Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lancashire > Silverdale > Gibraltar Farm Camp Site > Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 256 Reviews
                9/10 from 256 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  256 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JBSB 21 reviews from this member

 Very enjoyable stay. Never saw owners (but didn't need to!), communications before arrival were great.

Nicely laid out, spacious pitches. Views across the bay are amazing. Lovely cafe just outside the entrance.

Easy walk into town.

Would definitely stay again, if in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kmawds 9 reviews from this member

 Last visited 50 years ago (mustn't leave it so long next time!). Not much has changed, apart from the new toilet block.

Perfect location with stunning views and a short walk to the beach or village.

The camp field was lush, crazy farmer with his sit-on grass cutter keeps it in tip top condition.

Handy shed reception area on arrival, easy pre booking, good value for solo bikepacker.

Recommended 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Felixa 1 review from this member

 We loved the campsite at Gibralter farm. The view of Morecombe Bay from the spacious and beautifully kept grassy field was beautiful.

And it was lovely to be able to wander through the woods to the private cove and over the fields to the beach.

There was lots of space and utter tranquility with birdsong and no traffic noise.

The washing and toilet facilities were modern, plentiful and immacualately clean.

Thank you to Amy and the team. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Irenec 1 review from this member

 Lovely setting and a well organised site.

Plenty space for kids to wild play and a lot for them to explore (stoney beach area & rock pools a woodland & ‘rocky caves’ and farm animals ) a great escape. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Psmith 2 reviews from this member

 After a horrible journey up the M6 from Warwickshire we arrived at 3 pm and were greeted by the friendly stand-in steward. We booked in and were directed to pitch R7 with a sea view which we had requested. We last visited in September 2022 on pitch L34 and witnessed spectacular sunsets.

We had overlooked the fact that the sun sets further to the north in June and our view of the sunsets from our ‘van was hidden behind a bank of trees (albeit they do provide a windbreak from northwesterly winds. In future we will pre-book L9 or L10 if available.

In all other respects it was a good pitch with EHU and water hook up. I would score facilities at 10/10 if the pitches also had grey water disposal but a wastewater trug is required here.

The toilet/shower facilities are well designed and kept spotlessly clean. The grey and black water disposal are sighted adjacent, together with dish washing up facilities for campers. A laundry room is an added bonus for those staying for longer periods.

The campsite is accessed along Hollins Lane which is tight for a conventional caravan and more so for an 8 foot wide ‘van. That said, we were able to negotiate it and there are passing places. The campsite is situated on a working farm and you do have to drive through cow slurry from the milking parlour on wet days (and wash it off the front of the caravan and wheels on arrival). Hence my 8/10 score for location.

From the campsite there is a “dog walk” through woods, or a short walk to Jack Scout NT Nature Reserve and onto Jenny Brown’s Point with views across Morecambe Bay and Heysham (nuclear power station).

Further on you can cross the causeway to Quaker Stand and visit the bird hides overlooking pools on the salt marsh. We spotted a Marsh Harrier, Kestrel, Spoonbill, Grey Heron, Avocet, Godwit and a large colony of Black-headed Gulls, and more.

A short drive or bus ride away is Wharton Crag Nature Reserve where we spotted Peregrine Falcons and amazing views from the summit along marked trails. Similarly, RSPB Leighton Moss Reserve is fantastic for similar bird sightings and otters, with marked trails, hides and a viewing tower.

It also has a good cafe. If you are not RSPB Members there is a discount for arriving by public transport and is served by rail and bus routes. Nearby is Arnside again with amazing views from the summit of the Knott and several cafes in town.

One “must do” in Silverdale is lunch or dinner at the Silverdale Hotel - probably the best pies in Lancashire if not the world! Good beer too and very friendly service.

So overall, a very good campsite for a stopover if travelling north or south, weekends away or longer holidays. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Doroth 1 review from this member

 We were really impressed by the site and it has very good facilities. The wardens were very friendly and helpful.

We were walking the Morecambe Bay for Breast Cancer so it was an ideal base.

We will be rebooking for September to explore the local area.

It was very quiet and any problems were soon resolved with the wardens.

Absolutely lovely views. The only thing as feedback to the owner's would be to reassure guests that going down the farm track was the correct route as we were rather anxious we would have to turn around with our motorhome.

Thank you for a wonderful couple of nights. 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lindis 1 review from this member

 Welcoming site despite not being able to prebook due to busy owner.

Quiet (we were there midweek) and clean with free, adequate showers.

Lovely walks from the site.

Loved having cows as our neighbours too. 


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Xkirst 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, very tidy and clean shower block.

Views are amazing and staff on site are really friendly.

Definitely be going back again next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Philja 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site.

Great location great views.

Very well presented.

Highly recommended.

Superb location for hikes out from a couple of hours to all day. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Seaside Kathy 7 reviews from this member

 Had we not been on pitch 15, which is sandwiched between the toilets and the bins, I might have given this site a high score.

But I’m equally miffed that when we saw 2 cracking sea view pitches that were empty, the steward 2 days running said that we couldn’t move there as they were booked, yet nobody pitched there the whole time!

This site is good with great facilities, just a shame the steward wasn’t more helpful and just check you’re not on pitch 15 
via mobile


Previous     256 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibraltar Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4631 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement