Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA
Tel: 01524 701736
    Visit their website    

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shaznric 2 reviews from this member

Had a fantastic 3 days/nights at this lovely site after a great time here last year too.

Paid the warden upon arrival then told we could pitch anywhere on the field. Had a great view of Morecambe bay. There were 4 adults and 4 children (ages 8-11) in our party and had walks along the coast and through the woods. A nice walk into Silverdale where there are a few shops and a pub. Also there's a park just a bit further than the co-op which entertained the kids (when they weren't playing in the woods and on 'Monkey Island'.

The new shower/toilet block(with underfloor heating) were fantastic and always clean and stocked with loo roll, soap etc. There are plenty of toilets and free showers and hand dryers. Plug sockets were there to use your own hairdryer. The new washing up facilities are now indoors with 4 sinks and drainers.

There is a home made ice cream shop on the site which is only open at weekends, but the owner went out of her way to open it for us on the Tuesday when we told her we were disappointed that we had missed it.

A fantastic site to visit and an absolute bargain at only 12 a night for our 4 berth tent. Will definitely be visiting again and would highly recommend going.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simon1964 1 review from this member

Visited in August for the first time this year with my wife and 2 young children(3 & 4). The campsite is in a stunning location over looking the bay which produces some beautiful sunsets. Just a short walk through a lovely wooded area and your on the sands of the bay.

The facilities are the best I have come across on a campsite, the showers are roomy and hot. They are very clean and well maintained.

The children had lots to do, playing with other children, playing on the campsite and regular walks to the beach rock pooling and building sand castles etc.

The home made ice cream was delicious and is sold on the campsite.

The local area is very nice too, we ventured out for a drive one evening and fell upon The New Inn in Yealand. Really nice food and friendly staff, kids menu very good too.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Billy42 14 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights (fri-sat). On arrival we paid the warden who has a caravan on site. We were told to pitch anywhere.

There were 3 kids (4, 7 and 9) and 4 adults. Kids were soon buzzing around playing. Lots of kids on site which is good.

No fires even in fire pits but no problem and it didn't spoil it.

Lovely site with lovely views over the bay.

Shower block was close to all pitches and they were always spotless and plenty of cubicles.

Ice cream shop on site. Couple of pubs in silver dale.

Lovely walk down to the beach (not golden sands but kids loved it). All in all we will be going back because whilst I've been to better sites the kids really loved it and keep asking to go back. Judging from the trees leaning toward the site I assume it is pretty windy here generally but it wasn't bad when we were there.

Excellent site. Would recommend

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pammosley 5 reviews from this member

We had a very enjoyable couple of nights at Gibraltar Farm. We arrived & found ourselves a pitch as instructed by the owner as she would not be around.

We set camp in what looks like a tent only field. Plenty of space to pitch Facilities are excellent. Local shop up the road in case you`ve forgotten anything. Lots of families there & kids enjoyed running around playing in the woods. The site settled down as night came.

12 for a 5 berth tent per night, good value.

The area is fantastic for walkers & wildlife. I can recommend the coast path up to Arnside & the walk back over Arnside Knott & the woods back to Silverdale, Great walks the other direction to Leighton Moss salt marsh hides.

We look forward to returning one day.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skjm 1 review from this member

This campsite is lovely, me and my family always come here. We've been coming to this campsite for around 6/7 years now and we loved it before the toilets had been renovated. Although they were quite dirty and uncomfortable to use the people who worked here made it worth while coming back they are all lovely! Now with the toilets all done up its a bonus. We stayed in November and were the only tents there and the man who owns the campsite offered us to come up to his tent/caravan and get some warm food as it was freezing, can't wait to go back in may!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dizzycamper 3 reviews from this member

Visited site for last 7 years and at last a new toilet block, lovely and big but nowhere to hang towels/shampoos in showers. Site is kept clean and it has the most helpful warden in situ.

We were shocked at how many static pitches have been installed, not really a touring site anymore!

We always enjoyed sitting out round our chimenea at night but these have now been stopped and you get the feeling you need to be in your caravan for 11pm.

I believe it is under new management, bringing new rates - 20 per night for caravan plus now pay for dog.

Used to be great atmosphere but last weekend site in darkness at 11 pm, We always looked forward to visiting but last weekend we were glad to be home

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campmc 1 review from this member

First visit to Gibraltar Farm and we absolutely loved it. The entrance is, as someone else has commented, a bit unsightly but once past this the site is very nicely laid out and the facilities are brilliant. The one and only gripe I have is the hand dryers in the shower/toilet facilities are very weak and two dryers are not enough.

The woods are a brilliant play area for older children and the tree mound in the middle of the tent field is a lovely playing/meeting area for younger ones (6+). We never saw our children as they made so many friends they never once uttered those dreaded words 'I'm bored'.

We would say to avoid the bottom end of the field towards the woods for pitching as, if it does rain, it all puddles there (as we found out) and it does seem to stay in the shade for most of the day.

We've all agreed it's been the best camp site we've been to yet!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jipph1 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at gibraltar farm many times one of the best sites in the area very reasonably priced always kept clean and well looked after

There has been a new toilet block built this year absolutely immaculate must have cost a bomb pity they didn't spend a couple of quid designing it.

In the showers no were to hang your clothes or your shower gel. When you have used the loo you need to walk round about 30 feet to the nearest sink to wash your hands.

To get to the washing up area you need to walk right next to the chemical waste disposal, not pleasant.

Just teething probs, otherwise a fantastic site

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lesleygsl 1 review from this member

Niggles- No sign to secluded beach (found by walking passed toilet block & through pretty wood)

No local information leaflets available.

Warden seldom on site - visible contact number required.

Large waste bins full to the brim.

Laundry room permanently locked

Credit/Debit card not taken

Soap dispensers in Toilet block not refilled or waste emptied.

POSITIVES

Lovely well maintained site (apart from niggles) overlooking Morecambe Bay.

Friendly staff, when around.

Good sized modern toilet block, hot free showers. Family cubicles available.

Choice of open field or under trees pitches, many with electric hook up.

Don't worry about the state of the drive down into the site, just take it easy!

OFF SITE

Wolf House Gallery & Tea House opposite entrance, Lovely cakes!

RSPB Leighton Moss 5/10 mins drive from site well worth a visit. Serving delicious food.

Plenty of wooded and beach walks in glorious countryside.

Definitely recommend this site. It was lovely & quite whilst we were there, but then the schools were open!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan nan 1 review from this member

Gibraltar farm is a lovely caravan site, it now has a new shower/toilet block got plenty of showers, sinks and toilets. The views over the bay are amazing, also the walks through the woods, it is a working farm and its really nice to see the animals, there are even chickens wondering around the camp site. The owners and stewards are so friendly and helpful. However I was surprised that the price had gone up to 17 a night, plus you now have to pay for an awning at 3 a night, then 1 a night per dog, thought this was a bit steep. They do an over 55's rate Sunday to Thursday excluding school holidays at 11 per night.

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3001 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.1016