Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swiss Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Henley On Thames > Swiss Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Swiss Farm Touring And Camping
Marlow Road
Henley On Thames
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01491 573419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Feb 14th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 211 Reviews
                9/10 from 211 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Catclaire666 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. Easy to book, great welcome, beautiful surroundings.

First time we have visited this site and it was a treat.

All facilities were clean. Site was safe and I especially liked the security barrier for cars.

The pool was lovely and the bar/cafe area was a welcome find.

An international mix of fellow campers made the site interesting for all- the children loved it.

Quiet evenings and peaceful mornings were the order of the day.

The surrounding woods and countryside are great for strolls and walks.

Henley on Thames just a short walk away and a lovely place to browse the shops, walk along the river or whatever takes your fancy.

Good shops around for supplies as well.

Thoroughly recommend! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beverley40 2 reviews from this member

 We've recently been to Swiss farm on our first ever camping trip and I have to say we had a great time, it probably helped that the weather was brilliantly hot and sunny the whole time but also the campsite facilities were excellent,

the toilet and showers were very clean although the temperature was a bit cool for me, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

We were in field 1 which was where the play area is and we found this great for the kids as they could go and play freely but we could still see where they were and what they were doing.

The pool area was good one tiny criticism would be that there wasn't very many chairs/loungers however it was grassy so you could take a blanket to sit on.

The town centre of Henley was around a 10 minute walk from the site, it is quite picturesque with plenty of shops and eating places, there is a sainsbury's local which is open from 7 til 11 every day and also a waitrose.

We had a great 3 night stay and would definitely return again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hollymum 3 reviews from this member

 This is the third time we have stayed at Swiss Farm. Since the last time we went the reception/shop area has been revamped and stocks rare breeds meats and basic provisions.

The site is well looked after with plenty of room for everyone. The facilities are clean and there is usually plenty of hot water. Having said this the hot water in the toilets was too hot! My husband complained that the mens toilets were smelly which is down to lack of ventilation rather than cleanliness.

There is a large fishing lake where you can pay a small fee to fish. In addition there is also a swimming pool which again can be used for a small fee. We didn't have time to use this though our friends did and enjoyed it.

There is also a large play area.

Very nice site close to Henley. Recommended! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Mallett61 5 reviews from this member

 We have wanted to go to Swiss farm for the last 2 years with our touring van but unfortunately due to a fall in dec 2010 we will have to leave the tourer in storage this year. So we decided to go into one of the sites holiday homes a very good decision as this was new this year and had every thing you would want .The site itself is immaculate well looked after and very clean. We did not use the bar on site but it was well presented and there is an age limit on children allowed in. The shop carries the basics you might need. The toilet/shower blocks are very clean with plenty of cubicles.

The pitches are of a good size and well laid out. I didn't use the fishing lake but had a couple of walks round it and some nice carp could be seen. The pool was closed but looked very good with sun beds to relax on.

A 5 or 10 min walk takes you in to Henley which is very nice. Plenty of good restaurants and some good places to have a drink. A nice place to eat is St George and Dragon in Wargrave, get a seat on the balcony over looking the river Thames.

All in all a super site which we will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dandnmuff 8 reviews from this member

 We visited this site over the Bank Holiday weekend and stayed in our Dandy Folding Camper.

The site and facilities are clean and well ordered, an easy stroll into Henley which is a pleasant day out (we had great weather and enjoyed a boat trip).

Our pitch did not have EHU as we only booked a week in advance and got about the last free pitch. The only thing that marred out visit was having to stare across at the worlds biggest RV (completely unoccupied all weekend) which ruined the view of the lovely countryside.

It is worth noting that the swimming pool is not open until June which was a disappointment to my daughter who would have liked a swim as the weather was and had been very hot for quite a while.

The large field that we had played on during earlier visits was also taken over by a Autotrail owners rally which limited the play space. Final minor grumble is lack of hot water as previously mentioned.

Overall though a good site and we are likely to return again, this time in July or Aug when the pool is open! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Benbullen 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely campsite within walking distance of the centre of Henley on Thames. If you like 'Posh' camping this is the place for you, but it you like to rough it then maybe find somewhere else!

There are two large open fields which are nice for tents without electric hook up, although one of the fields is on a slope so be prepared to end up at the bottom of your sleeping bag! Then there's the other section of the campsite which comprises pitches either side of the lanes with 6feet high hedges separating the rows and some of the pitches. I've stayed on both the field and the 'lanes' and I'd go back to the lanes next time.

The playground is right at the bottom of the site which means if you're at the top it's a long way for the kids to go off on their own, if your kids are used to going to the playground on their own. But our kids also found a great little wooded area which they called the den, a great place for them to play! There are also cows and pigs right on the edge of the camping area and overhead there are hundreds of red kites.

The only thing they should change is their water heating system in one of the toilet blocks. They use solar power which is very environmentally friendly, but it means that during busy times the showers were cold! So avoid showering at the usual morning slot and during washing up time!

But if you like a nice smart and clean campsite this is a great place to go. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rustyncrusty 3 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from Swiss farm. We had fantastic weather every day. We took a service pitch as they are larger and more convenient. The facilities are superb and as has been said a short walk into town.The down side was the shop which never had a lot and a smell pervading across the site,which we never found the source of. Luckily we were out quite a bit. The T.V.Is boosted but even with that we could not get bbc 1, 2 Or ITV. This meant we missed the Royal Wedding not that we were too bothered about this as we have our own lives! We could have gone to the bar but we prefer the privacy of our 'van. The staff blame the fact that they are in the Thames Valley. We did, however, go down to the bar for the snooker final (much more important!)

All in all this is a lovely site. You won't get in Regatta week so don't try! It's booked up a year in advance. If you like Indian food, Spice Merchant on the river side is the best one we have ever been to. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Bighammerfan 16 reviews from this member

 Our second stay here and this is such a great campsite I would recommend it to everyone. The staff are extremely friendly, the toilets and showers are immaculate. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woolavy 1 review from this member

 We visited this site last summer, and what a brilliant site it is. Well located, relatively inexpensive and in a beautiful area of the country.

The campsite as a whole is well spaced, clean and very welcoming.

The staff were friendly and went out of their way a couple of times due to a mix up on my wife's part.

We arrived mid afternoon, and were told to pitch up in a certain area, well the missus directed us to an area, a lovely pitch away from the main camping field.It was the wrong one as a short while later a couple arrived in a motor home. On speaking to the man in charge of the site, he said we could stay and they moved the campervan to a better standing. Nice.

The play area was decent enough and our 2 kids soon found 'friends' to play with and we never worried too much about them.

The toilet areas were immaculate, there always seemed to be a cleaner working and the water was always hot 24hrs a day. Possibly one of the best set of toilet/shower/cleaning areas we have visited. Top marks.

We fished on the pond on site, it was inexpensive, but was not easy to catch the fish, by all accounts there are not that many in there and you need to be 'experienced' in trying for that elusive carp.My wife caught her PB though, which was nice. There was also a pretty friendly mink down there as well.Which worried my daughter.Lol

The bar area was well set, pool table, darts and slots were there, and ice-creams, crisps, choccy and other similar items. It is located by the very clean, but simple pool, so you can chill in the garden and keep watch on the younger family members in there.

There is no 'club' and definitely not a late-night type site

The campsite is a couple of minutes walk from the town of Henley, which has pubs, bars, restaurants and a couple of supermarkets, which is convienient. The Thames path provides idyllic walks in the evenings.

We used the site as a base to visit London(drove to Ealing and caught the tube into the city.Very cheap parking/travel)and Reading and the general area nearby, we even took a trip to Bury Hill fisheries one day, even the M25 was on a good day then.

Back to the site, the scenery is awesome, we saw red kites(which are not too commmon in the uk) and red squirrals and also the site had an abundance af parakeets, which was novel, but common-ish in the South-East.

The warden did come round at night as mentioned earlier, but was not a problem and we understand why he does.

The site could also possibly think about stocking a few more fish into the pond, even if just to amuse the kids more. Maybe stock some floats/weights etc in the shop wouldn't go amiss.I had to find a tackle shop in Henley for supplies.

Oh.The Wifi on site was cheap for a week, and worked well. I had to sort stuff for hobbies, get sat nav details and use the web to book days out in London etc

Overall I would give the site 8/10 and we will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr+mrs whitters 2 reviews from this member

 Site I thought was good value for money, easy walk into Henley, would perhaps choose a serviced pitch next time as they seems bigger and in better positions.

We were going to go with friends but were put off by the constant referring to no groups on the web, however the site was full of families and friends pitching together to make groups and not particularly quiet ones either. So I would say if you do want peace and quiet this is not the site for you.

Also lack of information given on arrival, no site map etc, that said we would use this site again 


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Swiss Farm Touring And Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swiss Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley On Thames      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5382 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement