Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swiss Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Henley On Thames > Swiss Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Swiss Farm Touring And Camping
Marlow Road
Henley On Thames
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01491 573419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Feb 14th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 211 Reviews
                9/10 from 211 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gogs01 1 review from this member

 Spent 7 great nights at this campsite. Arrived on the Mon and got a warm welcome at reception and told to pitch where best suited us. Managed to pitch the tent before the rain (which is always a bonus) The ground held up quite well considering the rain and only when the tent field became busier at the weekend the opening to the camping field became quite muddy. (not a criticism though as it was raining everyday)

The toilet and shower block was always clean and had plenty hot water. The bar was also very nice and a good place to relax as we could go with kids until 9pm. (would suggest that if possible maybe a few basic meals to be made on site and I think they would get a lot of trade)

Good playpark and the pool looked nice but we never used it, the kids also loved feeding the ducks at the pond.

Would stay here again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melcj 5 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for five nights in June half term with two children aged 8yrs and 9yrs.

Fantastic site, there are two camping fields, field 2 has the play area in the middle so is ideal if you want to keep an eye on your children, field 1 has plenty of space and is adjacent but you can't see the play area from it.

Loads of space, flat pitches, shower block adjacent to the camping field but the better one is in the caravan area.

Swimming pool was a real hit with my boys and we were blessed with fab weather.

Very short walk to Henley (less than 5 mins, easy with children as only one road to cross and pavements all the way.

Henley is fabulous place with everything you could need.

Shop on site will meet your basic needs but there is plently of shopping in Henley.

No noise at night or early in the morning - always a bonus.

All in all a brilliant site and we will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abiandgeorge 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend in our tent at Swiss Farm - our daughter raced at Henley Women's Regatta.

We cannot fault this camp site - it is by far and away the best site we have ever stayed at.

The couple on reception are genuinely kind and welcoming and the rest of the staff around the site are first class too.

Swiss Farm has been built to a high specification throughout and all the areas (reception, bar, heated swimming pool, washing up area, showers and toilets) are kept incredibly clean and tidy which is no mean feat when we humans are at one with nature.

It only cost us 50 for two nights for the four of us, and we even had our 26 foot sculling boat on the roof of our car for one night.

We are definitely, definitely going to return to Swiss Farm many times. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HelenMcCreath 3 reviews from this member

 What a fab 8 nights we have just had (experienced)at Swiss Farm. We arrived on the Friday before the Jubilee and returned Saturday just gone. Although the weather was a little wet and the wind was a bit mental on occasions we had a brilliant break.

The site is very clean and well laid out. There is certainly enough room on the pitches and the staff are careful not to overcrowd the fields allowing enough space to spread out.

The toilets and showers were kept to a very high standard at all times.

My kids had a great time in the swimming pool everyday and we certainly had a great time in the clubhouse most nights.

I think that all of the staff were fab. Poor Pete and Will had to put up with a lot from us all. James ensured that we were all safe and our needs were met. Constructive Criticism: More wine and brandy please

And then there is the most delightful couple on reception who were very hospitable throughout our whole stay! I don't know how they remain so calm and professional.

Cant wait to return! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thomojones 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks camping over the Jubilee Week. Despite the weather (heavy rain & high winds) we had a great time. The site is stunning. The facilities were always clean (astounding with the weather we had) and we never a queue for the toilets or Showers. Hair dryers are available in the Ladies not the mens but I haven't met a man who uses one yet!

We had an electric hook up and used low voltage equipment and never a problem. The site was full but because the pitches are large it looked half empty.

The managers were jovial and helpful and the reception had a good stock of essentials for the things you forgot!. All of the staff were pleasant and worked hard to keep the site looking so lovely.

We visited London (from Twyford) Legoland, Chessington and Bicester outlet village. The site is really well placed for getting around. Henley itself is a 5 minute walk and lovely.

All in all a great time and would recommend this site to all, there really is something for everyone. We will be back as a week was just not lone enough, 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jmilbourn 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Swiss Farm for 6 nights over the Jubilee bank holiday.

The staff were very welcoming and friendly, showing us where to pitch up and inviting us to the Jubilee hog roast the following day.

The pitches are of a generous size with ample room for our four-bed tent and car.

The site is very peaceful with very little noise at any time of day. There is an abundance of wildlife (for us city-folk) with ducks and robins visiting the tent and plenty of kites and a few parakeets flying low in the sky. There are also some friendly pigs and lambs in the neighbouring field.

The pool felt quite warm although the persistent poor weather meant that we didn't get to try it out.

I spent half a day fishing with my 9 year old son on the site's exclusive lake. Although we didn't catch anything we both enjoyed the experience in wonderful surroundings.

On a more practical note, the toilet/shower block nearest the reception were kept clean and the showers were hot and powerful. My wife was impressed that there were ample (free) hair dryers and a bath in the Ladies.

There were also washing machines/tumble dryers available for a small fee and a large freezer for cool box blocks.

There is a barrier to the site requiring a swipe card to enter (available for a 10 refundable deposit) keeping the site secure.

The clubhouse is compact in size but sufficient for the size of the site. The walls to the entrance are covered in useful information (bus times, leisure activities, etc) along with leaflets for the local attractions.

The camp shop is very limited but Henley on Thames is a five minute walk away (with a Sainsbury's local and Waitrose to choose from).

This is a great, really well run campsite with a friendly and safe atmosphere. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Borndriller 2 reviews from this member

 After reading the other reviews on this site I had to go back and double check I was talking about the same place!

Our arrival was marred by a very surly reception. They were more concerned by what sort of electricity hook up we had than providing any sort of welcome, information or any sort of pleasantries. They implied they issues with power failures, which is not something we have ever come across before. Certainly in their booking info they make clear that they do not permit the use of electric heaters but as that was something we were aware of before arriving it was unexpected to get the third degree on arrival.

The camping field isn't divided into pitches, just a few signs to remind those who haven't booked electrical hookups to pitch away from the power points. I suppose this has it's pros and cons, but I could imagine problems at busy times as people spread out over the field. The Smell from the sewage station that others mention was prevalent most days (We stayed for 4)

My Son liked the park, although the equipment was quite limited and in need of maintenance in some spots, the odd missing piece of wood, broken swing etc. We didn't use the pool due to the weather.

The toilets were fairly clean given the weather and the associated mud but the showers were very disappointing. The shower heads mostly clogged with limescale meaning although the water was hot the spray meant you were actually quite cold as only enough water existed to wet part of you at a time and it took ages to rinse any shampoo out of your hair etc. Hairdriers were advertised but they only exist in the ladies, and again were not especially efficient.

In terms of location you cannot fault the site, this part of uk is great to visit and being able to walk into Henley is great.

My final point relates to our departure, and shows at least the site was consistent in its management and customer relations. We had to leave 2 days early due to an unrelated issue to the site. When we went to hand in our access pass there was no 'had a nice stay' 'safe journey' or even an enquiry as to who we were so they knew who was booked in or out from the site.

Surly on arrival, surly on exit. 'We have your money now stop bothering us' 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adrianchurch2 9 reviews from this member

 We visited Henley-on-Thames for a weekend after having driven through it hundreds of times. Swiss farm is a lovely site with fixed caravans as well as a touring field. (Our camping companions lived in one fo the vans for 6 months when they first moved to the area about 20 years ago)

The toilet block for the touring field is very nice, and was cleaned twice a day.

We were at the electric hookups at the top of the field, which has quite a slope. There is also an 'electric' enclosure at the bottom of the field near the lake.

There was a pig field behind our tents but it was about 50 feet away and only had 4 little pigs. So we did not have any problems. Other than feeling guilty when cooking the bacon for breakfast.

The weekend we were there wasn't really busy tourer wise, but despite their no groups rule there was a group of about 20 guides and another 30 duke of Edinburgh girl students turned up Saturday night, so the queue for the ladies loo looked like a festival !

There is an outdoor pool on site which looks nice, but was empty as we were too early in the season. The bar also looked nice but we did not use it. The shop was well stocked for essentials, but henley town centre is only a 10 minute walk from the site. Overall a pleasant stay and we would definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suejohnson 1 review from this member

 My husband and I stayed at the Swiss Farm site at the end of May.

The staff were fantastic, very helpful and friendly.

The site itself was very quiet and peaceful, we really enjoyed relaxing and watching the rabbits, kites and hot air balloons.

Our plot had plenty of room but it was a sloping pitch which would have made putting an awning up quite difficult.

The washing and drying facilities were very reasonably priced and the shower block was clean and the showers were hot although could have been a bit more powerful.

The walk into Henley is very pleasant and the town itself is lovely.

The biggest drawback for me was the fact that there was no TV reception but this certainly wouldn't stop us going back again. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HCookie 1 review from this member

 Had a great time over the May bank holiday camping at Swiss Farm. Although the temperatures where pretty chilly we all had a great time.

The toilet and shower blocks were clean (pretty difficult to achieve considering the mud!) and the pitches were in good condition.

The pool wasn't open yet so had no chance to try it out but we did use the playground. This could do with expanding as the kids got a bit bored after a while. Perhaps more swings and a climbing net could help.

Henley is a 5 minute walk away with Shops, restaurants and entertainment on your door step. We had a great roast dinner in the Dog and Badger on the road to Marlow on Sunday as well.

This is our second visit to this site and would definitely go again. 


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Swiss Farm Touring And Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swiss Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley On Thames      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5660 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement