Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Seahouses > Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation Reviews

Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation
Springhill Farm
Seahouses
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE68 7UR
Tel: 01665 721820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 228 Reviews
                9/10 from 228 Reviews

Photos (22)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  228 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bexaniz 9 reviews from this member

 I would definitely visit this site again. The views and location are incredible.

I would time my visit carefully though and make sure it didn't span a Friday or Saturday night as the site was very busy and incredibly noisy until very late! Lots of weekend bookings I think.

The pitches were large, and sufficiently apart. Facilities were great (clean although busy at peak times)and shop was sufficient. Play area was fantastic (for the children anyway!) best view of any play area I've seen. Felt comfortable letting kids run there and play on their own.

I had read about the lack of customer service on arrival. This was true but I didn't really miss it and found the pitch easily. What I did miss was some sort of contact with someone 'in charge'. We met no staff throughout our week's stay and would've liked to know who to go to when shop closed - especially re the late night noise.

Easy walk from the site into Seahouses, even with small children. Italian restaurant in Seahouses (Elan) definitely worth a visit.

To sum up, great location, very nice site would recommend but personally I would avoid at weekends. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sky123 5 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to this site and I am pleased to say the site was just as good as our first visit. We couldn't fault it!

Unfortunately we experienced extremely high winds and as a result our tent was damaged despite 2 fellow campers coming to our aid!

Cannot comment on owners as didn't actually meet them. Our pitch number was on notice board so just organised ourselves.

We love the site but in future will only be booking last minute when weather favourable. Not the fault of the site, but something to be aware of if camping in a tent!

Also quite expensive as we do not require elec hook up but apparently all pitches have that now so had to pay for service we didn't need. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ameythist 7 reviews from this member

 A very large site with no barriers. No one around to speak to just a board with our name and pitch number. The map of the site was a small A4 stuck at the bottom of the window so spending time on knees and twisted neck to try and find where pitch should be. Eventually having drove round twice found someone in the facilities block cleaning who pointed in the right direction.

Large pitch with electric.

Facilities are fabulous with lots of loos and showers for the ladies, however, hubby queued nearly everyday as there were only 2 urinals and 2 toilets on a site this big at the height of summer you would need more toilets!

Drying room was good as was the washing facilities.

Although there were motor home facilities to drain etc it was a mare trying to get into position to reach them.

Wonderful base for Bamburgh Castle and Seahouses both within walking distances.

My only quibble was the barking border collie from 6am every morning. I appreciate it is a working farm and all the noise with it but this dog barked incessantly from his steel bar type shed looking for his master. So no lazy sleep ins for us that holiday up at 6-630 each morning. I prefer around 8 on my holidays!

A clean place with a small shop which opened peak times. The staff I spoke too were friendly.

Will visit again but may ask for a pitch away from the barking dog! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philip S 20 reviews from this member

 The view from the pitch encompassed green fields, sea, Bamburgh Castle, the Farne Island and lighthouses. Sounds ideal? Well the views were, but I found this camp site lacking in other areas.

The booking process involves you paying on line in advance so consequently you’ve paid before you arrive. On arrival we found that our pitch was heavily populated by trees. So much so that our tent would have been on to the road if we had pitched it. I had phoned the site when originally booking as there were limited pitches left, so specifically mentioned the pitch and the size of my tent and at no time was this mentioned. On arrival the female shop assistant was particularly unhelpful saying “We’ve had big tents on it” and “There is nothing I can do”. The Warden then arrived and was equally unhelpful. The site map in the window (and which was on the website) did not show the trees to which he responded “It’s not to scale”. Maybe not, but you expect it to show if the actual tent pitching area is actually only a small strip of the pitch. Eventually and whilst I was looking for alternative campsites, they rang the owner and a pitch on the non-electric field was found (there are a couple of electric pitches actually on this field) which we accepted. By this time though our perception of this site had been severely dented.

The field was reasonably quiet during the week but come Friday ( and the prospect of a sunny weekend) they were shoehorning people in to all sorts of spaces; some tents were almost touching. This included squeezing a large Motorhome between us and the next pitch despite infringing safety rules. The Warden was again totally ineffective and it resulted in the owner having to come out and ultimately the Motorhome was shifted out. It did leave me wondering why the owners just don’t get more involved with the site as they have infinitely more customer skills than their staff.

The site was quite noisy on a night and I would be especially careful about booking a pitch near the Bunkhouse as this has a balcony on which the large groups renting it sit out and I could clearly hear them across the far side of the site. The toilets are OK – showers were always hot - but at weekends there were not enough facilities and queues developed (e. G. Only two toilet cubicles in the mens). There were a good number of washing up sinks and laundry and a drying room which was nicely heated and helped with any wet clothes and towels. There was a children’s play area and a good grassy field around it for playing in. The site also rented fire pits by the night which was a good touch.

It is the views from the site which are its greatest asset (although by no means do all pitches have views so check when booking). Seahouses is nearby from which there are a number of boat trips around the Farne Island. Definitely worth a visit for the hundreds of seals and puffins on view and a trip up Grace Darling’s lighthouse. Whilst in Seahouses I would certainly recommend Elan Pizzeria – a very small but good, well priced restaurant which all ages will enjoy. Bamburgh is the other way out of site and has a great stretch of beach as well as some nice pubs (The Castle) tea rooms (The Copper Kettle) and traditional butchers. There is also the castle in Bamburgh itself although we chose to go to Alnwick Castle because of its Harry Potter related events and got a dual ticket for this and the Gardens, which we visited on a separate day and which have something for young and old alike (The tour round the barred and gated Poison Garden was good and there are spectacular water features).

Would I return. Probably not; the lack of customer care and impersonal nature of the site would deter me as would some of the pitches. If it was not peak season and I knew exactly the state of the pitch I was getting maybe. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nova scrimshaw 1 review from this member

 The site was lovely, clean and good amenities. Staff were very helpful. It was our first time to Northumberland and will visit again. Short walk to Seahouses 20-30 mins - we found 2 nice pubs with sea views

The site was not too busy in the week but was fully booked for the weekend so if you want to stay for a full week you do need to book. The only bad point is there is only 2 mens toilets for campers, ladies is fine though 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Keith5637 12 reviews from this member

 Paid in full when booking and given our pitch number (09) Told just to pitch on arrival so we did. Did not see the warden through out our stay.

The campsite it self is located close to seahouse's with good views of bamburgh castle and the farne islands, if no sea fret. The camp site has no barrier so anyone could drive on to the site, would be nice to see coded barrier for more security. The pitches some hard standing large enough to fit awning Better ones seem to be close to the park, Also grassed areas for tents.

There is not much shelter from the winds around the site but the views make up for it, showers where hot and toilets where clean at all times, The kids enjoyed playing in the park and playing fields.

There is a small shop selling the basics.

Over all price for staying at this site is good as I have stayed at few around the area and this seem best.

Would recommend friends and family to this site 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Twoladies 8 reviews from this member

 We have always used nearby cc or c&cc sites but with rising costs decided after reading reviews on Springhill to give it a go.

The site is fantastic and great value for money.

Easy access by foot or bike into either Bamburgh or Seahouses. Spectacular views of the Farne Islands and Bamburgh.

Pitches are roomy, well placed and drain quickly. Not exactly even but with very little levelling required.

Facilities are ample if a fair walk from some of the pitches but are clean with modern showers, laundry and a drying room. We always shower late at night and never had to queue despite it being a peak period. The site has a shop selling the very bare essentials.

This is a working farm so there is movement from early on of tractors but that does not detract from the site in anyway.

The only downside is on arrival there isn't a manned reception just a board displaying your pitch number, all having prepaid, which means you must drive around looking for the correct marker - not very welcoming when you aren't familiar with the site/area.

Overall a site which we would visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrsadie 6 reviews from this member

 Arrived to find our pitch listed on a board and we were left to find our way there a bit impersonal would have been nice to be shown to our pitch.

The weather was atrocious all week several vans had to be moved as the pitches flooded.

Loos/showers clean and adequate.

Not really our kind of place but the site is fine great if you like the great outdoors as not much to do.

Don't think we will be returning to the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: May May 10 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 7 day stay at this wonderful campsite. The warden and his wife were so helpful and the site was beautifully clean and well appointed.

I can honestly find no negatives and it is so well positioned for touring this beautiful part of the world.

We had only booked for 5 nights but they were so helpful in finding us another pitch for the two extra nights.

The charge was amazingly reasonable at £18 per night and no extras for showers etc. Prices for laundry were also very fair.

We will definitely recommend to all other motorhomers. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Xisle 6 reviews from this member

 WOW! That's all I can say.

We visited Springhill Farm as we where going on a Farne Island trip to view/photograph the Puffins.

This site is beautifully well kept. The pitches are large, the layout is great and the facilities are spotless.

The wardens/owners are very friendly and helpful.

The view out to sea and also to Bamburgh Castle is fantastic.

There is a Motorhome service point too.

The walk down into town is pleasant and not too far, just over a mile of which half is on a quiet country lane and the other half on a footpath/cycle path which I suspect is an old railway line.

I have no reason to give a rating less than max!

We will be back! 


Previous     228 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seahouses      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3347 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement