Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Seahouses > Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation Reviews

Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation
Springhill Farm
Seahouses
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE68 7UR
Tel: 01665 721820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 202 Reviews
                9/10 from 202 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  202 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ELLY234 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 day stay at spring hill farm. What a lovely site. We were in the tent field which was nice with some beautiful views pitched not far from the fence with bulls and sheeps in the next feild. Bulls do come right up to the fence my kids loved it they were feeding them grass.

Showers clean and hot 4 showers and 4 toilets in ladies I think the same for th mens.

In door pot wash with washing machine and tumble dryer and microwave. Ladies take your own hair dryer as the ones in the toilets are not very powerfull.

Plug Socket in pot wash area to plug in hair dryer/ mobile phone charger loads of hot water in pot wash and showers.

Small play park closes at 9. 30pm, big field for football etc.

We like a camp fire which is why we chose this site you can not reserve a fire pit so our first night was a bit of a let down as all the fire pits were hired out (5. 00 night for pit and wood) but lady did say we could of brought our own if we wanted to (got back went straight to shops to buy one !) hired one second night it was very nice and warm. Saying that it would not put us off going again to this site as fire pit is our personal choice.

Seahouses 5 min drive / 30min walk, co-op in town and cash points. Campsite DO NOT TAKE DEBIT/CREDIT CARDS cash only.

Very nice site we are going back next week with more friends looking forward to it. Enjoy 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BFS1 1 review from this member

 Stayed here with 3 kids under 5 for 5 nights. Pitches are spacious, no problems with a fairly big tent.

Agree with previous reviewers, the wardens work very hard to maintain the facilities in tip top condition. Water was always hot, bathrooms were always clean. They are very helpful, and go out their way to help with any request.

Play area is basic, our kids didn't use it. Lots of space for the kids to play though.

Good base to visit railway/mill at Ford & Etal, Whitehouse Farm at Morpeth, and of course Bamburgh Castle and the local islands with kids in this age range. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hev24 8 reviews from this member

 Just home from a lovely holiday at Springhill Farm. The site is within walking distance of Seahouses (30mins) and there is lots to do in the surrounding area.

The facilities were good and the toilets and showers were kept clean. Didn't have to wait in a queue once although my husband did! The family bathroom was a definite plus, especially as our daughter doesn't like showers! There was plenty of hot water too.

Washing machines and tumble driers were available at a reasonable charge.

The play area is small but the children seemed to enjoy it and lots of new friends were made. There is a good sized field for ball games too.

We were in the camping field which I was a bit worried about when I booked. However, this meant we were able to pitch our tent wherever we wished and we got the best views from there. The field is on a gentle slope but there are plenty of level spots to pitch.

The main site seemed quite well laid out, with some pitches bigger than others.

The site was quiet before 11pm although others in the main site did complain about a party of campers who were noisy.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return to this site if we are in the area again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scb141 3 reviews from this member

 Turned up to find we'd been allocated a different pitch (24) to the one I'd pre-booked (26) 10wks earlier, and there was a tent on the one we'd booked - not the best start after 4hrs travel! But a chap called Mark was very helpful. He apologised on behalf of mgmt & offered us an alternative pitch, and offered our pick of the adjacent camping field. We took the latter - and would choose it again! Great views out to sea, lambs in the field across - wonderful!

I'm a bit of a clean-freak, but the facilities were spotless every time! Proper hot showers (x4 female/x4 male + family room); great washing up facilities, and a freezer to pop the cool-packs in. There were dryers available at 20p a go - but didn't have cause to use them. Chemical waste disposal also.

The site's really well set-up; very well maintained - Mark even mowed an extra bit of the field for us! We'd definitely stay again - highly recommend!

We had a walk to Bamburgh Castle and back from the site - what gorgeous beaches! utterly outstanding ! Can highly recommend the Hairy Biker chippy in Seahouses - looks a bit 'trucker cafe' but the fish & chips are deliciously yummy!

Also had a crack at crazy golf in Seahouses which was a bit of a giggle (especially when a rabbit popped up and ran across the 'green'! And don't miss the shop on the corner opposite - it's like a tardis and sells everything - including a mallet (1. 25)to our delight!

Had a trip to Alnwick one day - historic market town about 14miles away - which is well worth a visit. We did the Alnwick treasure trail which was great fun, and allowed us to see the town in a different way (And we're adults without sprogs!)

Overall, we had a great 4-night break - we'll be back ;o)) 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leafletter 27 reviews from this member

 There is always a slight feeling of trepidation turning up to a campsite for the first time. Is it going to be somewhere to be endured or enjoyed?

On our recent cycling tour from Edinburgh to Newcastle (the Coasts and Castles Route), we had already been to one campsite that we couldn't bring ourselves to stop at (and ending up camping in the picnic area of a service station on the A1 because it was nicer!), so now we nervously arrived at Springhill Farm hoping to camp for three nights.

It was possibly the nicest campsite we've ever stayed at. As soon as we entered the gate, we felt welcome and at home. There is a new, very smart reception office with the friendliest wardens you could ever wish to meet.

Pitches on the main campsite looked enormous, and very level. The wind was unusually strong, so with our small tent we were allocated a pitch among some sheltering trees, not quite so level but we were very happy to be there.

The loo and showerblock was spotless and had proper fittings - none of that trying to hold in a pushbutton for the shower with one hand while attempting to wash your hair with the other. These were as good as home. There was also a family bathroom. The washing up sinks, laundry sink, washing machines and dryers were all in the same building as the showers, along with a microwave. Whoever designed and fitted out this block must have been a camper!

The campsite is on National Cycle Route 1, and benefits from a nearby track/path running into Seahouses.

Then there's the view - Bamburgh Castle and the Farne Islands. Both places are highly recommended. Take a boat trip to Inner Farne and have close encounters with puffins and other beautiful seabirds. And check out the beach at Bamburgh with the great bulk of the castle behind it. Lindisfarne is only a few miles away and worth a visit, but gets very busy. We cycled across the causeway at 9 am and were able to enjoy it before the coaches started turning up.

Seahouses has a well-equipped Co-op, with a surprising number of different Champagnes in the chiller cabinet. It also has a few fish and chip shops, one of which claims to be the best in Britain, and favoured by the hairy bikers. We tried a different one and had no complaints. We also had a drink and some food in The Bamburgh Castle, on the Seahouses harbourside and can recommend it, especially for the view. A special treat is to feed the colony of eider ducks in the harbour.

The wind got stronger during our visit and we were fortunately able to book into the Lookout Bunkhouse on site. Again, everything about the bunkhouse was first rate. A comfortable lounge with large flat screen tv, small rooms with en suite bathroom and a superbly equipped kitchen. At 14 per person it was not much more expensive than some campsites. We also had the use of a drying room and cycle store.

That evening the wind hit 103 mph in Seahouses, and the Springhill Farm wardens deserve much commendation for their untiring efforts to minimize damage to caravans, awnings and tents, even though conditions were extremely hazardous. We were sorry to say 'goodbye' when we left on our journey south. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daniecamper 4 reviews from this member

 Having had such a wonderful time at this site staying with some friends at the beginning of the school holidays, I decided to book in for a weekend with my partner as I thought he would love it too.

On my first visit we had a lovely pitch close to all of the excellent facilities. On the second visit, we were in the camping field. The ground was so hard we couldn't get the pegs in properly and there was little shelter from the strong sea breeze.

Once pitched we had a nice evening, although the ground was very hard! and I've never used an airbed! On the second night after arriving back from a lovely visit to a pub in North Sunderland, we noticed lots of bikes had appeared opposite us, this didn't worry us too much as the site has a no noise after 11 rule and the website clearly stated that wardens patrolled, obviously not in the camping field. At around 1am some drunk men ran past the back of our tent (which was unnecessary) and knocked our guy ropes out. THEN at around 2am the bikers returned! shouting and swearing, discussing peeing behind the tents! this went on until about 3am. I tried to contact the wardens who did not answer their phone. When I complained the next morning there was a apology which did not make up for ruining our weekend. We had planned on spending Sunday in Bamburgh but had to come home and get some sleep instead! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ellietog78 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here last weekend overnight with our 16 month old for his first camping trial. Even though the weather was terrible the campsite was great, very family friendly and my little boy loved the sheep and lambs in the field next to us.

We camped on the electric hook up pitches which were all a good size, not cramped at all and the facilities were fantastic, especially with a little one, a great family bathroom too. Also very helpful when I booked, requesting a pitch away from the road/path.

We will definitely come back soon and hopefully we'll get better weather 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matyle 1 review from this member

 Stayed mid week,site nipping clean and staff very helpful. You will find it hard to find a more beautiful view from any site, Bamburgh castle on one side farne islands on the other what more can I say.

Hired a fire pit what a good idea boys loved spotting satellites and shooting stars once it got dark.

Showers always hot and microwave washers and driers a big bonus. Very cold on the wed night but what can you expect in April.

Only a short walk into Seahouses along a well signed path

All in all an excellent site will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gateshead 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful site! We had 2 tents with electric - had a wonderful weekend. Hired the fire pit and bought logs -what wonderful idea. Toilets and showers really good loads of hot water. While we were there there was a large party in the Wigwams and bunk house - a little rowdy but they all kept quiet after 11 - if you want to ensure you have a quiet time might be worth asking for a pitch away from the bunkhouse and wigwams - however don't think this was a major problem - so don't worry about it - fantastic weekend - wanted to go again but fully booked so shows how popular this site is! Very good value for money as well. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thebroons30 8 reviews from this member

 Had 4 nights here at the end of our honeymoon and despite the very strong wind had a wonderful time. Lovely location, spotless clean toilets with showers and also a bath if you prefer.

Booked a pitch with EHU and the pitches are very generous in size. The site is pretty open to the elements but thankfully our Nevada L tent stood upto the worst of the wind without a problem.

Took a walk into the nearby Seahouses and returned to the site along the beach and up another country lane.

Planning to go back and take the bikes the next time. 


Previous     202 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seahouses      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5621 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements