Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swiss Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Henley On Thames > Swiss Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Swiss Farm Touring And Camping
Marlow Road
Henley On Thames
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01491 573419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Feb 14th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 213 Reviews
                9/10 from 213 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suejohnson 1 review from this member

 My husband and I stayed at the Swiss Farm site at the end of May.

The staff were fantastic, very helpful and friendly.

The site itself was very quiet and peaceful, we really enjoyed relaxing and watching the rabbits, kites and hot air balloons.

Our plot had plenty of room but it was a sloping pitch which would have made putting an awning up quite difficult.

The washing and drying facilities were very reasonably priced and the shower block was clean and the showers were hot although could have been a bit more powerful.

The walk into Henley is very pleasant and the town itself is lovely.

The biggest drawback for me was the fact that there was no TV reception but this certainly wouldn't stop us going back again. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HCookie 1 review from this member

 Had a great time over the May bank holiday camping at Swiss Farm. Although the temperatures where pretty chilly we all had a great time.

The toilet and shower blocks were clean (pretty difficult to achieve considering the mud!) and the pitches were in good condition.

The pool wasn't open yet so had no chance to try it out but we did use the playground. This could do with expanding as the kids got a bit bored after a while. Perhaps more swings and a climbing net could help.

Henley is a 5 minute walk away with Shops, restaurants and entertainment on your door step. We had a great roast dinner in the Dog and Badger on the road to Marlow on Sunday as well.

This is our second visit to this site and would definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Draytond 1 review from this member

 A great place to camp.

We went to Swiss Farm for the Bank Holiday weekend and had a fantastic time. We camped in field 1 which has a children's play area in the middle which was perfect both for distracting the kids when we were putting up the tent and for meeting other children during the stay while still in our site.

The toilet blocks are basic but clean and warm and the bar is small, basic and welcoming.

The real attraction for this campsite are the beautiful green fields, the five minute walk into Henley on Thames and the gorgeous grounds (including some very friendly pigs). Expect lots of ducks and geese from the fishing pond which can wake you up if you camp too close as well as rabbits running across the field. Does have a swimming pool but was closed due to the cold weather.

Very limited shop on site but has the basics with Henley being so close. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff and a highly recommended site. We've been before and we will be going again. If you are coming to the area, give it a go, you won't be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Butters 2 reviews from this member

 Overall a lovely site. The pitches are a good size and the facilities were good. There is a nice bar on site and a pool (we didn't use), a lake and a good (safe and well maintained) playground for the kids.

It is a well established site, and the hedgerows provide plenty of privacy. Particularly enjoyed watching the red kites soaring overhead.

I cannot fault the site in any way, and had a lovely warm welcome.

It is in an ideal position within a 10 minute walk into Henley. I will be recommending this site to fellow campers.

Washing facilities were nice and clean, and the showers were hot. The tent field looked really nice, well drained and spacious. (we had a hook up pitch).

Henley is worth a visit and worth walking along the Thames both ways. Would definitely use this site again, and is fairly priced.

A very well maintained site, and the owners do an excellent job of keeping it tidy, welcoming and a pleasure to stay on. Great for families & couples. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DianeW 1 review from this member

 We had a marvellous stay at this beautiful peaceful and very clean campsite. Gorgeous views of rolling countryside.

Very good sized pitches, the fully serviced pitches were marvellous. Lovely sightseeing from site, short walk to Henley On Thames, which is beautiful, with lots of places to eat. Windsor is a beautiful place to visit and within close distance.

The showers and toilets were very clean and spacious. We saw them cleaned regularly. The only improvement required here is that the showers could have been more powerful.

Our welcome from the couple in reception and the help provided during our stay was very friendly, and helpful. Look forward to a return visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maddy101 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weeks break during the Easter Holidays. The lay out of the site is great and facilities always clean and tidy. Plenty of hot water and modern showers / facilities.

There is some traffic noise but its not intrusive (certainly not as bad as at the Caravan Club site just up the road) as it is quite well set back from this road.

Location is fantastic, short cycle or walk into the lovely town of Henley on Thames with plenty of things to do and places to eat. Great selection of take aways for a night off cooking!

Would certainly return 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Farleys 1 review from this member

 This site is a great family owned site in an excellent location just a short walk to Henley town centre. We have stayed here for 3 weekends now and every time, the staff are really helpful and friendly.

The bar area is nice and clean, if there is one down side, children need to leave by 10pm, which I agree with when they are running around, but being a late family, we generally do not get to the bar before 9pm and then only have an hour in there - even though our child is happy to sit quietly with his Nintendo!

The facilities are spacious and clean, always hot water available.

Looking forward to coming back in June when the pool will be open, but it looks nice and clean. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

 Loved this site clean with friendly staff and great facilities

It is literally a 5 -10 minute walk from the town centre, which is lovely. Lots of coffee shops, eating places, pubs, parks and riverside walks. A good waitrose 5 mins from site.

Nice friendly staff. A beautiful pool which wasn't open until May. A bar and clean pleasant facilities.

The pitches were excellent size, hardstanding and pea gravel. It was nice and quiet even though there's a tent field for rallies, which were no trouble when we were there.

Lovely fishing lake and adventure playground

Would definitely recommend

The only problem for us is dogs are only accepted in low season, if this changed, with a pool for the children, we would be regular visitors. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 Site is located one mile outside the delightful Henley on Thames and ½ mile from the public access to the River Thames footpath. Very large well maintained site with plenty of screening/privacy hedges between the large pitches.

The site is run on commercial basis (hence names – Swiss Farm International!) resulting in an impersonal service at reception with minimum/no advice on location and facilities. Bar on site and outdoor pool opening during main season.

Mixture of grass pitches, hard standings and fully serviced super-pitches. Noisy site with constant background drown from the busy Marlow Road and air traffic to Heathrow Airport.

Plus the site appears to be used as semi residential on some of the touring pitches with early morning commuters setting off to work in cars at 6 am!

Clean and modern toilet/facilities block/s. Good Wi-Fi access on site, but best pay for 1 hr @ £ 1. 00 as the time clock starts when logging on (complete waste of time for 12 or 48 hour access. Dog’s only allowed at low season - £ 2. 00/dog/night.

Red Kite’s abundant in the area and adjoining field providing magnificent flight displays.

Overall this is a good site and great location for touring this area of Thames but for my money a tad too commercial and impersonal. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crossfire 18 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week in the summer holidays. We dropped on that it was the rewind festival weekend. The site was fairly full when we arrived for this but we had a large enough plot for our six man Sun-camp tent. The toilets and showers were clean and very modern. The ones nearer the reception the better of the 2. The shop and bar were ideal if you require this sort of thing. We used the swimming pool twice. What an experience outside in England.

Used the site as a base for a visit to legoland it was only 1/2 an hour way and allowed us to stay there until it closed at 8pm because we didn't have far to travel back.

There was an issue with noise from the rewind festival. People in the next tent had been and gained some extra people who decided to argue at 1 in the morning. I tried to find the warden but to no avail. So I had to sort myself which eventually worked. I reported this to the site and the offenders were asked to leave that day. As compensation I was given a days stay back which I used to leave a deposit for next year.

The site has a nice fishing lake you can walk round and all the facilities required for any type of camper.

There is a local shop a ten minute walk away and a large Tesco through Henley itself if you have a car. The Weather-spoon pub in Henley it self is ideal if you want a break from cooking in the tent.

Really enjoyed the week here and have booked for next year for our Olympic stay. 


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Swiss Farm Touring And Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swiss Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley On Thames      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1496 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement