Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swiss Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Henley On Thames > Swiss Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Swiss Farm Touring And Camping
Marlow Road
Henley On Thames
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01491 573419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Feb 14th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 213 Reviews
                9/10 from 213 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tiggyk 2 reviews from this member

 Very good value for money, excellent location about 10 walk into town. Buses also available to go other places of interest.

Shower block and toilets always clean and we were there when it was raining.

Bar clean and reasonably priced.

Swimming pool 1.50 adults 1.00 children, pleasantly warm enough to swim even in the temperatures we had in our five days there.

The biggest hanging baskets I have ever seen and pleasant gardens to have a drink in.

Will definitely go back and one to recommend 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 8191rachel 3 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed a 3 nights stay at this site, Fri, Sat & Sun. Sat was quite busy as to be expected. We stayed on the large camping field with EHU, No complaints at all ( except for the weather of course!) a 15 min walk into Henley and a 10 minute drive to Marlow. All facilities are very good, Really no complaints.

Had a quick drink in the bar which was basic but did the job, great I imagine for children as very near the (rather small) pool. A small shop in reception sold some of the essentials but there is a small shop within 5-10 mins walk of the site and Waitrose is a 15 min walk.

We were not bothered by any of the staff although the man strimming was slightly annoying but proved that the maintenance is kept on top of.

All in all worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RedDragonTattoo 2 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely weekend in June with two other families (in their own tents).

Amazingly this site is almost invisible from the road, in fact the entrance is not very prepossessing but soon opens out into a beautiful well-laid-out site.

The camping field is very large and we were allowed to pitch pretty much anywhere, one side does back onto some sort of water treatment works which was noisy (though not at all smelly), so we chose the top of the field, and despite a bit of a slope it was fine, (just turned our beds to head up the hill!) with a nice view across the site and beyond. No late-night noise even from large-ish parties (I think the 'no-groups' rule on the website is aimed more at stag/hen parties than groups of families, of which there were plenty).

Ground was smooth and well mowed. Facilities were top-notch, beautifully-kept toilet and shower blocks and washing up facilities. Nice open air pool was popular with the kids, all-day ticket for a small fee.

Henley town centre is a 10-minute (less if you are without toddlers) walk away, lots of nice places to eat and drink, Zizzi in particular was very child-friendly.

Site staff were helpful and friendly, this is a lovely site in a great location, we'd definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyT23 1 review from this member

 Spent a week at Swiss Farm and thoroughly enjoyed it. Arrived 2hrs early but we were still allowed on to a pitch within 10mins of arrival. The site has a security barrier which operates by swipe card (10 refundable deposit req'd).

We had an EHU pitch at the end of one of the rows of pitches (the number of which escapes me!). We were on a corner right next to one of the shower/toilet blocks and next to the main tent field. I was initially a little dismayed to be so close to the toilet block but there turned out to be enough space for it not to be a nuisance. We simply erected our windbreak in a way that kept us nice and secluded.

There were 2 toilet blocks on site that I could see, the smallest and newest being the one we used. The two blocks also had washing up facilities. All the facilities were kept in excellent condition even at the busiest of times. The first weekend we were there was ladies regatta week so the campsite was very busy and some queueing was needed for the facilities however this is understandable at such a busy time. One criticism would be that I believe the large camping field could do with it's own facilities.

There are excellent entertainment facilities for children and adults alike. The pitches themselves are quiet and pleasent places to soak up the sun. There is a large sports field, swimming pool and playground to keep the kids happy and out of mischief. There is a bar but I didn't venture in so can't comment on how good it is.

We only had one day of bad weather but the rain was torrential! The site appeared to drain well as it is on a hill. The hard standing pitches looked to be very well constructed also. The pitches were generally a good size but some were a little small in depth for the larger caravan and motorhome outfits. I sat and watched an unfortunate soul struggling to get his twin axle caravan parked up as the combination of little room to manoeuvre and the slight incline had a smell of burning clutch entering the air! He finished up with the back window within a foot of the hedge and his jockey wheel pretty close to the access road.

The site is positioned perfectly as it is only a very short walk into Henley where there are plenty of shops and places to eat.

We would definitely stay there again. 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vardyne 3 reviews from this member

 On the whole a good site. I stayed at the top of the site on a hardstanding. The pitch was a little bit sloped and I needed to find a couple of wooden blocks to put under the front stabilisers - but not too bad. The toilet block by the reception was very good indeed in my opinion. When I was there, there was a site wide ban on electric heating which made it a bit cold at night. There is also an electric 'ration' of 7.5kwh per day (metered on the hook up point - this was March 2009 so it may have changed) which I found was only just enough to do everything. In fact I went over some days. There is an advertised charge of 1 per kwh over this limit, but to be honest, nobody ever charged me anything when I went over.

Two little annoyances - as I was there in early season and there weren't many people on site the bar seemed to close early if there wasn't much custom. This was the same with the reception.

It's a great site for a walk into Henley on Thames though, which is only a 10 minute walk away. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LaraWares 3 reviews from this member

 We loved this site. It was fabulously located within easy walking distance of Henley. Really very well maintained, large clean toilet blocks with no queues despite the site being busy. Nice children's play area but the highlight for the kids was the outdoor swimming pool. It was a good size, heated (ish) and had lots of grass and chairs around it.
The only negative we found was that the shop sells practically nothing - literally just a few crisps, chocolate bars and caravan basics such a toilet fluid. For milk, bread, charcoal or anything else there is a shop about 5 mins walk away. The website sounds quite strict with lots of rules but the site didn't feel like that. The only rule enforcing we saw was a man walking round at 11pm reminding people it was now quiet time. All in all it was one of the best sites we have been to and we would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahgtaylor 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site. So close to Henley on Thames but very peaceful and quiet. Henley itself is a beautiful town with good restaurants - we visited Lock Fyne Seafood restaurant which we really enjoyed.
Good facilities - the toilet blocks were very clean considering it was a bank holiday. We had electric hookup for our tent in the field.
Great little pool which was quite warm for England but it was a little noisy for my taste. I love it here. We took our bikes and had a lovely 5 mile ride along the Thames to Aston and back. Idyllic. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dandnmuff 8 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from 3 night stay here in VW campervan with my son and was very impressed with the site. EHU pitch was large and we had a high hedge behind us and to one side for added privacy. Toilets and shower facilities very good, design of showers are fine, just put your clothes on the seat behind the screen in spacious cubicle and they stay perfectly dry. Bar area with nice outside seating was well maintained and swimming pool although small was also well kept and quite warm.

We were very lucky to have great weather all weekend - the play area has a few swings and a couple of climbing things for small kids, could benefit from some football goals on the field where the larger boys to get together and play a match.
Only other criticism would be that the young guys in the bar seemed understaffed - people buying drinks, ice creams or swimming pool tickets (inexpensive) all had to be served by same two chaps so a bit of a queue.
Would recommend site and will visit again - didn't notice any plane noise. Site very quiet with very little noise either after 10 pm or before 9.00 am. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Simon_haven 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a long weekend here. Doesn't look too appealing when you first drive in because you look straight up at a row of fixed mobile homes but then you drive round the corner to the campsite reception, where we were quickly dealt with. To get in & out you have to go through a barrier, for a deposit they give you a swipe card which opens it at any time, otherwise if you want to come in you have to get the people in reception to do it. If you plan on going out by car and coming back in the later evening you need to get a card or you won't be able to get back in!

The campsite is on a terraced hill and our pitch was on the very top row. Although we didn't have any real view looking down the hill due to trees / hedges, behind us was a big field and no buildings, which was very nice. The pitches on this row were very generous in size, hardstanding with elec / water / drain / TV. We were able to get full freeview on the TV hookup, which was a bonus. To give you an idea of the size, we put our 21' caravan plus a large porch awning on the hardstanding, there was still enough room for us to park our Galaxy on the grass either to the left or the right of the unit, or in front of it, without getting in anyone else's way. All the services worked fine.

The site was very peaceful, certainly in the top row you don't really hear any road noise, the only loud noises were occasional jets on the circuit into Heathrow.

The facilities were fine. There's a main shower/toilet block where the showers were separate from the toilets - ie. If you want to go to the loo and then have a shower (or vice versa) you have to physically walk outside and into another door! Not quite sure why it's done this way because inside the areas are only separated by an 8' wall, it's completely open above that. Anyway, not really a problem. The cubicles were very spacious and the showers were nice & hot and very strong, the only problem was that there was no shower curtain and so nothing to stop the water spraying all over the floor - and a lot of the seat - of the changing area. I ended up piling everything, including my shoes, on the seat behind a little wall, otherwise it would all have got soaked. Really bad design. There's another smaller shower block at one end of the top row which had just been refurbished, I gave it a try but unfortunately they insisted on having the exterior doors propped open so the place was like a fridge. Maybe they've put some door closers on by now.

There's a bar down by reception with a pool table and I think they do some food but we didn't really try it because we ate & drank in town, it looked nice enough though.

If you have young children note that there isn't much for them to do on site, at least not until the outdoor pool opens in the summer.

The campsite is easy to find and very close to the town of Henley, probably about 10-15 mins walk from the town centre. Henley is a great place, lots of pubs & restaurants, plus being right on the Thames you can walk alongside the river. We walked along the river on the same side as the campsite, which was very nice but got a bit marshy after a while. Next day we cycled into town, crossed over the bridge and headed along the towpath, which is a very good bike ride and also very popular.

We had a really relaxing stay, the campsite & town had everything we wanted and I've already booked us in for another visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nlr020474 9 reviews from this member

 This site is in a great location well situated for walking into Henley. There are plenty of shops, restaurants and bars and the town is beautiful.

The campsite itself is nice. The pitches are level and a good size. The kids play area was adequate and very popular. The swimming pool, though not open at the time we visited looked very nice and had loungers and grassy areas where you could sunbathe. The bar was ok, though not particularly family friendly. The wash up facilities were good, plenty of hot water. The showers and toilets were of an excellent standard and were kept clean.

All this said though I do have one complaint. The staff! They really let this place down. Never have I been anywhere that has such unwelcoming staff. From the point of arrival we were met with a most sullen girl who gave us the impression that she really couldn't be bothered. This mood was the same in every other staff member we met. Not one of them smiled. On arrival, having pitched our tent we then found our EHU was not working. It took numerous attempts by us to get someone to look into the problem, they really didn't want to help.

I would return, purely because the site is only 20 minutes from home and is perfect for a weekend away though I really think the staff could do with a lesson in customer service. 


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Swiss Farm Touring And Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swiss Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley On Thames      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1246 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement