Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swiss Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Henley On Thames > Swiss Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Swiss Farm Touring And Camping
Marlow Road
Henley On Thames
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01491 573419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Feb 14th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 213 Reviews
                9/10 from 213 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redboxer5 3 reviews from this member

 Spent only a couple of nights here last week. The site is walking distance from Henley, which is great for access to shops and also to the river. It does mean you get slight traffic noise, though not too much.

The camping fields are good - unmarked pitches, spacious, lots of wildlife, even a free range pig enclosure up the top of the hill!

Showers and loos are great, lots of them and very clean. Didn't get to use the bar or swimming pool.

The downside for me was the water treatment/sewage works which is hidden behind the trees of Field 1. It wasn't an issue until in the middle of the night, a buzzing sound came from it. At first I thought it was someone blowing up their airbed, but it persisted until we left the next morning. Not sure if it is a regular thing, but it certainly had an impact on my second night's sleep on the site!

Also, though the camping fields are good, I wouldn't want to bring a caravan here as they are lined up very close together in a not very scenic environment. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Detectivepufferfish 4 reviews from this member

 Set in a lovely area of the country however the campsite is not complimentary.

When I arrived the greeting at the front desk was poor. I was not informed about the facilities or anything helpful. I was told find a pitch in field 1 before the lady turned to speak to another arriving camper and I was ignored.

The pitch itself was good however the toilet block and shower area were far from clean. This surprised me as there was a regular cleaner which came into the cleaning block. I don't think the cleaner used much elbow grease. In fact on looking at his cleaning mop it was threadbare and dirty and needed replacing a long time ago. Top tip would be to take some anti-bacterial wipes with you if you visit here to clean toilets and sinks before use.

The female toilets smelled of stale urine. The waste facilities for sanitary items were poor and unhygienic.

Having visited many campsites in the past, this was one that I would definitely not recommend Which is disappointing as it looked like it offered so much more. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Harlem37 1 review from this member

 Visited Swiss Farm July 2010 5 days from 19th

The site was busy but had quite a few empty pitches. Weather was hot and sunny.We stayed from monday to saturday.

Monday to Thursday was fine but we were very pleased to be going home saturday as the site was really full and becoming noisy.

We felt that because of very many static caravans and the large 2 areas for tents on the site the toilet and washing areas were far too small.During our 5 day stay all was fine but the last day overcrowded. After mostly staying in Caravan Club sites in the past we were disappointed and bearing in mind the club sites are a lot cheaper once a member and a lot more organised 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Joandmike 3 reviews from this member

 We were very impressed with this site. We were pitched under a tree with fir cones falling on the roof every now and then and it took us about 15 minutes to clear the ones that had already fallen before we could put a ground sheet down, but the trees and bushes make the pitches much more private.

The toilets and showers are very clean and well kept and although when we booked / arrived we were told there was only two pitches left we never had to queue to use them.

Generally the quiet rules are well kept, we did have an issue with the people in the tent next us having a row at past midnight which woke us up and kept us awake for some time, but that could happen anywhere.

There's a good mix of tents, trailer tents, caravans and campers - not segregated which always makes campers feel like the poor relations!

We never used the swimming pool or bar, but will be going back for another visit - would recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zenon 8 reviews from this member

 Came as part of a large group (10 tents) and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Directed to field 1 which is on a bit of a slope, then left to get on with it. Pitched in the middle and it allowed plenty of room for the children and adults to play football, cricket etc.

Excellent wash facilities and it appeared to be litter free.

The bar showed the England vs USA game in the World Cup and it had a very enjoyable atmosphere with plenty of children allowed in the bar.

Will definitely be going back next summer for a few nights. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shiner123 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a very successful and enjoyable half term break at Swiss Farm.

We were allocated a touring caravan pitch in one of the hedged areas of the site inc electric hookup. There was a slight incline on our part of the site but nothing a set of wooden blocks wouldn't sort out.

The toilet and showerblocks were very clean and obviously updated recently.

We have two little girls aged 3 and 4 and they made lots of friends as their were lots of other young families in the same areas as ourselves. For kids the site has a small well used adventure playground and a swimming pool which ours thoroughly enjoyed.

We took the girls bikes and scooters, but the roads are a bit rough so it was quite a test of their balancing skills to navigate more than 10m without falling over!

Without doubt the location of the site is fantastic, a short walk from Henley where you can have a wander around some interesting little shops or for those with a bit more energy there is a wonderful walk along the bank of the Thames with lots of things to see (rowers practising, Hambledon Locks, canoeists playing on the wier rapids, ducklings Cygnets and Red Kites) and it ends at a nice pub with a great beer garden, heaven! there's also plenty of space for a picnic on the bank of the river.

Further afield there are excellent family bike rides along disused railway tracks such as the phoenix trail or parts of the Ridgeway

We also visited the Didcot Steam railway centre and the Hellfire caves which where good days out and didn't cost the earth either.

Overall a good site in a fantastic location, lots going for it, we will visit again 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yummy Girl 4 reviews from this member

 This is a must visit site for the family!

We stayed at the beginning of June (2 adults, a 3 year old and a four year old) for three nights. We pitched in field 2 so we could keep an eye on the kids whilst they played in the park area which they did so day and night!

The staff were helpful, the facilities were clean including the pool and there was hot water a plenty any time of the day for showers or a bath.

We had a few visitors to our tent during our stay, a couple of hens, ducks and rabbits which was a very welcome surprise. The fishing lake homed plenty of ducks and geese. There is also a farm area with cows, pigs and sheep.

We didn't use the car once during our time there as the centre of Henley was less than 10 minutes walk away which has a Waitrose and Sainsbury's Local for anything fresh that you may need to purchase.

All in all a superb site which we intend on visiting again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JMC4 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first camping trip with our 4 year old and turned out to be a very positive experience. We were in the field and were given the choice of where we would like to pitch our tent.

There was plenty of room despite being peak season. The facilities were clean and the playground, although small was adequate for little ones.

The site had a small shop, but when closed, there were plenty of shops that were still open within just a couple of miles. Overall very enjoyable. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taffyp 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed in field 1, which is on a slope. It has a sewage works next to it and a pig farm! We could smell the sewage works occasionally.

To get to field 1 we drove past some caravan pitches, which to be honest, if I had been put in I would have been rather annoyed. They were dark and very close together. All around the site the grass needed cutting.

The toilet and shower blocks at Swiss Farm were a bit of a walk from our pitch but were modern. They were cleaned at least twice a day. I liked the fact that in the toilet area they had separate cubicles with just a sink in if you just wanted to have a wash down, or had kids who needed a scrub down!

The washing up facilities were good, with a row of stainless steel sinks undercover. However by 10am this morning the hot water had gone.

Friday night my oh went to watch the England game in the bar which had a good atmosphere and allowed children into watch too. It was packed! (we settled for snakes and ladders back in the tent!)

I did find only having the water taps at one end of this huge field a pain. All the facilities from bins, taps, wc's etc were all at the entrance to the field and made life a bit more difficult. The kid's play area was too far away for our 4 year olds to go to on their own and when they did 2 of our group ripped their trousers on the apparatus and thus trousers ended up in the bin.

Like I said, I can't quite put my finger on what I didn't like about this site. The weather probably didn't help as it rained on the first night and was colder from then on. It just had a strange atmosphere.

Nevertheless, Henley was within walking distance, which is a lovely little town, as is Marlow a few miles away.

I may have been over critical of this site and I know many love it. I think next time though I would try the other campsite further along the Thames. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PreeceFamily 33 reviews from this member

 Swiss Farm International is good - a 'take your money and let you get on with it' type of place - well laid out and plenty of room.

Not overly 'International' but what's in a name - though one of the receptionists had a South African accent, so maybe she was the International part?

Facilities are great and enjoy the aromas of the trees and shrubs, especially the Fuschia at one of the washing up stations. Swimming pool, playpark, bar and cafe too.

Henley Town Centre is but a short walk away - plenty of shops, stores, places to eat and drink and of course you've got the Thames and boats, boats and more boats.

Also easy enough to bus around - Marlow and Reading not too far away for a big shopping trip.

Oh - keep your eyes open too - it's 'spot the celebrity' country! 


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Swiss Farm Touring And Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swiss Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley On Thames      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1944 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement