Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Gibraltar Farm Camp Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trav45 3 reviews from this member

 This site is in cracking location, with stunning views. Great for the kids with rocks, woods and even a couple of caves to explore. Facilities nice and clean with plenty of hot water.

Only one minus is that on the tent field you are not allowed campfires /firepits yet on caravan side its ok? Talking to the warden he said that tents may not be allowed on site in the future due to a dispute with the council this would be a great loss to campers who use tents, lets hope it is resolved in our favour.

Will be returning in the summer  


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shell7088 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived in not too good weather. Traditional British by the coast. Dull and windy! We were camping in a tent.

The wardens were helpful and friendly. They had details of local walks and were eager to help. There were regular patrols from the warden on his quad during the day to check the site.

Facilities were very basic but the toilet block was cleaned regularly. It was too cold for most of us to attempt to shower due to lack of heating and the old building.

It is a working farm and it was nice to take the kids to look at the calves and lambs. There are lovely coastal views and plenty of nice walks nearby. They also liked the ice creams! The site would benefit from a shop selling the basics.

The prices reflect the facilities to be fair and we would consider returning for a weekend in the summer months. You probably get what you pay for here. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gemold 2 reviews from this member

 We had the pleasure of staying at Gibraltar Farm for our first family camping trip in our new tent, after a recommendation from a friend.

We had the most wonderful time!

We were a family of seven for our weekend break! (Nanny, Granddad, Me, Dad, and 3 kids ages 6, 4 and 3 - with a large tent and 2 cars.)

Directions to the site are excellent and we were made welcome on arrival by the on site warden and we were able to choose our own pitch in the large tent field. The farm is next to the coast and the views out into Morcambe bay are beautiful and the sunrises and the sunsets were wonderful to see.

It's 20+ yrs since I last camped and I was very pleased with the washing and toilet / bathroom facilities. There's free hot water on demand for dishwashing and bathing and a large family shower room was a blessing! Despite being away from the site most of the Saturday we saw the toilet block being cleaned thoroughly twice - they were lovely and clean and never without tissue and soap!

We walked the 15/20 min footpath along the coast to Silverdale village, admiring the views and watching guided bay walks. The village is small but has ample facilities - 2 pubs serving food - recommend the roast in the Royal Oak. The post office and newsagents, co-op, and butchers were used by us - very friendly staff in all. We walked back to the site through the village - lovely houses to look at for those nosey ones of you!

There's a great view to be had all the way to Lancaster and Heysham from Giants' Pepperpot just north of the village.

The site sells it's own home made ice cream - I can certainly recommend the Irish cream - delicious!

Our three children had the most wonderful amount of freedom and spent the whole weekend running, climbing, hiding and exploring and did not want to come home! I felt they were very safe and the other seasonal campers made us all feel looked after and welcome - we were even invited to join in the camp fire night and conker fights!

We will definitely return at the earliest opportunity.

I am glad to take the time to write this review as a thankyou for our fabulous weekend. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeep68 3 reviews from this member

 I've visited Gibraltar Farm 7 times this summer and have enjoyed every trip. 1st time was in May, and then it's been every 2-3 weeks.

Most were taken with the same set of friends. Everyone who has been thought it was a great location. The views over Morecambe Bay on a clear day are fantastic.

I can only echo what most people have said about the facilities, such as queueing for showers, very clean toilets, etc. We got past this by just going for a shower a bit later!

My friends and I are already looking forward to plenty of visits next year! 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Taxi irene 5 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely three day mid week break on this site, a working farm great to see the farmer herding the cows for milking with the help of his children and dog, lovely quiet site,Pitches well spaced out with plenty of room for the awning (tv reception very poor ) wonderful views of the bay and surrounding country side with spectacular sun sets Toilet block very clean, plenty of hot water,2 shower's in the ladies,, one being a family one, 1 disabled toilet (tap on sink didn't work ) and 4 other toilets. Lovely stroll to the village 15mins down wide country lanes. Hope to go back there very soon 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jasmino09 1 review from this member

 We have recently returned from Gib Farm. Having read other reviews, we expected a windy site. We were not disappointed. O my it was windy.

The weather seems to change very quickly from wind and rain to blazing hot sun. This all added to the fun.

The toilets and showers were perfectly adequate and were cleaned regularly. Although baby wipes sufficed for a day or so for us. The water was piping hot at the dish washing sink.

The view on entering the campsite is absolutely breathtaking and I was annoyed with myself for not taking a photo of this view as I left to come home. We were a family with 4 tents and there was ample space between us and our fellow campers, although we did go mid week. I would not hesitate to go back to Gib Farm and hope that the wind can just hold off until the tents are up. But hey it all adds to the fun (and arguments). I defy anyone to put a tent up in the wind and not get just a little bit mad. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Isobella 2 reviews from this member

 This is a working farm and fantastic for the kids as they can watch the cows being milked, our kids loved it here as they were free and safe to explore the environment they also made lots of new friends. The toilet/show block was always being cleaned or in the process of being clean. Steward was helpful. Not far from the village which is lovely and only a short walk away, it has a park and shops. This campsite was perfect for us as it was our first time as campers it exposed us to the elements as it is literally at the bay, the views are breathtaking. We will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martin holden 1 review from this member

 Just got back today from visiting this site with my wife and daughter with 2 other couples both having kids under 10 years old. The prices are not too bad the area is stunning, great walks ( never walked so much in my life ! ) and views.However the facilities on site are not the best with only one shower and 3 toilets in the gents and 2 showers and 4 toilets in the ladies but this should not put you off just be prepared to wait.On site sign says no ball games near caravans but the camping fields are ok great to see so many kids running wild. Due to this they are often early to bed. The local village has 2 pubs 15 minutes walk away. The prices between the pubs vary vastly. Both are really nice. One is the silverdale hotel bit pricey but the staff are really friendly.The second is the royal hotel again the staff are very friendly and the food is not too expensive but is really good, this pub has a playground outside for the kids.The local co op shop is small but the prices are good, there is also a corner shop and a butchers that only sells raw meat also a newsagents and post office. Would visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Milo2008 4 reviews from this member

 We found our visit to silverdale really relaxing the staff were friendly, lovely views and walks threw the forests.

Great taking the kids down to the beach caving and rock climbing and crabbing.The rocks in the centre off the field the kids all play on there which seem to cause no problem at all.

The home made ice cream is fab banana and caramel is the way forward but he cornettos of mike and lyn are way far the best for the kids cheap and cheerful

The wardens come round for a friendly chat everyday and night overall ouur stay at silverdale was brill and looking forward to going again next weekend

Watch out silverdale:} 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 1982 2 reviews from this member

 After years away from camping, we had a nice weekend at Gibraltar Farm.

The site is located in a quiet spot, with great views over Morecambe bay.

We arrived at 7pm Friday and the site was very busy. Steward friendly and we picked our own spot. All other campers friendly enough. Only problem was on Friday night, I was woken at 3am by other campers talking. The site advertises not taking large groups of youths, however, this group of 6-8 20 yrs old or so girls slipped the net. Still - these things happen and we were all young once!

Toilet block clean enough, 3 cubicles in the gents, a floating trough type urinal (sorry - I work for an interiors company and to go 'none techie' on stuff like this wouldn't be right!) and a single shower. With having young kids, we were up early so no queues for the showers, however they're busy at 9am! The toilet block is in a different spot to where it was when I last went (probably 1998) so it's quite new.

Quite a few dogs on site - most well-behaved.

A decent site, very friendly, good spot and highly recommended!

Cheap too - 10 per night.

(Beware of Sat nav directions - avoid a local village called Wharton - the sat nav will try to take you through it but the gas board have the road dug up! Instead, leave the M6 at J35, and head for Carnforth. Then put in the postcode from there - far quicker!)

(Also - recommend Happy Mount Park in Morecambe - approx 20 mins from the site and a great half-day/day out for the family, particularly with kids under the age of 10 yrs!) 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibraltar Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibraltar Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1836 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December