Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Gibraltar Farm Camp Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 217 Reviews
                9/10 from 217 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  217 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Simongtanner 1 review from this member

 Immaculate campsite with stunning views.

Lots of options for walks from the site. Wolf house gallery and Beach House restaurant excellent. Silverdale is a hidden gem 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pottycampers 2 reviews from this member

 Great site with stunning views. Staff were very friendly and helpful especially when we brought the wrong electric connection !

Showers warm and clean.

Silverdale village is a 15 min walk with a Coop shop and 2 pubs.

We will definitely return and can't wait 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Foster1 1 review from this member

 Been to this camp site many times. One of my favourites.

Always clean. Staff always very friendly. Love the walk to the beach. Kids love the rocks to play on.

Always plenty room never feels over crowded. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Daisy Lee 2 reviews from this member

 I just adored this camp. The place is magical and had a energy about it that's hard to describe. The shower blocks and toilets are spotless and there are loads of them.

There is homemade ice cream which is very good and a static caravan that sells loads of little bits.

If you want to walk out into the village it's just a short walk away and the views are beautiful.

I highly recommend this camp 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Sponge88 1 review from this member

 Lovely site; lots of pitches but still manages to feel very quiet & peaceful & clean.

Great walks for dogs locally; lovely place for kids to play & watch the cows, the icecream made on site is fantastic if you manage to stay when the icecream cabin is open it's well worth it!

Short walk into silverdale village which has a co-op for any essentials. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: BonnieandPaul 1 review from this member

 This site is magical! The stewards were extremely helpful and patient with us(newbees).

The toilet/showers were adequate and fit for purpose. Only downside was that there is only one washer and dryer in the laundry so I had to wash everything by hand.

The over 55s mid-week deal is great value but even at normal cost 21 per night is a bargain! There are some lovely walks in the area and the views are to die for, both on/off the site.

The hi-lite for me was discovering the on site woodland walk and the stone circle. Will definitely recommend to family and friends, infact everyone I have contact with on my facebook freedom friends page.

We will be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LozzaS5 19 reviews from this member

 First time I have camped in my home county of Lancashare and what a place to start. Previously headed for the Lake District but this place is a gem of a find. Great views over Morcambe

Bay and slightly tricky access to good walking beaches. Coffee and snack shop at Gallery by entrance and Silverdale with 2 pubs with food not far away. All nice and quiet but imagine quite different in the School Hols.

Odd not having a site shop but well run by Wardens who occupy a Caravan and Awning on site

Initially off putting having to drive through a Farm road but worth the effort.

Good pitches with a few with hardstandings. Tent field without EHU looks a delight. Reasonable coop for the size of town and a few shops post office chemist etc.

No Motorhome Service Point but apart from that all pretty good. High percentage of seasonal pitches and a handful of statics but still tidy. Facilities block nice and efficient

But could be chilly in the Winter? Milk, dairy and a Ice Cream available from farm but opening times hit and miss out of season.

Will definitely be back next Spring as good for quick or long stop 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jen+Fred 8 reviews from this member

 Well-maintained site with smart toilet block. Spacious, partly wooded with a flat field for tents, overlooking the Kent Estuary towards Grange-Over-Sands.

Less than 5 minutes walk from a bus stop for services to and from Carnforth (service number 51) or 30 minutes walk from Silverdale Railway Station.

So conveniently situated for those relying on public transport. 20 minutes walk from pubs and shops in the centre of Silverdale. Milk from the farm cows can be purchased at the farm.

Ideal for exploring the local Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, and Leighton Moss Bird Reserve, or other places of interest on the Carnforth to Barrow-in Furness railway line. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rogermooreseyebrow 7 reviews from this member

 Just spent the August Bank Holiday weekend (2017) at Gibraltar Farm with my wife and three children (aged 10, 4 and 2)and I'd say it's right up there as one of the best campsites we've stayed at.

It's located in a beautiful North Lancashire location within spitting distance of Morecambe Bay and the Lake District. There's plenty of space to pitch, scattered across a couple of fields and electric hook-up if you want it. Facilities-wise, the toilet/shower blocks are excellent, with more than enough to cater for everyone, with adequate dish-washing facilities and a boot washing area. Water taps and waste bins are also dotted around the site.

A nice touch at Gibraltar Farm is having a night warden, who does the rounds from around 11pm and makes sure that people keep noise down to a minimum. We found that silence was golden from 11. 30/midnight onwards.

My only gripes are that given there isn't much by way of shopping unless you're prepared to drive to Carnforth (10 minutes), an on site shop, selling basics would be great.

I also think that the laundry room needs to be more expansive, given the volume of campers using the site. In addition to this, some areas of the campsite can get quite boggy, so be careful where you pitch. Other than that, this site ticks plenty of boxes, especially for families.

There are loads of areas for kids to explore, including a rocky area in the middle of one of the fields, woodlands and a track that leads to the sea. If you're lucky enough to catch one, it's also well worth making sure that you're at the campsite to watch a sunset there. The way the sun bounces off the wet sandbanks makes for quite an extraordinary sight.

All in all, we had a great weekend at Gibraltar Farm and got lucky with the weather too.

It's a great site that I'm sure we'll visit again, especially as it's only an hour away from where we live (Bolton), and is fairly easy on the pocket, too. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Debfils 5 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site! A real gem in the Lancashire countryside. We received a very friendly welcome from the wardens who directed us to a nice pitch overlooking the beautiful estuary.

The facilities were modern and clean but quite a long walk for campers on the tent field.

We took our Welsh Terrier with us and discovered some wonderful walks just minutes away from the site. The atmospheric Silverdale hotel is about a 15 minute walk away where we had a pleasant meal. My husband was impressed with the well kept real ales!

We will definitely visit this lovely site again, in fact we can't wait to go back. 


Previous     217 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibraltar Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3673 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020