Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swiss Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Henley On Thames > Swiss Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Swiss Farm Touring And Camping
Marlow Road
Henley On Thames
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01491 573419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Feb 14th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 213 Reviews
                9/10 from 213 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Reviews 1 review from this member

 This Site is exceptional, this was our fourth visit. It really has it all. The toilet/shower blocks are immaculate, there is also a bath for children. There are disabled facilities too. It is within easy walking distance to the town of Henley on Thames with numerous shops, bars and restaurants, although you need not leave the site, because the Cafe and Bar offer fantastic food and drink at very reasonable prices. There is a shop on site. The Bus stops at the entrance to the site go to Reading and Marlow. The huge outdoor heated Swimming pool has toilets and changing rooms. This has to be the UK's BEST SITE. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Piffy57 37 reviews from this member

 The site is okay but nothing to rave over. We had a super pitch which to be honest was a bit of a disappointment. Right at the top of the site on a steep incline. Spent an hour trying to find bits to level the caravan off, so bad was the incline. Not the biggest pitches either. Caravan and canopy with no room for the car.

The pitches are built, I think for European caravans as the drainage, power and water are on the right as look at the pitch which meant the caravan had to go in front first. No big deal providing you have a mover. Make sure if you do go in front first that you have the mover engaged when you leave otherwise your caravan will move such is the slope.

The drains stank to be honest despite flushing them with cold water and this became an everyday job during the stay.

The reception staff are friendly but were constantly on the phone taking bookings which created queues in reception. There was a generator lorry there the whole time we were there running 24/7 as there seemed to be a power problem.

Leaving the site is very odd too. They put a barrier across in the evening and its not moved till 8am. I prefer an early getaway especially when driving 230 miles home. I got caught in a lot of traffic in Cheshire on the way home that made what should have been a five hour trip into a seven hour ordeal. We have stopped at many sites down the years but none with such strict rules on leaving. We visited the caravan club site up the road and they will allow you in and out 24/7 and will be our base next year when we visit the area.

The Swiss Farm site seemed packed to the rafters both on the camping field and on the caravan pitches. The caravan pitches had very little space between them unlike the pictures I had seen when making the booking.

Plenty of things to do in the area. We went to London (Twyford-Paddington) and a day return plus underground ticket was £18. Henley has some lovely restaurants too and nearby Marlow is lovely. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ise.valley 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for five nights wish it could have been more. The site was in a great location to walk into Henley. We found the site very well maintained. The toilet blocks spotless. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, the cafe and bar were excellent although we did not eat there. The pool area looked very inviting although the weather was not, and the WiFi was great. We will make a return visit in the not too distant future 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Irenestev 1 review from this member

 Very enjoyable stay. The campsite is ideally located to walk in to Henley on Thames.

Toilet blocks very clean, small children's playground at the back of the cafe. Staff very friendly and helpful. Each pitch has plenty of room, and mainly flat, so not an issue with weather.

Would recommend.

Large Tesco about 5 mins drive through Henley. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 43 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights, mainly to check over our kit before the Easter holidays, but also to get a feeling for the sort of place that wins AA campsite awards.

It's impeccably clean and well-ordered, to the extent that I'd probably feel guilty about sneezing. Every single sink and washbasin had a J-cloth so you could clear up after yourself; signs encouraged you to use the squeegees and mops, and to phone the wardens to complain about noise. The facilities are excellent and well thought out, even to the extent that there is ancillary lighting in the loos so you're not pitched into inky blackness when the PIR cuts out. The shop was reasonably well stocked given the time of year, and the café and bar are comfortable. There are smart, wall-mounted TVs here, but they are 'only to be used for selected sporting events' and strictly nothing else. And there's the rub: this is a site which does what it does extremely well, and no doubt has developed its model over long years catering to discerning customers. There were rows and rows of very smart caravans and more class A RVs than I would have believed existed in the whole country, so it's getting that bit right. Personally, I prefer a bit of randomness and flexibility: the experience here is just too antiseptic for my taste. Having said that, the staff are really friendly and approachable, as well as highly efficient.

We were on a 'deluxe tent pitch' with 16A EHU. The advertised water didn't materialise as the taps were dry. The main field is on a significant, slides-you-down-the-bed slope. There are a couple of pitches at the bottom which are a bit flatter, but I understand the EHU is a bit feeble there. Likewise the other, smaller camping field: flat, but 6 - 10A EHU. The ground is good, but the grass was thin for our visit and the mud extremely sticky. There is plenty of wildlife, and some handsome pigs in a paddock at the top of the slope. At the far end of the field is Henley's sewage treatment works, which occasionally belches out a soup-thick aroma of upper-middle-class poop. A jet aeroplane came over at 7:30 each morning and another ten minutes later, but otherwise it was very quiet. WiFi is free but was very hit and miss during our stay, even though we were the only people on the camping field.

There are two children's play areas which were a bit tired, but it looked as though new equipment was being installed.

Henley itself is the big attraction here - it's a lovely town and it was great to visit outside regatta week for once. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Linda Morrison 13 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site with friendly helpful staff and easy access into Henley. We spent a long weekend here in order to spend time with our son who lives in Reading. Used both train and bus to travel to and from Reading and they used the train to meet us in Henley. Advised staff on arrival of visitors to the site - they could not have been more helpful and didn't charge as the site was not busy.

Did not spend much time on site during our visit but facilities were clean and well maintained although felt the 3 showers available in the block nearest us would have been stretched during busy times considering the size of the camping field.

Will definitely be back - one of the nicest sites we have visited. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pmintern 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 4 nights at Swiss Farm in a Touring Caravan, the owners and staff are very friendly and extremely helpful with recommendations for places to go and eat etc. , the on site facilities really are first class the restaurant serves good quality food in nice surroundings, the amenity blocks are clean, warm and a good size. Easy 10 minute walk into Henley with good shops, restaurants, pubs and walks. Great Location, Great People, Great Site we will return. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frederico 47 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week. Towing a large caravan from Northumberland so drove in by Oxford on A4074 and A4130. Good roads to the campsite. Other roads to Henley look thin or congested? Good welcome and information. We had an all service pitch which was flat and a good size. The facility blocks were very good quality but some toilets were often dirty in the mornings. Don't know how often they are checked? Pub/ cafe was nice. We had fish and chips which was ok. Beer on tap was very good. Good play areas for children of all ages. Large fishing pond with a variety of wild life. I saw herons, rabbits, squirrels and others. Lots of large red kites flying around. I got close to a deer in the woods above the site. Henley town is basic with shops and pubs etc. Difficult to find a place to park but about a kilometre if you walk. The riverside is very nice. We had a trip on the river. Carrefour in the town very pricey and bad for parking. Tesco has good parking. Ok for groceries but had to throw away tiger bread and crispy rolls, stale? one hour after purchase. Don't recommend their bakery. This is a very good, well run campsite, we will return. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AA2005 6 reviews from this member

 Well kept clean site, only a ten min walk to the centre of Henley, there's a bus stop straight out side the opening ( get a day pass as this is cheaper), There's a new cafe just opened which looked clean and tidy, peaceful site except on the Saturday night as all we could here was someone trying to sing on a karaoke. Staff are helpful and friendly, would go again 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dellyb 9 reviews from this member

 We absolutely loved this site, it was great for families, had a pool & some. Animals on the site but was within walking distance of Henley which was fantastic.

The food on offer at the site was lovely & had a shop offering essentials.

We have recommended this site to friends in the past who have also loved it & we would definitely return if we were going to that area again. 
via mobile


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Swiss Farm Touring And Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swiss Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley On Thames      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


953 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement