Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Gibraltar Farm Camp Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bowler49 1 review from this member

 Fantastic place fab views.

Great walks around.

Toilets and showers clean and free.

Great for kids to play and be safe. Also have great wardens who have a great tent set up for shopping.

Will be back.

Busy in school holidays if you want peace and quite.

Steep hill to drive down if you have touring caravan.

Path could do with pot holes filling in.

Silverdale short drive away with shops and pub.

ArnSide 20 min drive away with nice pub with good meals 10 pounds for a 2 courses meal before 7 but need to book it gets busy 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BridieandDave 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a three week stay at Gibraltar farm, having been a regular visitor for over fifteen year I can only say the site has never been as clean, friendly or organised. The stewards could not do enough to make our stay more pleasurable, nothing was to much for them. The site is located in a fabulous area with great scenery with local walks all around and is a very family orientated campsite. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happy camper 01 11 reviews from this member

 After a couple of lovely weekends spent here we decided to book again for a weeks stay. We booked and requested hard standing as personally we feel the grass pitches are to close together and no room if you have a larger caravan. When we got there we booked in with the warden and there was a hard standing pitch available which he said we could have to find once I had come out of the wardens caravan someone had drove in the spot and decided to wait there until their caravan which was being towed by someone else had arrived which then meant we were directed to one of the tightest smallest grass pitches on the field. The weather wasn't great either the day we arrived so the grass was very soft and muddy.

I personally felt abandoned and just squashed in just to fit us in there was no room to get the car on to straighten up or get level but we were promised a hard standing pitch the following morning so we just shut the curtains and got cosy in the caravan. The following day we had a choice of hard standing but the problem was there was no room to get the car in front to hitch the caravan on we manoeuvred the caravan on a angle and my husband tried to reverse it off but the spot was so close to other vans plus the grass was so muddy we now have the added cost of a new clutch. Thankfully a lovely couple came to the rescue who was a HGV driver and managed to get us to the other pitch but it was a tight squeeze and I certainly would not recommend a grass pitch with an awning if you have a 5 or 6 berth caravan as we had no room for the awning.

This did put a dampener on my break here this time. But once we got on the hard standing pitch we had originally asked for it was fine these pitches are level roomy hard to get a tv reception but this doesn't bother us. Great views has its own little beach cove plus a nice stroll across the cliff tops. Some nice little country walks and not far to travel to the lakes.

Our kids love it here having adventures in the woods and by the beach but high season there is a lot of kids many cycling around and playing around your van I had to tell a few to politely move but the wardens are on the ball and keeps things in order. I am sure we will be back though this trip has put me off slightly but I think if we do we will come not so late in the season.

The new wardens do a good job with a lovely little shop in their awning which is very handy. Toilet blocks very clean and lovely warm showers 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RobertoDM 1 review from this member

 My family and friends stayed at this wonderful camp site for 8 weeks, we all enjoyed the exceptional views, the very clean shower block and site. There is no playground there is wood land, my grand children explored and made their own fun with friends they made on site. The Campsite personnel were always extremely helpful throughout our stay.

In my opinion best campsite in North West and definitely going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roliash 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site, great for everyone, we stayed for the weekend and the weather was lovely. Kids (age 6&8) had a fantastic time, plenty of fun on the rocks and even though it was very busy, there was still plenty of room for them to play football and cricket. Beautiful views over morecambe bay. You can walk into Silverdale in approx 10-15mins. There is an little ice cream shed at the top of the farm which I believe is only open at weekends but was delicious. Site is very clean, fabulous toilet shower block, warm showers all though you may have to queue, so time it right. The stewards are very friendly and helpful, They are strict on no music and no fires too, they walk around and make sure everyone is behaving. They allow you to freeze ice blocks too which is a bonus in warm weather. Little shop set up in their awning selling crisps, snacks, sweets, tins etc. Will definitely be returning soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lee67 3 reviews from this member

 Great family site. Level pitches, amazing views over Morecambe bay. Good toilet facilities, small shop in wardens tent. Friendly, but strict on site warden means no late night noise. Woods for children to play in, access to shore line, but be aware it is Morecambe bay and a lot of people get stuck in sinking sand every year.

