Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
    Visit their website    

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grisleymyers 1 review from this member

The friendly stewards called Lynda and Mike give rides to the kids on their quad bike. They're always there to lend a hand when the campers stay on James' land.

They sell goodies from their awning where the kids queue every morning, waiting to spend money in the shop on coke, cornettos or an ice pop.

Bertha is their trusty fire who comes out when campers retire, their dog called Lucy likes the spot in front of the fire where it's hot hot hot!

This camp site is the best we know, you should really give it a go, see for yourself what fun it is, Gibraltar Farm is the Biz!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Topper100 2 reviews from this member

Visited site with family for four days. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised after reading the previous reviews. For nightly charge the site is extremely good value for money. Views are outstanding, the sunsets are great. Toilet facilities are immaculate - albeit a couple more showers would be beneficial. The steward was extremely helpful. Plenty of room for children to play although it would be better with a proper playground. The food at the village pub is outstanding and I would recommend it. We had a gorgeous meal and the service was second to none. All in all a good little site we will return.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MissEddie 2 reviews from this member

What a superb campsite. As with some others I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews here, however, after reading the more positive ones we decided this was the campsite for us. We had been wanting to visit this area for some time as frequent visitors to the Lake District this was an area we had not visited and despite the cloud and occasional drizzle we were not disappointed. The village is only a short walk from the site with all you could need, local pubs, (serving good food) and shops. There are plenty of local walks and cycle routes, an ideal base for those walkers and cyclists wanting to avoid the peak season crowds of the Lake District. The site itself has the most wonderful views over Morecambe Bay, not at all noisy even though there were many children with it being the school holidays. The toilet blocks were always clean and well stocked with toilet roll. We will definitely be going back soon, missing eating breakfast in the morning looking out over the bay already. Hooray for Gilbraltar Farm, we love it!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicsmum 6 reviews from this member

Just had a great weekend on this friendly site. Found the steward to be very helpful. Had no problem with any late noise, despite being a bit apprehensive having read previous reviews.
 Walking and views are lovely here and good food to be had at local pubs. Site and facilities kept very clean, queues for wash-up and showers only at busiest times and not excessive. Great for kids, space to run around and explore. Plan to visit again!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: I need sun 11 reviews from this member

Pleasantly surprised with this site as we usually go to 'higher quality' sites.
 
Only stayed for 1 night but found:
 
good points - brill views over bay, ok toilets, cheap goods in shop (in stewards' awning!), nearness to Silverdale which has good little shops/pubs (esp butchers & fruit/veg shop), good walks from site, good camping field & lots of space for kids to play.
 
bad points - untidy in nearby woods (lots of cans/bottles from late night camp fires). Noisy / rough (ish!) campers shouting late at night (I'm just a snob), not well lit.
 
Overall though I would definately stay again if only for location (inc art gallery opposite) & Silverdale itself.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Windblown 9 reviews from this member

Have just spent another lovely weekend here and the weather was hot! turned a  bit chilly and breezy at night so take a fleece along with you. This site is so friendly, my grandson (5) really enjoyed the rope swing, and he made lots of friends. 
Very busy, pitched on the friday, by saturday afternoon it was chokka.  go early if you can.
This is a very relaxing site, the noise was not over the top and didn't bother us, everyone was just having a good time. The smell of bacon and eggs in the morning does wonders for you appetite, and the views just round it all off.  could do with 1 or 2 extra showers, but really ,nothing could spoil a stay at gibraltar farm. 
will go again. 5 star.

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tim and Cary 60 reviews from this member

Gibraltar Farm is lovely and only £10 per night (inc Hook-up). This is quite a basic farm site but lovely sea views from our caravan window. The toilets are clean and adequate and the Steward friendly and helpful. He organises special events in a big marquee some weekends. There are loads of places for kids to play including the sites own woods with tree swings, beach (a bit muddy and beware of the tides) and caves to explore. This is NOT a commercialised site or area in any way, shape or form. The whole district, it is designated "an area of outstanding natural beauty" is a great one for walking / nature lovers but not a lot of "organised" entertainment, shopping, etc.  It is, also, possible to visit the Lakes by car for the day. Carnforth is a short drive away and has a wider range of shops, including a brilliant secondhand bookshop, the re-vamped railway station, with displays about the film "Brief Encounters" which was filmed there, and 2 larger supermarkets.

There are lots of lovely walks nearby. Silverdale village has a small supermarket, 2 or 3 pubs and a few other shops. Nearby Arnside has some interesting shops lovely views and walks and a super "chippy."

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DAVVA 1 review from this member

Just got back from our first visit met some really nice people already rebooked to meet up again. Warden found to be very helpful & friendly, facilities basic but clean. Watching the sheep dogs rounding up the cows for milking & then bringing them back I found highly entertaining & amusing how sad am I. Just a really nice place to visit especially for the money. Highly recommended

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Windblown 9 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site. The site was quiet when we arrived , good choice where to pitch ( get there early if you can, soon filled up). Reasonably priced.  Great views of Morecambe bay and beyond. Got very busy as the day went on, and the weather changed for the worse very windy, bit chilly. Good site for children. No playground but plenty of space to play and really nice walks around the site, and surrounding area. No clothes washing facilities so not very good for a long stay. Toilets ok, didn't use shower facilities so can't really comment on them. We really enjoyed our one night stay even in a blowing gale. No unruly noise. Will visit this site again.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dicko4 11 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site in a beautiful location. It has fantastic views and clean modern toilet / shower facilities. Our children especially loved the farm animals in the adjoining fields! All this only an hours drive from home. Ideal? Unfortunately, not. The noise is a big problem and goes on well into the early hours. This site attracts and allows large groups of young campers that carried on with the fun, long after we had retired to our sleeping bags. There doesn't seem to be any site control, although my husband and I and our two young children were told as we booked in, to keep the noise down after 11pm. It's a pity nobody is made to adhere to this rule.
Our friends decided to give the site another go last weekend, things were no better, in fact it was busier and noisier than the first visit.
It's sad to see such a lovely place in a very pretty, rural location, being used in this way.

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth £560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3496 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.1050