Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Seahouses > Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation Reviews

Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation
Springhill Farm
Seahouses
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE68 7UR
Tel: 01665 721820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 202 Reviews
                9/10 from 202 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  202 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Outfortheweekend 4 reviews from this member

 Easy to access, name & pitch number clearly marked on the board at the reception. No staff around when we arrived but not a problem.

Good sized hardstanding pitch, plenty of space for awning and for two dogs on cork/leads to lounge about.

Good facilities, water warm in the showers - noticeably cooler Saturday morning when the site was busier compared to Thurs/Fri/Sun.

Added bonus Saturday evening as a brass band played a selection of tunes, we have no idea whether this was a regular event or a special occasion. Plenty of talking but not bad at night after 10/11pm.

Close to Seahouses, the beautiful beach is accessible via a quiet road to the sand dunes & free parking on the grass.

Being a working farm you could hear the cows in their sheds - wasn't a problem for me.

Would return and would invite family without caravan/tents who could stay in the wigwam or holiday cottages. Great days out within distance, Bamburgh/ Low Newton by sea/ Craster/ Beadnell/ Farne Island/ Holy Island/ Berwick to name a few. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SteveWain 3 reviews from this member

 Good bits. The site pitches are a good size for caravan, awning and car. And very well laid out. Site well located to visit tourist attractions. Although flat, itís a walkers paradise.

The beaches are also a dog walkers paradise. We didnít find any restrictions on beaches for dogs, not even the usual May to September banishment. Car parking is dirt cheap or if you looked hard enough, even free. The local people are very friendly and polite.

Bad bits. As other posters have written, given the size of the site and itís ability to take over 50 + pitches plus 10 wigwam cabins( who did have their own private facilities kept separate) the toilet and shower facilities are seriously under numbers. There is only 1 chemical waste point and 1 grey waste point 100 yds apart.

Whilst here over a bank holiday weekend, ( full pitches ) we only saw 2 members of staff and as previous posters have said, not exactly customer service focused. Only ever saw the male on his lawn mower. I know this site doesnít like personal criticism, but in all my years caravanning, this guy was by far the worst warden Iíve had the pleasure to meet. Is that his fault or the site owners ?

The site is next to a working farm. 2dogs are kennelled there. And are constantly barking even through the night. Extremely annoying after 4 nights. Owners fault. 


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 541 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site, about 1. 5 miles from Seahouses along quiet lanes and a cycle track.

Large pitches, well kept facilities and welcoming staff.

Excellent value, particularly in the winter season.

Will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dmsplat 16 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week at Springhill Farm.

It is very conveniently located just outside Seahouses, with a beach about a twenty five minute stroll / five minute drive away.

Getting to the site is far easier using the coast road rather than turning at the A1, which leads you down a fairly long narrow road with no passing places. It's not single track, but I imagine it found get pretty awkward pretty quickly if you're towing!

The site itself mainly caters for caravans and motorhomes, with gravel roads leading to hardstandings with EHU. There are also a handful of camping pods near the reception and toilet block. Tents are mainly located on one field, which has some seasonal hardstandings for caravans at the top end. The field has twenty big pitches and your pitch number is on a board at the reception.

Our tent is huge but it still (just!) fit on the pitch with about a metre to spare.

There is a small play area with two swings and a slide. They say that kids should be supervised, but I never saw a parent there (apart from me the one time I bothered to go over there!) It would be handy if there were a bench or two for parents to sit on.

The toilet block is a few minutes from the camping field. I can't comment on the ladies, but two urinals and two cubicles didn't seem sufficient for the size of the site. There were four showers which were fine, but pretty small. They were always clean and there was always plenty of hot water.

Also in the loo block were four sinks for washing up, a washing machine and dryer (takes old £1 coins) and an iron. Finally, there's a family/ disabled bathroom which I didn't go in, but apparently it has a toilet, shower and a bath.

There's also a CDP and a drying room.

Water taps & bins are located at the toilet block and also at the entrance to the camping field.

So that's the site. Fairly regimented but basically fine.

I didn't see much of the staff (apart from the chap mowing the grass) and when there was an issue with where we should pitch they didn't seem interested in helping and it took three trips to reception to sort - it would have been nice if they had just walked to the field to understand the situation, but they didn't seem that bothered. I tried to ring the warden once to report an issue with a blocked toilet at about 9pm (this meant one working toilet for the gents for the whole site), but the phone wasn't answered, so I had to text. The toilet wasn't unblocked until 10am the next day (I happened to be there - it took two minutes with a plunger).

In conclusion, it's a lovely site, but they don't seem that interested in the customer service aspect, which is a shame as it's the one thing that stands out as being poor. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SueM12 2 reviews from this member

 A well organised and busy site. We had a particular problem whilst staying here with noise from the people staying in the bunkhouse and moved pitch at 3am, but to the credit of the manager the people concerned were spoken to the next morning and asked to leave, which they did.

Our second night was much quieter and more enjoyable. Great location and lovely walk to Seahouses along a quiet road and footpath.

Lots of facilities provided, including books, games, information about local area etc.

Only negative was no drive over motorhome waste disposal as the one provided was inadequate and impossible to use due to its location. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David storm 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our third holiday camping/ caravanning at this gem of a site. Beautifully maintained, lovely large pitches and spotless facilities. Also very good to note that despite other sites raising their prices to the extreme- Springhill Farm continue to offer a fantastic family based value in their prices. Even managed to take my mother for a few nights this time, she stayed in a wigwam and loved it. I've been visiting Bamburgh/ Seahouses for some 45 years now and love the area. Springhill Farm is one of the best campsites I've stayed at and cannot recommend highly enough. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: THXTEX 3 reviews from this member

 Our first trip to this caravan site and one where we will be returning to. We found our way to reception, even though other drivers on the site weren't adhering to the one way system, to find our name on the board but only having to ask where the pitch was since it was our first time. The pitch in question was huge! The hardstanding with gravel was big enough to accommodate the caravan, awning and car with ease. Water and waste points were pointed out to us by staff, along with the toilet and chemical disposal facilities.

The toilet block was a fair size, however due to lack of indication on the doors of the toilet or shower being engaged did mean that you were constantly having people try the handle of the door, or as I found with on gentleman, that he had been waiting for ten minutes to gain access to a shower only to find that two were empty. Obviously was too polite to go around trying door handles!

The facilities are basic. The showers are tiny, but there was a steady stream of hot water. From what I gather the female facilities were the same, basic but functional, but hey, who goes to a campsite to live in the toilet block!

There is a play park and field with great views out to the Farne Islands in the east and to Bamburgh Castle to the north. Apparently some of the pitches also have similar views, but not where we were, sadly. The play park closes at 9pm and there is total silence by 11pm, but I guess that's down to us having very nice neighbours.

One word of advice, the approach to the site can be a bit tricky, especially if something is coming in the opposite direction, it is not two way traffic. Be prepared to breath in!

So many other reviews will tell you about the activities you can get up to in the area but we recommend having lunch at The Castle Inn, Bamburgh, fish and chips from Neptunes in Seahouses and not forgetting the obligatory cruise out to the Farne Islands (on this occasion we went with Glad Tidings 5). Another great way to spend an hour is at the Grace Darling Museum, also in Bamburgh, with her memorial and family burial plot across the road from the museum.

In summary, watch the approach, keep in mind the one way system on site, marvel at the size of your pitch and have some fun in Northumberland! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SW307 20 reviews from this member

 Lovely stay here in May, our first time. Will visit again. Nice mix of wigwams, caravans, motorhomes and a proper camping field. We were a bit concerned about the some of the reviews mentioning noise so requested a quiet pitch and it was. Lovely view in the distance of Bamburgh Castle and of the sea (helped being high up in the motorhome). There is a distinct lack of places to stay in this area that are not big commercial ones so this is a good find. (especially if you wish to walk around and not use a car). Facilities were good, not super modern, but clean and had everything you need. Didn't use the shop but did use the Co-op in Seahouses. Easy walk to the beach and Seahouses, providing you like walking. Quiet roads. Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jostevety 3 reviews from this member

 Not the best of roads to get to the site. The site looked nice and tidy, but so it should as they cut the grass almost every other day, we were sick of the sound of the mower and strimmer by the end of two weeks. Staff were not particularly helpful and you rarely saw them around except for that damned mower. Toilets were fairly clean but not near enough for the size of site and the steps up to them are horrendous, but there is a ramp as well. The gravel roads are awful for pulling waste water and cassette toilet, and with only 1 point for the site a real pain in the ass and a long walk. There are only 2 water taps so a long walk to collect water as well. We had lots of rain (cant blame them for that lol) and our pitch flooded quite badly, but was not as bad as some more unfortunate peeps. There are lots of signs saying no ball games, but when the site fills at weekends there were lots of balls kicked around and nothing done to stop it. We were also very lucky to have two pitches behind us with very noisy children running around till midnight and very loud drunken adults laughing and shouting till almost 2am deep joy. Was so pleased to leave and will not be returning. We both loved the area and will be looking to return, but will definitely find a better place to stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Diysaint 1 review from this member

 Weekend stay at end of September, site 1/4 full, only problem was the dogs from the farm barking constantly from 6am for about 3 hours every morning and late at night. Great site to walk to Bamburgh (2. 5 miles) or seahouses (1 mile) 


Previous     202 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Springhill Farm Holiday Accommodation dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seahouses      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4501 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements