Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map
Tel: 01524 701736
    Visit their website    

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 210 Reviews
                8/10 from 210 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Seaside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport 

Reviews:  210 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Munglie 5 reviews from this member

Just got back from Gibraltar Farm. We had a great weekend, although the heat wave that the rest of the country seemed to be having missed us out! The site is clean and well kept. The showers and toilet blocks are basic, with as I can remember four toilets, one disabled toilet and two showers. Not once over the weekend did I have to queue for the toilets but the showers were a different matter, there were quite long queues for these, and sometimes they would stop working altogether!
The showers were free and I found the whole block was kept clean , I would frequently pop in and it was just being or just had been mopped.

The pitches were fine, we had to clear a few sticks and sheep poo away before we set the tent up but they were ok, not completely flat as we realised each time we cooked and all the liquid in the pan tipped to one side! We didn't have EHU so I cannot comment on that and as far as I am aware the whole filed that we were on which consisted of tents and mobile homes, none had EHU.

All in all the site was good. We had a great weekend and would probably visit again, however it was noisy! We have three boys aged 8, 7 and 6, so we are used to the noise of children, but the first night (Good Friday) was extremely noisy with children running round our tent and people sitting outside, one group even having a sing-song with a guitar! The second and last night were better but people didn't seem to stick to the rule about music going off etc and there seemed to be nobody enforcing this rule.

There is no shop on site, but there is a co-op quite close by and Carnforth is about ten minutes in the car, where there is a Tesco.
There are some great walks around the fields surrounding the site, fab views over Morecambe Bay and loads of sheep and newborn lambs which was lovely to see.

There is a coffee shop and gallery right next door to the site, we didn't use it but it was always busy and it had a small outdoor play area for the children, this may come in handy as the site didn't have facilities for the children, however on Sunday evening the Easter Bunny did come round on a quad bike giving mini eggs out to the shildren and there was a small disco at 6 for the children.

So if you have kids and don't mind a bit of noise during the busy weekends then this site is great, the views are stunning, as is the sunset, the site is very exposed so be prepared for a bit of wind, but generally very good.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tulipcat 13 reviews from this member

We visited this campsite in a small group of friends. As we arrived unannounced the steward did not give us a very warm welcome, and directed us away from the main campsite. We were quietly drinking a few beers into the small hours but there were other groups in the same field who were doing the same and causing no bother. Later the steward came to check on us and explained his hostile welcome was because he has been subject to abuse in the past and that we would be welcome in the future if we phone first. The facilities are basic but this is a great spot, easy to find, and suitable for families, and people wanting some peace-as previously mentioned we were directed away from the main site so as not to cause disturbance.The ground is good, and the site well sheltered. I've heard this place gets busy in height of summer which I can well imagine. Worth a visit.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Muppetflower 2 reviews from this member

I am looking forward to going back to Gibraltar Farm. I must say I would not like to go at weekends and Bank holidays, I stopped once at the weekend it was packed queues for toilet same for showers and kids everywhere playing cricket with a hard ball coming right for our unit it hit twice that was enough for us. I like children I have 3 of my own and grandchildren. So if you like a bit of peace and quiet avoid busy times But it is a lovely place lovely views of Morcambe bay

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mafutd 2 reviews from this member

Great site, but can get busy at peak times, lovely area and views, I`ve been several times and enjoyed it every time, go once, enjoy!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mr.paul 23 reviews from this member

The site was so packed there was not a hope of trying to keep to the 6m rule, and when they opened yet another field I feared for the ability of the facilities to cope and what would the night bring.

Happily it just worked.

Lovely site. No EHU for tents (I don't use it anyway). Just a little too crowded for me.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Zozzer 21 reviews from this member

First Visit

Following the Silverdale signs, the site is well signed posted. We arrived mid afternoon amidst torrential rain, and were met by a steep winding decent into the campsite. Various signs told us to book in with the steward upon arrival. However the steward was not on site, but had left a mobile number. A quick call and we were told to take any pitch we fancied.

To be honest our first thoughts did not think much of the site. TV recpetion is very poor even with our own ariel and amplifier. What had we let ourselves in for. Fortunately the steward has a selection of ariels at low cost.

After the rain had settled down and the sun came out, we decided on a short walk through the woods to Morecambe bay. This was shear delight. Perfect peace and quiet, not a screaming child in sight. It was transquility personivide. We reach the bay and climb to a higher vantage point. The view is spectacular and we wallowed in it between showers. We watched the tide come as we stood and were shocked at it's furocious progress. It was a raging torrent surging back up the river channel. A word of warning for the children don't let them go to the bay alone, it IS dangerous.

Back to main site.

Showers were basic but hot and cleaned daily. They are not heated, so late in the season you don't hang around. Being only one male shower and two female, I can see queues developing in the hot summer.

Whilst the majority of the site was clean, there was the odd item of rubbish in the woods, which says more about campers/caravanners than the people who run the site. Having said that, the large wire rubbish basket did not look as if it had been emptied for weeks.

The site was not overcrowded, and there were no problems with problems at night.

Would we use the site again, most DEFINITELY.

I would love to stroll through the woods when there is a carpet of snow on the ground. Sadly it's closed in winter.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Trevor Siggs 1 review from this member

In a lovely part of the county, great for walks etc. Farm campsite within 1/2 mile of local village amenities. Clean toilets, helpful steward, basic amenities. Better for families rather than old farts ( like ourselves) but still worth a visit. Just make it out of school holiday time.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DARRANB 3 reviews from this member

We Have stopped here now on two occasions in October 2006. Both times found it hard to leave as the views were really pretty, and the campsite
very peaceful. The Steward and the farmer are very helpful and friendly, if you need help or assistance they will gladly help. We take our two
dogs with us, and even the dogs enjoy the campsite, with the woods near-by, and the walk to the Royal Hotel Pub, where they get treated by the chef with left over meat. A great campsite all in all, cannot wait to return at some point. Highly recommended if you want to relax and have a good time camping. The Toilet Blocks and Showers were very clean, Highly recommended for back packers on a budget as it only cost 8.00 per night.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daisybev 12 reviews from this member

Spend 3 nights at this beautiful site at the end of Sept/ 1st Oct and had beautiful views to go with the sunny weather.

The site is a working farm and the cows pass through everyday, The stewards have a very strict NO FIRES policy in forces and patrol the site every night in high vis jackets to ensure the noise levels are kept to a minimum. The prices are excellent and the facilities are also spot on.

The steward and his wife are very friendly and never once did I see litter or broken bottles, let alone bottle flinging comps going on.?

I do know this site gets packed in the summer months and boy now I know why its spot on. Go enjoy and say I sent you.lol

Shops just down the road approx 5-10 mins stroll, a garden centre and art gallery and 2 tea rooms. You can also walk along the front although it is muddy and quite dangerous if the kids slip away unnoticed.

But the farm is safe and fun and great camping, I will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grisleymyers 1 review from this member

The friendly stewards called Lynda and Mike give rides to the kids on their quad bike. They're always there to lend a hand when the campers stay on James' land.

They sell goodies from their awning where the kids queue every morning, waiting to spend money in the shop on coke, cornettos or an ice pop.

Bertha is their trusty fire who comes out when campers retire, their dog called Lucy likes the spot in front of the fire where it's hot hot hot!

This camp site is the best we know, you should really give it a go, see for yourself what fun it is, Gibraltar Farm is the Biz!

Previous     210 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth 239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8230 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016