Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swiss Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Henley On Thames > Swiss Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Swiss Farm Touring And Camping
Marlow Road
Henley On Thames
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01491 573419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Feb 14th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 213 Reviews
                9/10 from 213 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Funky finn 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely lovely campsite! It must be the cleanest and best kept campsite we have ever visited! The location is fantastic - 5 minutes walk from Henley town and 5 minutes walk from the river. There is lots to do and see in the area - lovely walks, boating on the river and easy distance from Windsor. Henley-on-Thames is stunning with lots of bars, restaurants and shops.

The staff at the site are really friendly and helpful and the facilities are first class. We have a motorhome and the services for motorhomes are excellent. Their prices are reasonable too. Dogs are only allowed out of high season which prevents us from visiting in high season but I can understand why dogs are not allowed during the regatta and Rewind as it does get very busy, particularly in town and along the river. We have stayed here 3 times now and will return again next year! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cozycampers 2 reviews from this member

 Facilities and the attention to detail at this site are second to none! We've stayed at many sites before and this has to be the best. Swiss farm runs like clockwork, everything you ever need and more when camping at a family run site. Heated outdoor pool, cafe with bar, secure play areas for children, fishing lake and lovely hedged/partial wooded pitches and very very clean facilities with piped Heart radio to keep you company while scrubbing the pots or having your morning shower. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cmcpne 5 reviews from this member

 Just home from a short camping trip to this excellent site. We have a tent and the site we pitched on was a good size, clean and in a good spot. The caravans on the site all seemed to be on good pitches too and the whole place is spotlessly clean and very well maintained.

Any gripes? ----Well we would have preferred a higher amperage for our electric hook up as 6amp is very low these days with campers taking everything bar the kitchen sink with them. The only other improvement could be for basins to be put in with the showers to save you having to go to clean your teeth at one place then shower at another but this is only a tiny complaint.

You can walk into Henley in less than 5 minutes and lots of great places to visit really are within very easy travelling distance. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Foley799 16 reviews from this member

 We went there for the third time this August - just as good as before, a great site.

The washblocks were much busier than ever before, but it was August, so as expected I suppose. As long as you got in there before 8am, no probs. At 9 they were very smelly, gents and ladies, so early is essential.

The fishing was poor compared with previous visits, but this was due without doubt to the numbers of hopeless hamfisted beginners there, using heavy lines and huge hooks, so if you want to go in school holiday time, don't go there for the fishing!

One small (but important to me) point - there's too much ignoring of the 'no dogs rule'. There were quite a few there, being walked very early in the mornings, doing their business of course, and although the owners cleared up (as much as you can clear up after a dog!) it's not nice if you are a bit anti-dog, as I admit I am.

What the owners did with them after 8ish I don't know but they were well out of view.

But overall, still a great site, and we'll go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Topshelf 13 reviews from this member

 Great site, very clean, I liked the fact they put J cloths to wipe the sinks down when you have finished, small point but good detail, staff are fantastic. Short walk into Henley nice walk, close for Lego Land, and we got the train to London from a local station and had a great day out there with the kids. Large play area is still out of action but there is a note explaining this and why, hopefully they will re vamp it for next season 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Williemakit 1 review from this member

 We've just returned from 2 scorching weeks at Swiss Farm. The weather was fantastic, but only a part of the overall experience. Having spent a number of holidays under canvas in the UK, and only staying at 8-10 star campsites, we feel entitled to judge Swiss Farm on its comparative merits.

Quite simply, Swiss Farm is head and shoulders above the rest! It helps that Henley-on-Thames is a beatuful town, with excellent quality shops, bars and restaurants, and the beautiful river Thames flowing through it. Even better, is that the town is easily accessed via a short walk from the campsite along a safe pavement.

But the campsite is the most important part of any 2 week stay. At Swiss Farm, the basic requirements for comfortable camping are exceptionally well catered for. Not having children with us, we chose to occupy a site away from the main camping field and were rewarded by having one of the many extremely large pitches, Water and electrics were all conveniently close.

The toilet facilities are immaculate, especially when the campers choose to follow the helpful instructions to use the mops and J-cloths provided to tidy up the shower and sink areas after use. A simple courtesy to other campers, but not followed by all. Thankfully, the regularity of cleaning duties by the staff meant that standards were kept high. Top marks!

The fishing lake provided sport of the highest order in beautiful settings. The size and quality of the fish I caught, is testament to the understanding and husbandry of this fragile environment. Even though I'm not a birdwatcher, I could not help but notice the number of different species on daily show, from red kites to herons and kingfishers.

A lovely swimming pool, with a top notch children's play area next to the Cafe, means that parents can relax and watch their kids in safety and comfort, with the friendly bar-staff ever attendant, and not simply 'Passengers'.

In summary however, the key to the success of Swiss Farm is simply its staff. They set their own personal standards at the highest possible levels, and never relent. Cheerful, helpful and always willing to go the extra mile (despite the daily challenges set by the odd thoughtless camper), they are a credit to Joseph the owner. From reception to litter collection (and I have NEVER seen bin-areas so immaculate!), they are unfailingly dilligent in their endeavour to ensure that everybody has the best experience possible. They certainly delivered for us, and more!

I've probably let the cat out of the bag here, and won't be able to get a space next year, but what the hell, they deserve it! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Richard19540 24 reviews from this member

 The plusses: First rate site. All facilities top notch. A bit pricey at 23 a night but well worth it for a site of this quality. Showers are a good size and free with plenty of hot water. (Can we please stop this pathetic carping about push buttons in showers. They wouldn't be necessary if idiots didn't leave them running). Henley town centre about 15min walk away. Lovely riverside walks. Good pubs. Good restaurants. Now for the minuses - simply none. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Minimoos 24 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location a short walk into amazing henley and all it's pubs shops restaurants and riverside walks. The pitches are on a hill to max space, it was half full when we were there so easy to pitch but I can imagine it may be a little tricky? The facilities were great very clean and modern. What stood out was the beautiful planting around the site and the washup area - lovely touch!

There was a good new looking bar/cafe which we didn't use, the cafe sold paninis but it felt like they could do with selling more substantial food with the size and look of the place -would have happily tried a meal if they did this, also saw lots of pizza delivery vans and can understand why cafe don't cash in?! The pool was a little cold even on a very hot day apparently it is usually warmer though, an outdoor pool in a uk campsite is a real coup though :) Great dog walking fields backing on to site - dogs only allowed off peak season which is a little odd (we have both so this rules us out for the rest of the summer ). We stayed at the top of the site, which I liked- backed onto open fields where you could see pigs and piglets and lots of rabbits frolicking about. Also the marlow road is busy, didn't hear much at all but the further back the better I am sure!

A great campsite, great town will return. Off peak with dog! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Foley799 16 reviews from this member

 Our second visit here, and it is still one of the best, and much cheaper than most of this sort of quality.

The welcome is fine, all done very efficiently. I don't agree that they aren't friendly. It's true that staff don't greet you every time they see you as if you're a long-lost relative (like on some sites) but that's how it should be - you always get a smile and a hello, nothing over-the-top.

The pitch was excellent, almost perfectly level with smooth gravel. Wherever you are, you are close to water, a grey water waste point and a chemical disposal point. All the roads are well maintained, no holes. All the hedges and trees are kept lovely. The bird life is extraordinary here, various birds of prey all no doubt there because of the ten million rabbits you can see every day at 6am. The bright green wild parakeets are fantastic to watch.

The toilet/shower blocks are immaculate, as good as any I've experienced. Some reviews have complained about cold showers. Go early when there's no queue and they are fine. Go at 9. 30am and the hot water has been used up. No problem then.

The lake is lovely, wildlife aplenty. Carp over 20 lb that take some catching but they are there. I caught a 14 and a 10.

Downsides. Only little ones. The bar is a bit gloomy, with expensive drinks and iffy beer, but there's a lot of pubs a short walk away, so no problem.

They have a newish mower that's got to be the loudest mower in the world. It howls at incredible decibels, so if your area is being mown, you need to go out for a while or you'd go deaf.

Playground and pool not tested.

We'll be going back there - one of the very few sites we'd revisit. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Joannacampervan 7 reviews from this member

 Just back from a stay in glorious sunshine at Swiss Camp. Their camping field which contained adventure playground was out of bounds as field was still really boggy - I can imagine just how bad it must have been at it's worst a couple of months ago.

Facilities are impeccable - nicest/largest toilet/shower blocks. Spotless, spacious and plenty big enough for this time in the season. Cafe is great (fully stocked bar, but not open in the evening. Not sure why not, surely that would be a great income on chilly nights?!)

I signed up for 2 days wireless for 5 (not free as per listing) so I could get some work done in the evenings - unfortunately, I had limited connectivity in the evening, not sure whether this was down to number of people connected, or poor signal strength.

Location was fantastic - so nice to be able to wander into Henley - trip on a boat, feed the ducks, (and 12 ducklings!) and plenty to do close-by. Noise from adjacent road made us feel not quite middle-of-nowhere, although site was really quiet at night.

Individual spots offer little privacy, more of a communal feel to the different areas. Water points / electric points (even TV points if you're into that kind of camping). This place is definitely more of a 5-star hotel type of camping, than your average back-country camping. There were a number of enormous winnabagos/RVs that looked quite imposing on some of the pitches - gave our little VW a bit of an inferiority complex.

We're only an hour away from this site, and children have already begged us to go again for a weekend sometime soon. Fingers crossed the field can be drained, and of course, can't wait to try the swimming pool. Loved it, and will be back again. 


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Swiss Farm Touring And Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swiss Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley On Thames      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1784 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement