Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swiss Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Henley On Thames > Swiss Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Swiss Farm Touring And Camping
Marlow Road
Henley On Thames
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01491 573419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Feb 14th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 213 Reviews
                9/10 from 213 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woolavy 1 review from this member

 We visited this site last summer, and what a brilliant site it is. Well located, relatively inexpensive and in a beautiful area of the country.

The campsite as a whole is well spaced, clean and very welcoming.

The staff were friendly and went out of their way a couple of times due to a mix up on my wife's part.

We arrived mid afternoon, and were told to pitch up in a certain area, well the missus directed us to an area, a lovely pitch away from the main camping field.It was the wrong one as a short while later a couple arrived in a motor home. On speaking to the man in charge of the site, he said we could stay and they moved the campervan to a better standing. Nice.

The play area was decent enough and our 2 kids soon found 'friends' to play with and we never worried too much about them.

The toilet areas were immaculate, there always seemed to be a cleaner working and the water was always hot 24hrs a day. Possibly one of the best set of toilet/shower/cleaning areas we have visited. Top marks.

We fished on the pond on site, it was inexpensive, but was not easy to catch the fish, by all accounts there are not that many in there and you need to be 'experienced' in trying for that elusive carp.My wife caught her PB though, which was nice. There was also a pretty friendly mink down there as well.Which worried my daughter.Lol

The bar area was well set, pool table, darts and slots were there, and ice-creams, crisps, choccy and other similar items. It is located by the very clean, but simple pool, so you can chill in the garden and keep watch on the younger family members in there.

There is no 'club' and definitely not a late-night type site

The campsite is a couple of minutes walk from the town of Henley, which has pubs, bars, restaurants and a couple of supermarkets, which is convienient. The Thames path provides idyllic walks in the evenings.

We used the site as a base to visit London(drove to Ealing and caught the tube into the city.Very cheap parking/travel)and Reading and the general area nearby, we even took a trip to Bury Hill fisheries one day, even the M25 was on a good day then.

Back to the site, the scenery is awesome, we saw red kites(which are not too commmon in the uk) and red squirrals and also the site had an abundance af parakeets, which was novel, but common-ish in the South-East.

The warden did come round at night as mentioned earlier, but was not a problem and we understand why he does.

The site could also possibly think about stocking a few more fish into the pond, even if just to amuse the kids more. Maybe stock some floats/weights etc in the shop wouldn't go amiss.I had to find a tackle shop in Henley for supplies.

Oh.The Wifi on site was cheap for a week, and worked well. I had to sort stuff for hobbies, get sat nav details and use the web to book days out in London etc

Overall I would give the site 8/10 and we will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr+mrs whitters 2 reviews from this member

 Site I thought was good value for money, easy walk into Henley, would perhaps choose a serviced pitch next time as they seems bigger and in better positions.

We were going to go with friends but were put off by the constant referring to no groups on the web, however the site was full of families and friends pitching together to make groups and not particularly quiet ones either. So I would say if you do want peace and quiet this is not the site for you.

Also lack of information given on arrival, no site map etc, that said we would use this site again 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chocca94 6 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site Swiss Farm is. Ok it is a big site but because of the enclosed area's you pitch in it feels smaller. The toilet block and facilities are superb. Plenty of toilets and showers and even a bathroom if you fancy a soak.

There is a bar & pool on site which we didn't use but unlike other sites with bar's this one didn't make any noise or cause disturbance.

We visited Henley for the Trad Boat Rally which you walked out of the campsite gate and crossed the road straight into the event, simply could not be better positioned.

Only 10 minutes walk into Henley which is lovely. All in all a fantastic site which we can't wait to return to - beats the Caravan Club site up the road hands down. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: We need a trailer 2 reviews from this member

 Well we have been twice this year after looking for something away from the sea for first time in 8 years camping with kids. Vote is from whole family that this is our favourite site. Each for a different reason but I would say in the end its just about the right size, in a good place, with reasonable facilities, not regimented (at least for tent pitches) and friendly staff. Just feels right. I leave others to describe the site. I will just mention some things you can do.

London - You can park for 2.80 all day at Twyford station after 10am which is about 5 miles from Henley. Main car park is down lane and around the end of the annex carpark into main one by the rail line. Took us a while to find. We got an off peak (arrive in London after 10am), day ticket return to Paddinigton with all zone tube trains and buses in London for 2 adults, 2 x 15 year olds and 1 x 10 year old for 32. Thats a good deal in my book. Twyford is on main line to Reading so there are lots of trains. You can get on an express (30 mins) but some you are not allowed on at peak times. Regular train is 45 mins Twyford to Paddington. Henley station is on a spur so not so many direct trains.

Reading - Not the most exciting place but the Oracle complex and surrounding area has enough retail and eating facilities for anybody unless you really need Oxford Street or Regent Street.

Legoland - As mentioned, not far away. Bit pricey though

Thorpe Park - With Tesco vouchers this is a real good value day out. Typical theme park. Big enough rides for the big uns and plenty for the little uns. Biggest and wettest log flume I ever saw. There is even an area for spectators to get well and truly soaked.

Henley - We liked Henley. Sit by the river and watch the world, wedding parties and the well-to-do go by. Sit outside Starbucks in the High Street with a coffee and watch the cars at the lights. Everything upto the most expensive cars you can think of. Fun to see who is driving. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Patientpyeman 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely cracking site. Very Friendly welcome, with plenty of knowledge of the local area. We stayed here as a base for a local football tournament. WE stayed in the field near the play area, 4 tents in our group and booking not a problem. Ver clean hot showers all the time. Nice little bar area with a games room attached for the children / adults. Lovely clean swimming pool too. Plenty of space in the field we were in, we took over 1 corner, very level too. All the boys loved it. Beautiful area with some lovely walks 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fairweather10 3 reviews from this member

 Have stayed here twice and due again this summer.

Lovely site with great facilities. Outdoor swimming pool, children's playground, bar, hot showers and clean toilets.

Very quiet site with no road noise, 11 pm curfew, observed on our first stay. Hope they keep enforcing this rule because we have small children.

Walking distance to Henley, shops and restaurants.

10 Deposit for gate key, but not an issue because there for our security, staff always helpful.

Not used the fishing lake, but hope to on the next visit.

If ever we ask the children where they would like to camp, this is their first choice.

Combination of pitches, hedged with electricity, or two meadows with NEHU. Have stayed on both, equally as good.

Usual wait for showers at V busy periods, but this never bothers us, on holiday so not watching the clock.

Pot wash always left clean & tidy, water hot.

Very happy to keep returning if site rules maintained. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purple72 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely holiday at Swiss Farm. We have done a lot of camping in the past and this is the best one so far in terms of cleanliness, pitches, provision of facilities etc.

We were with friends who have not camped before and we all agree that we will return here next year for a holiday!

The site is only a 10 minute walk from the centre of Henley, which is a very pretty town with good amenities. There are also other lovely places to see in the surrounding area.

The site has a lovely feel to it, with lots of families staying plus couples too. There was no loud noise after 10pm which is great when you have small children. We also liked the fact that tents, caravans etc are all mixed in together. We had a well maintained pitch with an electrical hook up which was great.

The facilities were very clean and in good working order and there was even a bath which we used for the children! There are 2 big washing machines and 2 tumble dryers which were easy to use. Plus clean washing up facilities although sometimes there was a lack of hot water.

The pub was nice and we liked the fact there was a pool table for older children to use. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful.The kids loved the little adventure playground. We didn't use the pool this year but we will next year!

It is in a very good position to visit different places. We went to Legoland which is only 30 mins away.

I would recommend this site for a reasonably priced, stress free holiday! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DazAndCaz 1 review from this member

 This was our first time camping (2 adults & 3yr old boy). We went with some friends (2 adults & 9yr old boy) who recommended the site and were staying for 2 nights. We were using a borrowed 4-man dome tent, which was 'cosy' but adequate for the 3 of us.

We weren't really sure what to expect and were prepared to rough it a bit, but the site was excellent! We arrived around 5pm on the Friday and were quickly directed to Field 1 where our friends had already pitched their tent.

The field is open and you can pitch wherever you like. We were at the top of the field near the shower/toilet block. Although the field is sloping, it didn't affect the tent or our chairs. The only thing that needed levelling was the stove. The slope does, however, have an effect on out-of-shape 40-yr-olds playing football with the kids (tip - make the kids go at the lower end)!

By the Saturday afternoon, the field was fully-occupied (according to the warden we chatted to in the evening) but there was still tons of space for everyone.

The kids enjoyed the small play area and the outdoor swimming pool, although the pool was a bit chilly for our 3yr old. The bit that our son really enjoyed was having so much space to run around in. We always felt that he was safe and everyone we spoke to seemed very friendly.

The fishing lake was very good. It is small enough to walk around easily but large enough so that you can use a variety of methods. There are plenty of fish too, with a mixture of small stuff and larger carp and all the usual methods should work.

Henley is a 10-minute walk. It has a Waitrose and Sainsburys Local for any provisions you may need and a large Wetherspoons if you fancy a good-value pub meal. There are also plenty of small boutique/gift shops. You can take a walk (as long or short as you like) by the river and there is a great play area right on the quayside.

The site is quiet and clean. The shower blocks are excellent and have plenty of washing-up sinks also. The rules state 'strictly no radios', but in reality they are happy for you to have a radio on quietly that you can only hear in your own pitch.

The only downside was the buzzing/whining noise that came from the neighbouring (small) water-treatment plant. This was very audible at night and can take a while to get used to, but by the second night we had 'zoned-out' the noise.

All-in-all this is a great family site. Quiet, clean, safe and friendly. We have decided that we love camping and will definitely be visiting Swiss Farm again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Duechristmas 4 reviews from this member

 Plusses first: the site was spotlessly clean, quiet at night, the staff were visible and friendly, the toilet/shower block was even cleaned at midnight ready for the early risers the next morning.

Even though we were there on a weekend in July the field felt spacious - there is a bit of a slope but it wasn't uncomfortable.

The pigs were fun to pet and bunny spotting was good too.

The kids enjoyed the novelty of an outdoor pool.

Henley is on the doorstep for a wander round - a comfortable walk even for little legs (kids were 2,6,7,9,9)

Negatives: the field is RIGHT next to a sewage works, there were occasional 'wafts'. The alarm at the sewage works went off all night both nights, apparently this has never happened before and can't be helped but it seriously marred the visit.

The stream seemed to be the run off from the sewage works, more of a muddy mess than a babbling brook!

The nightly visit by the warden was a bit odd - though I appreciate it was to make sure the noise was kept down for the benefit of all (whilst the music from an event on the Thames and the alarm were blaring out!)

The site just felt a bit soulless - so clean and nothing really wrong, but nothing magical either. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krazykamper 37 reviews from this member

 We used this campsite as a base to visit Legoland. We arrived the day after the Regatta ended and were warned prior to our arrival that the site may not be up to its usual standard. We were pleasantly surprised. We were meeting up with friends and were checked in quickly and given a big pitch with our friends next to us. The toilet block was virtually beside us and seemed to be new and was always clean as was the shower block.

We did use the outdoor swimming pool once which again was well maintained. It was a little on the chilly side (kids never notice this do they!) but once you are in and swimming its fine.

The lovely town of Henley on Thames was only a five minute walk away with plenty pubs and places to eat. We had a nice stroll down on the banks of the Thames and had lunch at the 'Angel' which was right on the water.

During our stay we were lucky enough to have nice sunny warm weather which is always a bonus. We would definitely like to return here some time. 


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Swiss Farm Touring And Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swiss Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley On Thames      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1582 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement