Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Seahouses > Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation Reviews

Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation
Springhill Farm
Seahouses
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE68 7UR
Tel: 01665 721820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 202 Reviews
                9/10 from 202 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  202 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zackynthos 3 reviews from this member

 We have recently returned from a great camping holiday. The campsite is situated in a secluded area, with stunning views and a short walk to seahouses.

The location is perfect for exploring northumberland whilst being near a resort that offers all you need, and a great co-op! The shop on site is adequate for your essentials and those that run it are exceptionally friendly and tolerant of 7 year old boys taking ages spending their pocket money!

Whilst at first I thought 4 showers wouldn't be enough for us ladies, I never queued once, they were exceptionally clean and of a good standard. There is a family bathroom which was very useful having taken a young baby.

The park has a small play area but is on a great grassy area for kids to have a good run around. The site is very well looked after and the pitches have plenty of room. I would highly recommend this site, and will no doubt return! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RonClarke 1 review from this member

 This is a must visit site. Staff friendly, facilities excellent and surrounded by sheep and fantastic views of Northumberland coast.

Our ten-year-old twins noted the playground and shop as big hits as well as crab fishing at nearby Beadnell harbour, the seals at the Farne Islands and the local fish and chips.

The site has a relaxed informality but is well run, safe and secure. Get up early to enjoy the spectacular sunrises. Will be back 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeanmark 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely week at Springhill farm. What a great campsite! Pitch was flat and spacious - all pitches looked more than big enough to take our roomy 6 man tent.

Views from the site were wonderful - many pitches did not have these views immediately, but it was only a short walk to a large grassy area where you could enjoy them all day if you wanted to. We were lucky to see a couple of spectacular sunsets and sunrises too.

The wardens were really helpful, informative and very friendly, but not intrusive. Evening noise was limited to the sound of birds, sheep and gentle talking and all totally quiet by 11. Facilities were clean, warm and tidy with plenty of hot water; neither of us had to queue for loos or showers even though the site was full.

The family bathroom is an added bonus, indoor washing up facilities are handy too on a rainy day. The on-site shop was very useful and it was nice to be able to book fish and chips (delivered to the tent) when we got there after a long journey.

Whilst there was just the two of us we noticed that this seems to be a very family friendly site, with a good balance of facilities / freedom for children and a relaxed / friendly feel for adults. When we were looking for campsites in Northumberland we narrowed it down to three and chose Springhill.

We took a look at the other two whilst in the area and, whilst there was nothing wrong with the other two from what we could see, we are really pleased with our choice. We will definitely be back on our next camping holiday in the area. Thanks again to all at Springhill for a very enjoyable holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Matthew Busby 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site with my wife & two young children for 2 weeks in the summer holidays, we had a fab time and will be returning with friends in the October half term. Great location & views, beach is within wlking distance, children loved the little park & the fact that it was a working farm they got a glimpse of some of the tractors etc.

Amenities were great, showers as powerful as home, cleaned several times a day. Microwave, freezer, washers, dryers, plenty of sink space for washing up, family bathroom with both bath & separate shower. There is a reception on site that stocks all sorts of groceries, fresh produce locally sourced & yummy, friendly staff who were always happy to help. The reception was open between 8:30am - 6pm, they even deliver fish & chips on a Friday, you need to pre-book this & they were delicious. Wardens who live on the site helped us out on numerous occasions, they were available at all hours & if they weren't visible on site their contact number was clearly visible in the reception window as well as the toilet block.

The site is a family run business, they were very knowledgeable about the area recommending nice walks & activities for the children. They often would patrol the site at various times of the day & night, we never experienced any noise at night time during our stay, everyone was very respectful. I would recommend this site as it was a great find, a little gem on the Northumberland coast. Can't wait to return 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bexaniz 9 reviews from this member

 I would definitely visit this site again. The views and location are incredible.

I would time my visit carefully though and make sure it didn't span a Friday or Saturday night as the site was very busy and incredibly noisy until very late! Lots of weekend bookings I think.

The pitches were large, and sufficiently apart. Facilities were great (clean although busy at peak times)and shop was sufficient. Play area was fantastic (for the children anyway!) best view of any play area I've seen. Felt comfortable letting kids run there and play on their own.

I had read about the lack of customer service on arrival. This was true but I didn't really miss it and found the pitch easily. What I did miss was some sort of contact with someone 'in charge'. We met no staff throughout our week's stay and would've liked to know who to go to when shop closed - especially re the late night noise.

Easy walk from the site into Seahouses, even with small children. Italian restaurant in Seahouses (Elan) definitely worth a visit.

To sum up, great location, very nice site would recommend but personally I would avoid at weekends. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sky123 5 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to this site and I am pleased to say the site was just as good as our first visit. We couldn't fault it!

Unfortunately we experienced extremely high winds and as a result our tent was damaged despite 2 fellow campers coming to our aid!

Cannot comment on owners as didn't actually meet them. Our pitch number was on notice board so just organised ourselves.

We love the site but in future will only be booking last minute when weather favourable. Not the fault of the site, but something to be aware of if camping in a tent!

Also quite expensive as we do not require elec hook up but apparently all pitches have that now so had to pay for service we didn't need. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ameythist 7 reviews from this member

 A very large site with no barriers. No one around to speak to just a board with our name and pitch number. The map of the site was a small A4 stuck at the bottom of the window so spending time on knees and twisted neck to try and find where pitch should be. Eventually having drove round twice found someone in the facilities block cleaning who pointed in the right direction.

Large pitch with electric.

Facilities are fabulous with lots of loos and showers for the ladies, however, hubby queued nearly everyday as there were only 2 urinals and 2 toilets on a site this big at the height of summer you would need more toilets!

Drying room was good as was the washing facilities.

Although there were motor home facilities to drain etc it was a mare trying to get into position to reach them.

Wonderful base for Bamburgh Castle and Seahouses both within walking distances.

My only quibble was the barking border collie from 6am every morning. I appreciate it is a working farm and all the noise with it but this dog barked incessantly from his steel bar type shed looking for his master. So no lazy sleep ins for us that holiday up at 6-630 each morning. I prefer around 8 on my holidays!

A clean place with a small shop which opened peak times. The staff I spoke too were friendly.

Will visit again but may ask for a pitch away from the barking dog! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philip S 20 reviews from this member

 The view from the pitch encompassed green fields, sea, Bamburgh Castle, the Farne Island and lighthouses. Sounds ideal? Well the views were, but I found this camp site lacking in other areas.

The booking process involves you paying on line in advance so consequently you’ve paid before you arrive. On arrival we found that our pitch was heavily populated by trees. So much so that our tent would have been on to the road if we had pitched it. I had phoned the site when originally booking as there were limited pitches left, so specifically mentioned the pitch and the size of my tent and at no time was this mentioned. On arrival the female shop assistant was particularly unhelpful saying “We’ve had big tents on it” and “There is nothing I can do”. The Warden then arrived and was equally unhelpful. The site map in the window (and which was on the website) did not show the trees to which he responded “It’s not to scale”. Maybe not, but you expect it to show if the actual tent pitching area is actually only a small strip of the pitch. Eventually and whilst I was looking for alternative campsites, they rang the owner and a pitch on the non-electric field was found (there are a couple of electric pitches actually on this field) which we accepted. By this time though our perception of this site had been severely dented.

The field was reasonably quiet during the week but come Friday ( and the prospect of a sunny weekend) they were shoehorning people in to all sorts of spaces; some tents were almost touching. This included squeezing a large Motorhome between us and the next pitch despite infringing safety rules. The Warden was again totally ineffective and it resulted in the owner having to come out and ultimately the Motorhome was shifted out. It did leave me wondering why the owners just don’t get more involved with the site as they have infinitely more customer skills than their staff.

The site was quite noisy on a night and I would be especially careful about booking a pitch near the Bunkhouse as this has a balcony on which the large groups renting it sit out and I could clearly hear them across the far side of the site. The toilets are OK – showers were always hot - but at weekends there were not enough facilities and queues developed (e. G. Only two toilet cubicles in the mens). There were a good number of washing up sinks and laundry and a drying room which was nicely heated and helped with any wet clothes and towels. There was a children’s play area and a good grassy field around it for playing in. The site also rented fire pits by the night which was a good touch.

It is the views from the site which are its greatest asset (although by no means do all pitches have views so check when booking). Seahouses is nearby from which there are a number of boat trips around the Farne Island. Definitely worth a visit for the hundreds of seals and puffins on view and a trip up Grace Darling’s lighthouse. Whilst in Seahouses I would certainly recommend Elan Pizzeria – a very small but good, well priced restaurant which all ages will enjoy. Bamburgh is the other way out of site and has a great stretch of beach as well as some nice pubs (The Castle) tea rooms (The Copper Kettle) and traditional butchers. There is also the castle in Bamburgh itself although we chose to go to Alnwick Castle because of its Harry Potter related events and got a dual ticket for this and the Gardens, which we visited on a separate day and which have something for young and old alike (The tour round the barred and gated Poison Garden was good and there are spectacular water features).

Would I return. Probably not; the lack of customer care and impersonal nature of the site would deter me as would some of the pitches. If it was not peak season and I knew exactly the state of the pitch I was getting maybe. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nova scrimshaw 1 review from this member

 The site was lovely, clean and good amenities. Staff were very helpful. It was our first time to Northumberland and will visit again. Short walk to Seahouses 20-30 mins - we found 2 nice pubs with sea views

The site was not too busy in the week but was fully booked for the weekend so if you want to stay for a full week you do need to book. The only bad point is there is only 2 mens toilets for campers, ladies is fine though 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Keith5637 12 reviews from this member

 Paid in full when booking and given our pitch number (09) Told just to pitch on arrival so we did. Did not see the warden through out our stay.

The campsite it self is located close to seahouse's with good views of bamburgh castle and the farne islands, if no sea fret. The camp site has no barrier so anyone could drive on to the site, would be nice to see coded barrier for more security. The pitches some hard standing large enough to fit awning Better ones seem to be close to the park, Also grassed areas for tents.

There is not much shelter from the winds around the site but the views make up for it, showers where hot and toilets where clean at all times, The kids enjoyed playing in the park and playing fields.

There is a small shop selling the basics.

Over all price for staying at this site is good as I have stayed at few around the area and this seem best.

Would recommend friends and family to this site 


Previous     202 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seahouses      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


22051 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement