the only eating places within easy walking distance although another hotel is being refurbished in the village. Altogether a lovely site and area.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smec 8 reviews from this member

On arrival pleasantly surprised with the vastness of the site and were made to feel very welcome by the wardens. We were shown to our pitch and the warden assisted in siting the folding camper to give us the best views. The facilities were spotless with ample toilets and showers with family/disabled units if needed. The washing up area is contained within the utility block with 4 sinks with plenty of hot water. The weather was favourable for our stay and the views overlooking Morecambe Bay by day and the sunsets were stunning. During our 3 night stay we visited Morecambe to do the traditional photo shoot with 'Eric'. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Colin51 3 reviews from this member

We returned today ( 24th ) from 4 nights away at Gibraltar Farm and what a great time we had, the weather did help.

We were last there 3 years ago.

On the touring pitch we had there was also a water point and 10 amp EHU - and magnificent views.

As pensioners we visited mid week and paid 13 PUN including our porch awning and the EHU.

The positive feedback here from other visitors is well deserved.

The shower block is clean and ( AIRI ) was new 3 years ago.

On site the wardens caravan has a small shop in the awning with the essentials, milk etc and they were very sociable too.

During our midweek stay ( and no children on site ) I am struggling to make any criticisms.

Overall, hard to beat, and we will be back in time.

My child friendliness rating is posted as 5 as we had no children with us.

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2049 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0996