Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swiss Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Henley On Thames > Swiss Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Swiss Farm Touring And Camping
Marlow Road
Henley On Thames
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01491 573419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Feb 14th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 211 Reviews
                9/10 from 211 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Flower Girl 6 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely weekend at Swiss Farm, in the Spring sunshine. The new coffee shop is very good and as we sat outside enjoying our cappuccinos, we watched red kites circling above us. The site is an easy 10 minute walk into Henley - which is quite delightful, and has a mouthwatering array of pubs, restaurants and bistros. I'm sure we'll be back. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JamesLyndaStewart 12 reviews from this member

 Visited here last weekend, and will definitely be back. Toilet/shower blocks were fantastic, there is even a half-bath if you wish. The park was lovely and quiet, no rowdies. There's a lovely wee fishing lake, and some pigs/cows/sheep that loved being petted. We stayed later on Sunday, and they didn't charge us to laze around in the amazing sunshine. Henley is worth a visit, it's very quaint and quintessentially English. Everyone was very friendly! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chris Hume 17 reviews from this member

 Another excellent site which we found. Only a short distance from the beautiful Henley on thames. All facilities were excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. All clean and tidy. My only complaint is that when you have a shower, the part you stand in to get dry does tend to get very wet, so when you leave the shower this water gets walked out the cubicle and makes the floor wet. I was afraid I was going to slip. Pipe music in the toilet block. As we are only 1hr 30mins drive away from here I'm sure we will be back for a wk end. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Basichendo 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed here Aug BH 2013. Found it in Cool Camping for Kids book and then positive reviews on here.

We stayed here in order to have good access to LegoLand, but I also knew Henley on Thames is a lovely place so that was a bonus.

Location

Henley is indeed beautiful and a 10 minute walk on a footpath has you in the town. There's multiple shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants to chose from. We took a boat out for an hour which the kids loved. LegoLand is about 30 minutes away and there are a few National Trust places nearby too.

Facilities

Good shower, toilet, washing up facilities. There's WiFi but you pay unless you're in the bar. The outdoor swimming pool is heated and was fine, nominal fee required. There's a fishing lake and a small child's play area, which I think could be improved. We went with 2 boys (2. 5 & 4. 5) and they didn't rate it! There's a small shop for essentials and a bar. No cafe/restaurant though.

Layout

Quite dull. Several roads with units either side in very uniform fashion. When I booked I asked for a tent pitch with EHU not under a tree. I got that but we then discovered there were 2 camping fields (some with EHU) mainly for tents. We were a lone tent in a sea of caravans! We also had quite a small pitch and were grateful we brought our smaller tent! In hindsight if we'd have been told about the camping fields we'd have opted for that. Field 1 is on a slope, field 2 has the children's play area in it.

VFM

We paid 74 for 3 nights in the summer BH Weekend, I think that's reasonable considering the above points. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrp156 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from swiss farm and I would just like to comment on our experience. The site was spacious and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We decided to extend our stay as we were blessed with very nice weather and loved the area around Henley. The site was quiet after about 11pm and there were regular patrols to ensure this. The toilets were cleaned regularly and the large block even had piped music We travelled to London twice which was just over an hour on the train and you have to change at Twyford. If you have a large group you can use the group save and we only paid just over 40 return for 4 adults and 4 children which included use of the underground for the day. We would not hesitate to return even though it is a journey of about five and a half hours for us from the north east. This is the first time I have left a review on the website but I felt compelled to do so after such an enjoyable holiday. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Godzilla 5 reviews from this member

 This site is on balance a good one. We stayed for the 80s rewind concert, this was the second time we had stayed at this site. It is a short walk into Henley on Thames. The facilities are kept very clean and are of a high quality. My Wife and I where disappointed as for three days out of the four the showers where cold. If you go and the site is full IE Bank Holiday's ect, you are likely to get a cold shower. Staff are friendly and helpful. The pitches are quite small, if you have a large caravan without a mover you will struggle with most pitches. We will not revisit this site because of pitch size and cold showers. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alibali65 5 reviews from this member

 A great site with level pitches only 10 mins walk from Henley and then by train only an hour into London. Staff are great and nothing is too much trouble

As said before amenities are spotless good play area for kids. We camped in field 2 and had direct line of sight to the play area from our tent. Tent field 1 is a little further away.

There is a bar but it doesn't do food which is fine as there are plenty of places to eat in Henley.

Hopefully we will be back next year as the site is so convenient for London, Legoland Windsor etc 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EveB 7 reviews from this member

 This is a great site with really super facilities. We've just had a great three day stay here and happily we were impressed with everything the site has to offer. The kids loved the little shop on site, the swimming pool and the huge amount of open space for them to safely explore. We liked the showers which were kept really clean, the large toilet block which had piped music ! and the washing facilities. All of this for a very reasonable price. We will return for another mini-break to Swiss Farm as it really does have everything you need. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elaine Hall 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home from a week spent at Swiss Farm. To be honest we were a little disappointed at the site. All the reviews we had read were that this was a friendly site, unfortunately we found that this was not the case; no one spoke to us after we had checked in.

We were not given a set spot on the tent field and struggled to find anywhere to hook up to our EHU. There were a lot of groups (some rather large ones, 6 big tents plus smaller ones, easily could have accommodated 30+ people) that planted themselves wherever with little regard to anyone else. Seems silly that there were lots of spots near the toilets that were more than suitable for 'lone' campers (as oppose to groups). The tent field would have benefited from being mowed.

The female facilities were overrun with youngsters putting on their make up and doing their hair so it was difficult to wash your hands in the morning never mind brush your teeth! The tent field is a good walk from the toilets. And I found the showers cold and not the cleanest, but this again was the fault of the campers rather than the site.

The site is great for children, but we found that many parents may need some parenting skills, not the site's fault I know, but it was awful watching children chasing the poor chickens around!

In the site's favour. It is flat and it is well situated, an easy walk into Henley. We stayed here because we wanted to visit Tom Kerridge's pub, The Hand and Flowers, in Marlow. We had a day trip into London and enjoyed a sandwich at The Angel.

There is a little hut on the approach to the site (The Patch) that sells fruit and veg very cheaply and is well worth buying (via an honesty box).

As people who come away to relax and sleep, this site was not for us, but for a family with children you would probably find it great!

This site has a fair few AA flags, but we've been to sites with less flags and have been far better. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Float54 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 5 night stay here, this was our second time and what a disappointment from the first one, first of all the pitch I had was number 129 which is right at the bottom of the main drive under a pine tree, everyone walks across your pitch to get to the camping field or fishing lake where all the kids seem to play, constant shouting and screaming, on swiss farm there are loads of rules but non of these seem to be enforced, i.e people making a noise even after midnight, groups of tents all together ( no fire gap ), even seen a open fire burning on the last night, speeding cars, permanently sited vans for people who work else where( you know who you are), and while I was there one person told me 'you should have been here last week one lad was flying a remote controlled plane and then was later going around the site shooting and air rifle', if you decide to book here make sure you phone them and not book on line or you will end up on a crap pitch, the facility's are first class and the staff overall are very good, and only a ten min walk into town, so if you want a site where there are no rules and you can just please yourself this is the one for you. 


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Swiss Farm Touring And Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swiss Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley On Thames      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1916 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement