Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Seahouses > Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation Reviews

Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation
Springhill Farm
Seahouses
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE68 7UR
Tel: 01665 721820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 202 Reviews
                9/10 from 202 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  202 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Jsuggs 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night in a Wigwam (wooden camping pod)on our way from East Anglia to Scotland. This is a great site! Very neat and tidy - a little more so than is my preference - but absolutely perfect for our one night stay. Friendly, simple, clean, great facilities, v beautiful beach a half hour pleasant walk away. If you stay in the wigwams there are dedicated showers/toilets plus a nice kitchen including crockery, pans, everything (all very clean) - both just steps away. You can burn logs in your own firepit and there's a large communal covered BBQ area for wigwam customers and a small shop for essentials. If you booked a wigwam, all you need to take is your clothes and your bedding (Wigwams include a fridge and comfy beds. Seahouses is a pleasant place with lots of choice for fish and chips etc. Highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul and Susan 6 reviews from this member

 Just had a week at this very nice site, the location is excellent for getting to the beach and nearby attractions such as Bamburgh Castle and Alnwick.

The site is on a working farm so there is a bit of agricultural noise at times, it was harvesting time when we were there so lots of grain and hay bales coming and going on tractors!

The pitches are large and facilities are reasonable, my only criticism is that there are too few gents toilet cubicles for such a large site (only 2) and we were on pitch D which was a screened pitch with overhanging trees which completely covered the car and caravan with sticky sap! The driveway is recycled roadstone so the dust that was thrown up stuck niceley to the sap and has been a nightmare to remove!

If the owners invested in some tarmac and additional shower/toilet facilities this would be an excellent site, as it is I would only give a 5 out of 10 score. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Etherbeliever 5 reviews from this member

 If you're looking for a peaceful break with your family I'd suggest either looking elsewhere or making sure that you're not on a pitch near the children's play area or near the wigwams.

The site itself is fairly nice. The facilities are unremarkable. I noted other reviews have commented on the waterlogged motorhome drive over grey water point. This is still an issue. It's also overgrown so for us we had to drive our van into the bushes to get over the drop.

Our main issue with this site was that it's noisy. We were on a pitch within 20ft of the children's play area. This had two effects:

1. It was insufferably noisy outside our van to the point where we couldn't face a bbq. Having kids myself I'm fairly tolerant but this wasn't funny.

2. The children spill out of the play area over the fence that they're not supposed to climb, then just run all over your pitch even when you're sat there. In three days I lost count of the number of times we had kids just running all over our pitches.

I'm don't and will not hold site owners responsible for the behaviour of the children of their guests. However I do take issue with them selling pitches that are only 20ft from the children's play area. The play area could have easily been situated further away from the pitches (it's in a big field). They should have also considered the routes to and from the play ground. The quickest route to the wigwams and most of the campsite cuts across two pitches (30 & 31). The pitches opposite also suffer from what I could see.

I complained during my stay and asked to change pitches. I was told I could move to a pitch on the other side of the site only to come back following a day out to discover it occupied. So we were back on the same pitch again.

I don't take issue with the wardens. They're not there to police the children. I do however think that they should perhaps not sell pitches 30 and 31 to unsuspecting families expecting a quiet break.

The area itself however is outstanding and this is in a good location to explore the coast. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Newbies2 4 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights at Springhill, on pitch 5 which is on a corner, we were very lucky as had a lot of rain on a couple of nights, some pitches nearby flooded but the wardens soon sorted out the drainage the next morning. Pitches are reasonably spaced and a good size, ours, like the majority of pitches, was gravel and we had enough room for largish caravan, 3/4 awning and 4x4, with room to sit out and have dogs pegged out.

Shower block clean and reasonable but we used during off peak times. Caravaners opposite us were not happy with camping field guests walking past their vans to get to the amenity block, a more defined route would be useful to clarify for everyone.

Site was very busy but we didn't feel it was overcrowded. It is very popular and in a really good location, the phone never stops ringing for bookings, so plan ahead.

Lovely walk along country lanes to Seahouses. We are already planning another visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pjsaville999 2 reviews from this member

 Reason for booking was this site is right on the Sustrans 'Castles and Coasts' cycle route, so really convenient. Friendly reception. Clean facilities. Laundry room. Drying room useful for backpackers. Free showers. 16 quite expensive for a bicycle and tiny one man tent. 20 minute walk into Seahouses 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Adiekate 13 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 2 days from this lovely site. Pitches are massive, clean site, shop stocked with essentials, showers, toilets, washing up facilities, friendly staff. Basically everything a site needs. We will definitely be returning & hopefully soon. Well situated for Seahouses (a shortish walk), Bamburgh, Alnwick Gardens & Castle plus plenty of other places. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ajax31 5 reviews from this member

 Just spent 10 days of our first ever caravan holiday here. The pitches are well spaced with ample waste & water points. Toilet/shower block very clean & amble additional facilities, use of freezer, microwave & a washer/dryer for reasonable charge. I hope that all our future sites are as good as this one. Its site shop has the essentials to get you started or top up what you have. It's a mile from seahouses which has ample shops, pubs & Co-op supermarket. I would recommend & hope to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Esmeralda 31 reviews from this member

 Just had 2 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. A spacious well laid out site with excellent facilities, yet didn't feel too commercialised, just the way we like it. Walked into Seahouses itself on two occasions and didn't find it too far at all, well worth it when you reach the harbour and beach area with stunning scenery and lots to watch going on. Fascinating to see all the boats in and out visiting the Farne Islands. Plenty of choice there for eating etc. We were a bit disappointed when we first saw our pitch as we thought more of them had the sea views we'd seen online, but that particular field wasn't that big so pitches are limited, there were quite a lot of tents there, but once we were pitched up we were quite happy with our spot. Will definitely return soon! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angelmoomoo 2 reviews from this member

 After reading other reviews and spending a week here myself, I really do think it depends on whereabouts you are pitched as to how enjoyable your stay.

We were unfortunately pitched about 5ft from the park and also right behind a walk way and a fence which, although said no climbing to access the park, was completely ignored. So although at first glance our pitch looked to be sizable, it was simply a cut through for either the kids to get on the park or campers to get to the facillities. To say there was no peace was an understatement. We had kids screaming on the park at 6. 30 'push me higher daddy!' And then general chitter chatter right outside our bedroom window about who was making breakfast from 7 am. We tried to have a bbq one evening but due to so many kids running through our pitch we gave up, having drinks knocked over and items stood on! Now I have children and I don't mind noise and running about but this was ridiculous. We had a cycle round the site and could see how different the other pitches were. We were number 31 and I would agree with another review here that pitches 29 30 & 31 should be avoided as you have absolutely no privacy.

The area itself is stunning and the location is very central to the attractions Northumberland has to offer.

The park and large field clearly proves a hit with kids. The site also allow fire pits which look lovely.

The site was very busy, summer hols and bank holiday week and I found the facilities to be rather dirty. I don't mind out dated or basic but I found these to be rather unclean. This could have been down to the sheer volume of people there however. I noticed that the wooden huts/wigwams had the use of separate facilities which could account for the differing reviews of the facilities.

All in all would definitely return to the area but not the site. Whilst there we also saw on 2 separate occasions motorhomes go out for the day to find on their return, their pitch had been taken. One person was told that there wasn't any spare pitches so despite the fact they had paid for several more nights, they would have to leave, no apology, or anything. In fact when the customer started to complain, he was ordered to leave the site immediately! We witnessed this conversation and to be honest we felt very uncomfortable. Not exactly good service, so motorhomes beware! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Romeo 19 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our second visit to this site and once again we weren't disappointed. We personally really like the location, not too far from the A1 so easy to get to and within walking distance from a stunning beach. The site is well kept, spacious and friendly.

I can't comment about the facilities simply because we always use our own but some friends of ours used the showers and said they we great.

I personally wouldn't think twice about returning and recommending this site. 


Previous     202 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seahouses      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4691 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement