Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swiss Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Henley On Thames > Swiss Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Swiss Farm Touring And Camping
Marlow Road
Henley On Thames
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01491 573419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Feb 14th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 213 Reviews
                9/10 from 213 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kayleya 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a couple of nights midweek in May in a large american rv.

The staff were all professional and helpful, and once they saw the size of our camper there was no complaints about it, they simply changed the pitch they had planned to put us on. The pitch itself was good, if on a slight slope.

The grounds are well maintained, staff were out every day, tidying the grass, sweeping gravel and leaves etc.

The onsite bar is sensibly priced, the pool tables also - though I'd recommend paying the extra 50p for the more expensive table if you want to play properly - the posts and wall get in the way on the other one!)

The weather wasn't quite warm enough to use the pool, though we had a look at the area, and again is was all in a well maintained and clean condition.

All in all a highly recommended site.

We will definitely be visiting again! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: P54jes 12 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed a few days at this site over the hot August bank holiday  weekend.
We were initially disappointed with our pitch, as it was one of the smallest, on a slope, with trees either side. We just about managed to fit our caravan, small porch awning and car on to it, with very little room for a table and chairs.
Trying to reverse the caravan uphill onto the pitch, on soft ground and without a 4 x 4 vehicle was not easy, and if the pitch opposite us had been occupied, I don't think we would have had room to manage it.
The tent field was huge and also on a slight slope towards the top end. The hook-ups were in the bottom corner of the field, which was quite flat. You could pitch where you wanted, but It appeared that people had pitched by the hook-ups but weren't using them, so I don't know how you could be guaranteed an electric pitch, even if you had booked one.
The shower block near the tent field suffered from a lack of hot water at peak times, and when someone turned on their tap to wash up, my tap stopped running! None of the sinks in either of the blocks had plugs, which was also a nuisance. However, I enjoyed a good, hot shower most mornings, by waiting til after the morning rush!
The first evening we suffered from a group of men shouting and swearing in to the early hours, but the management made them leave the site that morning, which was a welcome relief!
The children made good use of the nice outdoor pool, hubby enjoyed fishing at the lake, and we all enjoyed the red kites flying over head. The walk into Henley was a pleasant one, and we had a brilliant one hour cruise up the Thames on a large river boat, which I would highly recommend. It cost 5 pounds for children and six pounds fifty for adults, which we felt was excellent value.
It was a shame the reception only sold camping supplies and not basic food supplies. We found Waitrose in the town the most convenient.
All in all, a pleasant site, but we would only return if guaranteed a decent pitch. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EC1967 1 review from this member

 Visited for the weekend with family (2 adults and 2 children) A quiet, pleasant, clean and well organised site if a little basic in places. The facilities were clean but we had to queue on occasion to use the showers. Security felt good and we were aware of a warden at night which was reassuring. Would visit again, this would be a lovely site in the good weather as drainage was poor in some places.  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katybean 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a fabulous 3 night stay at Swiss Farm.  We were put in field one, and could basically put our tent where we liked - it was on a slope, but only slight!
 
The toilet block was clean, as was the wash up area.  We enjoyed lovely hot weather, so made good use of the pool (which was initially freezing, but you get used to it!) and the great loungers around it. 
 
The bar was reasonably priced, and you can freeze your freezer blocks in reception for 20p each - warning though, ours were stolen by some naughty campers!
 
It's about a 10 minute walk into the town centre, where there are some nice shops and plenty of restaurants - a great Lloyds Wetherspoons place! There is a Waitrose in the town centre, or Tescos is a short drive away.
 
We'll definitely be returning, we found other campers very friendly (I think a review further down said they weren't). Would just say though for anyone going now, take some warm clothes for the night time as it was freezing! We thought this was not normal for August, and other campers thought the same. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happymama 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first time camping (3 mums with 7 children between us) and I have to say that we will definitely be returning. 
We were lucky to have great weather. The swimming pool was great, very clean and well looked after, and the bar next to the pool served very cheap ice-creams (magnums were a pound!).
We were pitched in Field 2 right near the drinking water tap and opposite the children's play area.  There were wild rabbits roaming the field and a fishing lake behind us with geese and ducks roaming.
The toilet/shower blocks were excellent and the washing up area was very clean.  There was a cleaner in the area each day.
We found the campsite to be well run, child friendly and very clean.  Can't wait to go back.  loved the whole camping experience. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gemma1675 46 reviews from this member

 A good site.

We were in the section of the park where the rows were separated by hedges which gave a nice secluded feel to it. The loos were clean, with nice big shower cubicles with hot water right from the first touch of the button. The washing up sinks were not so lucky with the hot water though. The bar was nice & the swimming pool was very popular.

Excellent location, a pleasant, easy walk into Henley and onto the Thames Path. Our visit coincided with the Henley festival, so we got to watch the impressive firework displays each evening from the site.

We will definitely come back here. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 050566 38 reviews from this member

 A nice, well run site, but the pitch we were on was on a slope. Not good. Facilities were good.

Club house good, however, even though advising us that they were going to open the pool, they didn't. Some very disappointed children.

Weather was awful, but that is part of camping!

Close to Henley, had a lovely day in the town and along the river.

To be honest, it was not my favourite site, pleasant, but probably would not go back. The layout was not as expected and hardly anyone spoke. Sorry Henley, but we were disappointed with our visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andypledge 3 reviews from this member

 There were four familys in our group alltogether, We all arrived on a Friday afternoon the park wasnt full , We had all booked electric hook up points in field 1. We got to field 1 and there wasnt enough space for us all close enough to the points due to tents that were not paying for electric using the hook -up area , This was sorted out in the end and we could pitch our tents together. On the Fridy night we were told to keep any music off and talking down to whispers by the security patrol which we thought was a fair but firm request. However on the Saturday night they did not say anything to the partygoers on the other side of the field that went on till 2am. COME ON SWISS FARM .Other than that we had a good time dodging the rain. Warning - field 1 floods badly when the heavy rain comes down so dont forget your wellies campers. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Mandylou14 1 review from this member

 Fab site, great pool, cold but clean cost 75p per child adult 1.50. Clean toilets/showers in the morning, but could do with extra cleaning when the site is extra busy. No shop for provisions except camping bits and pieces but you can easily walk into town. Will be back.  


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HelenD 3 reviews from this member

 Although early in the season Swiss Farm was pretty busy but we had a great stay in Field 1. With the Aspen we need a big pitch and Swiss Farm basically allowed us to pick our pitch on the fence line where the EHU points are. Reception was very efficient. Lots of family / friends groups but the noise rule was generally observed after 10pm (hi to Surrey Wings and the Happy Wanderers CCC).
Toilets and showers were clean with plenty of hot water but a bit of a walk if you are over the far side of the field. Washing up area was great and the wisteria over the trellis looked lovely.
Good fishing reported on the lake and good dog walking areas off the field. Plenty of room for the kids to play including the adventure play park. The whole site was clean and Eric was around daily to empty bins. Outdoor pool was not open (opens 1st June) but looked nice and inexpensive. Reasonable prices in the bar with and sport on TV and two pool tables. Small shop in reception for camping essentials but not groceries.
Car entry is by a swipe card so remember to give it back when you leave to get your £10 deposit back. Shops in Henley are close by with a large Tesco on the Reading road. Boat hire on the Thames seemed popular and lots of pubs and eateries in town. Imagine the site would get very busy for Henley Regatta as the official fields are across the road.
Booking strongly advised to get EHU and good pitches. Overall a very nice site and we'll be back. 


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Swiss Farm Touring And Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swiss Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley On Thames      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2234 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement