Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
    Visit their website    

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fromthenorth 8 reviews from this member

Just got back from a lovely weekend at Gibraltar farm.
A few things said on here are true. We found it to be quite noisy until 11pm but then all quiet. The toilet block is quite small with only one shower in the men's and two in the ladies, not really enough for a bank holiday weekend.
All that aside though, we loved the site. It has a beautiful setting. The tide on the rocky beach goes out at tea time revealing some great caves that our kids loved to explore with their torches. There are a couple of caves on the site too if you go exploring.
We found the stewards to be very friendly selling ice cream etc from their own caravan. They let us stay all day before we left for home which was nice.
All in all we had a lovely stay there and will be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisuk1000 12 reviews from this member

Well....extremely noisy site well into the early hours and no site control whatsoever. The continuous chopping down of the trees is a criminal shame and has to stop, as they are being used for fires everywhere. There is no site control I witnessed the warden just ignoring all this in front of my very eyes. So it's not my imagination before someone tries to contradict me. The site staff may be nice but site control is about more than being pleasant!!

Site facilities are limited as the site size easily overwhelms them, so you will have to wait forever just to wash your dishes. Toilets okay but shower? well lets move on. Fresh water close by.
Nice area for walking, beach and parking at Silverdale. Kids ice creams available at the site caravan/store. Plenty of space for them to play safely...ish as lots of stone throwing and the odd rogue beer bottle being smashed.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GraemeStuart99 11 reviews from this member

This site is fantastic. It is well sign posted when you get to Silverdale, the steward is very helpful and chatty.  Yes it can be a bit noisy but my 2 & 4 year olds slept OK and after 11pm it quietens down quite a lot.  The setting of the site is amazing good fields and woods surround the site the children can run around in the vast space for ages.  The beach is a 5 minute walk away and on a clear day the view of Morecambe Bay is stunning with its sunset.  There is no shop but siverdale in 15 mins walk and there are shops there also the shower & toilet block are small but that is not a problem.  As I live half an hour away I will be here when ether possible.
 

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Smudgers_mum 1 review from this member

We have only been camping for a year, but in 2005 we tried many different sites and I have to say this is by far the best site we have ever been to. The views and surrounding area are beautiful, lovely for walks picnics. There is plenty of room for playing games like rounders football and flying kites.
 
This is the only site we've ever been to without a playground and for some reason it's just not missed, kids disappear for hours entertaining them selves popping back for dinner. There's no pressure to spend a load of money because there simply isn't anything to spend it on.
 
It's in driving distance to tesco which is useful if you don't take a fridge and also walking distance to local shops, pub and little post office. The warden is great but so is the lady (his wife maybe?) she's really friendly and a good laugh.
 
WE LOVE GIBRALTAR FARM and we will never go anywhere else again, try it what's the worst that could happen????

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cheryl44 4 reviews from this member

Just come back from a bank hol weekend at Gibraltar farm. Was very busy, facilities not bad for the price you pay, showers and toilets cleaned numerous times during the day and needed to be for the amount of people on the site. Only two showers but I timed it right for both days and never had to wait. Definitely a place for families with children, my 7 year old was on his own and made lots of friends but not sure if it would suit people who want a bit of peace and quiet. Would go again if only for the views as it was fabulous.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lhrabbits 1 review from this member

We headed for Silverdale last weekend and decided to stay at the first campsite we came to - and Gibraltar Farm was it! The scenery was superb and it was a clean and well equipped site. We only experienced one problem, and that was with a large family who were camping quite close to our tent. Unfortunately, during the course of the night, they must have felt the cold (don't we all!). This culminated in a mass family exodus into their 4 wheel drive - where they kept the engine running/revving all night so they could keep warm! This was noisy and we had little sleep. However, we won't let it put us off and intend to go back to Gibraltar Farm this weekend!

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pg111 4 reviews from this member

Following a fabulous Halloween and Bonfire party we are now getting ready for the forthcoming season and I just had to look up reviews for Gib Farm. Cannot believe that people can gripe because this site is now popular. It is NOT a noisy site (certainly not whilst I have been there and that has been numerous weekends)although extremely busy at bank holidays etc. The stewards bend over backwards to help. Obviously some people expect the impossible. All I can say is go with the majority of reviews and you will not be disappointed. A very friendly and well run camp site. Basic facilities ie no club house but infectious hospitality from the management.

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Groovy chick 1 review from this member

Having been a visitor to this site for the past 30 years I have seen quite a few changes. The site is excellent for first time users and those more seasoned. The one downfall is that as with anything else good things come to an end and with the introduction of a site steward and the use of computers more people have found this site and so noise and partys are part of this site now. I have never had a bad visit with the exception of our last as the steward was rather surley. But for those who have never been with tne exception of this man you wont find better.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Exdreddedcath 2 reviews from this member

The site has the most beautiful setting of any campsite I have ever stayed at (once we managed to find it!!!). The views of Morecambe Bay at sunset are not to be missed, and the access to the coastal footpath is superb.

The site owner was really helpful and had a great range of interesting things for sale from the 'site office' (caravan). Facilities were good too and rates were very reasonable.

The only problem we had on both nights of our stay was the noise!! Despite the website stating on the front page that 11pm was the cutoff point there was no-one out stopping the parties which went on till about 3am each night. I would recommend taking some earplugs with you!

Away from the site the village had everything we needed. As we were catering for vegetarians we were disappointed with the pub/hotel nearest the site, but the menu of the next pub along (near the shop) was brilliant.

Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Fullerfamily 10 reviews from this member

Great site lots of open space for kids to play. Nice walks with an abundance of wildlife to see. Kids loved the rope swings, warden was very hospitable every site should have him. Toilet block very clean showers have to be the best we have come across on our camping trips. A1 site highly recomended. Only downside was the early morning wake up by the cows mooing.

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth £560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3816 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0990