Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swiss Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Henley On Thames > Swiss Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Swiss Farm Touring And Camping
Marlow Road
Henley On Thames
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01491 573419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Feb 14th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 213 Reviews
                9/10 from 213 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elaine Hall 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home from a week spent at Swiss Farm. To be honest we were a little disappointed at the site. All the reviews we had read were that this was a friendly site, unfortunately we found that this was not the case; no one spoke to us after we had checked in.

We were not given a set spot on the tent field and struggled to find anywhere to hook up to our EHU. There were a lot of groups (some rather large ones, 6 big tents plus smaller ones, easily could have accommodated 30+ people) that planted themselves wherever with little regard to anyone else. Seems silly that there were lots of spots near the toilets that were more than suitable for 'lone' campers (as oppose to groups). The tent field would have benefited from being mowed.

The female facilities were overrun with youngsters putting on their make up and doing their hair so it was difficult to wash your hands in the morning never mind brush your teeth! The tent field is a good walk from the toilets. And I found the showers cold and not the cleanest, but this again was the fault of the campers rather than the site.

The site is great for children, but we found that many parents may need some parenting skills, not the site's fault I know, but it was awful watching children chasing the poor chickens around!

In the site's favour. It is flat and it is well situated, an easy walk into Henley. We stayed here because we wanted to visit Tom Kerridge's pub, The Hand and Flowers, in Marlow. We had a day trip into London and enjoyed a sandwich at The Angel.

There is a little hut on the approach to the site (The Patch) that sells fruit and veg very cheaply and is well worth buying (via an honesty box).

As people who come away to relax and sleep, this site was not for us, but for a family with children you would probably find it great!

This site has a fair few AA flags, but we've been to sites with less flags and have been far better. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Float54 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 5 night stay here, this was our second time and what a disappointment from the first one, first of all the pitch I had was number 129 which is right at the bottom of the main drive under a pine tree, everyone walks across your pitch to get to the camping field or fishing lake where all the kids seem to play, constant shouting and screaming, on swiss farm there are loads of rules but non of these seem to be enforced, i.e people making a noise even after midnight, groups of tents all together ( no fire gap ), even seen a open fire burning on the last night, speeding cars, permanently sited vans for people who work else where( you know who you are), and while I was there one person told me 'you should have been here last week one lad was flying a remote controlled plane and then was later going around the site shooting and air rifle', if you decide to book here make sure you phone them and not book on line or you will end up on a crap pitch, the facility's are first class and the staff overall are very good, and only a ten min walk into town, so if you want a site where there are no rules and you can just please yourself this is the one for you. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brickwizard 1 review from this member

 We have been using this site periodically for 35yrs and have seen many changes in that time, but the one thing that has remained constant is the friendlessness and diligence of the staff.

The site has changed with expansion as have the facilities, 2 fantastic amenity blocks both clean, modern with ample hot water, office/clubhouse/bar one of the older buildings has over the years been extended is comfortable, bright and clean, behind this block is a small outdoor swimming pool with loungers open in the summer only, next to this a new play area for the little ones.

The site also has a fishing lake with carp, tench, rudd, and roach [well that's what I have had out over the years].

Please note children are not allowed in the confines of the lake unless accompanied by an adult, this is not only to stop the annoyance to anglers but primarily a safety issue as the grass in most areas slope down to the lake, the edges are very slippery and muddy, and the lake is up to 7 ft deep, so please keep them away,

There is plenty of wildlife to be seen on and around the camping fields, some rare breed Pigs, Sheep, and Cattle, also wild Geese, Ducks, Rabbits, Red Kites. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EWaters 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from three nights camping at Swiss Farm and will most certainly go again. We were blessed with amazing sunshine and used the pool daily, which was remarkably quiet during the day, but became busier around 5:00 p. M for the last hour of opening. The facilities were immaculately clean and the site is a delightful combination of orderly flower beds and nature park - Canadian geese greeted us each morning and families of rabbits appeared in the evening. We loved the fact we could walk in to Henley on Thames to picnic by the river and shop.

I honestly can't think of any negatives. Our first night coincided with the final Henley Music Festival concert which we could hear, however. It finished promptly at 11:00pm. The staff were all friendly and helpful with a relaxed approach. Camping at it's best! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jimbo1234 2 reviews from this member

 As others have said beforehand - this site is well worth a visit.

Pitches are a good size and hedgerows provide some privacy.

The facilities were immaculate and there was plenty of hot water available. Bar and pool on site but can't comment of these as didn't use them.

The site is only a few minutes walk from Henley which is well worth a visit.

A very nice site with friendly staff so will definitely visit again one day. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pintacider 28 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 2 night stop at this site. Can only really ditto was has been said already. Very pretty site in a great location. Easy to access for those towing. Large, flat pitches with modern toilet and shower facilities.

Saw an amazing amount of buzzards and Kite's so it's great for those that like bird spotting. There are some lovely walks along the river for those that like exercise and fresh air.

Found the staff very friendly.

Hard to find any fault really. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Foley799 16 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, beautifully kept, and will be a regular stop for us in future.

We were warmly welcomed, and shown to our level smooth pitch, which was adequate in size for the caravan, awning and car, with room to spare. Hedges separate areas, making it feel more private, less like a field.

The wildlife there was wonderful, dozens of varieties of birdlife, and no doubt even better with good weather - which we didn't have on this occasion.

The shower/toilet block was of a high quality, properly cleaned daily and checked more than daily. Everything worked, nothing ran out.

The clubhouse/bar was fine, albeit a tad expensive, and the shop wasn't particularly well stocked, but with the town a few minutes walk away - no problem.

We'll be returning! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adeishblue 12 reviews from this member

 Swiss Farm is a lovely site on the edge of Henley on Thames. A well laid out site with nice hedges and trees giving privacy on the pitches. The pitches were all a good size, a mixture or grass and hard standing. 2 excellent toilet and shower blocks and good washing up facilities if needed. The site has a nice outdoor heated swimming pool and a small bar area. (only downside didn't serve and food or snacks). Good reception area with basics and maps of area.

From the site it is a 10 minute walk into Henley on Thames which has some nice shops and restaurants, a Sainsburys Local and a Waitrose for stocking up. We ate at the Catherine Wheel which is a Wetherspoons Pub and the food was very good value and excellent quality, so good we ate there 3 nights out of the 4 we were in Henley.

We also visited Windsor and the Harry Potter Studio Tour whilst staying at Swiss Farm both of which are within a 45 minute drive of Henley.

I would highly recommend Swiss Farm, it is next door but one to the Henley Four Oaks Caravan Club Site but I prefer Swiss Farm.

My only tip if going to Swiss Farm and travelling using the M40 (do NOT use your Sat Nav) you will end up in a Farm Yard and if towing a caravan will have a nightmare, just check the road atlas and you will be fine) 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Lucyallen 2 reviews from this member

 This was the first site that we chose for our new Tear drop trailer, and I am so pleased that we did.

The site is lovely, the pitches are spacious and well kept and on a slight incline. We stayed on a pitch with electric hook up, all these pitches are on the left side of the site, with a field to the right for tents and those not wanting electric.

The toilet block are lovely modern and clean, there are a mixture of loo's and loo's with sinks in one part, and then through another door there are 7 showers and then a bath/toilet/shower cubical either for families or less able.

The showers in the evening are lovely and warm, however the shower at around 9am was a bit chilly!

We didn't use the shop, swimming pool or bar but it all looked really nice.

The village itself is about a 10 min ( leisurely walk) all on pavements, there are a number of shops, fat face, whitestuff, joules, paperchase a sainsburys local, large waitrose, a starbucks and nero.

All in all a very nice site and we will certainly be returning! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: James3 6 reviews from this member

 We visited this site many years ago and to be honest it was terrible lots of very untidy seasonal caravans etc. Well we wanted to go to Henley this year and gave Swiss Farm another try -well what a difference it was like visiting a completely new site good toilet and shower blocks - good pitches including hard standings with electric and in some cases waste. The site was well laid out and the small bar was tasteful and nice to relax in. Staff were very friendly and yes we would certainly come again and with Henley only a short walk away you cant go wrong. 


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Swiss Farm Touring And Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swiss Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley On Thames      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1085 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement