Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swiss Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Henley On Thames > Swiss Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Swiss Farm Touring And Camping
Marlow Road
Henley On Thames
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01491 573419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Feb 14th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 213 Reviews
                9/10 from 213 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sam Goldstein 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from a great weekend staying at Swiss Farm campsite for the first time. The wardens made us very welcome, they were very helpful to point us in the right directions for things to see and do.

The campsite is lovely, clean and very well looked after. Our daughter had a great time riding her bike around the campsite as it is very safe.

We will be telling our camping friends and family about this great campsite.

Thank you so much for a great weekend

We will be back soon! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ceemes 3 reviews from this member

 We last visited this site a few years ago and were very impressed with the development. We do not often use big expensive sites, but here you could really see where your money goes!

The pitches were a really good size, the facilities kept spotlessly clean and staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed a couple of nights, well we had the van on site for a couple of nights, but had to leave it resting alone as there was a family emergency we had to help with.

On the second day we brought our small grandchildren (aged 5 and 2) over and they enjoyed the playground, running around the field, exploring the site generally and especially the children's bath. Made life so much easier than having to shower with them. They would have liked to try the pool too, but really it was too cold. The only improvement my husband could suggest was that they serve Brakspear Beer in the bar. Definitely worth a 10 out of 10. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ThomoSki 18 reviews from this member

 We visited this well located site for a couple of nights to get to grips with our new caravan as the site is not far from home.

Pitches are well spaced and laid out, although it may seem a little 'suburban' in nature to some. I've realised I prefer sites that are a little more rural and random.

Shower / toilet facilities all very good in terms of both spec and cleanliness. Quiet when we were there but I imagine they cope well with busier periods.

Staff that we encountered were all helpful, we didn't make use of the on site bar; looked nice enough though.

The real selling point for me was easy walking distance to Henley with all of its shops/bars etc. I particularly rated the Henley Brew House; great food and ales. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lizkjohnson 4 reviews from this member

 Swiss Farm Touring and Camping site has a lot of positive points in its favour.

The pitches are generous;

There is a new toilet/shower/laundry and washing block which is exceptionally clean and tidy that has plenty of hot water;

The site is very child friendly; there is a wonderful small bath installed for bathing babies in the female shower block and there is a large disabled shower facility in the male toilet block;

The location of the site is ideal as it is only a 10 minute walk away from Henley town centre.

There is an outdoor swimming pool and a bar on site too, which I can't comment as these were not experienced by me.

Staff seem to be very friendly and whilst we were there they held an 'Easter Egg Hunt' for the children free of charge with a voluntary donation to the Air Ambulance charity. Other Easter activities took place also for both children and adults.

However one drawback is the electrical supply to the site.

On the main page of the web site they state that each electrical hook up is 16A but when we were on site in early April 2013 there was an unusual cold snap which left the whole site in darkness for 3 1/2 hours due to an electrical overload. Once the supply was restored the wardens came around every unit asking people to use gas heating as they could only supply each hook-up with between 4-6A.

They also kept on mentioning that it clearly states this on the web site. Upon further investigation they have hidden this detail in the terms and conditions which contradicts the 'facilities' page of the main web site so people should be aware of this before booking.

If we had have booked this site in Summer, I'm sure I wouldn't have been able to fault this site at all. However, this is quite an issue which I feel that campers should be made aware as I know that if I had read the terms and conditions thoroughly and spotted this, I don't think we would have booked and subsequently won't book at again. 


Date of Visit: January 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Justineharris 1 review from this member

 I stayed at Swiss Farm for an extended period of time and can only say the service from Day 1 was exceptional. The staff, the facilities and the overall site were fantastic. The staff were very friendly, helpful and provided great suggestions of places to see and things to do in the local area.

The toilet and washing facilities have and are well maintained and this doesn't go unnoticed when utilising shared amenities.

The shared social areas on site, accommodate those with and without children - which is appreciated when you want to stay in for quiet drink after a long day, seeing the sites!

Swiss Farm is located in Henley on Thames, which is an AMAZING place in itself, it's surrounded by amazing countryside, with fabulous restaurants, great bars, fun nightlife and a very comfortable cinema - and all within an easy 10 minute walk!

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Swiss Farm - 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ken sheldrake 1 review from this member

 First class everything, love the piped music in the shower and toilet blocks, very well organised and excellent layout, very reasonable clubhouse prices and good ambience, all staff were helpful and knowledgeable nothing was too much trouble.

The camp shop selection was minimal but it was the end of the season and the local shops are in walking distance so no problems there. We will definitely be booking for a week next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nick Webb 1 review from this member

 As a result of the owner's energy, enthusiasm, knowledge, and sheer hard work, my 3 kids and I have now stayed at Swiss Farm twice, with every intention of at least one more visit this year.

The staff are superb, the facilities top-drawer, and the environment superb for my kids, who range in age from 8 to 16.

This is a great place.

On a final note, I'd like to re-iterate once more how charming and helpful the owners are. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EamonnSullivan 1 review from this member

 Just a fantastic weekend at Swiss Farm - our first visit. The staff could not do enough for us, flexible and friendly throughout. The facilities were absolutely spotless. The pool was fantastic, the kids loved the playground and lake with ducks. Bit chilly at night! - but cant really complain about that! - Overall a ten out of ten for us - thank you, we'll be back and will be recommending to our friends. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bricklayer 22 reviews from this member

 WELL THIS SITE IS GREAT,

Its 10 minutes walk from the site into central Henley, the river and all the area has to offer

As you arrive there is a big security barrier, upon check in you are issued with a security 'swipecard' ( you leave a deposit for this security card ) this enables you to come and go as you please.

You are directed to your pitch and away you go,

There are several levels of pitch, we had a 'deluxe' type with hardstanding, fresh and waste water points and also tv connection, electric hook up and ' night lighting'

The site is quite big and as far as I am aware there are only two large toilet facilities. However these were clean and even in high season we did not queue for showers or anything.

There is a clubhouse with bar by reception and also here you can purchase a wristband so you can use the outdoor pool. There is a small kids playground which is ok, but it seemed busy and our kids had to wait ages in high season for the swings !

Henley as a town has plenty to do and if the weather is good take a boat trip on the Thames. Its lovely.

Marlow and Windsor are close and Oxford is not far away either.

There is a big field at the far end of the site which is gently sloping. This seems to be exclusively for tents, and it was really busy on our visit.

One thing is as night falls there seemed to be a lot of biting insects/ mosquitoes. This could be due to the close location of the river ??? but don't let a few insects spoil your visit to this great site 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Butterfly72 5 reviews from this member

 What a lovely campsite! The staff was friendly, the pitch spaces ample between each other. We camped with 2 children (aged 9 and 4) and it was very child friendly. The playpark in the middle of the field was a wonderful idea. We could keep an eye on the little ones from our tent. The wpool a bonus and the kids were not cold at all (apparently). The shower blocks were clean and the were two blocks. The main block had bath for the little ones. Also easy walking distance from beautiful Henley (bus stops outside campsite). Only thing is the pub do not do any food at all but we did see people picking up pizza delivery from reception. A must! 


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Swiss Farm Touring And Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swiss Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley On Thames      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


678 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement