Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 190 Reviews
                8/10 from 190 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  190 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Dpholm 1 review from this member

 Excellent, beautiful site at the side of the lake, great facilities good on site cafe.

Nice easy walk into Pooley Bridge where there are enty of pubs/eating places. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: BobCat10 23 reviews from this member

 Just returned having spent 3 nights in a POD at Waterside Farm.

The location was PERFECT, the PODs are separate from the rest of the site.

Stunning views, so lucky with the weather.

I was able to access Barton Fell and follow the scenic Ullswater Way to Howtown and back, a steady 8mile undulating route. Fab.

The facilities on site are 1st class, the staff are accommodating and happy to pass the time of day.

Pooley Bridge is a short walk away along the lake shore.

For me it was the easy access to the fells and get away to enjoy nature.

We'd forgotten just how good it is to spend some time in the UK and only 2hrs away.

A great site, thankfully not too commercial like the one nearby that we don't talk about. Horses for courses and all that. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sssnake 36 reviews from this member

 Fabulous. A busy family campsite on the shores of beautiful Ullswater. Given the numbers of people I was amazed at how pristine the washrooms were at all times. A credit to the staff.

There are a limited number of hook up pitches and a good number of hard standings. Hook ups are allocated in advance but everything else is ‘first come first served’.

Great food served from Cathy’s Diner, the breakfast baps are humungous.

We recommend this site to anyone who wants easy access to the lake, walking in the fells or a short stroll to a village with some good pubs. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jettyboy100 1 review from this member

 Great location next to lake as we love to swim and kayak. Nice walk into Pooley Bridge.

Unfortunately I found the site too busy especially with current covid situation. People squeezing into places that should have been left empty but with no policing by the owners this was bound to happen.

Also large group of selfish chavs arrived behind us (approx 8 adults & 10 kids) shouting and screaming and playing loud music well into the night spoilt the holiday for us.

Shame because some parts of this large site were peaceful and if we were staying longer we would have moved our tent. Maybe the owners could provide a quiet section for couples who just want a bit of peace and quiet, it's definitely large enough to do this.

Would maybe return outside of school holidays simply because of the location, otherwise no thanks! 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevorandfiona 11 reviews from this member

 This was the only site we could book because of the Covid problem this year - all our usual ones were full already. Sadly it was very disappointing.

It was total chaos with no marked pitches and nobody there to check where people were putting their tents meaning that their 3m rule was a joke. The ‘no groups’ rule was also absurd with several very large groups on our field alone (one close to our tent was a circle composed of 8 tents and cars).

There is supposed to be silence after 11pm (already a bit late really) but each night we were there the noise continued well on past midnight. We even texted the warden at 11pm when it was particularly bad but there was no reply and no solution to the problem.

The next morning we were woken by a camper flying a drone overhead at 6. 30am! All in all a great site if you are coming to party unrestricted but you can forget relaxing in peace and quiet or getting any sleep at all. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jenny-B-G 1 review from this member

 Had a great stay at this campsite.

It ticked a lot of boxes. Immaculate toilets and showers, location on Ullswater including boat hire, short walk into Pooley Bridge, Cafe, shop, campfires allowed and breath taking views.

Only small problem was that the grass was so long, which was a bit annoying.

Will definitely return, maybe with my mower. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lynetty 3 reviews from this member

 We've stayed here around 4 or 5 times and it gets better and better. Lovely facilities, perfect location, shame they don't sell a couple of beers on site, but otherwise perfect.

Great for kids building their confidence on the water.

Will be back very soon! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: MandE 7 reviews from this member

 Great site for a family with amazing views across Ullswater. We had an EHU pitch which was on pea gravel which we hadn't pitched on before, but it was fine.

Facilities on site were great, and the walk along the lakeside to Pooley Bridge was wonderful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Arnoldbongo 7 reviews from this member

 Location is perfect. Easy stroll into pooley bridge wheres there's lovely pubs and you can catch the ulswater steamer and travel aroumd the lake. We had lake side camping so the views were amazing.

Lovely clean site, lots of space. Food (vegan ice cream and pizza options too)

Canoe hire.

What more would you need. Couldnt recommend more 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gallabers Traveller 11 reviews from this member

 Really like this site. It is clearly still a proper farm with a campsite, meaning that agricultural sights sounds and smells are par for the course!

Having said that, the aspect from the camping field is to die for, with glorious views up and down the lake and up to Helvellyn,
(snow covered when we visited)

Pooley Bridge is a 20 min stroll away along the lakeside path for retail and pubs, but if you are looking to get your own craft on the water, you may not need to venture far for all necessities.

There is now a brilliant cafe on site which we can highly recommend. 
via mobile


Previous     190 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2682 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement