Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swiss Farm Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Henley On Thames > Swiss Farm Touring And Camping Reviews

Swiss Farm Touring And Camping
Marlow Road
Henley On Thames
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
RG9 2HY
Tel: 01491 573419
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Feb 14th - January 8th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 213 Reviews
                9/10 from 213 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  213 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravankids 4 reviews from this member

 Great site within walking distance of Henley. Good cycling following Thames path along river but the reason we chose this site was proximity to Legoland, about half an hours drive from here. On site facilities are good with big shower cubicles,useful when showering 2 small children.
Swimming pool went down well with our 5 and 7 year olds as did the well equipped playground. We would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2004 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heidi+Paul 9 reviews from this member

 Each pitch had its own little area so no confusion over whose space was whose etc. Tidy and well trimmed grass and bushes.

The facilities were immaculate and were cleaned regularly.

Didn't go in the pool as although the weather was lovely it was still early in the year to brave an outside pool!

Visited lego land great but be warned my 9 & 8 year olds want to go again and deny ever going as they were only little!

Would recommend we ended up staying an extra 2 days! 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: VWBus 62 reviews from this member

 We arrived later than we'd hoped, and it was going dark. There is good security at the camp site, a large barrier goes across the entrance, which can only be opened with a special key, given to you when you visit reception. We were directed to a large field, surrounded on two sides by dense hedges / trees giving good shelter. There was some sort of water feature directly behind the hedge, and this did lead to the ground being rather damp. The site is quite commercial, there are static caravans for hire, and bed and breakfast in the main building. However this does mean there is a good heated swimming pool, a quite lively bar, and plenty to keep the kids amused. The site has excellent toilet and shower facilities, both being clean and spacious. There is a washing up area, laundry facilities and chemical disposal areas. All areas of the site seemed to well looked after, clean and well organised. The best thing about the site is it's proximity to Henley on Thames. It only a 5 minute walk into the town, with all it's shops, pubs, and restaurants. Or you can take the slightly longer ten minute walk down the river Thames, and along in to town. Despite it's location, it remains quiet and gives the feeling of being in the middle of the countryside. Henley itself of course, has so much to offer, with the focus being on the river. I would imagine at Regatta time the campsite is absolutely packed, but Henley is a great place to visit at any time of the year, if you want to avoid the crowds! All in all I would definitely recommend this site if you fancy checking out Henley and the surrounding area. It is slightly more expensive than some sites, but worth it. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daydreamer 2 reviews from this member

 Quite a big site and very busy when full. Bit of a trek to the toilet in the night if you at the bottom far corner of field 3 ( I think ) and some late night noise from club on the Caravanning and Camping site adjacent.

Good facilities, except no shop but you can leave your freezer blocks in the freezer in reception, and is walking distance of Henley, although you need to walk along a very busy road.There is a bus stop at the entrance to the site on the main road for trips further afield.The washing facilities by the serviced caravan pitches were fab and included a bath ! Worth the extra bit walk during the day. Wooden play area for kids in field 2, as well as the fishing lake , swimming pool and club house.

We only live about 8 miles away but it's lovely to come for a couple of nights just to get away. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julianp 4 reviews from this member

 Pleasant site about ½ mile out of Henley in the wonderful Buckinghamshire countryside. There are a number of fields, some with seasonal pitches, some for caravans and some mixed. We stayed in the ‘big’ field which was mainly tents, we managed to get one of the few electric hook ups in this field so check when you book if you need one.
Friendly staff, bar with small shop, kids play area and pool (shut when we were there, but we used it the previous year) which I think is £1 per person.
Toilets and washing facilities in the field we were using were very tired but there was a sign saying they were in the process of updating the whole site and it’s facilities. There was a more modern block at the end of the seasonal field.
Henley is 15 minutes walk, with the river, pubs and plenty of shops. Similar to a number of towns in the area, it is very posh. Marlow is just down the road in the opposite direction and Maidenhead is fairly close by.
Overall an easy going, fairly large site, note: the main field slops, getting progressively steeper towards the top.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DEC66 1 review from this member

 After looking for a campsite with a swimming pool (as our 9 year old daughter loves swimming), we decided to stay at Swiss Farm. Which turned out to be an excellent choice.
We spent three glorious days at Swiss Farm, making the most of the facilities which were excellent.
 
Reception was very efficient and had us booked in no time. Vehicle access is via a barrier system and you receive a swipe card on booking in (£10 deposit).
 
We stayed in Field 2, as this was close to the Children's Play Area and the swimming pool.
The pool was excellent and just the thing to cool us off, as the weather was very hot.
 
The shower, washing and washing-up facilities were more than adequate, clean, tidy and the water was hot. We used both the facilities adjacent to Field 1 and Field 2 as we were pitched in-between and found both to be fine and we never had to queue once.
 
The centre of Henley-on-Thames is a short walk away (10 minutes) and has the normal shops and restaurants. Waitrose is close and ideal for all food and drink provision. There is also a Tesco store on the Reading Road, but you may want to drive to this, as it is heading out of town.
Parking in Henley is really cheap for short stays (40p per hour and free after 17:00).
We would recommend the Catherine Wheel pub, for a reasonably priced evening out, as it is part of the J D Wetherspoon chain.
 
A couple of downsides to the site, firstly the campsite is on the Marlow Road and the traffic noise is noticeable, but bearable and it does ease off at night. Also, Henley must be on the flightpath for Heathrow as the number of aeroplanes flying over the site was quite remarkable. However, again the noise is bearable and eases off after 10pm. I would also say that there is something quite soothing about sitting out in the glorious sunshine, with a glass of chilled wine in hand, watching the planes circle gently overhead.
 
Sorry for the long review, but before we camp anywhere, we always read and take on board the experiences of others and find the information really useful.

Swiss Farm International is a great site and we will definitely return in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JOANNEDL5 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, well run and clean/tidy. Expensive bar (charged £10 for 4 bottles of Lager from the site Bar.sorry I am from the North East and I don't pay that!). If you want a lovely quiet time visit mid-week as this site gets very busy at weekends during the Summer. 


Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Jezbot 2 reviews from this member

 Henley-on-Thames is lovely (especially in the sun) and so is this campsite, on the whole.
The campsite is essentially in a lovely setting beneath the Chilten Hills. We were in field 1 which is very open and gives a lot of space for all campers. Field 1 is next to a sewage works and a field full of pigs! This didn't really bother us at all, well the pigs didn't but we did get the odd whiff from the sewage works. Nothing over-powering though so don't be put off.

Swimming pool was excellent and a real bonus. Shame you have to pay extra for this, why not put cost of pitch up by £1 as I'm sure they would make the same over a season.

The only downside was the toilet and shower facilities in field 1. They are a little long in the tooth:- dark dirty looking floors, poor showers, poor cleaning, not many sinks, showers or toilets. We didn't have much queuing when we were there though. Some investment in this area would make this site really excellent rather than just good. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Wendyk 2 reviews from this member

 Good site. We were very lucky weather very hot for our stay. Fantastic pool cooled us all down. Henley is a lovely place ideal for visiting Legoland. Showers/toilets very clean to say a lot used them. Agree with previous review about the odd job man he was great really friendly. Good sized pitch & very well laid out. Kids loved the nightly hotair ballons which go from the field next door. Lots of open spaces & great views. Would go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Helen Hunt 1 review from this member

 Excellent site with clean facilities and friendly staff. Pool clean and great expanse of grass area around. Couple of things to note though - field 1 showers hot early am but get colder as morning wears on.

We thoroughly enjoyed and stay and hope to return! Henley on Thames very easy, flat walk and lots to explore... 


Previous     213 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Swiss Farm Touring And Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swiss Farm Touring And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Swiss Farm Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henley On Thames      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1974 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement