Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swiss Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Henley On Thames > Swiss Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Swiss Farm Touring And Camping
Marlow Road
Henley On Thames
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01491 573419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Feb 14th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 213 Reviews
                9/10 from 213 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kiminwales1 10 reviews from this member

 When we arrived we were sent to a large field and could pick where to go.

Was a steep slope but pitch we chose for tent was ok. Large field behind for kids to run too.

Despite the horrible weather last summer it wasn't too muddy but the grass cuttings did seem to get every where - we also seemed to have quite a lot of ants come visit (perhaps we camped over an ants nest!). It didn't rain while we were there so no idea what it would be like in the rain.

At the end of the field there was some sort of water cleaning plant or something which I wouldn't have liked to have backed on to but we had the choice and so didn't - therefore I didn't notice it!

Lots of red kites - didn't notice any planes!

Price was very reasonable for 5 of us though that was in part as we didn't pay for our children - all under 5. Pool was nice - didn't realise you had to pay before we went but was cheap and didn't pay for the under 5s. Also they said the ticket lasted all day.

Easy walk to henley - our 3 yr old twins did it no problem. Lovely town - would like to go there for a meal without kids! Easy travel distance to windsor etc

Got quite busy for the bank holiday weekend as I guess most sites do had to queue for toilets, showers and washing and the quiet, no groups rule became a myth. That being said most people were quiet by 11pm.

However, I would recommend and will come again perhaps to use as a base to visit london next time. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Monty farwalker 2 reviews from this member

 We visited over an incredibly wet weekend and still enjoyed ourselves. The site is well located for beautiful walks along hills and the riverside and is close to shops & bars in Henley.

Although the rules seem strict they were relaxed in practice but no dogs anymore in high season. Several very clean wash blocks and good facilities.

We would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liverbird08 13 reviews from this member

 We visited here for the second time in three weeks as our bathroom is getting done! We visited Monday to Thursday, no problems getting a pitch. It rained this time (unlike the earlier visit when the sun shone the whole weekend) despite this, very quiet and tonnes of space.
We pitched in Field 1, some way from reception but still close to showers / loos / washing up area. There is always a queue in the morning for the (free) showers, and they could do with some updating but ok.
I love this site for the space, plus it's proximity to the ever-so-English town of Henley-on-Thames (10 mins walk if that.) Nice shops (Monsoon, Cath Kidston-y stuff for girlys, and decent pubs (The Angel, The Red Lion) which we found very accommodating as the heavens opened so we took shelter. A definite favourite. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JenD 1 review from this member

 Good site although large and not a quiet site as indicated. Good pool, play area and free space. Waitrose good, the site does not sell much of use which is surprising as the site is so large and commercial in other ways. Toilet block clean and good shower and washing up facilities. Really good location for exploring and access to London 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wilkos 11 reviews from this member

 Just got back from Swiss Farm. A lovely semi-rural site with good facilities - lovely, spacious showers, even a bath if you need one. We were sited near the children's playground which was fine as we were still quite far away from the play area.
Very close to Henley town centre - and Waitrose - so a great position. Lots of Red Kite to see flying around. Bit noisy at night but not from campers - there was a festival going on in the rugby club next door. So we could hear music playing until the early hours.
Didn't use the outside pool this time as it was rather full, but visited the bar which was very nice and friendly. We have previously visited Swiss Farm and will do so again no doubt. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mccarroll 10 reviews from this member

 We have been camping as a group on whit weekend for 11 years and always visit coastal sites. After last years wash out we decided to come nearer home. We are so glad we did. We had 5 ehu pitches, plenty of room and near to facilities. No queues for showers, always clean, a lovely site.
We all walked the Thames footpath, what a lot to see, some of the houses were fab. Only a short walk to Henley where we sampled most of the pubs, the females bought clothes whilst the men watched sport and the children were beside themselves as we sat next to Richie from five (boyband).
We all want to go again in 2009. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maddy18 1 review from this member

 Spent a weekend here to try out our new tent, which luckily proved to be wind- and water-proof! Clean, well-maintained site with hot water all day and night. Lots of young families so fairly quiet at night.Plenty of space for ball games, kite-flying etc - swimming pool and playground on site. Very close to Henley which is lovely - cheap parking at Waitrose.

Yes it is on the Heathrow flight path but they fly much lower over our house so we found it quiet. The dawn chorus was louder and campers can't complain about that! Kids enjoyed the ducks and rabbits pottering about the site and Red Kites circling overhead. Would definitely use this site again 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anidav 7 reviews from this member

 Arrived to sunshine, got the tent up by the time the rain came (Surprise) we stayed in the Hedged rows so had a huge pitch, no complaints about the showers / toilets always had hot water etc.
We stayed the week before the regatta but managed to see races think it was Ladies week or something. Went to Wimbledon as well sat on Henman Hill and thoroughly enjoyed.
Brilliant site for getting to all the places you want to see such as Windsor etc. Had a couple of meals in the Catherine Wheel excellent, lovely shopping, lovely people.
Just got in the car and drove to all the outlying villages and towns and stopped where we felt like. Great week, wish the weather was nicer, only a couple of nice days, at least we gave the tent a good trial run in the wind and rain. Success.
Will definitley visit again 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campz 3 reviews from this member

 I would say pretty good all round for tent users but a few things let it down on our visit.

We stayed a single night in the tent area where there are no pre-assigned pitches, just a large field for you to set-up where you like. If you like a really quiet place then this place is not ideal as there is a fair amount of road noise and it is on a flight path with planes going over from 5 am onward. There is also some sort of water works at the far end of the field that makes a constant water gushing noise. Our night was spoilt completely buy someone who thought it was clever to use their car stereo to keep themselves entertained and then at about 2 am an alarm from one of the buildings or static caravans started going off and kept going all night long keeping everyone awake. Obviously not directly the park fault but I hope they get that alarm replaced with one that stops after a while rather than continually sounding.

It was a blazing hot day but the pool isn't open until July 1st so missed out on that.

The site is generally well maintained and looks quite nice, in fact there were some men clearing rubbish out of the lake when we left. However the grass in the tent field was a bit long and they hadn't collected the grass clippings so lots of grass everywhere, all in the tent and trampled through the showers and toilet. They would have saved themselves a lot of trouble by using a mower that collected the clippings as the showers kept getting blocked with grass clippings.

The shower and toilet area was very presentable, nice and clean and they didn't stink like some places we have been to. Sadly the water was freezing cold when we tried them but hopefully this was a temporary glitch. The cubicles are quite well designed with an area just outside to hang your dry things and not overly cramped. No temperature control on the water, just one of those push button things that gives you a minute or two of water at a time.

Nice play area for children all looks like well maintained equipment (didn't try it as we don't have any kids).

The bar seems quite good with a lounge area, outdoor heated area for smokers and a general bar with 2 pool tables @ 1 a time (one broken when we were there) a TV on sky sports yuk!, Darts board and a couple of fruit machines.

The site is well situated near Henley and Henley is a very nice place to visit, we found Sunday parking is free, which is always a bonus. Convenient for Boot, Woolworth's and Waitrose so can easily pick up anything you need. If you have kids then they will have fun seeing all the Lotus and Porche cars that people seem to drive about in Henly. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tman 7 reviews from this member

 Just spent a great 4 days here, used it as a base to visit Thorpe Park (approx. 1/2 hour away). Stayed on a large 'superpitch,' which was a slightly sloping hardstanding with electricity and its own water and waste point. The site was very clean and tidy, and exceptionally quiet (no rowdies tolerated!).

The toilets and showers were also very clean, with plenty of hot water. The dishwashing facilities were also excellent (with sink plugs!)

We enjoyed the welcome that the ducks gave us on our arrival! They wander around the caravans looking for tidbits, and are very entertaining!

The site is located about 10 minutes from picturesque Henley, which has a Waitrose for the stocking up of provisions; there is no shop on site, although we were advised there would be a shop for the 2009 season.

We didn't use the bar or the pool, but they appeared to be of a good standard.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Be aware that the site does not allow electric heaters to be used, only gas, due to supply problems.

I would certainly visit again. 


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Swiss Farm Touring And Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swiss Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley On Thames      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2047 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement