Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Waterside House Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 180 Reviews
                8/10 from 180 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  180 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gooner8026 1 review from this member

Very friendly staff, nice and peaceful on the shore of Ullswater. 20 minute amble into pooley bridge for shops and pubs, the crown inns fillet steak is fab, booking recommended. Excellent recently refurbished toilets and showers, shame people cant read polite signs and follow the instructions when leaving said facilities. There is a small van on site offering hot food and drink to take away ( open friday night all day saturday and sunday morning).

One small criticism, it could do with some lighting around the pitching areas as its very dark. All in all a great little site with very friendly staff.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BeachDog 25 reviews from this member

Campsite on the edge of Ullswater, mix of hard standing and grass pitches, mostly level. Camper van pitches available next to the waterside but no EHU. Hardstanding pitches away from the waterside have EHU. Access for launching small boats, canoes, SUP's. Great new clean facilities with a small shop on site. It is a working farm and you have to drive past farm buildings into the site. The farm dogs are around and are lively but very friendly. Easy 15 min lakeside walk to Pooley Bridge and steamer pier. Very family friendly site with big fields for play.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coastcamper 19 reviews from this member

This is a perfect family campsite.

Apart from the hookup pitches you can camp where you like. We were a family group of 8 adults and 3 children (8, 3 & 5 months) in 3 tents and one motorhome. We chose the family field because of its proximity to the park and toilets which are right next to the cows. Pitch further away if the sound of mooing all night bothers you.

Plenty of space for ball games and Ďsports dayí.

Direct access to Ullswater so get yourself an inflatable canoe and some life jackets or hire a boat from the site.

Toilets and showers pristine all BH weekend. There are no family facilities but the older 2 are used to camping with us and can shower themselves and the baby bathed in the sink then got rinsed off with his brothers.

Staff including night security extremely friendly.

And you are allowed fires in fire pits - such a great camping experience for everyone.

Weíve stayed on this site before and I can find no fault with it.

If you want regimented pitches and no animals there are plenty other sites on the Lakes to choose from.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 61 reviews from this member

Truly splendid site location wise and great new facilities for this year.

We wild camped water side, views to die for and loads to see.

Had a great walk waterside all the way to Pooley Bridge which has improved since our last visit thankfully, The Sun is great for beer and food but expensive.

Our second visit to Waterside and we will re visit for sure.

The only thing we didnít like was the farm dogs bounding up to us at high speed as we didnít know if they were friendly or not, itís a working farm I know but hardly ideal. Donít knock it though as a great site with great staff.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Shartley 7 reviews from this member

Stayed in one of the Tipi's here on the side of the lake, great pitch with a fire pit and picnic table and natural divides between pitches. Very relaxing site, play park and small shop giving everything you need. The toilet blocks were clean but do get filled with flies, this is kept on top of and doesn't really impact the site. Great location and footpath along the lake shore to the village which has great choice for food and drinks. Highly recommended and if we go to the Lakes again we will head back here.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mamunbabu2001 1 review from this member

Pros :

1. Nice location ( by the lake ).

2. Staffs are really friendly and helpful.

3. Easy access and town nearby

Cons :

1. Has an on site farm and entrance ( where the mina shower block, washing facility, shop, catering is located ) always smells of animal waste. The entrance road is often drity with washed animal waste from the farm.

2. Electric pitches are next to the road and farm. So, you have traffic noise and screaming farm animal at night.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pbennett 1 review from this member

Had an amazing time. First time camping. Drove from Peterborough to waterside farm, took hours but once here was made very welcome, even arrived late but still made welcome. Campsite was brill. Everything that you needed was on site anymore. Camp fire with the fire pit was so much fun and the boats were amazing. We will becoming back in a few months with the family this time. Thanks so much for an amazing time xx

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gwatts1984 1 review from this member

My family and I stayed here a few weeks back, we had only really camped in wales before this as closer to home. On arrival it was a bit wet and windy to say the least. But once pitched we took a stroll around and immediately noticed how friendly the staff was, how clean the site was and what great facilities they had. It brightened up and we had the best long weekend ever. I summited gow barrow fell and was taken away by the views of the lake district. 100% recommend this site. Hoping to stay in the lakes again in October and to summit scafell pike this time.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TIM R 2 reviews from this member

Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Exceptionally clean toilets and showers.

Cannot fault the facilities at all.

HOWEVER, when we arrived, we deliberately chose NOT to go into the family field. Nothing against children but we've been there, done that and got the scars.

Pitched up on a Tuesday and were surrounded by couples. Went out on the Friday for a walk to find that the world and his wife and their dogs and children had arrived and instead of using the family field, had pitched up in ours. Meanwhile the family field remained half empty.

There is supposed to be a 3 metre rule about pitching next to other tents but this was ignored as campers pitched anywhere they liked.

Needless to say, the couples around us packed up the next day, as did we and left a day early.

Perhaps some enforcement of the families in family field should be applied (volumes permitting), OR, reserve a field for couples only, after all, outside of school holidays it's couples that keep campsites ticking over.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Strathearn 3 reviews from this member

Had an enjoyable stay with my dog when walking the Ullswater Way (20-mile circuit of the lake), which goes through the campsite. After two days of walking I stayed a third night so I could just chill out for a day and enjoy the splendid location. Hired a canoe on site for an hour to see the campsite from the water (rowing boats and bikes also available). My dog had a super time too.

The staff were helpful and friendly, but unobtrusive. I wasn't on electric hookup (so had acres of grass to chose where to pitch), but on a couple of dayspaid a £1 and left them with my drained camera batteries and a charger to plug in in the reception while I was away.

The Ullswater Way is a super way marked walk with wonderful views. The Ullswater Steamers that ply the lake and the Stagecoach 508 bus enable walkers to tackle it in sections Ė both can be joined in Pooley Bridge, which is a delightful 1-mile walk away, so no need to move your vehicle and pay a few pounds for parking in a busy car park for the day.

The area suffered badly in the winter floods, especially Storm Desmond, but has recovered quickly. The A592 down the west side of Ullswater has been rebuilt an reopened and Pooley Bridge has a replacement bailey bridge (where the one from the 1700s was swept away).

Previous     180 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth £149.99 Win a OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4040 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


Black Friday SALE
Black Friday SALE
OLPRO have masses of amazing Black Friday offers EVERY DAY throughout November. Prices slashed on inflatable awnings and tents





0.1016