Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Seahouses > Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation Reviews

Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation
Springhill Farm
Seahouses
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE68 7UR
Tel: 01665 721820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 202 Reviews
                9/10 from 202 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  202 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campanula 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, with good-sized, flat pitches, and good facilities. Nice showers and only had to queue if I'd picked an exceptionally busy time (and then not for long), clean toilets, and good washing up and laundry facilities.

There is also a family bathroom with a bath and disabled facilities, which my 3-year-old liked using (not into showers yet) - this was very wet underfoot, but I think they were having problems with it at the time.

My son loved the playground, and as we were able to pick a pitch when booking we chose one of the closest to it so he could go as often as he wanted.

The camping barn type accommodation by the toilet blocks was used for groups, and the group there over the weekend was quite noisy, although not all night to be fair. As this has use of a balcony they all stood out there in the evening and this meant the noise carried.

We had slight issues with the secure bike storage - first they said only self-catering people could use it, then changed their mind, but the key didn't work very well - I was worried that we wouldn't be able to get our bikes out again, and the reception (and shop) is only open very limited hours (although there is an emergency no. To contact the wardens outside these times).

If you like immaculate grass, then this is a good site for you - the wardens did go round mowing each pitch as soon as an occupant had left.

The sea is in view from the campsite, and also Bamburgh castle. Both are a short bike ride away, but not really walking distance if you have a toddler or can't walk far. He did walk to Seahouses once (this is along an old railway line), but we had to carry him back. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grapefruitmoon 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed here on the last weekend of September (September weekend holiday in Glasgow).

This is a lovely site. Spacious pitches, perfect ground conditions, lovely view over surrounding countryside, Bamburgh Castle and the sea.

The toilets were clean and spacious. The water was piping hot and the showers were fantastic - adjustable temperature, spacious, plenty pegs. There's a wee kitchen area with sinks, microwave, freezer, washing machines, ironing board / iron, seating and info' about the area. The facilities are in a converted barn and come off a corridor and so a good sheltered arrangement for windy or wet weather. There is also a family bathroom / disabled with a shower, toilet and bath! Oh, also a free hairdryer in the ladies! Plenty soap, paper towels and toilet roll.

There's a good play area for the kids and a football goal. Plenty space for the kids to play.

It's a working farm and there are cows and sheep in the next field but we didn't hear a peep out of them the whole time! The quietest cows and sheep I've come across - or maybe just a quiet time of year! You can buy eggs.

I e-mailed to book the night before we left and received a reply straight away and we were allocated 'pitch 24'. A bit unsure about this system at first because we usually go to a free-pitch kind of site. However, they have this arrangement, I guess, so that they don't have to be on campsite duty all the time (working farm as I said). It turned out that we had the best (in our opinion) pitch on the site. In the corner overlooking the castle (floodlit at night) and the sea. So idyllic. We didn't see the owners until the next day but this trusting/easy-going attitude suited us. We paid 14p.N.For 2 adults and 2 kids.

The 'front' field that we were on also had hard-standing for caravans and motor-homes. The 'back' field was tenting (grass) only as far as we could see. Possibly more sheltered too as it's supposed to be a windy site at times. We were lucky with blue skies, slight to strong breeze, and the most amazing starry skies. There's no lighting on the site and being far from any big cities the clear night sky was incredible. The owners are growing more trees around each pitch and there is a lovely rockery in the middle of the site.

We walked to the beach - about 1+1/2 miles on the road (quicker if you cut through fields) - and the town - about 1mile and another mile right to the harbour. So, we didn't need the car. The site is surrounded by beautiful, almost traffic-free, hedgerow lanes, making it easy for families to wander around. Infact, a great stop-off site for cyclists, hikers and even those on horse-back! Many stables around and horse-riding on the beach.

Seahouses is very nice. There's a crazy-golf course and indoor play centre for kids. Lots of pubs and restaurants. Little interesting shops and lovely houses. Bamburgh is very pretty and the castle is impressive. Lots to do in the area and a good spot for a summer holiday, I imagine.

I give all my sites high scores (because they are carefully chosen!). This one gets a '9' because it's perfect apart from no fire-pits. (Though they do seem quite relaxed about the 'style' of BBQ that you can have!) A really lovely place. We hope to return some time. The owners have created a really great campsite in a perfect spot. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Headquarters7 4 reviews from this member

 This is an OK site - good clean toilets and good proximity to Seahouses - I just never felt a great connection with this place - maybe we were unlucky with deep sea mist but we have camped in similar and not felt such desolation.

It is an easy cycle into town of around 10 minutes and there are plenty of pubs to keep you warm.

Good clean site but we went home a day early. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greented 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed three nights over the first May bank holiday. The site is large and well organised. Bit level pitches with bins and water taps all over.

Showers clean and plentiful. I did comment at the time it was the best shower I had ever had in my life. So powerful and hot.

The site's a bit windy so don't forget your wind break but that's just because it is on the east coast and not far from the sea. The site does have trees and bushes at the edges to combat the wind.

The area is perfect. So beautiful and unspoilt and the nearby castle bamburgh, was magnificent.

We would definitely stay at this place again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kirbs 2 reviews from this member

 Well having spent most of the summer holidays at Springhill, I can now say that this site is probably the best-run, nicest, most well-organised site I have stayed on for a very long time.

The owners are delightful people, and always on hand should you have a problem.

The facilities are excellent, and kept beautifully clean. The lady who cleans (every day I might add!)is a mine of local information and always ready to pass this on. The showers are hot and fast, the toilets spotlessly clean and the family bathroom is fantastic.

The local shops, pubs and restaurants are fabulous, and throughout August there has been a funfair just outside Seahouses on Beadnell Road, that my children have had hours of fun at.

As for local attractions, there's a castle on every corner, historic market towns in every direction, beautiful walking and cycling, riding on the beach or just the peace and quiet of the amazing sandy dunes that fringe the coast for miles and miles.

The views are to die for, and the beaches are mind-numbingly beautiful.

The only thing that puzzles me is why the beaches are not packed with tourists. Dont get me wrong, I am glad they aren't, but I can't understand why. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heysey 10 reviews from this member

 The facilities are very good and the pitch size are big.

The toilets are clean and the showers are hot and all free and the kitchen area is also well equipped with micro-wave and fridge.

Lots to see and do around the area. The ship pub is only a short walk into seahouses good beer and other shops to stock up at, and you must try the fish and chips,

There is a small play area on the site for children and dogs are also allowed on site .

In the shower block there is a large notice board with loads of info for things to see and do.

A very good time was had by all. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DAALPAHNE 5 reviews from this member

 I would like to keep this site a secret. We stayed four nights at the end of June and would have stayed longer had time permitted. A really excellent site with a sea view to die for. Large, well kept, level pitches with 16amp, some hardstanding , additional huge activity field for the kids or for 'sad' adults with a kite to fly on the breeze. Modern power shower and toilet facilities clean and well maintained. Easy access to the beach (about a mile flat walk), Seahouses (closed after six), Bamburgh Castle, Alnwick Gardens and Castle etc. Some great little villages nearby with good local eating. Recommend the Apple at Lucker. A working farm, but apart from the cattle in the next field you would never know it. Abundant wildlife, we will definitely use the site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janex 7 reviews from this member

 Had an absolutely fantastic time at this campsite. Went with 4 other families and spent 3 nights here. It is a small campsite and we were not allowed to pre-book our pitches although staff were really helpful and did let us cram 5 tents into 4 spaces so that all the families could be together.

To be honest we didn't spend a lot of time on the site because there is simply so much to see and do in the surrounding area. We had a wonderful day at Alnwick Castle (of Harry Potter fame) and spent another day visiting Holy Island which was well worth it. The beach is not too far away either so there is no excuse to be bored!

The shower block was fine and the on-site shop provided the essentials. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peteindatoon 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site. As previously stated, the pitches are huge and well kept. Showers were very warm and powerful and cleaned daily. Toilets were too few and are the only minor negative I can say. Owners drove around very frequently and were there if you had any issues.So peaceful with stunning views although slightly exposed to the elements.Would recommend site and will most definitely return as only 1 hours drive away. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skipukcamp 5 reviews from this member

 1st time camping. Information given was very good. Rang a couple of days before hand to check availability, told not too busy but could pre-book pitch. Got no. 25 large corner plot, great spot, lots of room. Most plots in the bottom field were clearly marked, so you knew exactly what space you had. There were a few tents along the back row with us, but plenty of space. Caravans and motorhomes in the middle with hook up points. Toilet block very clean and tidy. 2 showers and 3 toilets in each. Had a further family room and a utilities area with washer, drier, small freezer, microwave and washing up sinks. All very clean. Large area displaying whats on and where info.

Small play area for younger children with a large field and football net for older kids. Nice walk to pond, Quite deep in places but lots of life in it, frogs and tadpoles and insects etc.

Of the say 20 pitches used there were probably about 8 dogs all well behaved, including our own. Ideal spot for them.

Not too far to the beautiful beach, walking down quiet road to dunes approximately 15 mins. Seahouses is about 5 mins by car for the usual seaside shops, icecreams, chip shops, gift shops etc.

Will be going again in a few months. 


Previous     202 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seahouses      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2896 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement