Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map
Tel: 01524 701736
    Visit their website    

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 210 Reviews
                8/10 from 210 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Seaside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport 

Reviews:  210 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JAMMI 7 reviews from this member

Just had a fantastic weekend at this site.

The campsite is part of a working farm that overlooks Morecambe bay. The views are pretty good and if you like a spectacular sunset, then this is the place. It was great to look out over the bay.

The campsite is part of a working farm, which is great as far as I am concerned. Sheep in the fields surrounding the camping field and cattle up in the farm buildings. Was great fun for the kids. However, the cattle were very vocal at night, not just a little mooing either! Was more like roaring! I enjoyed it though and this added to the whole experience.

There was plenty of space for the kids to run around and play football, without causing too much disruption to the other campers I hope! There was also an area in the centre of the tent field that had trees and rocks for the kids to explore.

There are also woods onsite to explore. There is a cave in the woods(but I wouldn't let the kids go in!). The 'beach' can be reached via the woods. Although it doesn't look the most enticing beach in the world we thought we would tackle the rocks to reach it. That was a mistake; the sand was like quicksand and we very quickly ended up with 2 kids flat on their faces covered in the muddy sand! I would only venture on if it looked dry. There is a coastal path to the village but this is really not suitable for young children.

The facilities were perfectly adequate and on the whole very clean. They did tend to get a bit untidy and short of paper late in the evening and early morning but were soon put right again. There are 4 toilets and 2 showers in the ladies, one of each of those being the disabled facilities. The disabled shower was a much better oprion to use as there was loads more room and there was hooks to hang your stuff up. I do think a chair or a stool would be a great benefit. My son told me that there was a chair in the gents shower, plus a mirror for shaving.
There was 2 wash hand basins plus a stainless steel sink in the ladies. Not sure what the stainless steel sink is for! There were 2 sinks for washing up in an area to the outside of the toilet block, I found these to be clean and have plentiful hot water. There was also an area for me to empty and wash my Kamping Khazi!

The weather here seems quickly changeable. I would make sure you guy out fully regardless of the weather conditions on your arrival. The tent field is mainly quite exposed, though there are a few sheltered spots but these were quickly taken (and not by me I might add!) Our tents did take a bit of a battering from the wind but no damage was incurred.

It is a pleasant walk down a country road (no footpath) to the village. There are 2 pubs/hotels that serve food (didn't use them), an Italian restaurant (didn't use) and a convenience store. The shop was very basic and limited and worthwhile noting that it closed at 5.30pm Was good for bread, milk etc. I wouldn't rely on it for anything more than the basics.

All in all we loved this site and will definitely be visiting again

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rolo1 3 reviews from this member

This is a gem of a campsite - very much back to basics but in a lovely setting. It's just a short walk to the local village, the Silverdale Hotel is a great place to eat.

You can also book the woods on the edge of this site for a large group, where you can have open fires.

Despite the blustery weather, the tent field felt quite sheltered and the ground has excellent drainage. Will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dot P 522 reviews from this member

We turned up without a booking - to find the site not open for another 2 weeks!

Owner working on the site - offered to let us stay if we were self sufficient as working on electrics and water not on yet.

The site is undergoing some refurbishment work - all the pitches being reset in gravel with new electrics.

Having stayed before in summer we know this is a fabulous site and the work appears to be improving it further.

The village is lovely, great pub and lovely walks.

Recommend a visit - and in summer try the farm made ice-cream available on site.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrneillees 7 reviews from this member

I would echo many of the other reviews. This site is visually stunning with views across the entire Morecambe Bay area, from sunrise to sunset, in good weather and bad, you won't fail to be impressed by the vistas.

The toilet and shower block is basic, but always clean or being cleaned (but they can be overwhelmed on busy weekends, we solved this by foregoing the odd shower and using babywipes!). The adjacent village is great with 3 pubs, a pizzeria, small supermarket and butcher's, chemist's etc

Mike and Lynne the onsite wardens are friendly and helpful (even more so once you've been a couple of times)and do keep an eye on things most of the time.

The only downside is that it is a very family orientated site which has meant on more than one occasion (we've been 8 times this year) groups of loud, unsupervised and hyperactive kids running wild from dusk til dawn (and later). But, when asked to move away from our tent or pipe down a bit etc, they have always politely done so and we have stayed up late with a few beers on occasions, so it works for us too as we hate those 'lights out at 8.30pm because we're all up at 5.30am to do a 30-mile hike' type sites.

Put it this way, we will be back as many times as possible in 2009.

Could I just add that campers should really check the wind speed forecasts before using this site.

If it is predicted to be windy (20pmh+), pitching down by 'the woods' is a good idea as once past the wooded area winds whip in from offshore and only frame or mountain tents are advisable!

We still had a great five days and will be back for all this year's Bank Holidays and more.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suicideblonde 17 reviews from this member

If youíre looking for peace and quiet then this is not the site for you! We went for a long weekend expecting it to be quiet because the kids are back at school. But itís very popular with families arriving after work on a Friday and turning up for the night on a Saturday. However, if youíre a couple or a single person donít let this put you off as itís worth it for the location and views.

Itís a very laid back site. Just turn up, park and pitch where you like and then pay the stewards when they appear mid morning. The stewards, Linda and Mike are extremely friendly and helpful and wonít take any messing! Unfortunately when we were there a group of campers turned up late on the Friday night, pitched their tent in the car headlights and stayed up drinking, talking loudly and swearing until gone 3.00 am. Although there is a noise curfew of 11.00 pm, this is very relaxed and unless you report the incident to the stewards nothing will be done about it. Sadly on the Saturday night, kids were allowed to run amok past our tent, shaking it as they went in some sort of game. The parents clearly werenít interested and nothing was done about it until it was reported to the steward who then patrolled the site for a couple of hours.

The facilities are quite basic but cleaned on a regular basis throughout the day. They were overstretched a little as people had to queue to use them and we would imagine itís even worse during the summer holidays. As previous reviews have mentioned, it would benefit from a couple more showers in both the ladies and the gents due to the popularity of the site. But the showers are free and you can have them as hot and for as long as you like!

There is a lovely wood leading to the beach and then a coastal path adjacent to the camping field. However, the path is very narrow and treacherous in places and we wouldn't recommended it for kids or the elderly. We walked along it when the tide was in as we didnít fancy walking along the beach and the sinking sand. But the views are stunning both during the day and the night from the sunsets to the stars Ė weíve never seen so many!

We look forward to returning again, although as a couple looking for peace and quiet weíll make sure itís a break midweek when the kids are at school.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Post4dawn 5 reviews from this member

We visited this site because we wanted to explore Arnside and Silverdale, but we didn't get chance because we only stayed one night. When we arrived we were pointed in the direction of a field for motorhomes but the ground was quite soft and we ended up getting stuck so had to wait for the farmer to come with the tractor to pull us out, he was very pleasant & we were grateful. We then tried up on the hill but we got stuck yet again but luckily we managed to roll backwards down the hill. In the end we ended up right next to the campsite road. This site is really for families with children, there were lots of children running around till quite late at night and if you want peace & quiet this is not the site for you, we were kept awake till early hours of the morning by a group of campers drinking & shouting to each other across the field. The toilets were ok, full of cobwebs but the spiders help to keep the flies down, but could do with more showers in the ladies, there is only two, one is a disabled shower.I don't think we will return to this site, we like our peace & quiet.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Reemo 2 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at Gibratar Farm. The first thing that struck us were the amazing views across the bay. And the sunsets. Well they have to seen to be believed!

The staff were very helpful and welcoming and said we could pitch wherever we wanted.

The toilet/shower block was clean but quite old and small, the weekend we were there was quiet so don't know how these facilities stand up during a busy weekend in summer. Although on Saturday morning we walked to Holgates holiday park for breakfast and ended up using their facilities (all looked new, amazingly clean!)

Silverdale village is only 5 minutes walk away with a well stocked CO-OP, an italian restaurant (didn't use), a post office and a pub (can't remember the name). We ate at the Silverdale Hotel which had good pub grub.

Would we go back??? The site is very basic with very basic facilities but very cheap (you get what you pay for)

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cavemen 1 review from this member

An almost perfect place for the kids - and adults for that matter.

The only drawback was the lack of shower facilities, although the kids didn't complain, but another shower or two would make it spot on. The shower block was, however, kept very clean.

The area is great for exploring or just chilling out and the home-made ice cream was super, I felt obliged to have at least two helpings per day just to make sure I wasn't dreaming.

We enjoyed a fantastic weekend and wished we could have stayed longer. The on-site Warden was very friendly and helpful and we would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisa Dickinson 1 review from this member

This was our first camping experience and really have mixed views of Gibralter Farm!

We arrived at the site around 6.00pm and had a choice of pitches, its a beautiful site overlooking Morecambe Bay with a woodland to the left as you drive in! Wardens were friendly and helpful on arrival!

We found the toilet/shower facilities very clean with lovely warm showers and a disabled toilet! An added mega bonus for me was the plug socket in the bathroom so I could use my beloved hair dryer!

There were two sinks for washing up but never had to wait!

The Ice Cream hut was a nice touch to the place with different flavours to choose from everyday costing around £6.00 for 2 adultsand two kids.

We camped in the first tent field to the right it had a mini woodland of about 5 trees were the younger children played they thought it was great as they thought you couldn't see them! But we could! We noticed over the other field a lot of older children playing on the rocky woodland bit! This was to the left!

Now for the bad bit.

The first evening the tent next door spent the whole evening with around 4-6 adults talking at the top of there voices until around 1.30am the men had real toilet mouths! The tent on the other side was rattling with a guy snoring his head off, he sounded like he was choking some of the time it was awful! Through out the night there was a mixture of music, some from the next field which got turned down around 2am but the worst was some terrible ravy kind of music which seemed to be coming from the woods! The next day the wardens insisted it was from a house on the hill! This music went off at 5AM!

The second day a group of about 7 lads 6 girls arrived and pitched directly across from us! The thoughts of oh no was apparent on all the faces of the campers! They went on to fulfill our dreads, screaming shouting swearing talking absolute filth at about 1am my husband asked them to shut up as they had woken up my kids but they didn't! I went to the loo around 1.30 am as there was loud talking from somewhere else only to find that the warden was with a group sat round a fire talking very loudly swearing at the top of his voice!

All in all a great weekend but with very little sleep! Such a shame as this was great site but with rules on noise not adhered to I don't think we would return unless promised little or no noise after 11.30pm.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rustyfrog 9 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a long Bank Hol weekend.

Just how steep is that hill out of the site?

The site as reviewed by previous visitors is in a super location. Great scenery, with great views over Morecambe Bay. Plenty of space for kids to play, climb trees etc.

It is the sort of site where parents can (and do) send their kids of all ages out to run riot from dawn to well after midnight.

The site have a few rules like no open fires, no football or ball games near caravans, no noise after 11pm, but no one takes any notice of them. It is not the place to expect peace and quiet or to relax.

This could be a super site if they built an additional toilet/shower block to supplement the single shower and 3 toilets per sex at present. The existing facilities are inadequate for the 3 fields of tents and caravans. They are also far away from the furthest point of the site

Previous     210 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth £239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8371 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016