Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Seahouses > Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation Reviews

Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation
Springhill Farm
Seahouses
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE68 7UR
Tel: 01665 721820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 202 Reviews
                9/10 from 202 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  202 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Podbods 13 reviews from this member

 Can only agree with previous reviews regarding number of toilets and showers for the size of the site - not really enough. Gravel paths to water and waste points made pulling of aqua roll, chemical toilet and waste holder awkward. Large gravel pitches which were level but really suffered from flooding during a prolonged spell of rain. Some units were sitting in inches of water. Gravel pitch is awkward when manoeuvring the caravan as the jockey wheel gets stuck. Toilets and showers have seen better days, but clean enough. No sea, castle or coastal views unless you pitch in the camping field or stand at the kids play area. Road into site is pretty narrow with little or no passing places. Camping field was pretty lively on a Saturday night with lots of kids running around. Really noisy cows in farm next to site. Walk into Seahouses was along unlit roads so not really convenient from that point of view. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AnniePJ 1 review from this member

 We stayed for 3 nights in high season at Springhill, 2 adults a child and 2 dogs. The site is in a lovely location walking distance from seahouses a but on narrow lanes. Only views were from camping field and play area but were lovely. Plenty of dog walk opportunities though we noticed not everyone seemed to clean up after their dogs. Also, some near neighbours had a very loud tv on til late which spoiled the peace. Shower block and facilities were good, except although there was meant to be a motorhome drive over grey waste drain, it was too close to a large hedge to get the mhome anywhere near it though maybe a long hose would have helped. The playground is basic but mainly the site was clean. We didn't meet many staff but when we did have a query( about calor gas 6kg) the woman was not very helpful in explaining where we could get some, seemed to assume we knew the area well. We enjoyed our stay! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maximo72 3 reviews from this member

 We spent 6 nights here and won't be coming back!

The main problem for us was the noise from the neighbouring farm. Whilst general farm noise during the day isn't a problem, at night there are dogs kept in a barn right next to the site that start barking loudly at around 2am and continue on and off all through the night. Two nights they were quiet but EVERY morning at around 05:30 they would kick off!

I did make a complaint to both the reception staff and the wardens who stay there and on both occasions they gave me a knowing look which suggested they've heard this complaint all to many times and said there's nothing they can do about it because it isn't part of the site. I got chatting to my neighbour who said he also complained and on another occasion whilst chatting to someone else staying there he had also complained. Apparently the dogs are kept in a barn and the birds that nest there annoy them.

There appears to be a current theme regarding the dogs if you read other reviews from this site and others. If only I took the advise.

The reception area which is below the bunkhouse and next to the wigwams is incredibly busy and noisy with kids and adults alike, thankfully we were far enough not to be disturbed by them.

There are no views of the sea, castle or surrounding countryside except from the kids play field which is a real shame because the view is truly stunning, maybe if you pitched in the camping field you might catch a glimpse.

The chemical waste and water points are along a gravel track and make visits a real bind as it's hard noisy work dragging your carriers to them.

Toilets and showers were clean every time I used them but there were only two male cubicles for the whole site so I could see them getting busy at peak times.

Shop is good if a little over priced (think 1. 80 for two pints of milk and 1 for a can of pop) but there's a Co-Op in town so no big deal and the staff are friendly.

There is nowhere to walk your dog off lead on site or nearby so you'll have to walk down the grass verges of the country lanes.

None of these little niggles would usually bother me in the slightest but after 5 hours of broken sleep almost every night, they became an issue, so much so that we actually left a day early so we could go home for a decent nights sleep.

The pitches are very big with plenty of room for a caravan, awning and car with room to spare.

My advise, if you do want to stay here and you want some peace and quiet it would be to get a pitch as far away as possible from the reception area (we were 33) and those damn dogs!

The general area is superb, Seahouses is great and the beach is magnificent, clean and sandy for miles and miles. You can adjust your budget to suit by spending a day on the beach for the price of a picnic or go visit the castles which are more expensive.

We will defenetly return to the area, but not this site. Ever! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NIGEL288 2 reviews from this member

 Nicely kept site about 1. 5 miles from Seahouses.

The big problem is the facilities for the size of the site. There are only 2 toilet cubicles in the men's toilets, so if you needed the toilet there was always a wait, and due to the amount of people using them they aren't always the cleanest toilets.

Nice little shop and a very small play area for the kids.

The touring spaces are a nice size and plenty of room between them. Be careful not to get a spot backing onto the camping field if you like it quiet. We noticed a couple move spots because of the noise. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Little Freedom 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with super views of the North Sea coastal. Toilets always lovely and clean and they are always as warm as toast no matter when you use them. Instant hot water, no waiting ages for the hot water to arrive. Nice individual pitches with plenty of room. Could do with more lights to light the road to the toilets. It would handy if there was a designated passing place on the narrow road from the farm to the broad street as two caravans might struggle to pass. Had a look at others in the locality but Springhill Farm is by far the best for price and facilities, we will be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jenny McArdle 4 reviews from this member

 Returned to this site after an absence of six years. What a difference! The facilities have improved beyond measure and the staffing level is a lot better than previously.

The pitches are flat and well-drained and ideal for those who like a little extra space as they are very generous.

There's a little shop/reception place that sells the absolute basics, which are pricey of course - given that they can't buy in bulk like supermarkets.

The views - which aren't available all over the site - are magnificent; you can see right out to the Farne Islands and northwards to Bamburgh Castle (of 'Last Kingdom' fame)

Town is fabulous, small but very busy, with a Co-Op (no carpark) which is very well stocked.

Staff are great, friendly and extremely helpful. It's quite a haul up here from Derbyshire but we will be back, probably with the grandkids in tow! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dinx 11 reviews from this member

 I have been to this site a few times, from a1m its a couple of miles of very narrow road to the site. would have struggled if another unit tried to come other way, no passing points at all. I was practically in the grass verge with the one car that passed me. On arrival wide gravel pitches nice and flat plenty room for car and awning. Great views of surrounding countryside. There is small shop in reception and small play area, with large playing field we played football and rounders no problem. (park closes at 9pm every night) female showers were clean plenty of hot water. Good facilities for people in the pods and tents, fire pits allowed which nearly everyone had. Believe it was twenty four pounds a night over the bank holiday 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sue72 1 review from this member

 We stayed here with our two children aged 9 and 11 and our dog. Lovely relaxed, friendly site, cannot fault it at all. Really friendly welcome from reception when we arrived, and the staff were really helpful the whole weekend we were there- even jump starting our car (TWICE!).

The toilet block is probably the best I've ever seen, and we have camped all over England, Scotland and Wales. It was toasty-warm, clean, hot showers (proper showers too). There is also a family/disabled bathroom with a full size bath and wet room-type shower.

There is a communal freezer and fridge if you are in a tent and a microwave which was a fabulous surprise, especially with a veggie child who doesn't eat barbecue!

You can hire a fire pit for 3 a night which was lovely- CCC sites don't allow these and it really transformed our camping experience.

The kids loved it- the play park is large with plenty of space for ball games and a swing set and slide kept them entertained.

Lovely location with Bamburgh castle and Seahouses town on your doorstep with everything you could want shopping-wise. We didn't go into the castle as they don't allow dogs.

The only down sides for us were not the fault of the site- a couple of the caravans played really loud music each evening which we found intrusive in such a beautiful, peaceful spot. Maybe that's just us. There are mobile numbers everywhere to report problems to site wardens but we didn't do this because the music stopped before 11pm which is the cut off. Why go to a beautiful countryside location and play Cheryl Cole music at top volume??

The camping field is very relaxed too but people do seem to pitch very close together and unfortunately our 10-feet-away neighbours- which were a large group of three families -had a loud, profanity-filled argument at 1am. It was short-lived and we didn't complain, although they do provide the mechanism for this.

We will definitely be back. They have got camping exactly right for everyone. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Steely Dan 3 reviews from this member

 There are plenty of other reviews that mention the area's attractions and there's no question it really is a stunning area with fabulous beaches and lots of splendid isolation further inland.

So, let's concentrate on the site itself. Fabulous location with sea views and a lovely view of the magnificent Bamburgh Castle. Approximately 20 minutes walk to Seahouses.

Pitches for caravans and motorhomes are huge and well spaced although a few are a bit close to neighbours. The showers are among the best I've used. None of these silly push button for 30 seconds of water jobbies, these have nice big shower heads with good pressure and plentiful steaming hot water.

Best of all we got a fabulous deal with two nights for 20.

There's a CCC site just along the road that is more expensive and nowhere near as good. Even though I'm a CCC member there's no way we'd use it over Springhill Farm.

We'll have no hesitation in visiting again 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alitone 25 reviews from this member

 Highly recommended. This site is one of the many we stay at in North East England. If you like to be just a short 15 minute walk from a town ( Seahouses) 30 minutes walk to Bamburgh Castle the other way along a quiet country lane and just 12 minutes from miles of stunning sandy beaches and want a large pitch at low cost with everything you need for a holiday then book SPRINGFIELD FARM now. You will find a children's park, shop, and toilets showers with laundry and even a communal microwave and fridge. Site has a lovely homely feel and at night the peace is just lovely with the morning waking to the sound of singing birds. We are experienced motornomers and this site is one of our favourites. By far the best location in the Seahouses area where you can take the boat to Farn Islands trip 


Previous     202 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seahouses      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5579 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement