Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
    Visit their website    

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Delinquentwoody 3 reviews from this member

We spent one night here as part of our holiday, after spending the day in Blackpool. (it was only a short drive up the motorway, and fairly easy to follow directions after that), After choosing the site when we saw it featured in the new book "Cool Camping", which features the 40 "coolest" campsites in England based on niceness factor.
 
When arriving the site looks really nice - at the top of the approach slope you see the fields ahead of you as you drive down the hill. We parked in the far field, with our van overlooking Morecambe Bay which was really nice. Pity about the weather that night - but the next morning was really nice which allowed us a bit of time to sneak through the snicket and enjoy the fantastic views across the bay. Apparently there is also an RSPB site near here, though we didn't visit this.
 
The toilet/shower facilities are very basic for a site of this size, but sufficed for our one night. There was one shower for men and one for the ladies, for the whole campsite so I can imagine there may be queues at busy times but personnely I didn't experience this.
 
Other users have commented on noise from late night parties etc at this site - again I didn't experience any of this, though I think that may have been due to the inclement weather. Most of the other tents appeared to be occupied by families with young children.
 
I would recommend this site if you want to get away from it for a couple of days, but no longer, as the facilities are a bit too basic. And it's within easy driving distance of The Lakes and Blackpool, if you're travelling between the two it makes a great point to stop off. 

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cheryl349 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site, always made to feel very welcome by stewards. Was disappointed that no extra showers or dish wash have been added to the site this year as this really can be a problem at busy periods with long queues. There is now a shed on way down hill selling ice cream but its worth noting that you can buy 3 cornets down on field for the price of one at this shed. Big savings when you have 5 kids with you! Stewards have events back on again this year which you mustn't miss, looking forward to the fancy dress party in August. Kids cannot wait
Really is a fabulous camp site with a lovely atmosphere. Will be back in August and again and again and.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pensioner 3 reviews from this member

Just come back from Gibraltar Farm nice site but and a large but very busy and noisy. What happened to the code of practise for campers no noise after 11.00. Lots of single sex parties and alcohol need I say any more. The facilities where clean but with amount of people no were near enough showers, washing up sinks, toilets.
With all the complaints we had a real good time but would not go weekend or school holidays again.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Harry Bongo 12 reviews from this member

We've been using this delightful site for years but unfortunately, this year, about eight of the best and most sheltered pitches with hook ups have now been let to long term caravanners who are either creating 'gardens' around their vans or alternatively making the site look like its got resident 'travellers' who have taken up residence for the summer/autumn and seem to resent the visitors.
 
 
 
 

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vickybarwick 5 reviews from this member

We LOVE this campsite. A truly stunning location.
 
We have been a couple of times now and will continue to use it for weekends away, though I would be more than happy to spend a week here.
 
The toilet block is always clean and I haven't had to queue for either of the two showers in the ladies, thought there is only one shower in the gents, I believe. There are two sinks to wash up in at the side of the block. Hot water and showers are free.
 
The steward is very friendly and helpful and they run entertainment on certain weekends of the year. There was a Hoe down planned for the weekend we visited but it was postponed due to the poor weather.
 
Very reasonable prices. We paid £10 for a family tent with 4 adults.
 
You can book the woodlands (a very large area) to yourselves for £100 per night for up to 10 tents, £10 per tent thereafter and campfires are permitted in the woods. I can't wait for my next stay for which I have done just that.
 
A very laid back atmosphere here with very happy campers. Although there were a lot of people here, it never felt crowded.
 
I look forward to many more weekends here :-)
 
Best site I've stayed at.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mancunian 2 reviews from this member

I stayed here for 1 night and had a great time. The wardens were welcoming. The site has two fields, one for caravans and one for tents. The tent field has the best views of the Bay, which are fantastic. The sunsets are really awesome. There are sheep in the neighbouring fields and plenty of bird life all around. We saw a Kestrel hunting and an owl in the tree next to our tent.
 
The toilet block is clean but there are only 2 showers. Hot water is free and there is an area for washing up.
 
The village of Silverdale is very picturesque and there are two tea rooms near by, one attached to a garden centre and another to an art gallery. Excellent area for gentle walking and there is good access to the Bay.
 
On some weekends there are organised events run by the wardens (barn dance, bonfire night, dog shows) which everyone is welcome to participate in should they wish but just as easily you can get on with your own thing.
 
This is a working farm so dogs are welcome but must be kept on a lead at all times.
 
The wardens sell basic items like canned drinks and there is a hut that is open each day selling home made ice cream.
 
All in all, a nice site for a short break. Recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Marshes 1 review from this member

We visited this site and really enjoyed it. The surrounding area was great, lovely walks and countryside,the village of silverdale was within easy walking distance 1/2 mile where the coop stocks all you will need. We would recomend this site to those who enjoy long walks as we had a fantastic walk to Arnside which was very scenic.
The downside of the camp is the amount of toilets/showers for the size of the site, it was fine during the week, but weekend was hectic!
Nice site and would go again

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karen J 26 reviews from this member

Went end of April. Fantastic location- truly unbeatable! Weather was amazing though which helped. Apparently it gets very busy and can be noisy (some noisy people when we were there but I slept right through!), slightly out of season is probably perfect. The area itself is brilliant- the views over the bay are stunning.
Toilet / shower facilities are fine- two showers but that's about average for this type of site. Silverdale has great pubs just a short walk away and dogs are allowed I think in the bar at the Silverdale Hotel.
Woodlands around are wonderful. I don't have any but would imagine kids would adore this site and mither to go back after any visit.
Don't tell too many people about this site- wouldn't want everyone to share it!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karen weekes 1 review from this member

I have been going camping at this site now for several years, and really enjoy it when we are there. I have recommended the site to lots of my friends who now go several times a year themselves. Its great for the children, we are made to feel very welcome by the steward and is very helpful.We have booked again for july which we are all looking forward to. We have always found the toilets and showers to be clean, the scenery is fantastic, close to local shops and friendly pub with good food and is well sign posted to get to the site.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jason heats 1 review from this member

I have been visiting Gibs for the last three years and I am going again next year. Reasons for this are:
 
1.chill backs and jokes with the gise
2.to live like a king
3.doing two
4.three way empties
 
less abstract reasons are:
1.the breathtaking scenery
2.the quaint village
3.the beach
4.the prices (very cheap)
 
However, I have noticed a rise in the campsite's popularity over the years, which has made it less personal. Also, the steward has become more sensitive to people breaking the rules, which are much more strict than they used to be, for example, the no ball games rule. The rise in popularity and the subsequent enforcement of new laws are in danger of spoiling a truly fantastic campsite, which I will always remember as the perfect destination for post-exam joys or woes. 

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth £560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


732 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0938