Area is stunning, peaceful and unspoilt.

Great value at only £12 for a family tent 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cmaj7th 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Gibraltar Farm and again, we were not disappointed. The weather was incredibly hot, this past few weeks have been a touch on the warm side everywhere but we were given a nice shaded pitch that just caught the evening sun.

The new site wardens were very welcoming and even took the trouble to explain where the best places to go for an internet signal, find a cash point and a decent supermarket.

The toilet and shower block was immaculate, as it was last year. Itís so good to find a site that not only gives the showers for no charge but also makes sure that they are warm. The washing up facilities are excellent, again with plenty of hot water. We didnít use the laundry room but from what I saw, it was as spotless as the rest.

Good pitches (although ours did have a bit of a slope) and certainly nothing that couldnít be dealt with by the use of a couple of blocks under the legs if necessary. Our vans legs were long enough. The views from the site across Morecambe Bay are breathtaking and if you can manage the walk across the sheep field to the shore, it is well worth it, that sea air is gorgeous!

The water points were easy to get to and even gated off so that the sheep couldnít access them if they accidentally got out of their field. It was nice to see the hens wandering around the site, we have a few chickens at home and appreciated that!

All in all, Gibraltar Farm is an excellent site, with superb facilities and very, very welcoming. I would recommend this site to anybody who wants to get away for a weekend, a few days or even a week or two, just a pity that our review might make it harder for us to find a pitch!

The low rating for children is simply because other than a bit of clambering over rocks, climbing trees or visiting the shoreline, there's not much on site for them.

Just be aware that the lanes to the site are very narrow and can be a bit hairy if you meet another caravan or truck. The site does ask that you do NOT arrive before 2PM; that way, those who are leaving (By 12PM) don't meet each other in the narrow lanes - we came across a couple though which could have made for some tricky manoeuvres! Please, do as they ask, it make things easier for all of us. Well worth the effort though. We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happy camper 01 11 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a weekend away. This is our second time we have stayed here and we cannot fault it at all, like someone else has put it just seems to get better. It is situated with breathtaking views and lovely walks on site that take you to a sandy cove and if timed right if tide is in a lovely swim in the sea. Plenty to keep the kids busy with their exploring and fishing nets. We are hoping to go back in a few weeks time hopefully for a week. The new stewards are brilliant so helpful and their shop inside the awning is fantastic has everything you need. And exactly what the site needed. Kids still enjoyed their homemade icecream from the farm at the top pf the site. Can't wait to go back 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrbaggio 13 reviews from this member

 Location = Lovely location situated near the beach and beside some fields with cows and sheep. Away from noisy roads. Nice walks in the countryside and near some Bird Nature Parks or walks onto the beach.

Facilities = Very good. Cleans showers and good washing facilities. Good recycling facilities for glass and general waste.

Overall = Great campsite with flat fields for tents with very helpful stewards always at hand for advice. Campsite was very busy so lots of children around. Even though their were signs stating no music after 10pm we could still here music and kids shouting past 11pm. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pollyscoffy 5 reviews from this member

 Visited Gibraltar farm over a perfect weekend. The first time for over five years.

The new toilet block is a huge improvement as are the new wardens!

Our previous visits were slightly spoiled by radios blaring, dogs roaming free, loud parties til the early hours.

What a difference a few well enforced rules make. This time the 'firm but fair' wardens. Really did make sure the rules were enforced. And I REALLY loved it!

It was a shame not to be able to have a fire but I fully understand why not. We took advantage of the great weather and took the fire stuff onto the beach where we played guitar, toasted marshmallows etc. Brilliant and no danger of setting the whole campsite alight!

All in all, great improvements all round in a beautiful place. Well done! 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibraltar Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1960 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December